Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great beginning of the Sazi-series.
Tony Giodone is a hitman for the mafia and everyone else who can pay for his services. He's good at his job. He's become even better since he turned werewolf after a job that didn't go quite as expected. But now he gets an unusual case: Sue Quentin wants him to kill her. Thanks to her awful family and the fact that she's too nice to say no to them, she suffers from severe...
Published on 11 Oct 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so with a drippy heroine and a thug for a hero
Hmmm - the synopsis gives the impression that this is Sue's book - it isn't. It's Tony's - wholly narrated by him, with everything from his point of view, although we get some of Sue's thoughts. This makes for something different in a very crowded genre, and different is good, yes?

Well, to a point. Without giving much away that isn't in the synopsis, the...
Published 4 months ago by DebB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The great beginning of the Sazi-series., 11 Oct 2005
By A Customer
Tony Giodone is a hitman for the mafia and everyone else who can pay for his services. He's good at his job. He's become even better since he turned werewolf after a job that didn't go quite as expected. But now he gets an unusual case: Sue Quentin wants him to kill her. Thanks to her awful family and the fact that she's too nice to say no to them, she suffers from severe depression. But Tony feels attracted to her and becomes her bodyguard and lover instead of killing her. As they get closer, she has to face her weaknesses and her issues with Tony's job. And he has to find ways to deal not only with the mafia and the police, but also with his werewolf instincts that get stronger and stronger...
This book is exciting, funny, full of action and with a great leading character. It's also the beginning of a series about shapeshifters, the Sazi. It has already been continued with "Moon's web", in which the Sazi and their culture play a larger role. This is just the beginning of a series that promises to be complex and interesting. So if you like early Laurell K. Hamilton or Lynn Viehl's Darkyn-series, this is just the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So-so with a drippy heroine and a thug for a hero, 2 Mar 2014
By 
DebB (Oxfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hunter's Moon (Tales of the Sazi) (Kindle Edition)
Hmmm - the synopsis gives the impression that this is Sue's book - it isn't. It's Tony's - wholly narrated by him, with everything from his point of view, although we get some of Sue's thoughts. This makes for something different in a very crowded genre, and different is good, yes?

Well, to a point. Without giving much away that isn't in the synopsis, the authors have made their hero a mafioso hit man, raised by the mob from childhood. To their credit, having created a rough background for their man, they don't cop out and make him nice and warm and fuzzy underneath a tough exterior. He's a tough cookie, and isn't very nice. Towards the beginning when he's describing what he'll do, he says something along the lines of, if you want straight murder, that's fine, and if you want a bit of knocking around or rape beforehand, that'll cost you extra. See what I mean? I never really forgot that this was a man who'd rape for money, let alone kill for it.

But, that aside, this rolled along reasonably well, although there's some curious information dumps (example, how shoplifting security works, or how a boa kills it's prey - all jolly interesting but not terribly relevant to the overall story line), and the endless descriptions of how emotions smell got very tiresome.

Another Amazon reviewer describes this book as hilarious, something that I find totally mystifying - this is a book about a woman so browbeaten by her family she decides to end her life. Can't remember why she doesn't do it herself, but she hires (as you do) an assassin. He agrees, with caveats. For most of the book she's a spineless, weak woman, who accepts everything awful that comes her way by virtue of her association with Tony, and from her family - so I didn't really warm to her either! Her mother and sisters are caricatures, and I found their behaviour and attitudes unbelievable - says me, reviewing a book about a mafioso werewolf assassin, ;o)

Will I be buying more in the series? Probably not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gets better as it goes, 2 April 2010
By 
D. Day "meerkat hybrid" (West Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The beginning of the book started a bit like erotic fiction and not much else. When it got into the story though it got a lot better. The end was good and not predictable. It brings a new point of view to were-animals of all kinds. And I like the fact that's its told from the man's point of view which is different. Especially as the female point gets across in a very clever way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent reading, 24 Aug 2009
on the front cover is a review from Laurell K Hamilton who says that she read the book in one sitting. So did i and i loved it. Tony and Sue are fabulous characters and i cant wait to read more in this series. i will say though that the book is written in a first person style and whilst i have read many first person books they are normally from a female point of view. this book is written from Tony's view point which took me a bit to get my head round but once i did i really enjoyed it.

Hunter's Moon was a refreshing change to the normal paranormal books i read.

its well work reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hunter's Moon, 8 Oct 2007
By 
Tami Brady "Tami Brady: Transition-Empowermen... (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The day started out like any other for Tony Giodone. Tony is an assassin for hire and an adopted member of the Family, though he prefers to describe himself as a businessman who works the wrong side of the street. Today, Tony is meeting a client at Nick's Tavern.

At first, the meeting with the client, Suzi (Sue) Quentin, is pretty standard. That is, until Sue mentions that the hit is on herself. The reason for her suicide by hit man, is that she is being terrorized by her sisters Bekki and Mitzi and her mother Myra. Far from kind and loving, these three women treat Sue like a servant and make every effort to ruin her career and love life. Sue feels the only way out of this situation is death. Tony is both perplexed and intrigued by this woman.

Hunter's Moon has a little bit of something for everyone. There's romance. There's comedy. There's action, and there's intrigue. These aspects intermeshed to create a very entertaining action filled storyline. By far, however, the best part of this book is the characters themselves. How often does one read about a teenage assassin who still plays video games and is shy with girls but was incarcerated for his first murder conviction at age six; a mother who throws herself down the stairs so that her daughter has to take care of her; or a hit man who just happens to be a werewolf? These characters are highly original, hilarious, entertaining, and add a little extra flare to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising Beginning but a Little Unfocused, 21 May 2006
This is so-so in terms of the genre, it has some interesting points namely that it's a quirky romance from the male point of view. Sue Quentin is a lottery winner at the end of her tether, brow beaten by her family particularly her domineering mother.

As you do she decides she wants to kill herself, but as she can't bring herself to do the deed, enter hitman Tony, who happens to be part of a crime family and incidentally a werewolf. Tony's chapters are interesting, although the technique of how he catalogues other's emotions through smell wears thin really quickly.

Where the book falls down is in the romance, Sue is often whiny and too needy and dependant on Tony to be an entirely sympathetic character- by the middle of the book you want to shake her senseless. Tony comes across well until the romance kicks in, but the perspective falters as he comes across more as a lovesick heroine than a tough alpha male.

This does have potential but too long was spent on building the romance, so that the end chapter is spent shoehorning in the backdrop of the shifter world of the Stazi's which is very annoying for the reader. I'm going to be borrowing the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Howling fun, 18 Aug 2006
By 
Tammy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
A well written fantasy/horror/romance novel. Somewhat reminiscent of Kelley Armstrong but nevertheless the author brings a touch of wit and style to this particular genre.

Once you pick it up it's a hard book to put back down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book one of a great series..., 23 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book represents the first in an interesting series about the Sazi, which is a new twist on the usual fantasy genre. Sue is a very believable female lead and is a refreshing change from the kick-ass bad-ass girls that appear in the current wave of fiction in this genre. Taking the usual Mafia stereotypes and turning them on their head there are some interesting characters herein and definitely the best fantasy/romance that I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A New World of Shapeshifters, 21 May 2006
By 
Ladybubbles (Croydon, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If I had had the chance, I would have read this book in one sitting - however the real world tended to interfere (very annoying). I was very happy to hear that the series is continuing and I have already ordered the second book in the series - Moon's Web.

The way this book ended left you wanting to learn more about what happens to the main characters as well as the secondary characters. It is a great introduction to a new world, a very enjoyable world.

Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hunter's Moon (Tales of the Sazi)
3.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews