Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All their own work,and what good work it is!!
This is an album recordeed in july"67 that did not get a release at the time in the uk,it got a release in 1973 to maybe cash in on the success of The Strawbs and Sandy Denny at that time.This is an excellent cd with the 12 original tracks supplemented by 12 bonus tracks of out takes and demos,this is splendid folk pop with Sandy Denny in fine voice and the acoustics...
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by S. Robertson

versus
38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sandy & the Strawbs - not the definitive edition
This long awaited re-release of the Sandy & the Strawbs was originally issued on a budget label back in 1973 and
has never been officialy available in its entirety since, though most of the Sandy Denny tracks have already appeared on CD. On the LP release, the album was not mastered at the right speed and sadly, these errors have been copied for this 'remaster'...
Published on 14 Jun 2010 by Mr. D. J. Riezebos


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All their own work,and what good work it is!!, 14 Jun 2010
By 
S. Robertson "superfinebert" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
This is an album recordeed in july"67 that did not get a release at the time in the uk,it got a release in 1973 to maybe cash in on the success of The Strawbs and Sandy Denny at that time.This is an excellent cd with the 12 original tracks supplemented by 12 bonus tracks of out takes and demos,this is splendid folk pop with Sandy Denny in fine voice and the acoustics being played by THe Strawbs and Dave Cousins sharing vocal duties too,but its the bonus tracks im more excited about as they are top notch,its a real treat to hear Sandy Denny sing "Two weeks last summer"which was the title of a Dave cousins solo album which featured a reworked version of said track.I got a real surprise to hear "Tell me what you see in me"replete with nice sitar,an instrument which The Strawbs would use a few times in the 70s!!You also get the earliest (that i know of)version of Sandy Dennys"Who knows where the time goes",the only track written by Sandy for these recordings,you get 2 versions of this track,the bonus version has some marvellous orchestration which gives it a fuller sound,but the other version without the orchestra is excellent too,Sandy denny is in top voice on the recordings as is the playing by The Strawbs.I must admit to enjoying "All our Own Work" slightly more than the self titled Strawbs album which is a highly recommended listen too but came 2 years later.As for tracks which featured on that debut album,there are only 2 that feature on "All our own work" they are"Pieces of 79 and 15"which comes as a bonus demo and "Poor Jimmy Wilson".As for the liners,pretty basic really,but hey i suppose we can't have everything,as for the sound quality,amazingly crisp and clear for 40 odd year old recordings,the remastering has done wonders to these recordings as previous cds i have heard where pretty muddy in sound,nothing of the sort here.This really is in my top 5 reissues of the year so far,i rate this very highly,as for tHe Strawbs,they would carry on throughout the 70s and release some splendid albums"From the Witchwood"and "Grave New World"being just a couple of examples,a very under rated group in my opinion!!If you like folk music you will love this,go on treat yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen, and enjoy some great music, 30 July 2010
By 
DV Barrett (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
The only time I ever saw Sandy Denny, I think in 1974, she sang "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" immediately after Fairport had played the powerful "Sloth". I swear that every one of the hundreds of sweaty, long-haired, bearded students crammed into the Great Hall at Lancaster University was in tears. It was the only song they played that night which I'd heard before -- on the original budget label LP of this album, played on my crummy Dansette record player with the speaker in the lid.

As both a Sandy Denny and a Strawbs fan I've had the original LP more or less since it came out, and also the 1991 Hannibal/Rykodisc CD version, and I have never noticed the pitch/timing problem another reviewer complains about. It makes absolutely no difference to the listening enjoyment if a song recorded in C is mastered in C#. Unless you have perfect pitch (in which case LOTS of records made before we all carried electronic tuners in our guitar cases will offend your sensitivities) I honestly don't think anyone will notice -- or care.

Just sit back and enjoy some lovely songs, beautifully sung by both Sandy Denny and Dave Cousins, and be grateful for all the bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sandy Denny & the Strawbs revisited, 6 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. P. H. Turner (Romiley, G.B.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
To someone who bought the album on vinyl when it came out, Sandy Denny sounds very young on some of the tracks (and no wonder, she was!) and Dave Cousins' song-writing remains as excellent and quirky as ever. The alternative versions and demos are a welcome addition and not just fillers to bulk out the content of the CD. This version is a great album made even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely piece of work, 1 July 2010
By 
T. Phillips (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a very wecome appearance on CD, complete with demos and extras, of Sandy Denny's 1967 work with Dave Cousins and the incarnation of the Strawbs in place at that point in time. Recorded in Denmark, the album didn't get published until 1973, when it came out on Hallmark, a label more familiar at that time to session musician covers of Top of the Pops numbers. A nice vinyl copy of the original (like mine) is worth a few bob, I'm told.

Here we have Sandy Denny with a crystal clear voice, as yet un-tainted by fags and booze. We have "Who knows Where the Time Goes" recorded two years before it came out by Sandy and Fairport Convention on Unhalfbricking, and a bundle of Strawbs material that was recorded for this album before it too appeared elsewhere. There's a demo of "Two Weeks Last Summer", which, 5 years later made it as the title track of the first Dave Cousins solo work Two Weeks Last Summer, itself not put out on CD until more than 30 years later.

The album packs 24 tracks on to one disc, which is great value. The nine tracks called "Out-takes and Demos" are not the ill-rehearsed and unworthy material that the title sometimes implies. These are fully formed, perfectly reproduced songs and instrumentals (in the case of "Strawberry Picking") which simply didn't make it to the original album. Most have been available on bootlegs and collectors rarities for a while, but they are elevated here to join the canon of work with which they were born. There are three previously completely unreleased tracks, the best of which IMO is "Indian Summer", which would have sat extremely well with the sort of work the Strawbs, by then with Rick Wakeman put on Just A Collection Of Antiques And Curios a couple of years later, and several times since - think "The Antiques Suite" off that album, if you know it.

Few recent albums that I have heard have conjured up for me the innocent clarity of some music around in the late 1960s, when many of us were cutting our musical teeth. Get your own gnashers around this CD. You'll be charmed by it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early glimpses, 29 Aug 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
This lovely collection of the early recordings by the short-lived combination of a young Sandy Denny and Dave Cousins, and what was then a folk group the Strawbs, is a delight.
Cousins hadn't yet developed the husky Peter Gabriel-like tones we hear on later Strawbs records, but Sandy's blossoming genius as singer and, on one track - an embryonic version of the timeless Who Knows Where The Time Goes - songwriter of peerless artistry, are here in evidence.
This could be seen as a bit of a curate's egg in some ways, as all but the one song are by Cousins or (occasionally) Tony Hooper, though mostly sung by Sandy in her purest voice. But it's all so good-humoured, well-produced and recorded (in Copenhagen, of all places) and beautifully played and sung by all concerned that any reservations fade into irelevance.
The original release of twelve tracks plus out-takes and demos and another three previously unreleased demos make this a treasure from 1967, that year when so much happened in music, both good and not so good. This is good!
It's well-packaged in digi-pak format, and the remastering is superb.
Both Sandy, and The Strawbs went on to far greater heights, but this is a reminder of a relatively innocent time when one genius, another great singer-songwriter, and a distinctive band came together to make some joyous, uncluttered music.
The overall effect, if you already love these artists, is ultimately very moving. Why did Sandy have to die so soon (about ten years later, in fact)? What a tragic loss she was, a loss that only grows keener with the passing years...
This is perhaps a four-star release that is fully deserving of a top rating due to its historic value, its sheer enjoyable musicianship, and the quality of the songs and their much-missed lead singer.

As I say, a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sandy & the Strawbs - not the definitive edition, 14 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
This long awaited re-release of the Sandy & the Strawbs was originally issued on a budget label back in 1973 and
has never been officialy available in its entirety since, though most of the Sandy Denny tracks have already appeared on CD. On the LP release, the album was not mastered at the right speed and sadly, these errors have been copied for this 'remaster'. Some of the songs end up nearly a half tone sharp , and make Sandy Denny's voice sound strange in places because the playback is too fast. The problems appear to originate from the unconventional equipment used to make the album, a 1991 CD release on Hannibal records of some of the material presented here had the same timing error issues.

The original album versions of 'Who knows where the time goes', 'Sail away to the sea' and 'Tell me what you see in me' have previously appeared mastered at the right speed on the Sandy Denny compilation CD set 'Boxful of treasures' and sound a lot better for it.

As a big Sandy Denny fan, I would have loved to have been able to recommend this re-issue whole-heartedly but I think it's very disappointing that the remastering job was not done properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasured Album, 9 May 2009
This review is from: All Our Own Work [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I have always loved this album. It contains an early version of Who knows where the time goes? and is worth having just for that track. On my way, and you need me and All I need is you are other favourite tracks. It has the feel of an album recorded on basic equipment and that adds to the live feel of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Our Own Work: Sandy Denny and the Strawbs - Sweetling music!, 14 May 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
For some time now I have been collecting the recorded works of Sandy Denny, and found great pleasure with her solo material and albums recorded with Fairport Convention. I am also quite a fan of the Strawbs from way back when. It was with some surprise and delight that I stumbled across this little gem, in which one of my favourite singers teamed up with one of my favourite groups. Why had I never come across it before?

I am pleased to report that although recorded back before either Denny or the Strawbs had made it big, this is a delightful record that does not disappoint.

Recorded back in 1966, an belatedly released in 1973 to cash in on the then success of the Strawbs, these delightful recordings really deserve to have seen the light of day earlier. The tone is very much of the late sixties, with folk based tunes influenced by records from over the Atlantic by people such as Dylan and Simon and Garfunkel. It's an easy going set of tunes, in which they sing about life, love and loss. Sandy Denny provides most of the vocals and some guitar, Dave Cousins does vocals on some tracks and plays guitar and a very good banjo. Tony Hooper provides occasional vocal and yet more guitar, while Ron Chesterman and Ken Gudmand play bass and drums respectively. Songriting is mainly by Dave Cousins with theodd track from Sandy Denny, and a couple from Hooper.

The feel is very much the Strawbs with Sandy Denny, the music is definitely more strongly influenced by Cousins. Denny's songwriting contribution, Who Knows Where the Time Goes, is one of the highlights. It is interesting to hear Tell Me What You See In Me, a favourite of mine from later in the Strawbs career, in this earlier simpler recording with Denny's haunting singing. There are also hints of the more cynical side of Cousins (obvious much later in part of the union) with the wry, almost bitter How Everyone But Sam Was A Hypocrite.

This release gives us the original album, 9 out takes and demos and three previously unreleased demos, giving us all the material recorded by this dream team pairing. The sound is excellent. There are some liner notes by Dave Cousins, along with a cutting from a Danish newspaper (complete with English translation!) regarding their residency at Tivoli (which they took on to pay for the Danish recording sessions). CD and the short booklet are in a nice digipack.

An excellent presentation of an excellent album, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars strawbs - YES!, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions (Audio CD)
One f the best live bands I've ever seen, Used lots of their songs in my set. This is a snapshot of the late 60s folk scene and very accurate and nostalgic. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So pleased to be able to hear this again, 13 Dec 2013
By 
KEITH ASHFORD (Maidstone, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to own a vinyl copy of this, sold it and then regretted doing so. Just great to listen to it again. The delivery service was first class too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions
All Our Own Work - The Complete Sessions by Sandy Denny & the Strawbs (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews