Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and we're all right too!
That, in the midst of a continuous string of Hollywood-produced superheroes movies, comics adaptations, tired franchises and unnecessary remakes, American cinema can still produce intelligent, mature and thought-provoking films should be cause for celebration. And it's darn entertaining too.

Nic and Jules are in a long-term relationship. They have two teenage...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by The Grenouille

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The kids could have been great
This film is a great deal more intelligent & thoughtful than your average Hollywood flick; but for a supposedly progressive film, it fell back on a disappointingly narrow & stereotyped sexuality.

I believe that sexuality is fluid. I couldn't work out whether lesbians watching gay male porn was an expression of this, or whether it was based on the old myth that...
Published 19 months ago by Squeaker


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars and we're all right too!, 19 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
That, in the midst of a continuous string of Hollywood-produced superheroes movies, comics adaptations, tired franchises and unnecessary remakes, American cinema can still produce intelligent, mature and thought-provoking films should be cause for celebration. And it's darn entertaining too.

Nic and Jules are in a long-term relationship. They have two teenage kids: Joni and Laser. They clearly love each other, but domestic life - and its myriad small compromises and annoyances - has slowly but surely dulled the happy-family picture. The fact that Nic and Jules are two middle-aged women is neither an issue nor a statement (which by the way is refreshing and welcome). When the sperm-donor is contacted by his children and starts forging a relationship with them, the fragile balance of the whole family is shaken to its core.

This movie is a real delight. The situations and character motivations really rang true. The clever (but never smug) dialogue was delivered in a top-notch fashion by the brilliant cast. Although Julianne Moore and Mark Ruffalo were pitch-perfect, it's Annette Bening who amazes with a role that at first might appear thankless but ultimately breaks your heart. And congratulations to the two lead-ladies for discarding botox and multi-layered make-up and looking like real women rather than screen icons.

And did I say it was funny? Well, it really is. So if you like your entertaining to have a bit of heart and brain, that should be right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars alright!, 25 April 2013
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
Wonders will never cease: Hollywood actually allowed a film about a lesbian couple with two children born of artificial insemination. The issue of the Oscar for best acting is a different matter altogether. The US is not even ready to elect its first woman President, let alone award an Oscar to a film which must have had the fundamentalists of all stripes seething. But, pace Hollywood, the acting is superb, and the film is well constructed and makes for interesting viewing. But my favourite moment came when the character played by Annette Bening tells the interloper to 'get your own family'. A Hollywood lesbian-themed film with a happy ending? Wonders will never cease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new kind of family, at least on film, 7 Feb 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
It is brilliant the way this film, which could be so earnest and politically correct, takes the opposite stance and presents us with a family where people are not acting perfectly but do seem very human with flaws we can all recognise. In fact I would imagine infidelity in the situation shown - with the biological father of your child, who you have not actually met - would be more likely to occur than in other circumstances, as your lives are already so intimately linked. But I don't know, really ... ! The refreshing attitude towards the characters means that they can at times come close to talking in an absurd, 'New-Agey' way without our being sure quite how we are intended to take this, but again I imagine it is meant to be funny ... in fact it is riotous! This doesn't stop them being highly likeable and able to move us when things go wrong. Annette Bening and Julianne Moore are both so good, they really have done something wonderful for lesbian families by acting in this film (as has Lisa Cholodenko by writing and directing it so brilliantly). And Mark Ruffalo does a very good job in a role that could have lost our sympathy, but doesn't. The confrontation between the women when the truth comes out is heartbreaking, the tenderness and hurt are so real. To then open the door and find the children listening outside I thought was very moving, and it was spoilt by people laughing in the cinema. At least on DVD you don't have to put up with this kind of thing! It is a mark of the film's achievement that it can effortlessly go from this to moments of farcical comedy, often involving sex, which the film presents without any inhibition ... and you feel, in spite of the crisis, that the kids really are all right. Really, a great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The kids are all right because they are loved, 15 Sep 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
A gentle, sensitive, intelligent, bittersweet comedic examination about what it is to be a family.

Annette Benning and Julianne Moore are the `moms' of this family whose domestic routine is turned upside down when their daughter and son invite their previously anonymous sperm donor dad into their lives. Mark Ruffalo is a likeable, amiable man but underlying tensions soon rise to the surface. Much of the humour is verbally sharp, occasionally farcical, with more than a touch of pathos, as Benning increasingly begins to resent the growing influence of this interloper who gradually realises what has been missing in his life. The director skilfully allows us to appreciate each character's perspective, not least that of the two `kids', Mia Wasikawska and Josh Hutcherson who hold their own in the company of three more experienced actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Kids are All Right, 8 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
Really good film. Annette bening is brilliant. Julianne Moore is reliably great as is Mark Ruffalo. I was expecting a really boring film but i was pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film.
Its so much better than i expected it to be and i would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great supplier- boring DVD, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
As described- what more can I say? Well packaged- exactly what it said on the site. Would recommend as a supplier- but DVD was boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars funny and poignant, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
A sweet funny movie about families, betrayal and loyalty. My teens enjoyed this as well, we watched it as a family movie and really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film!, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
I thought that this was a really good price and much as critics have maligned this story i actually found it good a most certainly thought that it was worth the price I paid. Fast delivery and well packaged very Happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Acting, Perceptive Drama, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Kids Are All Right [DVD] (DVD)
This 2010 feature co-written and directed by Lisa Cholodenko is, for me, by no means a flawless watch (it is a little overly sentimental at times), but nevertheless provides an interesting, perceptive (and often funny) take on (in particular) parenting and sexuality. In addition, Cholodenko has assembled an impressive cast of some of the finest current Hollywood acting talent (Julianne Moore, Annette Bening, Mark Ruffalo) and two promising 'youngsters' (Mia Wasikowska, Josh Hutcherson). To round off the film's engaging and frequently exuberant feel, The Kids Are All Right also features an impressive soundtrack, including music by David Bowie (Panic in Detroit, Win, Black Country Rock) and the likes of Vampire Weekend and MGMT.

Although Cholodenko's film sits alongside other impressive 'indie' films (isn't it strange, or maybe rather sad, that most US films dealing with 'serious subjects' are automatically labelled 'indie'?), such as Little Miss Sunshine, Juno and Sideways, the film's subject matter also calls to my mind Mike Leigh's Secrets and Lies, as sperm donor-fathered 'kids' Wasikowska's 18-year old Joni and Hutcherson's 15-year old Laser try to trace their (common) father (Ruffalo's Paul), leading to some (OK rather predictable) domestic and romantic frictions with middle-class mothers, lesbian duo Moore's 'landscape gardener' Jules and Bening's doctor, Nic. Cholodenko's film is relatively unique (in my viewing, at least) in addressing together the two subjects of parenting and homosexuality (the latter quite explicitly) and contains a witty and acutely observational script, as well as two sterling performances from Moore (in my book the finest US actress of her generation) and Bening. However, on the acting front, standouts for me here are Wasikowska's sensitive, and ultimately strong-willed, 'confused daughter' and Ruffalo's easy-going, but ultimately self-critical, 'spurned parent'. Ruffalo, whose laid-back acting style may be something of an acquired taste, has for me been steadily building a strong reputation via films such as You Can Count On Me, In The Cut and Zodiac and is now one the US' finest talents.

Of course, the strongest 'message' to emerge from The Kids Are All Right is that 'family', of whatever hue, is the strongest, most supportive environment in which to raise children - not exactly rocket science obviously, but a serious point worth reiterating in these days of community disintegration and social alienation. Cholodenko makes these points quite subtly via Joni and Laser's increasing 'distancing' from their excessively lairy (sex, drugs, nihilism) 'friends' and via Ruffalo's despair at his 'wasted' opportunity, and although I found the film's conclusion somewhat anti-climactic, it again makes the point rather poignantly. Not a classic, therefore, but a witty and realistic take on a relatively unusual subject and a film well worth catching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Kids Are All Right [DVD]
The Kids Are All Right [DVD] by Lisa Cholodenko (DVD - 2011)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews