Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price
Having suffered with BT's Home Hub for a while, and then a terrible Belkin (Belkin Wireless N600 Modem Router ADSL (BT Line)), I've decided to try Apple's Apple Airport Extreme 802.11n 5th Generation, as we're a fairly OS X- and iOS-heavy household. As the AirPort Extreme doesn't include a modem, I needed a separate modem to get online, and this fits the bill cheaply and...
Published on 22 Nov 2012 by Alex R

versus
95 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear ... What a Disappointment!
I bought a TP-Link TD-8817 modem in conjunction with the Asus RT-N66U router, as the two in combination was highly recommended by many Amazon reviewers and in other forums. I had decided to update my home network as my existing Netgear DGN5500 modem/router was creaking under the strain of a home demanding a lot from its wireless network, causing frequent wireless...
Published 20 months ago by MG of Middlesex


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the price, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
Having suffered with BT's Home Hub for a while, and then a terrible Belkin (Belkin Wireless N600 Modem Router ADSL (BT Line)), I've decided to try Apple's Apple Airport Extreme 802.11n 5th Generation, as we're a fairly OS X- and iOS-heavy household. As the AirPort Extreme doesn't include a modem, I needed a separate modem to get online, and this fits the bill cheaply and (so far) reliably.

This modem syncs up with the exchange at quite a high bitrate for the target signal-to-noise ratio, which could result in some instability on very long lines. I'm in a rural location with a mid-to-long line, though, and it works well, syncing about 1 Mbit/s higher than the Home Hub it replaces. It can also function as a router and NAT gateway, but I haven't tested this. The configuration webpage exposes a dazzling array of settings, and as such is a bit intimidating, so I'd recommend a bit of technical knowledge, or some patience and plenty of Googling, if you want to understand everything on offer.

A quick note about my setup: in areas where BT Wholesale has migrated ADSL service to 21CN (you can check the dataset here to see if your exchange is enabled: [ ... ]), you can use either PPP over ATM (PPPoA, the most common way to connect to ADSL in the UK) or PPP over Ethernet (PPPoE). The upshot is that you can put the modem into bridge mode - the setup assistant can do this for you - then use the AirPort Extreme, or any other router, to manage the ADSL connection using PPPoE. After I put the modem into bridge mode, I just connected it to the AirPort Extreme's WAN port, then ran the AirPort Utility, and it automatically detected the modem and walked me through configuring it. If you're a BT Broadband customer, the username you want is 'bthomehub@btinternet.com', and the password is 'password' (it really is!). Bridging the connection has the advantage that you aren't limited to the modem's routing, or doomed to having an additional layer of NAT. Happy networking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value ADSL2+ modem and router, 12 April 2011
By 
S. May - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
I was looking for an ADSL2+ modem to go with a new TP-Link TL-WR1043ND gigabit router. I prefer the flexibility of a separate modem and router than an combined modem/router. This is especially useful if I move to a fibre based internet connection in the future as I won't need to change my router only the modem.

Searching for ADSL2+ modems shown them to be rather expensive for what they are. However a few further searches on Amazon found me this very cheap TP-Link TD-8817 modem (and single port router).

Installation was very simple (I updated to the latest firmware) and I was up and running in minutes! Initially I just connected a PC to the WAN port of the TD-8817 to check out access to the internet. Following this I then connected the supplied ethernet cable to my TL-WR1043ND.

Note to anyone considering a similar setup and is a little lost on the networking front.... As supplied both routers have the same default IP address and DHCP switched on. I changed the TD-8817 from the supplied 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.0.1 and switched DHCP off. I left the TL-WR1043ND router with the supplied 192.168.1.1 address and DHCP switched on, but configured the WAN connection as 192.168.0.250 (note this could be anything you like in the 192.168.0.xxx range, e.g. 192.168.0.100), subnet 255.255.255.0, gateway as 192.168.0.1 and DNS as 192.168.0.1 to ensure internet traffic from the TL-WR1043ND passes to and from the TD-8817 modem/router. All was up and running smoothly within 30 mins. This setup has also continued to run without any rebooting for the last couple of months I've had the kit.

I thoroughly recommend the TD-8817, great value for money and it just works straight out of the box. The same is true of the TL-WR1043ND, it has a very useful USB port on it which I use to provide a network access to USB disk drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 101 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear ... What a Disappointment!, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
I bought a TP-Link TD-8817 modem in conjunction with the Asus RT-N66U router, as the two in combination was highly recommended by many Amazon reviewers and in other forums. I had decided to update my home network as my existing Netgear DGN5500 modem/router was creaking under the strain of a home demanding a lot from its wireless network, causing frequent wireless dropouts: quite a common problem these days where there are many tablets, phones, laptops etc. all trying to connect in the same household at the same time. There are also a lot of 2.4 GHz wireless networks operating in my local neighbourhood, adding to the problem. The Asus RT-N66U router has a dual band 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz wireless capability and as there were not many 5 GHz wireless networks currently operating in my neighbourhood the theory was dual band would significantly improve my network capability and give me access to an uncluttered band. A separate modem / router would also give me more versatility and less future redundancy.

So, I placed my order. Delivery from Amazon was prompt as usual.

The TD-8817 modem is quite functionally rich given its price. The GUI is simple to understand. I followed the setup & installation instructions per the supplied manual / disc. That didn’t work, so I then tried using the advice that other Amazon reviewers had been kind enough to post previously. This time around, I got the required connection and then proceeded to connect my Asus RT-N66U router to my TD-8817 modem. This went smoothly. Excellent, I thought. Job done!

Then the problems started. The TD-8817 modem wouldn’t hold the connection for more than a minute or two. I obviously had more internet forum research to do! But without a stable network connection, how could I do this? I disconnected the new TD-8817 modem and reconnected using my old Netgear modem / router.

After many hours of research - often having to compare / contrast seemingly conflicting advice (such are forums these days) - I identified that some different settings were required on the TD-8817 modem. So, I disconnected my Netgear (again), re-installed the TD-8817 modem (again) and the Asus RT-N66U router (again) and bingo – stable connection. This connection was stable over night through to 3pm the next day. Then the problems started again. Now, I know network speed tends to suffer when the schools turn out. The kids come home, check their Facebook accounts, start playing on-line games etc. But, the TD-8817 modem was completely incapable of holding a connection and when it finally refused to connect at all, I decided enough was enough! I decided that the TD-8817 modem needs to go back as it’s not fit for my purpose and I didn’t want to waste any more time researching, disconnecting, reconnecting etc. However, as I am impressed with the Asus RT-N66U router, I’m still using it, albeit with my Netgear DGN3500 operating in bridge mode. However, as I really want to use the Netgear DGN3500 as a wireless repeater, which clearly I can’t do at the moment, I’m now looking for another modem – although there aren’t many to choose from. Time will tell whether I keep the Asus RT-N66U router or whether it goes back as well.

UPDATE

Having subsequently carried out more research, it seems that the problem I have experienced with the TD-8817 modem is quite common. Basically, without going into the specifics of SNR, line attenuation, ADSL 2+, VPI/VCI settings etc., the TD-8817 modem is completely useless if you are more than 2.4km away from your local telephone exchange (telephone line length that is, not line of sight) because of the chipset the TD-8817 modem uses. I need a modem which uses a Broadcom chipset, which holds long-line connections much better. My old Netgear modem/router uses this chipset, which is why it’s working brilliantly in bridge mode. The frustrating thing about this whole experience is that TP-Link should be more honest with its customers and tell people that its TD-8817 modem is unsuitable for customers who have long line lengths from their telephone exchange. Especially since, given the TD-8817 modem’s price point, it’s likely to be bought by customers who are not network savvy – which I wasn’t until I had to go through this experience! I’m now a real bore at the pub, trying to impress everyone with my newly found knowledge on home networking! Don’t make the same mistake I did! Either do your research thoroughly and get a separate modem/ router appropriate to your particular networking requirements or get a combined router/modem combination and save yourself a lot of hassle.

So in summary, if you have a long line length from your local exchange (there are websites which will calculate this for you), don’t buy this modem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solves a specific problem, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this modem as a cheap way to connect to BT in my new house (no infinity or cable). As I'm a bit of a network geek, I wanted something that could act purely as a modem with a better router on the other side of it (A Linksys E4200 running TomatoUSB).

I ran through the setup wizard, selecting VPI = 0, VCI = 38 and setting it to Bridged mode. I gave it the IP address 10.86.1.1 and a subnet mask of 255.255.255.0

I finally disabled the DHCP server on it and plugged it in to the WAN port of my router.

On my router I went in to the WAN settings and changed the connection type to PPPoE and used the @btinternet.com address as my username. I set my router LAN IP address to 10.86.0.1 (in a different subnet to the modem).

My router then correctly used the modem to create a DSL link and it's working really well - I get good speeds for my area (although I have nothing to compare to for DSL) and all the features of my already owned router.

For the price and for those who already have a good ethernet based router (perhaps from your cable provider or if you had infinity) then I strongly recommend this product as a cheap way to get DSL connectivity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money and simple to set up, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
It's been a while since I bought an ADSL router. My current box was constantly freezing up so I wanted a reliable replacement. I wanted a simple ADSL router to compliment my Airport Extreme. I was attracted to this unit by it's price and the good reviews it had.
Installing it couldn't have been simpler. Plugged it in, navigated to the admin console, selected my provider, typed in my username and password and I was away stright away. I had spent the previous 10 minutes noting down the settings from my old box, which I didn't need in the end. Everything was set for me. Having spent the time to write the settings down, I did check through them and they were all correct.
So far the connection has not dropped.
Altogether, I'm very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Ian (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Until recently I'd not heard of TP-Link. When I finally did notice them, the styling, price point and some reviews of their kit made them seem cheap and nasty.

Well, I am here to refute that view! The TD-8840T is in their "newer" style which, while not exactly pretty, is perfectly acceptable (and a lot better than the retro black curvy style I refer to above). It was easy to set up with the built-in wizard (no, I didn't use the CD setup tool), doesn't get at all hot in operation (it's rated at 6 Watts max.), hasn't crashed or glitched on me once, and seems to hold the ADSL sync well. Besides the normal firewall and filtering settings, it has a fairly extensive array of features (such as SNMP, QoS, VLAN, CWMP) that most people will probably never use. The web configuration interface isn't elegant, but it gets the job done and is no worse than many others. My one gripe is that the system log facilitiy is short, cryptic and generally useless.

I bought this router to replace one of another make that was unreliable, and represents the sixth different make of router I've owned. Based on the performance of this device, I would not hesitate to buy another TP-Link product. I use it in conjunction with a much flashier (and much more expensive!) wireless device, but I like the TP-Link because this is the sort of kit you can configure once then forget about it, while it sits quietly doing its job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replaced Drayek Vigor 120 as modem for ASUS RT-N66U Wireless Router, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We needed to rethink our slow BT Home Hub to get a signal at the other end of the house. So in August 2012 I bought a Drayek Vigor 120 as a modem situated where the BT line came into the house, and took an RJ45/Cat 5 cable further into the house and attached an ASUS RT-N66U wireless router, with an ASUS EA-N66 as a repeater / range extender in line of sight, but serving the 'radio' shadow' caused by a large brick chimney. This combination got a strong wireless signal all over our house and improved our Broadband speed. We were very pleased with the result. However, after 6 months or so we found that we needed to re-boot the Draytek modem on an increasingly regular basis. It also got hot enough to brown the white gloss paint on the window ledge on which it sat. Last week, the ASUS RT-N66U reported that a cable wasn't attached to the modem. On further investigation we concluded that the Draytek modem was terminally failing, at just under 12 months old. Looking at reviews here on Amazon suggested buying the TP-Link TD-8817 modem router, but for £1 more I bought the TD-8840T, which has 4 LAN ports rather than just one. At £15, you can't go wrong, and its a small price to pay to sort out our household internet service -its surprising how much we rely on it. The TD-8840T was straightforward to get up and running, but I still needed to connect the ASUS wireless router. The ASUS unit didn't seem to like the fact that the TP-Link Modem was also configured as a router and was taking 192.168.1.1. After further research I found out how to configure the TP-Link device simply as a modem. On the modem control panel, click on Network, then LAN Settings. In the ATM Setting section, for a BT Broadband ISP account, set VPI to 0 and VCI to 38, and in the WAN Service Setup section choose 'Bridge' from the drop down selection list for WAN Connection Type. Then sign in to the control panel for your ASUS wireless router, which will now be at 192.168.2.1 and sign in to your BT Broadband account as a PPPoE connection type. You can then complete your Wireless setup. In hindsight, I could have saved £1 by buying the smaller TD-8817 with only the one LAN port, but they are otherwise very similar units. The Broadband speed checker seems to indicate that download and upload speeds are just as good as with the Draytek unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value modem allowing high performance standalone routers to work on ADSL lines, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
I found setting up the TP-Link TD8817 more challenging than I expected. The device comes with a mini-CD with the setup utility and a small setup guide. I could not run the CD in my laptop so opted to try the web interface instead. There is a sticky label across the terminals telling you not to do this but the manual says you can! The default IP is 192.186.1.1 which was fine for my system so logging on and configuring was straightforward. In fact it only required me to enter my country, Broadband Provider and log-in credentials and off it went to connect. The ADSL light blinked as did the internet light but it would not connect. For my next attempt I downloaded the setup utility from the TP-Link website and started over. This time I did get on the internet with a good connection speed, comparable to my old ADSL (wireless G) router which I was replacing. All was well for about ten minutes until the connection was lost and nothing I could do re-established it.

I contacted the TP-Link customer support line. To their credit, they answered quite promptly and I spoke with a lady called Doris. She asked about the status of the various LEDs and suggested I may not have plugged in the lead to my phone line! When I said that I had been on the internet briefly she said the fault was with my ISP and I should contact them. I told her my old modem/router worked so she asked me to reconnect it and eventually said it was a hardware problem and I should send my TP-Link modem back to my supplier, not them. I did not bother to suggest she might like me to send her the modem log-files because she really did not seem very interested.

I left the TP-Link connected overnight and next day I could see the ADSL light was solid green with a green flashing internet light. When I connected I found I had a good internet connection but my connection speeds were 25% slower than my old modem/router. And that's where it has stayed since. The signal to noise ratio on my line is high - I'm a long way from the exchange near the end of the system in our area so it clearly affected the TP-Link more than my old Orange Broadband Siemens device. At the end of the day, the modem is doing it's job and is allowing me to use a standalone (Netgear N900 WNDR4500) dual band wireless router which has vastly improved media streaming and other traffic around my system so I am completely satisfied with the unit.

Given it is about one-third of the price of other ADSL modems I felt I had to give it 5-stars even with the issues I experienced.

I found two different ways to set up the TP-Link/Netgear combination so if you are interested read on:

Method 1 - the hard way:
I followed another reviewer's approach by disabling DHCP and changing the subnet of the TP-Link to 192.168.0.1 with the Netgear left at 192.168.1.1. The Netgear automatic genie could not find the internet connection so I had to do a manual setup. In the Netgear router I left DHCP on, set the "no login required" tab and set the internet static IP address to 192.168.0.100 (the 100 could be any free number in the range that you like), IP subnet mask 255.255.255.255, Gateway IP Address 192.168.0.1 (that of the modem's) and Primary DNS Server 192.168.0.1.

This worked but I had two hardware firewalls between me and the Web. I have a number of devices which I access from outside my network but I could not work out the two sets of port forwarding settings in order to reach these. I could get out from the Router, but not back through the modem. I'm sure it's possible but I could not work it out.

On the other hand, I could login to the TP-Link using 192.168.0.1 in a browser to see what was happening and make any changes.

Method 2 - the easy way:

Set up the modem as instructed by TP-Link to ensure it can connect to the internet. Then undo all the good work by setting the modem to Bridge Mode: leaving your standalone Router to do all the clever stuff. Forget all about PPPoA and PPPoE - don't worry that your standalone router only has PPPoE and you want PPPoA, really just pretend it isn't an issue. I connected the Netgear (which does not have PPPoA), the setup genie instantly detected my internet connection, asked for my login credentials and then connected me to my PPPoA ISP. It was that easy. It took me over two days to find out that I could have done this in two minutes.

Having done this, I cannot login to the TP-Link via a web browser, I would have to hard-wire it and change my computer's subnet to the 192.169.0.xxx range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well with 21CN telephone exchange, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
I used the TD-8817 in combination with an ASUS RT N66U wi-fi router.

My local telephone exchange supports 21CN, so I've configured them both to use PPPoE.

This combination is working very well, with a reliable ADSL connection, even though I'm some miles from the exchange.

I used the above combination to replace a Billion office grade ADSL modem/router, that had complete wi-fi failure after only two years.

I'm hoping that "separates" rather than an "all in one" is a more longer lasting approach.

The TD-8817 is a small neat unit taking up very little space, and runs cool to the touch. Setup was fairly straight-forward, mostly using defaults, apart from selecting PPoE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't fault it!, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Doub (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TP-Link TD-8817 ADSL2+ Ethernet/USB Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Accessory)
Really can't fault this very modestly priced piece of gear, which replaced a four year old router that was starting to fail. Though I had to tinker a bit with the settings it was soon up and running, connected to my Mac and Apple Extreme. Performance so far is excellent. Free shipping and delivery within 24 hours was a bonus. Why pay more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews