Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collection of Carr's one liners - if you enjoy him much recommended
If Jimmy Carr is your cup of tea, the DVD is unlikely to disappoint - it features a show from his recent tour (recorded in Glasgow), together with some earlier appearances in Montreal (2003, 2006, 2007) and the after show signing session in Glasgow as extras. The extras are similar in style and are a good complement to the main show.

It mostly consists of one...
Published on 22 Feb. 2011 by AK

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Making People Laugh - a reasonable amount
This DVD contains some excellent material, and some merely average as you would expect from a long set. Most people's tastes will be catered for here and as long as language doesn't offend then you should enjoy this. Also look at the extras from some early live sets in Canada where you can see some of the very best of Jimmy.
Published on 9 Jan. 2011 by Antaxios


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment..., 5 Feb. 2011
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of Jimmy Carr for many years, I waited for this DVD with baited breath. How disappointed I was...

Naming the DVD "Making People Laugh" seems a cruel irony, as it didn't even provoke a single belly-laugh from my side of the TV. Sure, there were a few chuckles and smirks along the way, but nothing that would make me recommend this to a friend.
I'm unhappy to be typing this because, as I stated before, I am a big Jimmy Carr fan and I am not easily offended (I think Frankie Boyle is great). I was actually looking forward to it finishing, which is never a good sign, regardless of what you're watching. The best bit is the Meet & Greet in the extras section, as it is ad-libbed and the audience are up close and personal. That is the only positive I can take away from this DVD. It seems that since Jimmy has been on his diet he's become less funny, the exact opposite of what happened to Bernard Manning...

In my opinion, put your money away and watch it on a popular video-streaming website. If you still want to buy it, get it from Amazon.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Carr at his best, 9 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. P. A. Clowes (UK London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy Carr it a amazing comedian.
he takes the P*** out of a lot of people and some people find that offensive but you need to remember that is his way.
He will have you Laughing all the time then thinking dam that was a little close to the belt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not great, 11 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
I love Jimmy Carr. I'm not a fan of his one-liners - although they're not bad - but his general sense of humour, delivery and quick-wittedness makes him a winner.
Which is why i was a bit disappointed with this DVD. A lot of the material feels like a rehash of his two earlier DVDs, Comedian and In Concert. If you watch these, and have watched their respective extra features, there will be several points in 'Making People Laugh' that will feel tired.
Having said that, it's not bad and it was pretty cheap. I just hope he has fresher stuff for the next one.
COH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as previous years, 12 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
last years DVD was the best Stand up out there, but this years didnt hit quite the same heights

its still better than 75% of the DVD's released this xmas though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whats, 1 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
not too like?- in this pc age a breath of fresh air witty cutting,funny-laugh out loud,comedy for the thinking people out there-watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laught out loud, 17 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent show with some really funny and tongue in cheek sections. He also comes across as a very personal guy. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
Great Christmas present. Perfect to watch for a proper laugh. Would recommend it to anyone. Very reasonably priced too. Must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
great dvd as always from jimmy carr, very funny, well worth a watch. An ideal present for any fan of comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 26 Nov. 2011
By 
M. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
I used to like Jimmy Carr and have really enjoyed the previous DVDs I've seen so I was looking forward to watching this. He was clever and witty, just the kind of humour I like.

This was different though, he seems to have become less intelligent and more controversial for shock value... he seems to be testing his audience, knowing that he is pushing boundaries with a large number of jokes about paedophilia and rape. A LOT of jokes about rape, and domestic abuse too. He made quite a big thing of this, in this show recorded live in Glasgow, making a joke of the abuse linked with football matches between Rangers and Celtic, and how violence against women rises during these times. Encouraging the laughter in the way he did just seems to normalise and trivialise this aggression, and that makes me feel despair, sick, disappointed. He COULD use his wit to poke fun at the abusers, to show them in the light that they should be seen in, not to minimise and gloss over the abuse as he does here. He could shift his humour on to the abusers, but he doesn't. His humour seems to side with them rather than being outraged by them, what a lost opportunity. Outrage at extreme violence, sexual or otherwise, could fuel humour against this kind of behaviour, but he doesn't make that choice.

He seems to think that he can get away with these things by speaking with a posh voice and having a clean cut image. This is the sort of low-brow crudeness I'd expect from someone like Frankie Boyle, I feel more bludgeoned than amused, as he seems to be deliberately provoking to see just how far he can push, to get a reaction. If I'd paid £22.50 for my ticket to this gig, I'd want my money back, if he wants to use an audience to experiment on in this way, he should pay them. This is not like his other work (not the work I've seen anyway, as I say I've seen previous gigs and was impressed at his wit, his intelligence and his banter with the audience). He's always been a bit edgy, and that was fine when it was more balanced out with the clever stuff. He's dumbed down somewhat.

This is a disappointing development in Jimmy Carr's career and he's lost a fan through it. Such a shame :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sept. 2014
By 
A. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
This man is a genious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD]
Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] by Jimmy Carr (DVD - 2010)
£7.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews