Customer Reviews


692 Reviews
5 star:
 (354)
4 star:
 (191)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


213 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable step up from Office 2007
I have been using Microsoft Office for about 25 years, and have used just about every version. My special area of interest is Microsoft Word, which I have written with and programmed professionally for a living for most of that time.

If you have used Office 2007, the look of Office 2010 applications will be familiar. The most obvious change is that the Office...
Published on 26 April 2011 by Thomas Pots

versus
194 of 197 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade unfriendly indeed!
I fully concur with the other Reviews complaining about the unfriendly nature of the upgrade procedure and I consider myself reasonably computer literate having built several over the last few years. If you have Outlook installed already and you don't want it screwed up, then you must do a custom install and you MUST untick the option of installing a trial version of...
Published on 6 Oct. 2010 by CS


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

194 of 197 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upgrade unfriendly indeed!, 6 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
I fully concur with the other Reviews complaining about the unfriendly nature of the upgrade procedure and I consider myself reasonably computer literate having built several over the last few years. If you have Outlook installed already and you don't want it screwed up, then you must do a custom install and you MUST untick the option of installing a trial version of Office 10 (which is in the small print at the bottom of the options page). Microsoft - you could do better! The Office suite is similar to Office 2007 once you get it installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


213 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable step up from Office 2007, 26 April 2011
By 
Thomas Pots "T Pots" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
I have been using Microsoft Office for about 25 years, and have used just about every version. My special area of interest is Microsoft Word, which I have written with and programmed professionally for a living for most of that time.

If you have used Office 2007, the look of Office 2010 applications will be familiar. The most obvious change is that the Office button has gone, replaced by a new File tab just left of the Home tab. The File tab is where you'll find many document-related features, such as information (properties), recent files list, new document creation, sharing, help, and of course printing. All these features have been improved, though none more than the print feature, which has had a major overhaul. It is now easier to use. Its new layout has plenty of space to explain options, and it offers one of the best print-previews I have ever seen outside a professional DTP package.

The ribbon may now be customized. This takes a bit of fiddling, but it is quite easy if you take a moment to watch one of the tutorials on Microsoft's website. This enables you to add any command you like to the ribbon, including macros.

Some of the new text effects in Word are cool-looking but not especially useful to commercial authors. For example, reflections under headings look nice, but nobody would seriously entertain using them in a business presentation or a user guide. However, they do offer some fun design options for informal documents.
PDF-making is now built-in. It used to be available only as a free download (due to a spat between Microsoft and Adobe). The PDFs it makes are acceptable but lack the quality and features of Adobe PDF offerings. That said, you may improve your PDF output by installing a free package such as Nitro PDF, which makes better quality PDFs

The inclusion of OneNote is a plus. OneNote has been overlooked my many users, but it is a powerful note-making tool. I use it to jot ideas for projects. The ability to drop any file into a OneNote page makes it a handy place to dump pictures, video, audio comments, documents and website links for reference.

My only gripe is that, yet again, almost nothing has been added to VBA - the macro programming language built-in to Office applications. Most people don't use it, but it is the most powerful feature in Office. With it, you can make Word, Excel and so on, do just about anything you want it to do. If you can master VBA, then you will have absolute control over Office and the things you create using it.

We've installed Office 2010 on a couple of Windows 7 laptops, and an old Pentium M-based Windows XP laptop. All were fresh installations, and all worked fine. I've read many reviews here that have complained about the terrible installation process, but I had no problems at all. Putting software and hardware clashes aside, the trick is to choose CUSTOM installation (there's an option for this after you enter your licence code). That way you can choose NOT to install the demos of Microsoft Access and Microsoft Outlook. I am startled at how responsive it is in XP, with such a low-powered CPU. It installs in about 1.5GB, which is not bad these days.

Once you have installed it, I recommend clicking the "Continue Online" button to download and install all the updates (there are quite a few). These patch a few problems and generally bring your installation up to date.

Overall it's a pleasing step-up from Office 2007, especially with regard to the new File tab. The new features are not earth-shattering, but I have found them useful and worth the money. For about £25 per licence, it's a relatively inexpensive way to stay up to date with Microsoft Office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 101 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Take care installing Office Home & Student 2010, 19 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
If you are already running an earlier version of Office, be careful when installing MS Office Home & Student 2010 and read all the information on the installation dialog boxes. I was already running Office Professional 2007 and wanted to install Office H&S 2010, to run alongside it, not as an upgrade that overwrites the existing programs.
It takes quite a long time to install what, on the face of it, is 4 programs, but in reality is all the programs in Office Professional 2010. The additional programs are trial versions which you can convert to full versions by buying the appropriate overpriced Product Key. The problem is that you cannot have two Microsoft Outlooks running together and I found that my Outlook 2007 had been replaced by a trial version of Outlook 2010 which, if I had kept it, I would have had to pay for at the end of the trial period. I did a System Restore to get rid of Office H&S 2010 and re-installed it. This second time, I noticed that the Customize dialog box has 4 tabs and, although on the first tab you can select to keep previous versions of Office, you need to go to the second tab to instruct it not to install Outlook 2010 and any other of the trial programs you don't want.
Why is it that so many things these days have a catch? I can find no information on the packaging or in the Quick Start leaflet in the box that the entire Office Professional 2010 suite would be installed.
I haven't yet had time to make a full comparison of Excel, Word and PowerPoint 2010 v 2007 (I'm not interested in OneNote) but initial impressions are that the tweaks are minor and that, if you're happy with Office 2007, you probably don't need to waste your cash on Office 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


248 of 255 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sufficient for most, 10 July 2010
By 
C. J. Hicks - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
I have always had the professional office suite but recently migrated to the reduced home version. as far as Word and Excel are concerned have no problems with the function or user interface
. You may have to store your existing files under a different name once you have opened them in 2010 to get a change of file type. It depends on what version of office you are migrating from but this is no hardship.

However be very careful with the installation I accidentally loaded the trial of the full version (professional) and had a troublesome period backing it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


665 of 686 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine if pre-installed but avoid this partial upgrade version unless you're 100% computer-literate, 6 July 2010
By 
Colin McCartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
I bought Office 2010 Home and Student edition as a partial upgrade for the full Office 2007. As Outlook is over spec-ed and overpriced for the average Joe (i.e. me) I decided not to bother with the 2010 Outlook upgrade which is not included with this cheaper version. Fair enough, you might think - but you'd be wrong.

The default install option for Office 2010 Home and Student assumes you want to upgrade the WHOLE package. Mr Ballmer, if I'd wanted the full package I would have BOUGHT the full package. The end result, on the first attempt, is that - as you'd expect - Word, Excel and PowerPoint are upgraded to the new versions. Very disquietingly though, Outlook 2007 is removed and you are, very generously (not!), offered a "free" 30-day trial of Outlook 2010.

Now, imagine, though you probably don't have to, how important most people's e-mail software is to them: work, photos, silly attachments, love letters, whatever. Now imagine how ****ing furious you would be to discover that nice friendly Microsoft has removed this for you without even asking or so much as hinting! OK, OK not gone for good, maybe, but I have used PCs since the days of MS-DOS and although I was never a whizz, I know my way around. I also know the stomach-churning "Oh ****, I've accidentally erased the contents of my hard drive" feeling and momentarily, this Office installation software gives you that same sensation. I can only presume the intention is to make you feel like an inferior being for not having purchased the full upgrade.

Anyway, I had to go back to square one and, for the first time in my life EVER, run a custom install. Easy enough - you might think but even that's not straightforward. The custom menu is sparse: listing the various MS Office programs and asking which ones you want to "remove". Remove? REMOVE? I don't want to remove anything, upgrade, yes, remove no. The position is further confused by a tick-box option for each program. Now what does that mean - does the tick in the box mean you want to keep the software, or remove it? Maybe I'm just thick.

ANYWAY, four system restores and 5 installation attempts later I finally got the thing working. I couldn't even tell you what I did to get it working as I wanted because the process was very much trial and error. An evening wasted for which, Steve, you owe me £90.

If you get this pre-installed on a PC you won't know what I'm on about, so...

As for the software - aye, it's not bad. Word has a slightly more business-like interface than the 2007 version and the "find" (word search) function is one of the best I've encountered. Excel's previously slightly sickly appearance has been improved. Performance-wise I'm not an Excel expert but I would say that they have missed one trick here which is that moving between the worksheets in a file could maybe have been souped-up a bit to make it more like recent versions of Windows (i.e. you get a mini-window preview when you hover over the tab). For many, the Excel modifications will seem like a cosmetic difference only.

Don't avoid Office 2010 if it comes on your new PC, but avoid this upgrade package. Life's too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 103 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There are other ways., 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
If you have got students in your home, school age, college or university, don`t bother with this cut down version. Go to an educational reseller and get the full Professional version of Office 2010. It has Word, Excel, Access, Publisher, Powerpoint, Outlook, etc, etc. Cost, well I bought mine for just under £40 from Software4students. Yes it is genuine, full licence and can be installed on 2 computers.

Strange that this Home & Student version doesn`t have Publisher, the first Microsoft product kids normally use at school. The student version of Office 97, 2000 used to have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Automatic Outlook 2007 removal on Office 2010 upgrade, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
If, like me, you are availing of the opportunity to upgrade your Microsoft Office 2007 (purchased earlier this year) to the 2010 version before the end of September and you have Microsoft Outlook 2007 installed, do be aware that Outlook is automatically removed from your computer during this upgrade. In my case, having just installed the Outlook 2007 software over again everything seems back to normal, but it's an odd hoop to be made to jump through by Microsoft... An analogy: you order a pizza and a side salad at your local pizza restaurant. The waiter arrives with the food and returns with a pepper grinder and asks you if you want pepper on your pizza. "Yes, please" you say. A second waiter then appears at the table, and takes your side salad back to the kitchen. The pepper is then ground onto your pizza. "Where's the side salad gone?", you exclaim. "Well, if you want that as well as the pepper you'll have to order it again.", comes the reply. At which point you might decide that all you really fancy is an apple...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


207 of 217 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its good, but not 'Upgrade' good, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
A. GILL "ag55" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
====================================================================================
REVIEW SUMMARY - If my review was tl:dr for you, this will give you a quick summary
====================================================================================
Office 2007 is pretty perfect for my needs, its simple to use with the ribbon interface,
has all the excellent programs a home/student user would need and is quite cheap these days.

Office 2010 is a very minor upgrade, everything remains in the same place mostly, there are
minor additions to the programs such as in Word, you have more picture options, and in Excel
can make graphs inside cells. But for the price, it is not really a worthwhile upgrade if you
are working well with Office 2007. My advice would be to avoid this until an inevitable price drop.

====================================================================================
STARTUP & APPEARANCE
====================================================================================
Office 2010 does start up a bit quicker, but only by a second if that. That being said,
on a powerful PC it is nice to see your blank document open up almost immediatley. For the
majority though, the difference will be non-existent, or will not amount to anything useful.

Appearance is almost identical to Office 2007. Classic ribbon interface above. However, the
Office 'Orb' button has been replaced with the old File menu. This now provides a list to your
left with all the common tasks of opening, saving, sending, printing, and recent documents. On
the right handside is the detailed options of the menu selection, on the Print section for example
you now have a nice preview without needing to open up print preview, all the printer options now
have nice big icons, everything seems a tad more user friendly.

You can also customise the Office program colours to blue, silver and black. It's a nice touch i think
as i can now blend the Office suite into my dark Windows theme. Nothing major, but im easily pleased!

====================================================================================
NEW FEATURES
====================================================================================
- Ribbon interface is now in all Office programs including Outlook & One Note
- You can now fully customise the ribbon to add your own buttons and tabs
- More user friendly file menu with left navigation pane has replaced 'Office button'
- In Word 2010 you can now easily make screenshots with a few clicks using the ribbon
- Office 2010 has more artistic effects and styles to use on your photos (e.g colour correction)
- Videos can now be edited within PowerPoint, very simple editor but works well, includes effects too
- Outlook now has an ignore button which gets rid of conversations you don't want (both
current and future messages relating to that thread)
- Easier control options over conversations in Outlook using right click menu
- Using the custom ribbon interface you can add common tasks you do in Outlook
- New Smart Art designs
- Excel sparklines and slicers. Sparklines are tiny charts that fit into cells. Slicers are objects
you can use to filter data in pivot tables
- Existing documents opened up for the first time use Protected Mode. There is no ribbon available,
and you cannot edit them. Click enable editing to turn to the usual mode. Nice safety feature.
- Simulatenous editing. Now 2 people can edit the same document at the same time. Great for collaboration.

Not a great deal, but some genuinely handy features in some applications.
I would see if you really could make some use out of them before thinking of buying.

====================================================================================
WEB APPS
=============T=======================================================================
To try and compete with the monster that is Google, Microsoft are now offering Web versions of
its Office programs with each desktop version you buy. These are like Google Docs, but are the familar
Office programs you have come to love. They simply open in your web browser, and allow you to share your
work with others online. Good for people who travel a lot, and the Microsoft SkyDrive (online storage space)
should come in handy. There a few things to consider though:

1. Only available for Word, Excel, PowerPoint (and OneNote, but this will be at a later date)
2. Only compatible with Internet Explorer, Firefox and Safari (no Chrome, wonder why)

====================================================================================
PRICE TAG
====================================================================================
As above, it's a bit too expensive right now. For what you are getting, which is a very minor upgrade
i don't think it is worth it. However, a price drop is almost inevtiable. And when it happens, i think
Office 2010 would be a nice upgrade.

====================================================================================
CONCLUSION
====================================================================================
I know i am happy with Office 2007, it does everything i need it to do. 2010 was nothing special,
some of the features did seem useful but i can live without them. I think for the majority of people,
Office 2007 will more than suffice for a few more years, or until 2010 comes down in price.

For those of you who use the suite day in and day out, most of the day, then this could be worth looking
at definitley. The small upgrades and few new features won't seem like much initially, but after a while
you will start to like them. Again, that's only if using something like Word is your day job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Decent Upgrade from 2003, 6 Mar. 2011
By 
Patrick (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
First thing is buying this disc is the most cost effective of updating you laptop following the `free 60 day trial' that only lasted 25 operations. Buying the Office product through Microsoft is much more expensive.
Loading was straightforward and it operates OK. It is hard for me to spot the differences in 2007 and 2010 update programmes as I had only just started using 2007 so at this stage the upgrade so it gets my recommendation.
Other respondents have criticized Microsoft for deleting Outlook. I believe that this was EU's doing after other software manufacturers whinged.
All you need to do is download `Windows Live Mail' free and it looks like Outlook in most but name. All the items I need are in the programme and I managed to download my web mail accounts directly into the mail window including contact lists. The only hassle I found and I can't work out why it happened is `Windows Mail' wouldn't recognise the upper case parts of my passwords but as soon as I put the passwords in lowercase they loaded immediately. Once loaded it reverted to recognised my correct password.
I had to reformat my contact list from Outlook to Windows Live as I could not copy it directly across but it was not difficult
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 99 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its good, but not 'Upgrade' good, 15 Jun. 2010
By 
A. GILL "ag55" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) (DVD-ROM)
====================================================================================
REVIEW SUMMARY - If my review was tl:dr for you, this will give you a quick summary
====================================================================================
Office 2007 is pretty perfect for my needs, its simple to use with the ribbon interface,
has all the excellent programs a home/student user would need and is quite cheap these days.

Office 2010 is a very minor upgrade, everything remains in the same place mostly, there are
minor additions to the programs such as in Word, you have more picture options, and in Excel
can make graphs inside cells. But for the price, it is not really a worthwhile upgrade if you
are working well with Office 2007. My advice would be to avoid this until an inevitable price drop.

====================================================================================
STARTUP & APPEARANCE
====================================================================================
Office 2010 does start up a bit quicker, but only by a second if that. That being said,
on a powerful PC it is nice to see your blank document open up almost immediatley. For the
majority though, the difference will be non-existent, or will not amount to anything useful.

Appearance is almost identical to Office 2007. Classic ribbon interface above. However, the
Office 'Orb' button has been replaced with the old File menu. This now provides a list to your
left with all the common tasks of opening, saving, sending, printing, and recent documents. On
the right handside is the detailed options of the menu selection, on the Print section for example
you now have a nice preview without needing to open up print preview, all the printer options now
have nice big icons, everything seems a tad more user friendly.

You can also customise the Office program colours to blue, silver and black. It's a nice touch i think
as i can now blend the Office suite into my dark Windows theme. Nothing major, but im easily pleased!

====================================================================================
NEW FEATURES
====================================================================================
- Ribbon interface is now in all Office programs including Outlook & One Note
- You can now fully customise the ribbon to add your own buttons and tabs
- More user friendly file menu with left navigation pane has replaced 'Office button'
- In Word 2010 you can now easily make screenshots with a few clicks using the ribbon
- Office 2010 has more artistic effects and styles to use on your photos (e.g colour correction)
- Videos can now be edited within PowerPoint, very simple editor but works well, includes effects too
- Outlook now has an ignore button which gets rid of conversations you don't want (both
current and future messages relating to that thread)
- Easier control options over conversations in Outlook using right click menu
- Using the custom ribbon interface you can add common tasks you do in Outlook
- New Smart Art designs
- Excel sparklines and slicers. Sparklines are tiny charts that fit into cells. Slicers are objects
you can use to filter data in pivot tables
- Existing documents opened up for the first time use Protected Mode. There is no ribbon available,
and you cannot edit them. Click enable editing to turn to the usual mode. Nice safety feature.
- Simulatenous editing. Now 2 people can edit the same document at the same time. Great for collaboration.

Not a great deal, but some genuinely handy features in some applications.
I would see if you really could make some use out of them before thinking of buying.

====================================================================================
WEB APPS
=============T=======================================================================
To try and compete with the monster that is Google, Microsoft are now offering Web versions of
its Office programs with each desktop version you buy. These are like Google Docs, but are the familar
Office programs you have come to love. They simply open in your web browser, and allow you to share your
work with others online. Good for people who travel a lot, and the Microsoft SkyDrive (online storage space)
should come in handy. There a few things to consider though:

1. Only available for Word, Excel, PowerPoint (and OneNote, but this will be at a later date)
2. Only compatible with Internet Explorer, Firefox and Safari (no Chrome, wonder why)

====================================================================================
PRICE TAG
====================================================================================
As above, it's a bit too expensive right now. For what you are getting, which is a very minor upgrade
i don't think it is worth it. However, a price drop is almost inevtiable. And when it happens, i think
Office 2010 would be a nice upgrade.

====================================================================================
CONCLUSION
====================================================================================
I know i am happy with Office 2007, it does everything i need it to do. 2010 was nothing special,
some of the features did seem useful but i can live without them. I think for the majority of people,
Office 2007 will more than suffice for a few more years, or until 2010 comes down in price.

For those of you who use the suite day in and day out, most of the day, then this could be worth looking
at definitley. The small upgrades and few new features won't seem like much initially, but after a while
you will start to like them. Again, that's only if using something like Word is your day job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC)
Microsoft Office Home and Student 2010 (3 Users, PC) by Microsoft Software (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£209.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews