Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up and running
There are no reviews of this product yet so I thought I would be the first. I bought the router to replace a Netgear DG834G. My 834 was excellent and as I didn't have any problems with it I wanted to stick with Netgear if possible. I considered the DGN 2000 but was put off by the poor reviews on Amazon so went for this modem/router which I think is newer than the...
Published on 31 July 2010 by Slowjack

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Negative reviews suggest a common problem.
I have an old Netgear modem and wanted to replace it with something of the same make. I chose Netgear wireless-N300 router/modem primarily because of the reviews. There were a very small number that suggested a problem maitaining a connection between the modem and internet but as the vast majority of reveiws were positive (4 to 5 stars) and better than other netgear...
Published 21 months ago by Lozzed and confused


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

98 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up and running, 31 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
There are no reviews of this product yet so I thought I would be the first. I bought the router to replace a Netgear DG834G. My 834 was excellent and as I didn't have any problems with it I wanted to stick with Netgear if possible. I considered the DGN 2000 but was put off by the poor reviews on Amazon so went for this modem/router which I think is newer than the 2000.
I don't know much about setting up wireless networks and so was pleased when I found the product came with a smart wizard set up. Unfortunately, the smart wizard didn't work as it wouldn't recognise the router. This forced me to follow the advanced set up instructions and do the configuration via a browser window. I managed this surprisingly easily.
The router is in a home office next to our lounge. The wall between the two rooms is quite thick. The reason for upgrading to a wireless N 300 router was to get a wireless signal in both the lounge and the bedroom. The 834 signal was not strong enough. Before the change my ipod would pick up a poor signal in both the lounge and the bedroom but neither my Samsung laptop or my HTC desire phone would connect. Once the DGN 2200 was up and running all three devices would pick up a signal in both the lounge and the bedroom. The laptop pickup is good enough to stream BBC iplayer. The Desire struggles a little but I think that is due to the very poor antenna on this phone rather than the modem. So the DGN 2200 does what I bought it for.
I checked the firmware and it was delivered with the latest version so I didn't have to worry about upgrading this. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for TalkTalk users., 4 Nov 2011
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
I purchased the Netgear DGN2200 just after my old Linksys WAG354G router died on me. I am a TalkTalk customer and after a year of unreliable service, I was thinking to change for another ISP. But the DGN2200 changed everything! I was experiencing frequent Internet connection drop (especially when using Skype) and I kept blaming TalkTalk. However, since I have my new router, I did not experience a single drop.
The router was easy to configure and I use Wi-Fi to share my Internet connection between PC, Mac, Xbox360 and Wii.
I highly recommend this router for TalkTalk and other ISPs customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a difference!!!!, 13 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
I bought this wireless router after recently changing to TalkTalk from BT, their 'free' router was absolutely awful, devices not connecting all the time, buffering when watching a movie so based on a previous recommendation I purchased this item. I'd also had an older Netgear product a few years ago before I got my BT Homehub and that had always performed well.

The difference was AMAZING. It was extremely easy to set up, and took no more than 10 minutes from out of the box to being connected to the Internet. The Netgear Wizard worked perfectly, so all I had to do is enter my Broadband name and password and it connected.

However the most impressive thing is the performance, all my wireless devices connected straight away with maximum signal strength around the house. My Sony media streamer worked a dream, no buffering or drop-outs. Speed test results were also amazing, the speed was the same but rock solid, repeatable connection.

This unit it is 100% better than the TalkTalk device that they give you and significantly better that the BT Homehub.

So, don't change your provider, change your router..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Netgear N300 router, 10 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
Easy to install; works well; no more dropped connections!! The on-off button at the back is very handy - no more losing the cable down the back of the desk when you want to disconnect and reconnects very quickly when you switch it on again. Works with o2 Home Broadband (we had tried a Belkin N router only to discover it was incompatible with o2.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid performer, good feature set for the price but the documentation could be clearer, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
UPDATE 11/7/11:
I have been using this router for one month now and confirm it's working perfectly. No dropped connections, good sync speeds and currently a connection uptime over over 3 weeks. Really impressed with the Netgear DGN2200 and it has been much more reliable than previous Netgear routers I have owned in the past.

ORIGINAL REVIEW 10/6/11:
Over the years I have tried all the major brands of wired and wireless routers and it seems whichever one you choose, they all have their flaws. After much research I decided to give the Netgear DGN2200 a whirl and I'm glad I did! Competitively priced, nice aesthetics and a decent set of features make this a good mid-level router. I mostly use it for gaming so a stable connection is paramount and so far this box of tricks has delivered.

The unit has performed solidly, has not dropped my connection once and was relatively easy to set up. As I have used many routers before I didn't bother with the install CD so I can't comment on that. To bypass messing around with the install CD simply open your browser and type in the address bar '192.168.0.1' without the quotes and then enter the default username (admin) and password (password) to get started (obviously after you have connected the router up). MAKE SURE YOU CHANGE THE DEFAULT PASSWORD! My old Belkin router was dropping connections more and more frequently and the Netgear DNG2200 instantly cured my problem. I also can't comment on Netgears support since I didn't need to use it.

The reason I give it 4 starts instead of 5 is because the documentation isn't very good. To set up some of the more advanced features (such as port forwarding) was more tricky than some other brands of router I've used. You have to set up the program or port you want to forward as a 'Service' first, then you allow the 'Service' you've just set up through the firewall. Pretty simple once you get your head around it, but I don't think the non 'tech savvy' would figure it out so easily.

In reference to a few of the reviews here on Amazon, I have had no issues with red-lights (i.e. no service) and also no issues with the DCHP server renewing the leases every 12 hours. However this could be because there was a new version of the firmware available which I upgraded to on the first launch.

I can recommend this product. It doesn't have gigabit Ethernet ports or some of the more advanced features that you get if you pay a little more, but this doesn't detract from this capable little router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


107 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the following to get the most out of your wireless N router, 8 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. T. F. Norton (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
I have a review of the actual router a bit further down, but I think the following is useful information to anyone who wants to upgrade to a wireless N (300mbps) network from a standard wireless G (54mbps) network. I've read a lot of reviews of people who were disappointed that it did not live up to their expectations, and I hope the following explains why and how to overcome such issues.

** OPTIMISING YOUR WIRELESS N NETWORK **

Okay, so since this a wireless N router, when you connect a wireless N laptop or computer to it, you should get super fast speeds, right? Unfortunately this is not the case.

All wireless N routers have to be backwards compatible (so that they work with the older G/B speeds). As soon as you connect a non N laptop/iPhone/computer, any components of your network that could run at full N speeds will be severely throttled. What's more, there are many devices out there (smart phones, older wifi cards etc) that don't support the newer WPA2 encyption method that is required for 300mbps speeds. So you could end up buying this router and having none of the benefits because you end up using WEP encryption to allow older (and slower) devices to connect to your network.

If you are in this situation and still have access to your previous router, the optimum solution is the following. Use this new router as your primary one. Label its SSID (the wifi name that appears when you search for networks) to something like "NETGEAR_N" (basically you'll have two different names that are easy to tell apart), and set up your broadband to connect to this one. You will use this router as the DHCP server (the component that assigns all IP addresses in your network). Make sure you set the wifi speed to 300mbps and the encryption to WPA2.

Now, take you older router (mine is the standard Thomson router shipped with O2/Be and others). Disable its DHCP server (you can only have one enabled in any network), and set its encryption to WEP (the older but still reliable standard). Rename its SSID to something like "NETGEAR_G". Now, connect NETGEAR_G to NETGEAR_N using a standard ethernet cable into their regular ethernet sockets (i.e. don't use one that says "WAN" on it. There will probably be four such sockets.)

There may be some tweaking needed to get the IP addresses to all work - for any network to operate correctly you basically need to ensure that the first three blocks of numbers agree (eg. 192.168.1.XXX). My Thomson router was fixed to the address 192.168.1.254, so I changed the Netgear router to 192.168.1.1 and made sure it only assigned IP addresses in the range 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.253 (so as to avoid conflicts with either router). You may also have to manually select the channel the wifis operate on to avoid clashing (although I selected AUTO in both cases and this seems to work just fine).

Now - you're done! You have two networks broadcasting. Only connect older wireless G devices to NETGEAR_G, and your newer wireless N devices to NETGEAR_N. By doing this, the newer Netgear router doesn't have to constantly throttle back its speeds to accommodate your older, slower devices. All IP addresses are assigned by your new router so there are no conflicts. What's more, devices on either network can still communicate with one-another - for example a computer in NETGEAR_G can still share files with another computer in NETGEAR_N.

** THE ROUTER ITSELF **

Okay, onto the router itself. I've found it to be very good so far. High speed wifi access (as in - better than 54mbps) is generally rock solid - I get 150mbps quoted on my computer. Obviously, this translates to around 60mbps of actual transfer rates, but that is still a huge increase on the roughly 20mbps you can get from wireless G. When I did have my router running in mixed (B/G/N) mode, that figure dropped down to 58mbps (so barely above the 54mbps G mode). It was this drop that prompted me to investigate how to separate G from N and avoid this mixed mode. If you are not in a position to do this, don't expect fast speeds from your wireless N devices.

The options in the router menus are sufficient enough to get everything above working well. If you're using O2 internet, I found that I also had to change the MAC address on my router to match the one O2 sent out - otherwise my internet wouldn't work. Again, this router's set up options were detailed enough that I was able to do this.

The USB sharing facility works as well as I would expect it to. Obviously, if you were to connect an external hard drive directly to a computer it will normally read/write around 15-20MB/sec. I've seen people complain that they don't get those speeds through the ReadyShare option on the router. This is to be expected - as I said above, even in good conditions on a wireless N network, actual throughput can realistically be around 60mbps (7.5MB/sec). So a reduction in speeds should be anticipated. If you go one further and connect at wireless G speeds, then 20mbps equates to about 2.5MB/sec - which explains the "slow" speeds other reviewers have achieved. The best you can hope for is about 10MB/sec if you connect your computer to the router with a wired (ethernet connection). If you're looking for super fast (i.e. not bandwidth limited) file sharing, I suggest you purchase a Gigabit ethernet router. For what it was intended to achieve, this option works as well as it could possibly have.

You also have extra options with the USB sharing facility. You can set up separate directories as individual shares - you don't need to simply share the whole disk as one option. This means that you can have a central storage facility and divide it up into separate folders. An example might be sharing the music to everyone, but password protecting more sensitive documents.

The range of the router in native N mode (up to 300mbps as it calls it in its settings) is excellent. It's certainly an improvement over my older router. I have the following connected to it:

1 x computer wired (100mbps ethernet)
1 x media streamer (100mbps ethernet)
1 x wireless N computer
1 x second router (which connects 2 wireless G computers and a few smart phones)

The consistency of my internet connection is a big improvement over the old Thomson router. It has Quality of Services (QoS) options designed to ensure that streaming items such as video (e.g. YouTube or iPlayer) don't get any drop off in bandwidth. So if you're in a house where you share your internet connection among several computers, this is a good feature to have. You can go one further and actually specify a total bandwidth available to any individual computer - this way if one computer is downloading a large file, the internet isn't completely sucked away by it for other users.

Finally, the router also has good uPnP options. Port forwarding and the like are all easy to do (and in many cases are achieved automatically). These settings are typically used for online gaming (e.g. Steam). The only stumbling block I found was that the assignments are done by IP address and not by device name, however this is easily overcome by forcing the router to assign the same IP address to any given computer on the network.

Overall, if set up correctly, I think this is an excellent midrange router. I hope this was all helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great router but optimal settings are crucial., 29 July 2011
By 
Bradley J (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
I did not buy this router from Amazon but bought it from Argos but thought id give the review on here being Amazon is my usual site for buying things online.

Like most people, when you sign up to an ISP and you are provided with a free wireless router which as we all know are not good at all unless you have a BT home hub 2 or 3.

I have BE Broadband and the router supplied are very basic and only support up to G mode (54mbps).
Being I live in a large house, the signal upstairs was terrible and dropping out alot. Not only that but it couldn't manage having too many devices connected and would temporairaly stop working too and the router features were minimal.

Since buying this router, I mostly have a 5 bar connection all the way upstairs (2nd floor, router is ground floor). And media sharing across computers and streaming is much faster too.

The router is complimented with many features avalible through the routers UI by logging into 192.168.0.1 where there is DMZ for port forwarding, Traffic management and counter which is handy on keeping an eye on your usage and capping your download usage.
Theres also QoS, Ive not used this myself but its supposed to priotise the internet usage to which devices need it most.
Theres also a Readyshare feature where you can plug in a usb or usb hdd into the router and access it across your wireless network.

When you get this router, optimal setup is crucial such as setup properly as some ISP's do not automaticly work with this router and will need setup manually in which you'll have to call your ISP for some numbers to enter into your router.
Also make sure you setup the wireless settings well otherwise you will get interferance which leads to dropouts and slow speeds.

As for consoles such as PS3 and Xbox 360, they work fine. PS3 is only wireless G but works well.

As for the router its self... It looks very sleek and modern with a black gloss finish and green led's.
Its also energy efficent which is good for your pocket and the enviroment if your a eco friendly person.

Overal, This router is great and is pretty easy to setup and should come with a sheet and cd inside to guide you on setting up.
The range is phenomenal and the speed is great.
Definately worth buying wether its for upgrading to wireless N, needing more router features or just want a nice modern looking router this router ticks most boxes a router should except it does not have dual-band but this is not nessacary and daul-band has been getting much negative feedback and is only needed in very high wireless conditions such as having alot of wireless connections around you from neighbours and wireless devices in your house.

REMEMBER! If you are buying this to use wireless N, make sure your laptops or devices are wireless N enabled otherwise you are not getting the full benifit of this router. Even with wireless G the range is slightly better than my old one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Negative reviews suggest a common problem., 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
I have an old Netgear modem and wanted to replace it with something of the same make. I chose Netgear wireless-N300 router/modem primarily because of the reviews. There were a very small number that suggested a problem maitaining a connection between the modem and internet but as the vast majority of reveiws were positive (4 to 5 stars) and better than other netgear models, I decided to buy this particular item. The actual set-up was smooth and as long as you had the relevant DSL Username and password the set-up was quite easy. Unfortunately, that was the last good thing about this item. Once it was set up the signal between the router side & the computer was generally "excellent" and only fell to "Good" in the far reaches of the property. Unfortunately, as some of the previous negative reviews had said, it wouldn't maintain a connection between the modem and the broadband supply. Predominantly, I had 3 to 7 minutes connection before it failed again and required a reboot, which didn't always work. I spent two very frustrating days ruling out problems with other pieces of equipment and the line itself. Any problems lay solely at the door of this item to the point that I have now returned the item to Amazon and am now waiting for confirmation of receipt and a refund from them (I'm not going to disregard the negative reveiws on this again!) If you do still choose to buy this item, just be aware that there does appear to be a definite and common problem so even though you could be one of the lucky majority, you could also be one of the very unlucky few, like me.
As a footnote, this is the first time I have had to return a faulty item to Amazon and the "thinking of returning an item" button on the orders page made the said process very easy and although the item was faulty and not fit for purpose (& I probably will keep clear of Netgear from now on,) Amazons part in it has been good so far. I'm hoping that will be the same to it's conclusion and my experience of Amazon suggests it will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good gear, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
Worked out of the box - even my USB HDD! So far no trouble although the manual is FAR TOO into Microsoft windows instead of general principals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware if your ISP is Talktalk, 2 July 2011
This review is from: Netgear Wireless-N 300 Router with DSL Modem for ADSL (BT) connections (Electronics)
It seems a lot of people (including myself),have suffered regular internet dropouts with this modem connected to Talktalk. This is because, if you use the supplied disc to pick up your ISP's settings automatically, it does not install correctly. The answer is to either enter your settings manually using those listed on the Talktalk helpsite, or go through auto setup (including the firmware update) and then go into the menu to change:-

Encapsulation type from PPPoE to PPPoA
Multiplex method from LLC based to VC based

Restart the router and it should work properly. Very poor customer service from Netgear for not fixing or including a warning in the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews