Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ex Libris: The simplest are always the best, 27 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Yes I know it sounds a bit boring doesn't it? 'Oh no, we've got to WRITE things down', your guests moan. You don't want that after a few glasses of wine do you? How wrong can you be? This is probably the most fulfilling game that I have ever played. Although 'played' is the wrong word really. To participate is more apt and one finds oneself becoming deeply immersed in writing a short beginning or an end to a given plot line by one of a hundred authors. Even friends that have not read a book in years and can only text or 'Twitter' have enjoyed it and it is amazing how easily one can become tuned into any one of the given plot lines.

Of course if you have a few dozen books on your shelves at home and can read the flyleaf synopsis than you don't need this game but to have it in a box complete with a shiny new penny (for tossing at the beginning to see who goes first - a total irrelevance but a nice touch) is convenient and when the dishes are cleared away and the pens and paper come out its easy to open the box and choose a book from the enclosed cards.

The silence is deafening as all participants concoct a line that they think would open or close the book and when read out anonymously along with the real one it is gratifying to hear the murmurs of approval as your effort is applauded. If others choose your composition you get the point and playing your cards right, you could win the respect of all around the table by winning the round.

It's a fabulous way of using your brain and having fun and makes a change from the deadly drudgery of Charades ('It's a film! Two words! First word! Third syllable!) or the rest of the after dinner festival fodder to wit, Pictionary, Monopoly etc ad nauseam.

You may even want to read some of the books featured. But guaranteed you will end the evening with a smile on your face and you will undoubtedly remember some of the classic lines either you or a fellow player has written whether it relates to the chosen book or not. Eleven out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, 1 Dec 2010
By 
Stephen Williams (Epsom, Surrey.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Having played this with friends some time ago I've been looking for this game for some years and am really pleased to see it back on sale.

You don't need to be particularly well-read, or any kind of literary expert - a little imagination and a sense of humour is all you need!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game ever!, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Least effort, maximum result! Ex Libris is a fantastic and extremely flexible game, for any number of players, although I would not recommend playing with fewer than 3 people. The more players involved, the easier to hide the real answer and the more entertainment to be had from each round. Based on a Victorian parlour game, I believe, Ex Libris allows you to slump about in comfy chairs armed with just your wits and a pencil and paper. In each round one player, as Question Master, draws a card from the pack provided. Each card has the plot summary of a popular book on one side - anything from Barbara Cartland to Charles Dickens - and the opening and closing lines from that book on the other. The title and synopsis are read out by the QM and then a coin is tossed. Heads means the other players have to invent the opening line of the book. Tails means they must write the final line. Meanwhile the player holding the card writes down the genuine line from the book. All papers are collected by the QM and all entries read out in random order, including the genuine sentence. Players then vote on which is the actual line. You get points if you identify the real one, but also if you can deceive other players into voting for yours instead. And...that's it. Then the role of QM moves on to the next player and a new round begins. Repeat until you've had enough. Or are exhausted by laughing.

Don't worry that you need to be particularly well-read to take part. 'Never again' would count as a perfectly valid closing line, and 'It was raining' as an opener, for example. But the real fun lies in trying to parody the style of the writer on the card. Last time we played, the opening line of 'Women in Love' came up and the only line that got no votes was D.H. Lawrence's! it was so badly-written compared to the others, we were all sure it was someone else sending him up! As well as being great fun to play (particularly recommended for post-Christmas dinner!) the game also introduces you to all kinds of books you might not have read and so lead to discovery of new favourites. Good-natured, lazy, hilarious, and as competitive as you want to make it - a brilliant game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb game, 22 Nov 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Our 13 yr old twins clamour for us to play this whenever our friends come to stay. Even a fairly literate 10 year old can play. It is deeply satisfying, creative, straightforward, and entertaining - plus it's the only game we can play as a family that doesn't ened up in tears. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ex Libris, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Bought as a gift for my two granddaughters in France who asked for me to specifically get this game for them and they love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ex Libris, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
A literary game for at least 6 players. Great fun. You have to think and write quickly, either the end or the beginning sentence of a (mostly) well known novel. If the other players chose your sentence, you score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words, 10 Dec 2012
By 
E. Knight (Eckington, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
A wonderful game to own. Really makes you think and makes the players competitive!
If you've never heard of this game it really is worth giving it a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly my favourite game, 1 Jun 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Pastiche writing as parlour game. This is fantastic! I knew my 3 teenagers were good creative writers, but did not realise how good until I plumped for their answers rather than the author's original. If you have a bookish family too, get this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity, 31 Jan 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words
This game is great for 4+ people, the more the better. It involves writing, but don't be put off by this. All you Dyslexics out there can join in the fun as spelling is not the concern here. We had 4 Dyslexic people playing this game over Christmas and their contributions were fantastic, and they often won the game! This game is all about being creative.
The aim of the game is to write either the first or last sentence of a novel. A synopsis is read out at the beginning of each round, then everyone writes their own version. The reader copies out the actual sentence. Then the Reader reads out all the versions, everyone votes on which they think is the original one.
This game would be a great assest to English teaching in Secondary Education.
The only problem is that once you have used the cards you would have to add your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 Dec 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words (Toy)
Have been playing this game for years and it is finally back on the market. I know what everyone is getting this christmas!
I adore this game, it is creative, fun and is perfect for a party setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ex Libris - The game of first lines and last words
£13.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews