Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking action film to munch popcorn to
I read all the negative reviews about this film then went and got it anyway.
The main plot is really about how the fate of humanity rests on one unborn baby belonging to a truckstop cafe waitress. One angel defies god to rescue the woman / baby and so well all "heaven" breaks loose.

Not much of a substantial plot but really thats not why we got the film...
Published on 17 Aug. 2010 by meebee3

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A LET DOWN
From the cover and the opening scenes this looks really impressive,it certainly looked like my kind of thing. Unfortunately it all goes down hill from there. In short,the basic story is some people in a truckstop diner are disturbed by an old lady,who is seemingly sweet but then turns nasty,saying offensive things and swearing,she is soon revealed to be a demon and it's...
Published 23 months ago by BAZ316


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking action film to munch popcorn to, 17 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Legion [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I read all the negative reviews about this film then went and got it anyway.
The main plot is really about how the fate of humanity rests on one unborn baby belonging to a truckstop cafe waitress. One angel defies god to rescue the woman / baby and so well all "heaven" breaks loose.

Not much of a substantial plot but really thats not why we got the film. The action is straight in there, no messing about with plotlines about someones granny passing philosphy down or daddys dying that kind of thing. Its an action packed shoot em up a bit like old fashioned westerns where the good guys never run out of bullets. Paul is great as a p***d off angel. I found that fact it was all filmed in one cafe with just a few characters pretty good too.
A good couple of hours light entertainment where you dont have to think too hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A LET DOWN, 15 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Legion [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
From the cover and the opening scenes this looks really impressive,it certainly looked like my kind of thing. Unfortunately it all goes down hill from there. In short,the basic story is some people in a truckstop diner are disturbed by an old lady,who is seemingly sweet but then turns nasty,saying offensive things and swearing,she is soon revealed to be a demon and it's not long before many more surround the diner. Along comes archangel Michale who tells the pregnant waitress her baby must be protected to save mankind,the end of the world is nigh and all that.
The battle sense are fun,there's some good gore,but for me it just falls flat too many times,becoming tiresome with the messages it clearly wants to get across. So the points it raises might be good,but it just isn't done in a style that grabbed me,i watched it right to the end but was left feeling disappointed. Many enjoyed this,fair enough,but as much as tried to get into this,i only found parts of it enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Falls short, 15 Mar. 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legion [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
To enjoy this film you need to switch off your brain and ignore the storyline because that it where it falls down. No one gives a poor performance, Paul Bettany is good and has just the right amount of pathos to play a fallen angel and Dennis Quaid is his usual tortured self. The action scenes are good, the special effects stand up and its quite enjoyable overall, but the story? The tagline for this movie is 'When the last angel falls, the fight for mankind begins', okay, so Michael has fallen but who's the big guy called Gabriel who gives him a kicking at the end and all the winged creatures filling the sky, pigeons? The problem is that the scope of the story is just too big to be plausible. So God is ticked off with humanities failings and decides to take us all out but a baby is due to be born that will provide another chance. He sends the Archangel Michael to kill the baby but he rebels and is cast out so God assigns the task to Gabriel who instead of just winging in and taking out said baby gets tied up sending in hordes of possessed humans to do the job. Rumour has it that he fathered the last messiah so you would thing that he would get it right this time. There are clues in the plot that the rest of mankind are taking a beating but that isn't made prominent enough, cough and you'll miss it. And whilst we're at it what about the other fallen angel; Lucifer, wouldn't he have an interest. The story was done so well in 'The Prophecy' that adding an action movie to it just doesn't work that well. So to sum up, ignore the story, enjoy the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE BEINGS THAT ARE ON THE WAY ARE NOT 'FRIENDLY', 8 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Legion [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A group of strangers and employees come together at a 'Diner' in a remote area, they are joined by 'Michael' an 'Angel' who tells them that 'death' is coming.
'Micheal' (Paul Bettany) who, by offering to help the strangers is disobeying his master in doing so, he tells the small gathering that the object of the on-coming attack was to kill an unborn child being carried by a waitress at the 'diner'
'Micheal' also tells them that the child was destined to be mankind's saviour, all they have to do is stop the 'hoards' of mutants along with the 'Arc-Angel' 'Gabriel' (Kevin Durand) from doing as 'god' willed.
'Paul bettany' ( who seems to have taking this tyype of role quite often ) along with 'Dennis Quaid' (as Bob Hanson) lead the cast list in this action-packed fantasy/horror movie.(A Lot better than some critics gave it credit for)
i enjoyed the film and found it entertaining, i'm sure many of you will also like the film.
a decent 'blu-ray' presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wow you wont believe it, 6 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
where to start/.this is one of the weirdest movies I have ever seen. but would not have missed it just for the sweet did I say sweet little old lady in the diner. If you like your movies way out and gross this is the one for you. I really did enjoy it. Maybe I need medical help who knows. Good fun all the way through. Good to average blu ray transfer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wack Attack, 23 April 2011
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legion [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
This is the sort of plot that makes you wonder if the writers did it for a bet. God has decided to wipe out humankind and sent an army of angels to do it. But instead of just zapping folk or sending a flood the angels appear as foul mouthed demons of the more classic horror type (which demons give the film its title, for their name is Legion). But unwisely God reckoned without the Arch-angel Michael and also neglected to possess all humans leaving a small band to protect the new saviour. Not very omniscient you might think.

As action horror it is not bad, but as a plot it is very strange indeed. I can only admire the cast who carry it off with great aplomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A poor man's imitation of The Prophecy, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Legion [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I had average hopes for this film when I heard about it, but didn't go the cinema to see it, as a friend told me it was rubbish. My copy is shop bought thankfully for a mere £3 (when it was £5 on here).

The first thing I noticed that was disappointing about the film was when Paul Bettany's Michael character 'falls' to earth it was more or less exactly the same as The Prophecy when the angels in that film fell to earth. Comparisons to The Prophecy were going to be inevitable since the film plots were so similar - Heavenly angels waging war on humanity, while a few rebels step up to defend humanity (sort of like the more modern liberal artist interpretation of the Devil being a tortured romantic figure rather than an all out evil entity). We are then introduced to some cliché characters - a pregnant single mother, a hard working but naive mechanic, a cynical cafe owner, his hard working cook friend, a yuppie couple with their ungrateful brat daughter who seems to be there purely to antagonise them and finally the gangsta-type character who carries a gun for protection "from nasty people" who is quick to spout racial slurs when things aren't going his way. He is, of course, battling the court for custody of his son, not doubt so he can bring him up to carry a concealed gun in case he too comes across some 'nasty people'. All this guy needed was a 'doo-rag' and a 'pimped up ride' and to be a drug dealing rapper and we would have had all the clichés we needed for the film.

The special fx, as other people have pointed out, were nothing very special and looked very much like nothing more than CGI, which the special features on the DVD contradict, as the baby was apparently animatronic and the demonic characters appearances were apparently prosthetics. This is similar to The Thing prequel, as that was also supposedly old school prosthetics and animatronics that appeared in the final reel as nothing more than annoying CGI.

Anyways, the appearance of the possessed, who were driving cars for some undisclosed reason, had the shaky head effect so expertly used in Jacobs Ladder and so overused in lesser films that it too has become unoriginal and annoying. There was the Ice Cream man character played by Doug Jones who had the whole Exorcist spider-walk thing going on. His character was literally a cameo appearance, sadly.

Safe to say the ending was a let down as was the whole film, that had a distinct low budget first film feel to it. The archangel Michael, Paul Bettany, was rather bland. He does not have the commanding presence this sort of role would require. His acting credentials are ropey at best (check Gangster Number 1 for an example of him on a bad day). As for the guy playing Gabriel, well I can't think of anything positive to say about him aside from the bullet proof wings were quite cool.

I certainly would not say this was the worst film I have ever seen, but it would be in the top 30. The location of the bulk of the film felt very much like a cross between Maximum Overdrive and Reeker 1 and 2 (those latter comparisons should raise alarm, as they are very bad films). Maximum Overdrive had people in a cafe besieged by possessed cars, Feast had people in a cafe-bar besieged by monsters, this had people in a cafe-diner besieged by possessed people.

To summarise I found the film to be unoriginal and not very exciting. Poorly acted by actors who can usually do so much better. Cliché ridden and un-involving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legion, 6 Mar. 2012
By 
Licensed Taximan (London, city of contrast) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Legion [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well it isn't exactly a masterpiece but it's not bad. Bought it for a fiver which for a blu-ray is cheap, picture is good as it should be for this format, and the soundtrack is also fine so i'm happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME MOVIE..", 27 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legion [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film is probably one of the most original in ages, dont listen to the negativity, its a stunning and visually great film to watch! The story is really interesting with an angel who has gone against gods wishes to protect a woman whos baby is the only hope for the future! The cast is good and the effects are great with some really freaky stuff going on and loads of bloody violence. This is a gem of a film and makes a change from your usual sort of movies! Overall great fun and builds up the thrills as you go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars LEGION - A Battle Between Good & Evil, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
R. A. Gladman "cyberschizoid" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Legion [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
"Legion" (2010) is an action/horror movie which only received a limited theatrical release in the Uk. I have to say that the trailers were very good and prompted me to seek this one out on dvd but unfortunately it doesn't quite live up to the hype.
Most of the action takes place in a quiet roadside diner in the middle of the desert, where our motley crew of customers find themselves being attacked by strangers seemingly possessed by demons. It transpires that these demons are actually angels sent by God to destroy mankind as a punishment for our sins. Yep, the apocalypse is upon us once again. Where's Buffy when we need her, eh? Luckily for us, the Archangel Michael has decided to rebel against God and save mankind.
Initially, this seems like a more unique take on the old horror cliches and it does at least attempt to offer something a little different from the norm. However, the plot is so convoluted and full of holes that in the end none of it really makes any sense. If the pregnant woman is carrying the next saviour of mankind, then does that make him the Son of God? And if so, why would God want to try and destroy his own son and thus the whole of mankind anyway? At the end of the day, if you can switch your brain off for 90 minutes, "Legion" is fairly entertaining and has a few fun moments amongst all the confusion and dreary dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Legion [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free]
Legion [Blu-ray] [2010] [Region Free] by Scott Stewart (Blu-ray - 2010)
£5.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews