Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collection of Carr's one liners - if you enjoy him much recommended
If Jimmy Carr is your cup of tea, the DVD is unlikely to disappoint - it features a show from his recent tour (recorded in Glasgow), together with some earlier appearances in Montreal (2003, 2006, 2007) and the after show signing session in Glasgow as extras. The extras are similar in style and are a good complement to the main show.

It mostly consists of one...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by AK

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Making People Laugh - a reasonable amount
This DVD contains some excellent material, and some merely average as you would expect from a long set. Most people's tastes will be catered for here and as long as language doesn't offend then you should enjoy this. Also look at the extras from some early live sets in Canada where you can see some of the very best of Jimmy.
Published on 9 Jan 2011 by Antaxios


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Carr made me laugh!, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a birthday present for my husband but we couldn't resist and had to have a crafty peek. We are both massive Jimmy Carr fans.

Jimmy has chosen to do his DVD gig in Glasgow: I was chuffed with this as Glasgow is my spiritual home and, as Glaswegians are reknowned for being a tough audience, you are guaranteed some lively crowd participation. In fact, you get to see a lot of Jimmy doing what he does best: responding to heckles.

The format of the show is somewhat different, insofar as it is filmed in two parts as you would expect in a live show. There is a break for intermission but the DVD does not pause for any great length of time.

For those unfamilar with Jimmy's live acts (i.e. if you only seen him on 8/10 cats etc), his gags work on the premise of joke-punchline-second punchline or possibly a third. Jimmy does not 'spare the horses' with his humour and there are no subjects off limits: paedophilia and jokes of a sexual nature feature heavily. So, if you are easy to offend then perhaps you should give it a miss. Carr himself says that his audience tend to have no 'moral compass': enough said!

I enjoyed the performance immensely and I would reccommend this DVD if you fancy a chuckle. I was, however, disappointed with some of the cheap gags that seem to be geared towards easy laughs. In the same way that some comedians tend to swear more, for cheap laughs, Jimmy has tended to rest on his laurels and crank up the smut factor. This is a minor criticism as anyone who is a fan of Jimmy Carr is prepared for anything.

I prefer some of Jimmy's earlier stuff but this is a personal preference. Fans will not be disappointed with this DVD. There are the usual bonus features that include excerpts that didn't make it onto the DVD (funny!) as well as a clip of Jimmy engaging with fans, post-show and basically mocking them mercilessly (it would be rude not to!).

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing but not LOL, 21 Nov 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
As a big fan of Jimmy I was disapointed to describe this show as amusing. I have all his previous DVD's and found them hilarious but I'm sorry to say that I found this tour DVD to be just amusing rather than side achingly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Sep 2014
By 
A. Wright (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
This man is a genious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
my nephew loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sick, 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
This man isn't funny at all, he's sick in the head. He makes jokes about child abuse!!! Disgusting revolting man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment..., 5 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
Having been a fan of Jimmy Carr for many years, I waited for this DVD with baited breath. How disappointed I was...

Naming the DVD "Making People Laugh" seems a cruel irony, as it didn't even provoke a single belly-laugh from my side of the TV. Sure, there were a few chuckles and smirks along the way, but nothing that would make me recommend this to a friend.
I'm unhappy to be typing this because, as I stated before, I am a big Jimmy Carr fan and I am not easily offended (I think Frankie Boyle is great). I was actually looking forward to it finishing, which is never a good sign, regardless of what you're watching. The best bit is the Meet & Greet in the extras section, as it is ad-libbed and the audience are up close and personal. That is the only positive I can take away from this DVD. It seems that since Jimmy has been on his diet he's become less funny, the exact opposite of what happened to Bernard Manning...

In my opinion, put your money away and watch it on a popular video-streaming website. If you still want to buy it, get it from Amazon.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not great, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
I love Jimmy Carr. I'm not a fan of his one-liners - although they're not bad - but his general sense of humour, delivery and quick-wittedness makes him a winner.
Which is why i was a bit disappointed with this DVD. A lot of the material feels like a rehash of his two earlier DVDs, Comedian and In Concert. If you watch these, and have watched their respective extra features, there will be several points in 'Making People Laugh' that will feel tired.
Having said that, it's not bad and it was pretty cheap. I just hope he has fresher stuff for the next one.
COH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as funny as previous years, 12 Nov 2010
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
last years DVD was the best Stand up out there, but this years didnt hit quite the same heights

its still better than 75% of the DVD's released this xmas though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] (DVD)
funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD]
Jimmy Carr: Making People Laugh [DVD] by Jimmy Carr (DVD - 2010)
£7.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews