Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting free the soul of the musician. Wonderful
I've always found Bach's Goldberg Variations difficult, no, impossible to listen to with any enjoyment. I've heard the most famous recordings, including Glenn Gould's, and felt put upon by the sheer weight of the music, its complexity, and the difficulty musicians have in playing it.

So, Joanna Macgregor's lightness, speed, tone and above all her consummate...
Published on 27 Aug 2011 by Mr. J. J. Bald

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MacGolderg from Joanna
Joanna McGregor's new recording of Bach's Goldberg Variations has a rather hard piano tone in the middle and treble registers coupled with a strange muffled resonance in the bass. This, together with Ms McGregor's generally over-emphatic style, makes for an unpleasant sonic experience. She contributes a brief note on the music which doesn't add much to one's...
Published on 19 May 2010 by Pof Roger Ellis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Setting free the soul of the musician. Wonderful, 27 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. J. J. Bald (Linton, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've always found Bach's Goldberg Variations difficult, no, impossible to listen to with any enjoyment. I've heard the most famous recordings, including Glenn Gould's, and felt put upon by the sheer weight of the music, its complexity, and the difficulty musicians have in playing it.

So, Joanna Macgregor's lightness, speed, tone and above all her consummate understanding are a revelation. Letting Bach breathe, while managing his complications, is a particular challenge in these pieces, and Ms Macgregor does it from the first bars, replacing the tension that comes through most performances with peace. She matches her tone and technique flawlessly to the widely varying demands of each movement, realising each as a distinct work of art that contributes to the whole. It never flags, is never too fast, above all never boring. Bach said he wanted to set free the soul of the musician. This is the result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 29 April 2013
By 
S. Lawrence (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach, JS : Goldberg Variations (MP3 Download)
A truly beautiful, sensitive performance, which is full of life. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves Bach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratic to good purpose, 12 Nov 2010
I've just (15 minutes ago) returned from hearing Joanna MacGregor play Goldberg live at The Jacqueline Du Pre Music Building in Oxford, and here I am on Amazon to order the recording. Will it work as well on disc? It's certainly idiosyncratic, but, pace the previous reviewer, it works when experienced in the concert hall - not even but especially the sustaining haze through which the reprise of the theme quietly emerges. Not for everyone, and it isn't going to oust Gould, but I wouldn't want to be without it. After the concert MacGregor described the work as "terrifying", and that's how she makes it sound; not a comfortable experience but one that forces you to think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MacGolderg from Joanna, 19 May 2010
Joanna McGregor's new recording of Bach's Goldberg Variations has a rather hard piano tone in the middle and treble registers coupled with a strange muffled resonance in the bass. This, together with Ms McGregor's generally over-emphatic style, makes for an unpleasant sonic experience. She contributes a brief note on the music which doesn't add much to one's understanding of this marvellous work. Miss McGregor inclines to the' idiosyncratic to no good end' school and in this together with her recording sound and notes she compares very unfavourably with Glenn Gould in both his original and remake recordings. Her approach is encapsulated in the (usually) sublime Variation 25 where plodding and unvarying forte masquerades as profound insight. Her last and, to my ears, most unbearable idiosyncrasy is to start the reprise of the aria through a pointless sustaining haze. I can find no reason to recommend this recording over countless others and certainly not Gould. If you must have a new recording try Dinnerstein on Telarc for performance and recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century Bach, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Deep Reader - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Of the current outbreak of Goldbergs this is the swingingest. Cracking pace, highly musical, transatlantic feel, brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MacGregor contrast, 11 Jun 2010
By 
C. D. Nash (Nr Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Bach's 'Goldberg Variations' and wanted to contrast Joanna's approach with the classic benchmark performance by Glenn Gould. definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Joke, surely?, 18 Nov 2010
I have to say I was transfixed whilst listening to this recording of one of the greatest works ever written. Not transfixed for good reasons, alas, but because I actually thought I was listening to some kind of spoof/joke recording. I have NEVER heard such tasteless playing in my life - the pedal is down through most of the initial Aria, the textures in general merge into a kind of blurry haze and as for technique, well, the work is clearly beyond Ms. MacGregor's capabilities. I was amazed that as soon as the fingerwork got in any way taxing, which let's face it is in a bulk of the work, she actually slows down to half speed in order to play the notes. Even then there are are inaccuracies that should never have been allowed past an editing process.

If not a joke recording, then this must be some attempt to be 'different' - but different only works in the hands of a capable artist, one who has true vision and instinct. Alas, Ms MacGregor appears to have neither, and any attempt she has made to be original has fallen flat. I don't decry people for trying to record out of their comfort zone, but this recording actually verges on the insulting: an insult to Bach, to the work, and, indeed, the listener. Had I been able to rate with Zero stars then I would have done so. Shocking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach, JS : Goldberg Variations
Bach, JS : Goldberg Variations by Joanna MacGregor
Buy MP3 Album5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews