Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£36.99+ £1.26 shipping

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2010
Pre-ordered this from Amazon before its release & it's arrived today.
(Earlier than I assumed)
The difference is though, I orderd the 3 disc edition as advertised here
(2 CDs & 1 DVD)
rather than the double disc edition but as it happens, I got the 4 disc limited edition instead which is just simply fantasitic.
There's not alot I can say unless you've never heard any of Oasis' tracks before,
but this is the very best style of modern rock you will ever hear and is most certainly my favourate style of music as well as an awsome band.
Unlike the 'clocks' album, this has all of the hits, every single one of them. Nothing is missing as far as I'm concerned, it is a full collection of their greatest material.
I'm listening to the album as I type and 'Oh my God' Why isn't there anyone else of this Calibre?
The way it's boxed is really speacial too, each disc has its own card sleeve aswell as a thick booklet and a hard outer case
(However this may only apply to the 4 disc edition. I could be wrong)
Any Oasis fan should concider getting this even if you own all of the other albums.
Just having each hit in one collection is great
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2010
this is everything i expected and more. massive oasis fan and seen them live loads of times so the live cd is a nice touch. got the 4 disc box set and its superb. a superbly presented item for any true oasis fan, but if you want to introduce your kids to oasis dont play the live cd if you dont want them too hear a lot of language not for kids
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
Great Album. Thanks for everyone's recommendations. But just wanted to say that Sunday Mornin' Call is included on CD2 as a Hidden Track just leave it playing after track 13 finishes SMC starts at approx 6mins 30secs.

Cheers
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
This box set possibly posseses the best collection of songs released together for a very long time! Every track is a winner. On top of this, every music video is included on a DVD, all with commentary by Noel or Liam Gallagher (depending on who wrote the song). Also included are a few live videos and US videos, as well as videos for the B-sides Acquiesce (probably spelt wrong!) and The Masterplan.

On top of this is a CD of the last ever recorded Oasis concert. The presentation is brilliant, the 4 discs come in cardboard sleeves, contained within a sturdy box. The booklet contains exerpts from the music video commentaries with Noel or Liam for all songs, as well as fans thoughts and stories.

A must for any Oasis fan, and if you're yet to discover Oasis this is definately the place to start!!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
And so it comes to an end. 15 years is a lifetime in music : 15 years which saw a change of the world. Oasis arrived with a sneer the week Kurt Cobain ate a shotgun, saw the failure of Nu Labour, then imploded in late period rich boredom before finally derailing to mostly apathy last summer. In truth, as we know, Oasis was all - and was always - the brainchild of Noel Gallagher, who singlehandedly dragged an underachieving indie band, who wrote the songs, whose ambition and vision was always shackled to a less talented, arrogant younger brother.

Here then, is the funeral. A lavish set of four discs, containing every single A-side the band ever released, the last live recording ever made, and a DVD of every video. As a collection it is an enormous, book-ending, definitive slam of the big door.

Thus, "Time Flies 1994-2009" is probably the only Oasis album you need - if you need any album. A collection of each and every single, in a bafflingly non-chronological order. Noel Gallagher said it was to sound like a great gig - but really, the running order is designed to hide the fact that the latter, fat and rich years of Oasis were when they went rubbish. The band forgot what it was like to hunger, to need, to hold the glowing chalice of music as the passport out of the suburban graves. The latter years, built when Noel Gallagher had exhausted his collection of pre-fame ditties, are best typified by "Go Let It Out" : a somewhat aimless ramble with no memorable lyrics and even less of a clue what the hell was going on ; I will pay anyone 5p who can give me 1,000 words on what the meaning of that song is and not tell a lie.

So, realistically, this is like a bigger, fatter version of 2006's now redundant "Stop The Clocks" ; no new songs, no real rarities, and all the hits jumbled up so there is no such thing as a gradual decline in quality, just great songs sandwiched between not-so-great ones. Stuff like "Little By Little" and "She Is Love" are at best average will-this-do fodder inbetween the rest of the collection ; which peters out with the unhummable "I'm Outta Time" and "Falling Down". There's loads of great songs in here (and some less than good ones).

You can pinpoint the exact moment of decline to the closing chords of "All Around The World" : the point where Oasis ceased containing the kids from the skids, and became a compendium of session musicians with the departure of the core remnants. From that moment, where "Go Let It Out" started, Oasis was a brand, not a band, a collective of workers in the business of making money. As evidenced by the live portion of this set - the last recorded Oasis live performance in London - which is, unsurprisingly 12 songs from their first three albums and 4 from the next four albums. It's a blistering (and edited) live performance that showcases Oasis live as a perfect reproduction of their clichéd image, a latter day Indie Rolling Stones that they had undoubtedly become. It's fine, roaring indie rock ; only tempered by the knowledge that this was a stadium rock band in it's death throes.

Finally, and rounding out this undoubted value-for-money package, is a long-overdue DVD that collects every promo and video the band ever made, in order. You can see and hear the sharp decline in quality from hungry chancers to bloated gazillionaires in full technicolour : not only is every single here, but also every oddity and foreign release that pads out a total of 35 songs on the DVD.

So here it is : "Time Flies" is the chronicle of a band that was once great, turned average, then split up, told across a sharply uneven compilation, a sparkling live set, and a weighty, full DVD. It is a great introduction and a fitting finale, and undoubted value-for-money.
33 comments|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2010
Its a good way 2 sign off but has everyone noticed that Sunday Morning Call is missing? Its the Complete Singles Collection and yet Sunday Morning Call aint included stop Me if Im wrong but these are all the singles by Oasis:

1994:Supersonic,Shakermaker,Live Forever,Cigarettes & Alcohol,Whatever

1995:Some Might Say,Roll With It,Wonderwall

1996:Don't Look Back In Anger,Champagne Supernova(USA),Morning Glory(USA)

1997:D'You Know What I Mean?,Stand by Me

1998:All Around The World,Half The World Away(Not sure where I do believe it was released as a single during this year because of the Royal Family,even though its Side B on Whatever)

2000:Go Let It Out,Who Feels Love?,Sunday Morning Call(July not included in the FULL singles collection)

2002:The Hindu Times,Stop Crying Your Heart Out,Little by Little/She Is Love

2003:Songbird

2004:Merry Christmas Everybody(Cover)

2005:Lyla,The Importance of Being Idle,Let There Be Love

2006:Promos Acquiesce,The Masterplan

2007:Lord Don't Slow Me Down

2008:The Shock of The Lightning,Im Outta Time

2009:Falling Down

I cant help but feel Noel left out a Good song I wonder if He knows? apart from that its a very Good album Im not happy though Sunday Morning Call not included for whatever reason
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
This collection of songs is an absolute must for anyone with any interest in alternative/indie music from the last thirty years. Oasis' music defined the 1990s and Noel was always well able to spin out a few singles on the later albums. Can't recommend this highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
As described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2010
This is a great collection. The DVD Video collection itself is worth the price (especially the commentaries from Noel and Liam). I was surprised that the DVD is NTSC format (not PAL), but it's not an issue since I can play both formats.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
This package with all the singles, The last recorded live concert and a DVD of all the videos is really a bargain for any Oasis fan and a good starting point for anyone wanting to get into their music.
Warning on the front about bad language applys to the live disc and it very valid, There is little point reviewing the tracks included here as it is all the singles they ever released so you get the full view of what they were about, From the heyday to the slow decline with highlights in between.

The DVD gives you every video they did including American versions and is well worth a watch, The live disc is not bad either.

With the brothers no longer talking it maybe sometime before you will hear anything new from them so this is a perfect way to remember what they were about,Despite(or maybe due to) all the anger and tension Oasis were still one of the greatest rock bands of the 1990s.

Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.