Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more essential outings from the lads!
Volume 4 in the Top Gear Challenges DVDs, like the ones before it, has plenty to satisfy fans' appetites and is again so reflective of the show's consistent quality. Like Volume 3, this is a two-disc set with room for some superb extras. But the sheer number of challenges collected here (more than any previous compilation), means that the whole programme is actually...
Published on 21 July 2010 by R. Wood

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good segments but a few duds
Whilst the first disc was entertaining I found myself bored with the 2nd disc mainly because most of them weren't really 'challenges' at all (usually involving only 2 or 1 of the hosts) & weren't funny or entertaining aside from the police car segment but I already owned that on Season 11/12 USA DVDs. How about the other stuff that hasn't been released yet? Like the '17...
Published on 6 July 2010 by Adam Norris


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet more essential outings from the lads!, 21 July 2010
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Volume 4 in the Top Gear Challenges DVDs, like the ones before it, has plenty to satisfy fans' appetites and is again so reflective of the show's consistent quality. Like Volume 3, this is a two-disc set with room for some superb extras. But the sheer number of challenges collected here (more than any previous compilation), means that the whole programme is actually spread across the two discs, making viewing this time come across as a true journey with plenty of hilarities and excitement.

So which famous exploits of Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow are present this time round? The Train Race from London to Scotland (with Jeremy in the Tornado steam locomotive, Richard on the Black Vincent motorcycle, and James in the old Jaguar), the attempt to build an Electric Car (as reviewed in Autocar), Ice Racing, the Police Cars (FINALLY!), Classic Rally, a Fiesta road test, Commie Cars (as tested by Jeremy and James), James' day with internet sensation Ken Block, the Audi RS6 against a couple of Skiers, James in a boat against Richard in a Ferrari in the Riviera and finally a test to see if the almighty Bugatti Veyron can surpass the legendary McLaren F1 hypercar. That's an unprecedented ELEVEN challenges collected for a DVD release, which is uncanny.

Now, because this is Top Gear, and it's new challenges, it's obviously essential purchasing. And the consistent freshness of these releases means you still won't be disappointed. The Train Race is absolutely excellent, due to Jeremy being on the magnificent Tornado and Richard coming into his element as `the Black Shadow' and the true-to-form high-stakes nature of the challenge. The Electric Car and Police Car escapades both feature originality and innovation, and the Ice Racing with rear-wheel drive cars features Jeremy realising he can actually MEND things and the presence of the dreaded Morris Marina. All these challenges are true classic, with the rest being exceptional. In other words, you won't be disappointed with the content.

Presentation-wise, the DVD is again typical BBC and 2Entertain quality. Picture and sound are clean and crisp, there're good subtitles, the menus are well-designed and structured, chapter breaks are at convenient points; it's what we've come to expect from these DVDs since the BBC learned from the mistakes of the very first Challenges DVD.

In terms of extras, you can expect usual things like extended interviews with celebrities (Jenson Button and AC/DC's Brian Johnson), multi-angle features (a ride with the Stig and a Training Run with Speed ), and more unseen footage of the show and the Top Gear Awards. Those who've experienced previous Challenges volumes can expect to be fascinated by the new, noticeable footage and totally immersed by the multi-angle features and car spotlights.

The only problem with Top Gear: The Challenges 4 that may irk some fans is the noticeable changes to the soundtrack here and there. This has always been a problem that has hindered DVD releases of the show. Because of the annoying contractual reasons, you can no longer expect to see (for example) James arriving in his Lexus to the theme of "Murder, She Wrote" during the Police Car challenge. It's understandable, and the challenges are still such great entertainment, but it remains unfortunate that we no longer have the music we fondly remember and have substitute music which is hit-and-miss.

Still, it's Top Gear, it's the Challenges, and the choice, features and presentation are brilliant as always. And fans are going to buy it regardless.

So what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Crikey, it's the Rozzers!, 7 Jun 2010
By 
J. Dale (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Back again with Jezza, Hamster and Captain Slow that put their own lives to the limit and beyond in these challenges that have proved quite dangerous, funny, extreme and painful (if you argue your case when riding the Vincent Black Shadow Bike in 1949!). As we all know, the challenges in Top Gear always provide a usual humour and utter words of 'Cock', 'Ambitious but Rubbish' when something usually goes wrong which is predictable.

Continuing the theme from the Third Top Gear Challenges DVD, the Menus are animated in the view of a Speed Dial Gauge with some of the challenges been shown, the scene selections is still perfect and there are extras like the last volume. Sound like Top Gear heaven? It gets better to the list of challenges including the Train Race in 1949, Electric Car (Geoff), Ice Rear-Wheel Racing, Classic Rally's at Auction, Fiesta test in Shopping Mall, Communists Car, Rally Driver Ken Block and James May, Audi Vs. Skiers, Richard in a Car and James in a Boat Race and the McFlaren Vs. Veyron. All of these challenges has got tremendous amount of humour and laughter to fill you up with and so many comments that never fail to raise the smile even more.

However the challenge that is included that will be mentioned often is the Police Car Challenge, this challenge was the most anticipated one and mercifully the BBC listened and now the challenge is included in this DVD with the rest. This will certainly put a smile on many people's faces for now.

For 200 minutes of Top Gear, what more can be included, I don't know maybe a second disc for the second time giving more Extra's? Why yes they did, on a second disc you get the Jenson Button & AC/DC's Brian Johnson Extended Interviews, Ride with The Stig and Training Run with Speed Flyers in Multi-Angle, Unseen Top Gear Awards, Unseen Ken Block Slow Mo Footage, Exclusive Unseen Footage and Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 200mph run in Abu Dubai and More! The DVD is a structured Top Gear DVD and has no problem with navigation and yes it does include subtitles for English Hard of Hearing and a aspect ratio of 16:9.

One Difference be warned is that the Challenges are NOT all on one disc, due to the runtime of the challenges included in this volume, it is impossible to fill all one disc with the challenges. Overall, this is worth buying as it still is the same, the only downside some people can complain is that some of the Music has been changed on some of the challenges and that some cuts have been made but not sufficient enough to be noticed. One downside is that some other challenges like '17-Year Olds Car', 'Caravan Holiday' and 'Ploughing, Cropping Tractor' are not included. But mainly, it's a brilliant release and like any other Top Gear fan, this should be part of your own collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson et al are a real challenge, 28 Jun 2014
By 
H. Mills (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this DVD only to obtain the Jag, bike and Tornado race to Edinburgh, you can keep the rest.

But a steam locomotive new built from historic blue prints with hindsite tweaks and modern day metalurgy,doing what it does best at the hands of great artisans (apart from one!) in my opinion makes mesmerizing television. Add the challenge of the other two on Bike & Jag added that extra interest.

I do feel Jeremy Clarkson and to a degree the other two cabelero's are hugely over indulged but that is only my personal opinion and they do seem to go from strength to etc, and if you warm to their shows it's a great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top gear, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
it is good.if you have seen the series on tv .its more compilation of all the challenges,very funny well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a classic, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say but, truly epic DVD. one of my favourite DVDs in my collection. It's a true classic and is full of banter. Huge laughs and joy as the guys do their best to entertain us and succeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of Top Gear Dvds., 1 July 2013
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
So another Top Gear Dvd now thats more like it what I mean is that Top Gear the challenges 4 Dvd has 11 challenges on it. The delivery came quicker than I expected which was good for me. The stig is nearly in all the challenges. The challenges are the train race the electric car the ice race the police cars the classic car rally the ford fiesta test the commie cars the amazing ken block challenge the audi vs skiers the PortoFino race and finally the fantasic mclaren f1 vs the bugatti veyron. please please buy this Dvd it made my dad which is a Top Gear fan happy and best of all it made me happy because I am a boy and love cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Verry nice, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
A verry nice and funny Dvd just what i whanted. I have not looked on the hole yet but i am looking forward too that moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Fun, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my husband to go along with the others in the collection. We are both fans of the show and particularly enjoy the Challenge segments, so this way you can watch selected items to suit. The only down side now is that with the constant repeats on Dave, it almost makes these DVDs obsolete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Fun, fun, fun. We enjoy it very much. Top Gear is the best. A great laugh every time we watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic as always these Top Gear challenges are. Sons are 8 and 11 they can't watch them enough. Just wished James May didn't have to say oh C**k a couple of times in it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD]
Top Gear - The Challenges 4 [DVD] by Jeremy Clarkson (DVD - 2010)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews