Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Schindler but.....
I have to say I enjoyed this film, its no Schindler's list but it will inevitably be compared to it. The film is a biopic of John Rabe, a member of the National Socialist Party, working as an engineer for Siemens in China. John has a confused view of the reality of events in Germany having lived in China for 27 years. As the Japanese invade, the film depicts his need to...
Published on 18 Sep 2010 by K. Mitchell

versus
33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well intentioned...but
This film never really takes off unlike the many, many CGI planes in this which are flown by the best pilots who ever existed, able to swoop into courtyards and then take off into the ether. But it does look sensational and that is what this film is all about sensation over truth.

I for one think John Rabe deserves better, the acting does not let this film down...
Published on 18 Jun 2010 by Tommy Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Schindler but....., 18 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have to say I enjoyed this film, its no Schindler's list but it will inevitably be compared to it. The film is a biopic of John Rabe, a member of the National Socialist Party, working as an engineer for Siemens in China. John has a confused view of the reality of events in Germany having lived in China for 27 years. As the Japanese invade, the film depicts his need to help his fellow human beings and his gradual disillusionment with the political party he belongs to.
I was aware of some of the brutal treatment dished out by the Japanese as they invaded China in 1937 but I didn't know anything about John Rabe or have a real familiarity with actual incidents in Nanking. John is part of the international community in Nanking and is cornered into setting up a free zone to protect Chinese civilians. He along with a number of other brave people do what they can to feed, shelter and protect the civilians from the brutality of Japanese soldiers.
I think the film makers did take some liberties with some of the set pieces and incidents as another reviewer pointed out, however don't let this get in the way of what is a good film.
The film is well made and the special effects top notch, and the director and actors do a good job of making you appreciate some of the attrocities that went on at this time.
Ultimately what the film achieved for me is to spark an interest in finding more out about this time period in China as well as John and the other brave people who helped him. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 2 July 2010
By 
Mr. Pj Williams (cardiff uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
to disagree with the author of the other reviewer I think the fact that they let the film play out and not turn it into a horror fest was a better idea. I think the fact that they show the japanease using bodies to fill holes in the roads, the bodies stacked up all over the place and the murder of civilians going on through out the film was enough to get the message across. they even show actual footage of people being buried alive. I ask, what did he want to see exactly?

the film is well acted through out, and to be honest I don't care about what language it was in. I found it informative and engaging. the story was delivered well and with feeling. like all films about history you take into account that they will change certain aspects for dramatic effect, make up a character here and there, that's film making, they are in it to make money. however the story comes shining through in the 2 hours you have and if your interested in further examination you can go pick up a book on the subject like I do. having read on the subject of nanjing I found I learned something, was reminded of others, and came away feeling that it is a good thing that films like this are made because at least they give people an insight into history,, especially as this is where the second world war really began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Place of safety, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: City Of War: The Story Of John Rabe [Bluray] [DVD] (Blu-ray)
A German-Chinese-French co-production, City of War: The John Rabe Story aka John Rabe suffered the misfortune of coming out internationally at the same time as the much more stark and graphic City of Life and Death, the two films cancelling each other out at the box-office and in critics' minds, which is a pity because it's quite an impressive picture on its own merits.

Telling the story of John Rabe, the head of Siemens in Nanking who saved thousands of lives during the astonishingly brutal rape and destruction of the city by the Japanese by creating a precarious Safety Zone, it avoids turning him into a movie saint and highlights many of the awkward aspects of his character: as well as having a corporate middle management mentality and a patronising view of the Chinese, he was also a member of the Nazi Party who initially supported the Japanese invasion as potentially good for business. True, the film does provide him with a hardline Nazi to contrast his more gently patrician style of corporate exploitation, but it also offers Steve Buscemi's American doctor to constantly remind the audience of his political allegiance as well as Daniel Bruhl's Jewish diplomat to remind the audience what the Nazis stood for. Yet surprisingly and refreshingly it doesn't impose a rude political awakening upon its hero: he never sees the light and, for all his humanitarianism, remains a Nazi to the end. Thanks to Ulrich Tukur's beautifully observed low key performance he remains a figure who triumphs from his ability to manage logistics and negotiations rather than an idealised movie hero, a quiet, ordinary man applying his business skills to the business of saving lives.

The film certainly has one of the more troubling images of recent years for anyone trying to market a movie, with hundreds of refugees cowering under a giant Nazi flag as Japanese planes fly overhead: if the Germans and Japanese weren't allies it's the kind of image you could see Goebbels jumping at. In reality, Japan claimed all the credit for the Safety Zone while Rabe was written out of history and returned to Germany in disgrace, to be arrested by the Gestapo as a Chinese collaborator, forbidden to lecture about what he had seen and died in poverty.

For once the multi-national cast isn't just there for co-production reasons, the film a truly multi-lingual affair that gives supporting players like Buscemi and Anne Consigny real and substantial roles to play rather than mere cameos to add a familiar name in the US and France for the DVD sleeve (though curiously Consigny's real-life character has her name changed from Minnie Vautrin to Valérie Dupres). It's well-staged by writer-director Florian Gallenberger, with convincing special effects that don't take you out of the movie with their artificiality melding well with surviving period buildings in Shanghai to recreate the city, but it's never quite as powerful as it could be. The film does go surprisingly easy on the Japanese atrocities, which tend to happen offscreen or are far more tastefully handled than the sordid events merit (though that didn't prevent production in China being briefly halted over concerns of the film's impact on Sino-Chinese business relationships). Although it draws on some surviving black and white footage that only hints at how bad things are, by concentrating so much on Rabe the film does tend to fail to really convey the sheer overwhelming scale of one of the worst atrocities of the 20th century. Censorship concerns may have played a part, but it does unfortunately dilute much of the film's impact, though the few glimpses beyond the Zone's walls the film affords are perhaps more striking for their scarcity. Even those were enough for local distributors to boycott the film in Japan, where it remains without a distributor.

Despite Metrodome opting for their usual Swastika-and-strafing-plane artwork that's their default mode for every cheap European war movie they pick up for UK distribution, they've done a decent job with the DVD, offering a good 2.35:1 transfer, half hour making of featurette and trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, top quality blu-ray release, 10 April 2011
This review is from: City Of War: The Story Of John Rabe [Bluray] [DVD] (Blu-ray)
A surprisingly captivating movie with high production values, which looks absolutley fabulous in blu-ray. I expected a long, sombre, dialogue-laden "serious" storyline, instead we were treated to an action-laden viewing that keeps you on the edge of your seat for 120 minutes! The video quality of this blu ray release is top-notch, with deep saturated colours beautifully balanced with deep blacks, and a high level of sharpness that reveals in fine detail even minuscule objects or characters in far distances. This movie proves you can make an exciting action-packed war movie without resorting to shaky-camera technique (à la Hurt Locker!) which defeats the purpose of having "blu ray" technology, ironically created to allow you to enjoy better clarity of your movies! As for sound, be prepared to turn down the volume if you live in a quiet neighbourhood: the scenes of the aerial attacks by the Japanese war planes make full use of the surround sound system, with ear shattering sound of bullets flying in all directions, and explosions that will work your sub woofer to the max; yet, dialogues are clear, and even with my very limited knowelged of the German language, I was able to make out most words I heard. An intelligent movie with high production values and top video and audio qualities in blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well intentioned...but, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film never really takes off unlike the many, many CGI planes in this which are flown by the best pilots who ever existed, able to swoop into courtyards and then take off into the ether. But it does look sensational and that is what this film is all about sensation over truth.

I for one think John Rabe deserves better, the acting does not let this film down as there are some excellent performances ostensibly by Daniel Bruhl and Buscemi makes a good fist of a poor script too. It is so waterd down that I actually felt that they were making a big fuss over nothing, yet this was suppose to be depicting the rape of Nanking. Rabes own diaries give enough of an accountto be able to direct the film as to what story they should have told. There is a passing reference to the 'beheading competitions'but it all seems to be happening off screen, the rapes are alluded to however,the only one they attempt to show has the victim being rescued by a child who knows how to use Japanese firearms. They raped women in front of thier families and shot anyone who interferd. This makes it look like a one off incident yet in Rabes own diary he says over 1000 girls were raped in one night with over 100 from the Girls College Ginling alone.

There was a farcical scene where volunteer civilians make a stand against the Imperial Japanese troops and are saved in the nick of time by the threat of international journalists. This is Hollywood at its most obvious and mediocre, trying to be 'Saving Private Ryan' meets 'Schindlers List' and failing to do justice to either concept. The Japanese used civilians for bayonet practice shot, looted raped and burned at will, John Rabe kept asking for order amongst the troops and or protection, this is never presented in the film. It is just a glossed up non war, war film.

And language is another criticism, thay all start by speaking in thier own languages but then all slip into English which strips away even more of the see through veneer of authenticity, the 'German Jew' has a better English accent than his German one- oh very dear.

The only reason I gave it 3 stars is because it at least may get John Rabe some attention for the selfless and inspiring work that he did and it is not the actors fault, as they very nearly pulled it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good German of Nanking, 8 Mar 2011
By 
Simon Levack (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A dramatized (though thankfully not hollywoodized) version of John Rabe's diaries. Inevitably compresses and simplifies the story a bit but then this is a movie, and where it departs from the facts this is usually justifiable for the sake of the story. The performances are first rate and Ulrich Tukur in the lead is nothing short of outstanding. Also good is the fact that doesn't try to gloss over either the brutality of the Imperial Japanese Army's conduct, or Rabe's membership of the Nazi party. A run-down bit of Shanghai stands in very well for war-torn Nanking and provides an impressive backdrop.

There are a couple of irrelevant and sentimental or just plain silly scenes that mar the film slightly but they aren't a reason not to see it, by any means. Overall highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An oriental Schindler's List., 19 July 2010
By 
Dan the man (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Little is heard in the West of the atrocious events surounding the Asian Holocaust perpetrated by Imperial Japan, despite this being of a scale at least comparable to, if not surpassing the Jewish Holocaust.
It is then an audacious move to make a Western film on this niche subject. The obvious parallel to draw is that of Schindler's List, an indisputably excellent piece of cinema. The actors give some excellent performances and succeed in re-creating the important chacters in this adaptation of real events.
I felt that the script could have been a little more engaging and the hotch-potch of different languages (subtitled) until around two thirds of the way through the film was confusing, especially when everyone ended up speaking English anyway towards the end of the film. However, these are really only minor criticisms. My major observation though is that the "Rape of Nanking" seems to have been dreadfully sanitised. Whilst it would be tasteless for the film to descend into a gore-fest, I think that more should have been made of the absolute horror of the Japanese occupation of the city. Anyone who has read Iris Chang's excellent book on the subject will realise immediately what I mean. However, despite the faults, I strogly feel that this is a story which needs to be told and at least there is now some kind of tribute to the merciful work of John Rabe and the International Committee. Watch it if only for this reason alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Paul G. Fuller "Scorpion" (Thetford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of War: The Story Of John Rabe [Bluray] [DVD] (Blu-ray)
Excellent film. Another one to add to the list of why Tyrants have to be stopped and the world told of these atrocities. The Japanese depicted once again as the Nasties. A well told and filmed movie showing just enough of the gruesome behaviour of war. Definately worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good movie, 10 Nov 2010
By 
A. E. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of War: The Story Of John Rabe [Bluray] [DVD] (Blu-ray)
this is an excellent true story (a drama with some action) ..well produced blu-ray ..good storyline
well acted and produced an era most people know little about..most enjoyable..highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd review, 4 Sep 2010
By 
A different war picture with a Schindlers List slant . Very violent ( but as violent as the accounts of the Japanese atrocities in Nanking on their occupation of that city ). A watchable resonably well made movie .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City Of War: The Story Of John Rabe [Bluray] [DVD]
City Of War: The Story Of John Rabe [Bluray] [DVD] by Florian Gallenberger (Blu-ray - 2010)
Used & New from: £39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews