Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value Stephen Baxter omnibus. Great if you like hard SF
This omnibus of some of Stephen Baxter's earlier novels: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring is great value. If you are a fan of hard SF and/or Stephen Baxter, it's well worth it.

All four are standalone novels which are loosely bound as the Xeelee sequence.

The first novel, Raft, is also Baxter's debut. As such, it is a little rough in some...
Published on 6 May 2010 by R. Palmer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Old time sf
It was like stepping back to when I first started reading science fiction all those years ago.It was a good read and I really enjoyed itl
Published 6 months ago by Roger Glading


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value Stephen Baxter omnibus. Great if you like hard SF, 6 May 2010
This omnibus of some of Stephen Baxter's earlier novels: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux and Ring is great value. If you are a fan of hard SF and/or Stephen Baxter, it's well worth it.

All four are standalone novels which are loosely bound as the Xeelee sequence.

The first novel, Raft, is also Baxter's debut. As such, it is a little rough in some areas. Mainly (and in fairness, he won't be the first SF writer to suffer from this) in that the characterisation is a little weak. In this, I think it's mainly that the hero looks too perfect next to the almost uniformly gormless people he encounters (not quite, but you get my drift). The story itself is pacy and fun. The ideas it has are clever and believable (Baxter is a scientist). The people in the story are trapped in a universe where gravitational force is much higher than it is here. This is handled in an interesting way. Great stuff.

Timelike Infinity follows on, but is, as I said, standalone. This one is concerned with cause and effect and considers the future of the human race and its subjugation and how these things happening. Potentially head mangling, but handled well. Characterisation slightly better in this!

Flux is my favourite for the ideas in it. It features a group of artificially engineered nano-scale humans that live below the surface of a neutron star. They are part of the fight the humans are engaged with against the mysterious Xeelee. This is in the background, though, given the smaller scale it's not necessary to know the rest of the story. This is, ironically, the one I found most convincing in its characterisation, given that the people aren't old-style humans! The story starts off looking like it's about saving the main character's family, but moves on to encompass their world and beyond. Great stuff.

Ring is the final book in this sequence. It seeks to wrap things up. It's even more ambitious than the other 3, great stuff. There are two plots, running parallel in this novel - following an AI left in the sun to examine it, and that of a "generation ship" with a number of different factions. Through these the novel seeks to wrap up the story of the Xeelee - the other novels have hinted at there being a wider conflict between the Xeelee and humans; in this we find what it is that the Xeelee have been up to all the time and learn some unfortunate truths (for the humans!) about what they have been involved with and what it means for the human race (and indeed, all life). There are more scientific musings on quantum physics and the nature of observable reality.

Apart from the sometimes weak characterisation, the one other criticism of this group of novels is that there is (much in the tradition of hard SF) a lot of info-dumping. I didn't mind, but watch out if you find this objectionable.

As I say, it's good value, and in spite of the criticisms (weak characters and info-dumping) it's worth its 5 stars. The stories are interesting and rollicking good fun.

Recommended!

Incidentally, if you like these novels, Vacuum Diagrams is an anthology of short stories set in the same universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baxter's XEELEE Books Rock!, 28 May 2011
I've always loved Stephen Baxter, who indeed reminds me a lot of the great Arthur C. Clarke, only with more energy than that great man had towards the end of his phenomenal career. I stumbled upon FLUX years ago when it first came out and loved the relentless merge of hard science and brilliant speculation with ferociously clear imagination. Only not until more recently did I note how it fits into the grand sequence of Baxter's extraordinary future histories. I'd also obtained VACUUM DIAGRAMS and not read it all--that had given me a foretaste of this magnificent volume... and a recent re-look at VACUUM DIAGRAMS led to further research on today's Internet.

So: I decided to methodically explore. RAFT reminded me initially of Niven's THE INTEGRAL TREES in that it takes place in atmospheric conditions without what we consider a planetary body... however, much as I adore the Smoke Ring and all, this is another sort of bid. At any rate, Baxter's superb story-telling, clarity, and remorseless sense of plot, irony, dare I say stardust destiny (?) is delightful.

Among the greatest appeals of this entire arc of stories and books is that Baxter takes us into his plausible version of our Universe + perhaps a fe others, that teems with Life. Just as the Earth itself teems, from high atmosphere to deep in the rocky crust, pol-to-pole, the baxter cosmos of the Xeelee and humans from "Big Bang" to Eternity brims with living things of endless variety.

Bravo and kudos to Mr. Baxter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xeelee: An Omnibus: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring (Kindle Edition)
I wouldn't say i was a die-hard sci-fi fan by any means, usually i just skim terry pratchetts, but this series was near perfect just as a story, and the in depth theoretical speculations about new universes etc. only served to enhance this.
An absolutely great read for anyone who likes a good yarn, a wee bit of thinking and doesn't mind the occasional impossibility :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly Book, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xeelee: An Omnibus: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring (Kindle Edition)
Baxter - the master of hard science fiction. He took over where Asimov and Clarke left off then simply kept going. Written in the best tradition of old time space opera but with cutting edge physics built in right at the core of the tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Old time sf, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xeelee: An Omnibus: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring (Kindle Edition)
It was like stepping back to when I first started reading science fiction all those years ago.It was a good read and I really enjoyed itl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent piece of epic sci-fi, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xeelee: An Omnibus: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring (Kindle Edition)
Baxter is a genuinely fantastic author who has played with the best parts of why I enjoy sci-fi: taking a simple concept and exploring what that would mean for human society if it were different from what we know today.

He shows how humanity is not the physical stuff that we are made of, but a recognition of humanity. Epic sci-fi of the best calibre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good imaginative SCI FI, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xeelee: An Omnibus: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring (Kindle Edition)
Good values, full of great imaginative ideas and some quite heavy science.
But lacks humour, and the timeline at the back would be better at the front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SF by an English Mathematician from Liverpool, 7 Jun 2013
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Xeelee omnibus

This is a long review covering four novels from Stephen Baxter's Xeelee sequence, so the short version goes thus

It is hard SF with some great ideas in it
It deals with things on the grandest possible scale
The story telling and characterisation are somewhat on the mediocre, repetitive side
Of the four novels here, Timelike Infinity is the strongest, followed by Ring and Flux, with Raft bringing up the rear

As a whole, the collection had me thinking of another subdivision within SF, that of SCIENCE fiction. Odd? Well there is science fiction which verges towards fantasy, Frank Herbert's Dune, for example. Then, much of what we call SF is really, when we think of it, Technology Fiction, it is about future use of technology, most of cyberpunk, and much "hard SF" and space opera would appear in this bucket. Stephen Baxter's writing is much more science based, playing with and extrapolating from basic laws of science. At its least successful, this means that sometimes sections of these novels read a bit like an A level physics lesson, or the first year of an undergraduate maths course. The first story here has a character working out the periodicity of a pendulum. At its most successful it means he comes up with some genuinely original ideas; an artificial civilisation established in the crust of a neutron star?

There are common themes which appear in these novels, in both Raft and in Flux the central character starts as a humble outsider and develops to gain acceptance by society. This is perhaps suggestive of something in the author's own view of himself.

These are also stories rooted in a British liberal tradition, Baxter sympathises with those in the lower strata of society, economically and/or politically oppressed, but is also dubious about the benefits of revolution and the motives of its leaders.

Finally, in general terms, this is definitely ideas and action driven fiction, it is not character based. Even in the longer novels in the collection, Baxter's cast remain stereotypical and shallow.

Raft

Raft is set in some form of pocket universe where gravity is stronger, and a group of humans have been stranded. Their society has become stratified into those who live on a giant plate, developed from the remains of the original starship, a lower class who work the surrounding mines, and the sinister half mythological Boneys who live deep in the nebula above which the Raft floats.

With its giant flying forests, emphasis on orbital dynamics, and portrait of a society which has lost its scientific edge, Raft owes an enormous debt to Larry Niven's Integral Trees and Smoke Ring.

It is a fairly standard story of a highly intelligent boy, Rees, born into poverty as a miner, but rising through society to lead its escape from a collapsing nebula. On its own, it is probably a three star book. Interestingly, it is not until the third story in the collection, Flux, that there is any hint of how Raft links to the universe of the other stories.

Timelike Infinity

My favourite of the stories here, Timelike Infinity is rooted in the speculative physics of wormholes, singularities, multiverses and time travel. As such it is the closest to traditional Hard SF or Space Opera.

The primary locations are two periods in the future, one where humanity has developed wormhole technology and is a free species expanding into an emergingly hostile universe. In the second, the human race has been subjugated by the Qax, and their living starships, who have virtually outlawed human spaceflight. Into this era, a wormhole from the former time appears and a group of human fanatics dive through it into history to pursue their impossibly ambitious goals.

Back in the original period, Martin Poole, inventor of the wormhole, must understand the aims of the refugees from the future whilst also battling with Qax invaders from even further in the future seeking to prevent humanity's ultimate if inadvertent victory over their kind.

Here Baxter has great fun tying the various timelines into ever more intricate knots, to deliver a thoroughly entertaining and action packed story. If the story has a main weakness it is the infallability of its central character, but that is probably forgivable in a tale with this breadth of ambition, which plays around with the possibilities thrown up by multiverse theories.

All in all a four and a half star yarn.

Flux

Flux is set in the far future from the main story of Timelike Infinity. In setting, Baxter really lets rip, with specially engineered, microscopic humans living in the mantle of a neutron star. It would be fascinating to know the physics from he has extrapolated his tale.

While the setting is exotic and original, the story and characters are less so. The basic structure is along very much the same lines as Raft. Dura is born into a nomadic society, (with echoes of native American philosophy) which is threatened by electromagnetic instabilities in the star. She and her brother Farr become separated from their grouping and end up travelling to the more advanced city, where like Rees in the first novel, she plays an important role in the saving of the world. The structure at the level above the story is also very similar, Baxter drops the reader into an unfamiliar environment, at first it is all a bit disorienting, but there are enough hints to keep one going, then some way into the novel Basil Exposition walks in and the plot stops for a while so we can be told what is really going on.

The characters we meet are the disaffected teenager, the grizzled old hand who overcomes his cynicism for the greater good, the sadistic supervisor in the dangerous job, the gentle friendly giant, etc etc.

There are some good action sequences, the denouement with the micro humans operating on a macro scale is quite fun, and we learn more about human - xeelee interaction, but this is probably only a three and a half star work.

Ring

Ring brings together much of what is contained in the earlier novels, in terms of story threads, but also in terms of strengths, weaknesses and style. It is closest to being a sequel to Timelike Infinity, but on the way it hooks into both Raft and Flux. How the humans of Raft got into a pocket universe is clarified, and there is more "in star action" as a virtual woman is lowered into the sun.

The basic plot centres around information gathered from events at the end of Timelike Infinity, which indicated an unexpectedly early death for our sun. A shadowy organisation, a sort of "New Space Order" launches two missions to find out what has happened/is going to happen, one the aforementioned solar explorer, the other a generational starship using relativistic effects to travel 5 million years into the future. On the way, there is more interaction with Xeelee technology, we learn about their true enemies, the mysterious photino birds (its difficult not to picture them as being angry) and see the ultimate fate of the universe. So, once more there is some good fun with the science and technology, we get to fly around in a Xeelee nightfighter, but I really lost sympathy with it when things went wrong on the giant starship and for the third time we were confronted with regressive society struggling for survival.

It was also while reading Ring that it dawned on me that, as hyper intelligent uber-races go, Baxter's Xeelee are a bit rubbish. They have all this fabulous technology, but seem totally incapable of any form of interaction and in the end are brought down by an inter-stellar pest infestation.

As a rather cruel conclusion, this collection has a rather depressing constant air of decay, the super intelligent aliens have issues with interacting with others and a significant number of leading characters have a chip on their shoulder about their origins. Is this perhaps precisely what we could have expected from science fiction written by a mathematician from Liverpool?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential omnibus for the hard sci-fi fan, 21 Mar 2012
This review is from: Xeelee: An Omnibus: Raft, Timelike Infinity, Flux, Ring (Kindle Edition)
A set of stories covering millions of years, Baxter's ingenuity and use of hard science stretched to its limits of possibility have resulted in a magnificent set of works.

This book was my first purchase from Amazon and almost certainly my last thanks to their continued refusal to release their kindle app for my Blackberry Playbook. Kobo are getting my money now. Who's losing out there Amazon?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome old school sci-fi, 5 Oct 2011
Reminds me of why I started reading sci-fi long long ago. Enjoyable though difficult and depressing at times. Also, switches topics and places a lot without much continuity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews