Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and we're all right too!
That, in the midst of a continuous string of Hollywood-produced superheroes movies, comics adaptations, tired franchises and unnecessary remakes, American cinema can still produce intelligent, mature and thought-provoking films should be cause for celebration. And it's darn entertaining too.

Nic and Jules are in a long-term relationship. They have two teenage...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by The Grenouille

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The kids could have been great
This film is a great deal more intelligent & thoughtful than your average Hollywood flick; but for a supposedly progressive film, it fell back on a disappointingly narrow & stereotyped sexuality.

I believe that sexuality is fluid. I couldn't work out whether lesbians watching gay male porn was an expression of this, or whether it was based on the old myth that...
Published 15 months ago by Squeaker


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like tis film, 16 April 2012
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this film. I would have given it a 5* but it was a bit graphic but obviously it was a 15 so it was bound to be. I still like it though but i think the whole story was a bit random
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars yeah, it's just all right.., 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie expecting a movie along the lines of a Nancy Meyers fun upbeat comedy, however it is nothing like this. I found it quite poor as it was more about - from what I could gather - quite an unhappy family. It just wasn't that enjoyable. Steer clear if you're looking for a movie similar to "It's Complicated" as I was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good and in perfect time., 26 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film, so witty. I definitely suggest to everybody. I bought it for friend. Heard back that the movie got to destination in time and good conditions.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Expectations......., 17 Nov 2010
By 
Grady Harp (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting to read all the reviews not only here on this space but in the media across the country raving about this film as being one of the best comedies of the year. After waiting until it came out on DVD, expecting something spectacular, this viewer found the film disappointing. Writer/Director Lisa Cholodenko and writer Stuart Blumberg did not use the book by the same name as their source for the story, but rather turned to Cholodenko's personal experience with the topic at hand and though it was many years in 'gestation', the movie was shat in an unprecedented 23 days. So much for background.

Nic (Annette Bening) is a hard working obsessive compulsive physician partnered with Jules (Julianne Moore), a free-floating, indecisive, career-frustrated landscape designer. The have two children - Joni (MIa Wasikowska) birthed by Nic and Laser (John Hutchenson) birthed by Jules - by the same sperm donor, Paul (Mark Ruffalo). There are the usual family tensions but the quartet seems fine until Joni and Laser decide they want to know their father. They uncover Paul who is into organic food delivery service and relate to him and he to them. When Nic and Jules discover the mission their kids have been on they feel their family has been disrupted. Further developments occur that drive the wedge between the moms close to dissolution but of course that is overcome by the coming together of Joni's leaving for college.

All this could be OK, but for this viewer the prejudices about same sex marriage are not championed but instead are placed in a negative light. Infidelity is just that and the problems don't stop there: offensive racial slurs occur when the embarrassed Jules fires gardener Luis (Joaquín Garrido) for no reason and Paul's idea of a family man excludes the possibility of marrying the very beautiful African American Tanya (Yaya DaCosta), etc. The crisis of the story should not be shared as it is the only quasi-surprise in the film - and even that seems like a put down to the position of women. Bening and Moore look old, tired and crotchety but give good performances to the characters as they are written. Ruffalo is being touted as an Oscar nominee for his role, but the role is a mirror of all his other work. If there are winners here they are Wasikowski and Hutchenson - fresh and credible. Great expectations, minimal return. Grady Harp, November 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a shit!, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
Did I miss something? Such a great cast - had really high hopes after watching trailer. I thought I'd be been brought to tears from it being a heart-wrenching story or even from laughter but it really didn't excite me. Yawn shit!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great acting good story, 18 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
i realy eanjoyed this movie the story real and interesting and the acting is at its finest esp mark ruffalo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting, challenging (depending which side of the fence you are sitting - i.e. Heterosexual or Homosexual.
But at the end the day - it's a story about relationships, raising kids and knowing what you want in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!*, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
this film is truly amazing, the story is really really good a must see. Both actresses do a remarkable job and if i were you i would definitely watch this film it will get you laughing maybe crying and just loving the film
WATCH IT NOW! (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars offensive, 20 Oct 2011
By 
G. D. Buckley "Genevieve" (Bournemouth, Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is just plain offensive, insensitive and to be honest quite repugnant. This offended me on so many levels, this movie is aimed at the heterosexual mainstream and the characters in the same sex parent family seem to be something to stare at and entertain in a sick carnival/circus manner. Lesbians have not just "not found the right man yet". Its disgusting the makers of this film are just using the parents sexuality as another way to make money. disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its alright, 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
not a fantastic film, but i have to say i liked it, ive seen it twice now, and its enjoyable with a glass of wine and some friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kids Are All Right [DVD]
The Kids Are All Right [DVD] by Lisa Cholodenko (DVD - 2011)
5.21
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews