Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a difference!!!!
I bought this wireless router after recently changing to TalkTalk from BT, their 'free' router was absolutely awful, devices not connecting all the time, buffering when watching a movie so based on a previous recommendation I purchased this item. I'd also had an older Netgear product a few years ago before I got my BT Homehub and that had always performed well...
Published on 13 Sept. 2012 by PeterJ

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Users with large bandwidth, beware
If like me you are a Plusnet user and live very close to a BT exchange, which allows you to get a high download speed (more than 13mb/s), then this product is not for you.
This might also apply to other Internet Service Provider (ISP) users, so I suggest you read part A before buying.

All the other users, you can directly read part B.

Part A:...
Published on 27 July 2011 by Kamil


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a difference!!!!, 13 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
I bought this wireless router after recently changing to TalkTalk from BT, their 'free' router was absolutely awful, devices not connecting all the time, buffering when watching a movie so based on a previous recommendation I purchased this item. I'd also had an older Netgear product a few years ago before I got my BT Homehub and that had always performed well.

The difference was AMAZING. It was extremely easy to set up, and took no more than 10 minutes from out of the box to being connected to the Internet. The Netgear Wizard worked perfectly, so all I had to do is enter my Broadband name and password and it connected.

However the most impressive thing is the performance, all my wireless devices connected straight away with maximum signal strength around the house. My Sony media streamer worked a dream, no buffering or drop-outs. Speed test results were also amazing, the speed was the same but rock solid, repeatable connection.

This unit it is 100% better than the TalkTalk device that they give you and significantly better that the BT Homehub.

So, don't change your provider, change your router..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for TalkTalk users., 4 Nov. 2011
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
I purchased the Netgear DGN2200 just after my old Linksys WAG354G router died on me. I am a TalkTalk customer and after a year of unreliable service, I was thinking to change for another ISP. But the DGN2200 changed everything! I was experiencing frequent Internet connection drop (especially when using Skype) and I kept blaming TalkTalk. However, since I have my new router, I did not experience a single drop.
The router was easy to configure and I use Wi-Fi to share my Internet connection between PC, Mac, Xbox360 and Wii.
I highly recommend this router for TalkTalk and other ISPs customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid performer, good feature set for the price but the documentation could be clearer, 10 Jun. 2011
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
UPDATE 11/7/11:
I have been using this router for one month now and confirm it's working perfectly. No dropped connections, good sync speeds and currently a connection uptime over over 3 weeks. Really impressed with the Netgear DGN2200 and it has been much more reliable than previous Netgear routers I have owned in the past.

ORIGINAL REVIEW 10/6/11:
Over the years I have tried all the major brands of wired and wireless routers and it seems whichever one you choose, they all have their flaws. After much research I decided to give the Netgear DGN2200 a whirl and I'm glad I did! Competitively priced, nice aesthetics and a decent set of features make this a good mid-level router. I mostly use it for gaming so a stable connection is paramount and so far this box of tricks has delivered.

The unit has performed solidly, has not dropped my connection once and was relatively easy to set up. As I have used many routers before I didn't bother with the install CD so I can't comment on that. To bypass messing around with the install CD simply open your browser and type in the address bar '192.168.0.1' without the quotes and then enter the default username (admin) and password (password) to get started (obviously after you have connected the router up). MAKE SURE YOU CHANGE THE DEFAULT PASSWORD! My old Belkin router was dropping connections more and more frequently and the Netgear DNG2200 instantly cured my problem. I also can't comment on Netgears support since I didn't need to use it.

The reason I give it 4 starts instead of 5 is because the documentation isn't very good. To set up some of the more advanced features (such as port forwarding) was more tricky than some other brands of router I've used. You have to set up the program or port you want to forward as a 'Service' first, then you allow the 'Service' you've just set up through the firewall. Pretty simple once you get your head around it, but I don't think the non 'tech savvy' would figure it out so easily.

In reference to a few of the reviews here on Amazon, I have had no issues with red-lights (i.e. no service) and also no issues with the DCHP server renewing the leases every 12 hours. However this could be because there was a new version of the firmware available which I upgraded to on the first launch.

I can recommend this product. It doesn't have gigabit Ethernet ports or some of the more advanced features that you get if you pay a little more, but this doesn't detract from this capable little router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up and running, 31 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
There are no reviews of this product yet so I thought I would be the first. I bought the router to replace a Netgear DG834G. My 834 was excellent and as I didn't have any problems with it I wanted to stick with Netgear if possible. I considered the DGN 2000 but was put off by the poor reviews on Amazon so went for this modem/router which I think is newer than the 2000.
I don't know much about setting up wireless networks and so was pleased when I found the product came with a smart wizard set up. Unfortunately, the smart wizard didn't work as it wouldn't recognise the router. This forced me to follow the advanced set up instructions and do the configuration via a browser window. I managed this surprisingly easily.
The router is in a home office next to our lounge. The wall between the two rooms is quite thick. The reason for upgrading to a wireless N 300 router was to get a wireless signal in both the lounge and the bedroom. The 834 signal was not strong enough. Before the change my ipod would pick up a poor signal in both the lounge and the bedroom but neither my Samsung laptop or my HTC desire phone would connect. Once the DGN 2200 was up and running all three devices would pick up a signal in both the lounge and the bedroom. The laptop pickup is good enough to stream BBC iplayer. The Desire struggles a little but I think that is due to the very poor antenna on this phone rather than the modem. So the DGN 2200 does what I bought it for.
I checked the firmware and it was delivered with the latest version so I didn't have to worry about upgrading this. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


129 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the following to get the most out of your wireless N router, 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Mr. T. F. Norton (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
I have a review of the actual router a bit further down, but I think the following is useful information to anyone who wants to upgrade to a wireless N (300mbps) network from a standard wireless G (54mbps) network. I've read a lot of reviews of people who were disappointed that it did not live up to their expectations, and I hope the following explains why and how to overcome such issues.

** OPTIMISING YOUR WIRELESS N NETWORK **

Okay, so since this a wireless N router, when you connect a wireless N laptop or computer to it, you should get super fast speeds, right? Unfortunately this is not the case.

All wireless N routers have to be backwards compatible (so that they work with the older G/B speeds). As soon as you connect a non N laptop/iPhone/computer, any components of your network that could run at full N speeds will be severely throttled. What's more, there are many devices out there (smart phones, older wifi cards etc) that don't support the newer WPA2 encyption method that is required for 300mbps speeds. So you could end up buying this router and having none of the benefits because you end up using WEP encryption to allow older (and slower) devices to connect to your network.

If you are in this situation and still have access to your previous router, the optimum solution is the following. Use this new router as your primary one. Label its SSID (the wifi name that appears when you search for networks) to something like "NETGEAR_N" (basically you'll have two different names that are easy to tell apart), and set up your broadband to connect to this one. You will use this router as the DHCP server (the component that assigns all IP addresses in your network). Make sure you set the wifi speed to 300mbps and the encryption to WPA2.

Now, take you older router (mine is the standard Thomson router shipped with O2/Be and others). Disable its DHCP server (you can only have one enabled in any network), and set its encryption to WEP (the older but still reliable standard). Rename its SSID to something like "NETGEAR_G". Now, connect NETGEAR_G to NETGEAR_N using a standard ethernet cable into their regular ethernet sockets (i.e. don't use one that says "WAN" on it. There will probably be four such sockets.)

There may be some tweaking needed to get the IP addresses to all work - for any network to operate correctly you basically need to ensure that the first three blocks of numbers agree (eg. 192.168.1.XXX). My Thomson router was fixed to the address 192.168.1.254, so I changed the Netgear router to 192.168.1.1 and made sure it only assigned IP addresses in the range 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.253 (so as to avoid conflicts with either router). You may also have to manually select the channel the wifis operate on to avoid clashing (although I selected AUTO in both cases and this seems to work just fine).

Now - you're done! You have two networks broadcasting. Only connect older wireless G devices to NETGEAR_G, and your newer wireless N devices to NETGEAR_N. By doing this, the newer Netgear router doesn't have to constantly throttle back its speeds to accommodate your older, slower devices. All IP addresses are assigned by your new router so there are no conflicts. What's more, devices on either network can still communicate with one-another - for example a computer in NETGEAR_G can still share files with another computer in NETGEAR_N.

** THE ROUTER ITSELF **

Okay, onto the router itself. I've found it to be very good so far. High speed wifi access (as in - better than 54mbps) is generally rock solid - I get 150mbps quoted on my computer. Obviously, this translates to around 60mbps of actual transfer rates, but that is still a huge increase on the roughly 20mbps you can get from wireless G. When I did have my router running in mixed (B/G/N) mode, that figure dropped down to 58mbps (so barely above the 54mbps G mode). It was this drop that prompted me to investigate how to separate G from N and avoid this mixed mode. If you are not in a position to do this, don't expect fast speeds from your wireless N devices.

The options in the router menus are sufficient enough to get everything above working well. If you're using O2 internet, I found that I also had to change the MAC address on my router to match the one O2 sent out - otherwise my internet wouldn't work. Again, this router's set up options were detailed enough that I was able to do this.

The USB sharing facility works as well as I would expect it to. Obviously, if you were to connect an external hard drive directly to a computer it will normally read/write around 15-20MB/sec. I've seen people complain that they don't get those speeds through the ReadyShare option on the router. This is to be expected - as I said above, even in good conditions on a wireless N network, actual throughput can realistically be around 60mbps (7.5MB/sec). So a reduction in speeds should be anticipated. If you go one further and connect at wireless G speeds, then 20mbps equates to about 2.5MB/sec - which explains the "slow" speeds other reviewers have achieved. The best you can hope for is about 10MB/sec if you connect your computer to the router with a wired (ethernet connection). If you're looking for super fast (i.e. not bandwidth limited) file sharing, I suggest you purchase a Gigabit ethernet router. For what it was intended to achieve, this option works as well as it could possibly have.

You also have extra options with the USB sharing facility. You can set up separate directories as individual shares - you don't need to simply share the whole disk as one option. This means that you can have a central storage facility and divide it up into separate folders. An example might be sharing the music to everyone, but password protecting more sensitive documents.

The range of the router in native N mode (up to 300mbps as it calls it in its settings) is excellent. It's certainly an improvement over my older router. I have the following connected to it:

1 x computer wired (100mbps ethernet)
1 x media streamer (100mbps ethernet)
1 x wireless N computer
1 x second router (which connects 2 wireless G computers and a few smart phones)

The consistency of my internet connection is a big improvement over the old Thomson router. It has Quality of Services (QoS) options designed to ensure that streaming items such as video (e.g. YouTube or iPlayer) don't get any drop off in bandwidth. So if you're in a house where you share your internet connection among several computers, this is a good feature to have. You can go one further and actually specify a total bandwidth available to any individual computer - this way if one computer is downloading a large file, the internet isn't completely sucked away by it for other users.

Finally, the router also has good uPnP options. Port forwarding and the like are all easy to do (and in many cases are achieved automatically). These settings are typically used for online gaming (e.g. Steam). The only stumbling block I found was that the assignments are done by IP address and not by device name, however this is easily overcome by forcing the router to assign the same IP address to any given computer on the network.

Overall, if set up correctly, I think this is an excellent midrange router. I hope this was all helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money Router from a leading brand with exceptionally simple setup., 18 Jun. 2012
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
I have been very pleased with this Netgear router so far. I recommended and set up this router for a friend who wanted to go wireless for the first time. I've given my rationale for choosing the Netgear over the alternatives at the end of this review.

Amazon supplied DGN2200v3 with latest firmware 1.1.00.10 already installed. Many of the other reviews seem to apply to v1. v3 supports additional features, including "CD-less" Setup Wizard, Schedule based Wi-Fi On/Off, ability to set device to Modem mode, Microsoft PnP-x Support and better DSL detection algorithms (according to the Netgear website).

Each DGN2200v3 comes with a unique randomly generated SSID and security key which are printed on the base of the unit. Netgear recommends that these settings are not changed. Setting up consisted of connecting up the supplied ADSL splitter micro-filter, phone and power cables then logging on wirelessly (or wired with the supplied Cat5e cable). When I logged on for the first time the router auto-detected the ADSL settings and it was a simple matter of entering the ISP and user information before the whole thing was up and running. This took less than ten minutes and was impressively simple as all the clever stuff was done automatically. Netgear deserve a lot of credit for simplifying this process. We were then taken to the Netgear product registration page which also asked us how long it took to set up the router, so clearly this is something they have worked on.

We set up the DGN2200 on it's stand in an upstairs room. Wireless performance was very good on our laptop downstairs. I did not compare Broadband performance with our wired router. I got the impression that the DGN2200 line speed was about the same as our old USB unit so we were able to do everything we wanted, including streaming live TV channels.

Note that at this time Amazon is still describing the connections as 1000Mbps but the manual says "LAN: 10BASE-T or 100BASE-Tx".

So I am happy to recommend this router.

My rationale for getting it was a bit tortuous though. Once upon-a-time I would have got a 3Com and that would have been that. Since their demise (or acquisition by HP if you prefer) I ended up researching Belkin, Linksys, Netgear, Billion, Draytek, TP-Link, Tenda and Apple Airport Extreme, I came to the conclusion that none of them were guaranteed to be as good as the free routers that ISP's supply and many looked like potential disasters. So I chose Netgear as I have several years experience with other Netgear products and do get to meet their representatives twice-yearly at various trade shows. I did also buy a cheap TP-link TD-W8951ND as a backup in case I need one. Hopefully, I will not need to use it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent All Rounder, 8 Dec. 2010
By 
Will Richardson (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
I purchased this to replace my old DG384G which was starting to become unreliable due to a software hack that I'd put on it. I hunted around for a WiFi ADSL router for quite some time as I was quite specific on what I wanted, and there's loads to choose from out there. However as I have used Netgear products for quite some time in the home I decided to stick with them.

I find the Netgear interface is neatly put together and very easy for people who aren't too computer savvy, however still feature packed to keep most of us geeks happy. It's dead easy to setup and get connected to the Internet and it runs like a dream, so far no drop outs from the Internet or from the wireless clients (I've had 6 devices connected all at once and had no issues) and I've never needed to reboot the thing. The range of the signal is also brilliant, I can get a good signal all over the house and at the far end of the garden (granted, I don't live in a mansion but it still out performs the old DG834G).

It comes with a USB port too for mass storage so you can connect your external hard drives to it to allow the to act as a NAS box. It would've been nice if Netgear had allowed printers to connect to this USB port to allow network printing but I guess that would bump the price up quite a bit.

The only issue I have with this router is that the aerials are fixed, thus not giving you the opportunity to change them, however with the range of signal I'm receiving that's not really causing an issue.

On the whole this is an excellent wireless router with a very cheap price tag and I would certainly recommend it for anyone wanting a reliable network for their home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Netgear N300 router, 10 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
Easy to install; works well; no more dropped connections!! The on-off button at the back is very handy - no more losing the cable down the back of the desk when you want to disconnect and reconnects very quickly when you switch it on again. Works with o2 Home Broadband (we had tried a Belkin N router only to discover it was incompatible with o2.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DGN2200 plus Modfs firmware = a revelation, 2 Mar. 2012
By 
Daniel Leigh (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
The DGN2200's build quality is very good, and it's aesthetically pleasing to look at. It's petite - smaller than early DG834s - and easy to set up. I'm no longer disappointed that I missed a few Billion BiPAC 7800N's on ebay over the past couple of months.

I bought one because it could be wall mounted, has a familiar interface and easy-to-use built-in guest networks so visiting family members can use their own security mode.

The DGN2200 is like earlier versions of the DG384, with the same familiar interface plus a few new settings. Performance is about the same here, with synch speeds roughly 2 to 4 megs below the advertised limit for my Orange line. The only noticeable differences: line attenuation dropped from 39.5 to 38.5, and it runs cooler than any of my 3 previous Netgear 834s.

Then, and this is the clincher... I discovered the Modfs project on Sourceforge [...]. The two files for the DGN2200 are found at the bottom of the download page, under Modfs 0.2 beta release: "modfs_image-0.2_beta.zip" and "World Wide Annex A". This free firmware can turn a DGN2200 into a THOROUGHBRED (there's firmware for the DGN3500 as well). Within two days of tweaking just a single parameter, my speed went up to 9,510 kbps and, so far, has stayed there. The first file contains the bulk of the firmware; the second file is a modified Netgear firmware.

I'd never risked custom firmware on a modem/router before in case anything went wrong and recovery might not be possible. The Modfs firmware is not like other custom firmware. It is not a complete replacement; it's one file on a USB stick in the socket on the back of the DGN2200 (and in my opinion this is by far the best use for that socket, all things considered).

There is a firmware update to perform (the link labeled "World Wide Annex A"), but it's mostly original Netgear firmware (v1.0.0.20), slightly modified to make the DGN2200 boot the .bin file on the USB stick, the file un-zipped from "modfs_image-0.2_beta.zip."

After a re-boot, use "192.168.0.1:8081" to access the new Modfs interface. (The password is easily guessed.) You can still access the DGN2200's Netgear GUI, too, at 192.168.0.1, and you can have both GUIs open simultaneously.

The main setting of interest in the new GUI is on the Setup page, Main tab, and it's called Target SNR Margin (%). Try working your way back from the default 100% in cautious steps over a period of a few days, ideally making changes at times when web traffic and noise levels are low, and with luck you could be in for a few surprises. After my last tweak, my DGN220 actually went up from 8832 overnight to 9510 the next morning, and this on a line with a history of instabiity. It's an Orange up-to-9 Meg package with 5.5 to 6 Mbps available according to line checkers. Immediately before this new firmware the synch speed was 5,868 Kbps. We're about 1.7km from the exchange, and our phone line and box are the same ones that were here when we moved in in 1980. Our phone went out catastrophically twice last year when Open Reach botched some connections in the town centre.

You can run your DGN2200 without the USB stick as a standard DGN2200. The Modfs BIN file can be updated without needing to flash any firmware. You can disable the Modfs firmware completely by flashing official Netgear firmware and you can still reset the DGN2200 to factory defaults.

The only other changes I made to the Modfs defaults were to clear the Annex M, G.lite, T1.413, and Re-adsl2/2+ boxes under Adsl Settings > Modulation, ticked Bitswap and SRA (Seamless Rate Adaption), and ticked the Kill Email program and Kill DDNS program boxes just for the heck of it.

A few of the many other new features available in the Modfs firmware are a full-time Telnet server option(!), LAN, WAN, and WLAN monitoring graphs, and even a Linux package manager. There is a Retrain script, but I could not get it working right. Maybe I just need to find the right inputs - it kept re-booting the router.

As I write this, the line has been stable for a week at the highest synch speed I've ever had. My downstream Noise Margin has been between 4.8 and 6.8 dB - lower than it's ever been by a about half. And there is still room for further experimentation in the Modfs GUI. It's been a revelation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great router but optimal settings are crucial., 29 July 2011
By 
Bradley J (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NETGEAR DGN2200-100UKS N300 Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router for Phone Line Connections (Electronics)
I did not buy this router from Amazon but bought it from Argos but thought id give the review on here being Amazon is my usual site for buying things online.

Like most people, when you sign up to an ISP and you are provided with a free wireless router which as we all know are not good at all unless you have a BT home hub 2 or 3.

I have BE Broadband and the router supplied are very basic and only support up to G mode (54mbps).
Being I live in a large house, the signal upstairs was terrible and dropping out alot. Not only that but it couldn't manage having too many devices connected and would temporairaly stop working too and the router features were minimal.

Since buying this router, I mostly have a 5 bar connection all the way upstairs (2nd floor, router is ground floor). And media sharing across computers and streaming is much faster too.

The router is complimented with many features avalible through the routers UI by logging into 192.168.0.1 where there is DMZ for port forwarding, Traffic management and counter which is handy on keeping an eye on your usage and capping your download usage.
Theres also QoS, Ive not used this myself but its supposed to priotise the internet usage to which devices need it most.
Theres also a Readyshare feature where you can plug in a usb or usb hdd into the router and access it across your wireless network.

When you get this router, optimal setup is crucial such as setup properly as some ISP's do not automaticly work with this router and will need setup manually in which you'll have to call your ISP for some numbers to enter into your router.
Also make sure you setup the wireless settings well otherwise you will get interferance which leads to dropouts and slow speeds.

As for consoles such as PS3 and Xbox 360, they work fine. PS3 is only wireless G but works well.

As for the router its self... It looks very sleek and modern with a black gloss finish and green led's.
Its also energy efficent which is good for your pocket and the enviroment if your a eco friendly person.

Overal, This router is great and is pretty easy to setup and should come with a sheet and cd inside to guide you on setting up.
The range is phenomenal and the speed is great.
Definately worth buying wether its for upgrading to wireless N, needing more router features or just want a nice modern looking router this router ticks most boxes a router should except it does not have dual-band but this is not nessacary and daul-band has been getting much negative feedback and is only needed in very high wireless conditions such as having alot of wireless connections around you from neighbours and wireless devices in your house.

REMEMBER! If you are buying this to use wireless N, make sure your laptops or devices are wireless N enabled otherwise you are not getting the full benifit of this router. Even with wireless G the range is slightly better than my old one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews