Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars334
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2010
I'm not going to lie, Robert Pattinson was a big part of my decision to see this film for the first time. However, as a film nerd, I really did fall in love with the film.

It is a wonderfully raw, extremely human indie drama about how the actions we think are meaningless can have a positive impact on the lives of others. The script is very witty and the characters are extremely relatable. Pattinson's Character, Tyler, is approaching his 22nd birthday and still mourning the death of his older brother, who died on the day he turned 22. His brothers death has fragmented his family-His parents have divorced and his wall-street father has no interest in relating to either him or his younger sister Caroline, who is greatly upset by her fathers ambivolence. After a night out with his friend Aiden which results in a brush with the police, Tyler meets Ally, a girl from Queens who, following the murder of her mother, has developed a very different view of life to Tyler, along with a firy relationship with her possessive father. They fall in love. However, the romance isn't the focus of the story but rather one of it's parts. It is a story about family and relationships.

Pattinson puts in an excellent performance, refusing to make Tyler either a rebellious hero or a spoilt brat but instead successfully conveying his pain, rage and frustration. His scens with ruby jerins, a child actor to watch, are extremely touching. Emilie De Ravin is also good as Ally, bringing a real warmth to the role. She and Pattinson have great chemistry and the characters romance is allowed to unfold in a very realistic way. Pierce Brosnan does a great job as Tyler's father, adding depth to what could have been a very predictable character. However, I do think that Chris Cooper, an excellent actor, is underused in the role of Ally's father.

The ending is a highly controversial one that will split audiences but which I loved, finding it harrowing, devestating, and extremely haunting. It is an ending that will stay with you long after the film is over and which will make you re-evaluate everything you've seen in light of it. Again it is handled in a very touching, human way. A real little gem of a film. Whata pity that, because of controversy surrounding the ending which has had critics tearing it apart like ravenous wolves, it may not get the recognition it deserves.
88 comments|212 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2010
I can not recommend this film enough. All of the cast are amazing, with the lovely Pattinson proving he is more than capable of holding his own in the acting stakes. I am glad I knew what the 'twist' was at the end otherwise I would have been sitting there sobbing like my sister next to me. As it was I struggled with a big lump in my throat and an ability to breathe as the film drew to its close. I loved the way this film left me thinking about it for a long time after, it has an interesting message and I defy anyone to walk away from watching it and not want to try just that little bit harder at their own lives. Shame the film was marketed as a romantic drama, because it is far more than that. Very very good.
11 comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
I went to see this film with my 16 year old. I have seen both the Twilight movies and thoroughly enjoyed them. I have also read all the twilight books.
We go the cimema every week and see all variety of films both good and bad. I have never felt the need to write a review before. But the reviews I have seen for this particular movie are unfair and simply not true. Journalists just looking to get in print and to say nothing good about a film that is on the whole very very good. Narrow minded try hards jealous of a talented young man whose career is on the way up. Now I've finished ranting....... back to the film. gripped from the start, an emotional rollercoaster with an ending that left me speechless. The whole cast are great and give emotional performances to support the story. The young cast are superb and Ruby Jerins is a young girl who will go a long way. Her relationship with Tyler ( Rob Pattinson)is so touching and you could see both actors feeding off each other. If you like films and are prepared to be open minded you'll be surpised how much this film has to offer.
Ladies if you have a pulse Rob is very easy on the eye.
0Comment|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
Like many other people, I went to see this purely as a Robert Pattinson fan, with very little idea about the plot or the storyline. All I'd heard was that it was different from the Twilight series, which suited me just fine.

The film was funny, happy, sad and incredibly touching, all at the same time. It tells the story of a young man who uses love to get past his problems and find himself. At many points throughout the film I found myself connecting with the main characters - as a 19 year old, I'm at the age where I don't know who I am or what I want to be (just like Tyler) and I was bullied as a child and so can connect with Tyler's younger sister, Caroline.

I've only seen it once, on the day it was released in the cinema, and the story still touches me today. I was in tears at the end of the film and have only been this moved by one other film in my life - Titanic. I would recommend it to anyone who is in touch with real life and understands/can cope with the fact that not everything has a happy ending.

I will always, always remember "Remember Me".
55 comments|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2010
If a year ago someone would've told me that I would write some comments and a film review, even in English which isn't my native language, I would've bursten into laughter. But here I am with a dictionary by the hand to help express myself clearly. Remember me is worth it for several reasons.
It's a very beautiful and realistic movie done in the style of the movies of the seventies and earlier. It's about time we get to see this kind of films again after the dominating of brainless action movies and predictable romantic comedies. Other reviewers before me already told about the story so I won't repeat it again. I consider Remember me as a tribute to the ordinary people affected by the end of the film, an end that was done very tastefully. It is a film that needs to be shown at students in high school because of the end and the other themes in it, worth to be discussed afterwards: loss, grief, family relationships... I believe young people will understand values in life better after seeing Remember me than when told in some boring lessons. At least that's what my daughter says, and I believe her because she was obviously more silent and thoughtfull about all this for days after she saw the movie. Remember me also needs to be seen by the adults, the parents who often are so preoccupied with their work that they forget easily that life isn't something you can control: you never know if today will be followed by a tomorrow.
And therefore I was sad when I read some harsh and respectless reviews, written by narrow-minded critics. This indie movie is quite unique because it doesn't fit in a genre, it doesn't follow the structure generally used in many movies. Critics like to predict a film which they couldn't with this one, so they prefered to bash him rather than trying to understand the motives of the filmmakers. Conclusion: many people believed them and didn't want to see this little masterpiece (at least in America, here in Europe the film has much more success, thank God).
Last thing: the performances in Remember me were very strong and believable. But, to be honest,I don't get this thing about Robert Pattinson. Why does he has to prove he can act? He has proven it already in all his earlier films and for all those who're still septical: the film industry know very well that he's like a raw diamond that needs to be cut and polished a bit, not too much. It isn't only for his good looks that he's been offered the leading part in Bel Ami and Water for Elephants.
Sorry for my mistakes, I'm afraid a dictionary alone isn't enough, but at least I tried to write something comprehensible.
22 comments|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 June 2012
Tyler Hawkins (Pattinson) is a rich kid with divorced parents & a unique little sister Caroline (Jerins), who likes to rebel against his father Charles Hawkins (Brosnan) who he feels doesnt spend enough time with his family, especially when his older brother died when he was a young boy. The girl in the love story is Ally Craig (De Ravin) , a girl who has also sufferd loss, witnessing the murder of her mother as a young girl, and now her police officer father Sgt. Neil Craig (Cooper) is very protective of her. On a drunken night out Tyler gets arreseted by Craig, who turns out his daughter goes to the same school as him, and Tylers best mate Aidan, dares him to date her & then dump her to get revenge on the father. But as things turn out, the two have a lot in common.

Overall this is a decent romantic drama, the story allows us to get to know each charatcer & invest emotional ties with them in different ways, that we understand they're point of view. Robert Pattinson (Twilight) & Emilie de Ravin (Lost) make a good, beliveable on screen couple. And following their relationship togher, as well as Ally's bond with Caroline which brings her closer to Tyler, it helps them both come to terms with they're own losses, as they try and make peace with the relatives they have grown disconected from, but it maybe too late for some. Although he only has a few appearances, Pierce Brosnan (Goldeneye) makes the most of them as he becomes one of the most memorable characters in the film. Same could be said for Chris Cooper's (The Patriot) over protective father & Ruby Jerins (Nurse Jackie) sensetive and misunderstood kid.

In conclusion, Remember Me is a good romantic drama & each character involves the viewer into these peoples lives. The ending is very sad, but very controversial with it, which sadly draws some people away from all the good that went before. Reccomended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
This Movie would have to be one of my favourite so far in 2010, as it showed great emotion, and the core of the plot was relationships and emotions. As during the film in the build up to the dramatic ending it showed the relationship between Tyler (Robert Pattinson) and his girlfriend Ally (Emilie de Ravin), Tyler and his father (Pierce Brosnam); and finally Tyler and his sister (Ruby Jerins). All of these relationships result in showing that they all love one another despite any conflict during the film, from the beginning to pretty much the very end it shows Tyler and his father have a tense relationship where neither of them really value one another and Tyler's view on the father is that he's lost his eldest son (when he committed suicide) and he should value his family more but his work is his priority. Tyler and his younger sister have an incredibly close relationship and it is almost a relationship you would expect between a father and their daughter, this is Tyler trying to compensate for the lack of any father like figure to his younger sister. Tyler and Ally's relationship is one of attraction and love, but if I where to find one flaw, which may be intentional, Tyler and Ally's relationship isn't one you'd find in a Jane Eyre novel and it was not particularly incredible, but still a believable relationship which many people can relate to. The ending was truly amazing and very shocking, I won't give away any spoilers to do with the end, but the director (Allen Coulter) really did justice to the event ending the film, by showing the reactions of Tyler's close family and friends, the ending was literally spelled out and is a real tear jerker.
Robert Pattinson and the supporting cast really showed they where all very talented actor's/actresses, a must see twilight fan's and non twilight fan's alike.
Sophie Littler.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Remember Me' is one of those films that surprised me by being a whole lot better than I anticipated it to be.

This follows two university students who fall in love and who have their own individual damaged pasts that affects the way they relate to their families and each other. Both Robert Pattinson , as Tyler, and the gorgeous Emilie de Ravin, as Ally, act extremely well and as this was the first film I have seen Pattinson in I have to say I was very impressed with his acting skill and portrayal of his character. This is a quite a gentle film, that is definitely story (rather than effects) driven and very quickly you are drawn into the lives of the main characters and feel the highs and lows with them. There was a twist at the end of this film that I am undecided if it makes the film better or worse. It certainly had an impact, but the same effect could have been achieved in a different way that wouldn't have left the niggling doubt about it's suitability to the overall film.

All in all this was a very good film, with a decent story and credible acting from all involved. It is well worth a viewing at some point.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2013
Broken relationships - broken families - broken society. Welcome to America. Where people are unable to have normal, balanced lives, and violence is never very far away. Well it's here in spades. Everyone seems to have 'issues' and are unable to articulate their feelings or communicate properly. No wonder everyone is screwed up and needs therapists. A resentful son who doesn't get on with his successful businessman father - the family is loaded. Yes, his brother committed suicide, yes his mother was murdered - well there's a surprise: maybe the U.S. has a problem with 'gun control' His girlfriend lives with her father, the mother isn't around because he was abusive towards her. And so it goes on. And to cap it all, he ends up a victim of 9/11! So yes, the ending is desperately sad. Well, there's one advantage the American film industry has over the rest of the world - it has every aspect of life on its' doorstep and doesn't need to get inspiration from anywhere else in the world - pornography / violence / crime / drama / weird people and families / over the top sentimentality / fantasy, you name it, it's all there on the streets. You don't even need to make it up.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2010
Like many others I initally chose to see this movie because of Robert Pattinson - I wanted to see him act in something other than Twilight. And I must say he did a fantastic job... much better than any of the Twilight movies and he proved that isn't all he can act in. He played his character really well, as did most of the other actors and actresses.
I won't tell the story here if someone is reading this who hasn't already seen the movie but it really is a good story and a really good ending. Very sad at the end... I cried at it and I would hardly ever cry at a film. It was so good that I nearly felt as if I was sharing everyone elses' heartbreak along with them. This movie also made me think a lot too about people going through such a tragedy as shown in the film and how strong the people were involved in such a case.
To sum it up Remember Me is a real tearjerker and well worth seeing - it may provoke some deep thinking. The acting is generally very good with an excellent and original story. Robert is also lovely as always and I'll definitely go to see more of his films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.