Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars although it is not given good reviews elsewhere i would say it is for priest ...
although it is not given good reviews elsewhere i would say it is for priest fans as it gives you the bands origins and who would have though priest started without halford as he is now mr priest the metal god..could do with a bit more insight but it is not a big read and worth your time
Published 7 months ago by anthony walters

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average biography
The problem facing Daniel's here is how to write about a band who do not wish to contribute to his book.

His answer has been to approach the book in two ways firstly to interview former band members who were there at the very beginning and secondly through the use of archive interviews with members of the current line up. to give him his dues, he's done the...
Published on 23 Oct. 2010 by Ashes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average biography, 23 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The problem facing Daniel's here is how to write about a band who do not wish to contribute to his book.

His answer has been to approach the book in two ways firstly to interview former band members who were there at the very beginning and secondly through the use of archive interviews with members of the current line up. to give him his dues, he's done the best he can here.

Where he excels is in the ground breaking early years. You really get the feel of the relentless slog of gigging in pubs and clubs the length and breath of the country in the 1970's and the little financial reward of doing so.

However no matter how hard he tries with his own comments and reviews of albums and tours etc where the book fails, for this reader, was in it's lack of in-depth interviews with the current line up.

one matter which intrigued me was that some of the ex members who had played on the records also had there own reasons for not appearing in the book. Namely those that still receive royalty cheques from the band !

I think that if your going to do a biography you need to have the help from the band. Check out Chris Welch The history of Yes: close to the Edge as an example of what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars interesting start..Fades to black., 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Judas Priest - Defenders Of The Faith (Kindle Edition)
This book makes an interesting start, probably because the main players of that era have been interviewed. It details the trials and tribulations of a band struggling to earn a crust and deals with early Priest fairly well. However, it becomes a record of their releases and tours and chart positions. I don't think it could do anymore without the involvement of the main members of Priest. This is a band I've loved since first hearing Sad Wings of Destiny back in the 70s I've seen them many times, this book doesn't do justice I'm afraid. Good effort but no prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars although it is not given good reviews elsewhere i would say it is for priest ..., 13 Oct. 2014
although it is not given good reviews elsewhere i would say it is for priest fans as it gives you the bands origins and who would have though priest started without halford as he is now mr priest the metal god..could do with a bit more insight but it is not a big read and worth your time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Holy rage, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Judas Priest - Defenders Of The Faith (Kindle Edition)
I like the history side of the band's creation. Priest are legendary and this book tells it's story fairly honestly. There will always be inaccurate information in a book of this type as bands like priest like their mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Call for the Priest., 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great insight into Judas Priest,one of the best metal bands of their time,glad Rob Halford managed to patch up his differencesa with the rest of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Updating products...., 2 May 2010
By 
S. W. Latham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a really good buy for anybody who likes rock biographies and didn't buy the original 'Defenders Of The Faith' book: this one has all the same material, but has been updated to include the 2008-early 2010 time frame. If you haven't already bought a copy, this would be the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great., 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story Of Judas Priest - Defenders Of The Faith (Kindle Edition)
When I was a teenager Judas priest were just making it and were treated with derision by myself and my friends, we were in the Iron Maiden camp and saw Priest as a bit naff. However I have grown to respect their input into extreme metal and on listening to their early music I can see why they are regarded so highly, so they rightly deserve their place as gods of metal as far as I'm concerned. This book waffles on about all the details of what band member did what and when, what was recorded when etc, but it misses the point by a mile. If you want an example of a great book about a band read white line fever by Lemmy, this book however is not like Lemmy's book, where is the fun? There is no input from the band, that is the problem, no stories of rock excess or drunken stupidity, more importantly, no human interest. A difficult book to finish, no laughs friends, I get bored with no laughs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews