Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars another short but superb star wars epic
For those of you who are familiar with the first game, this follows suit in almost every way. the usual little unlockables along the way to increase your 'force'.

As other people have mentioned - its not the biggest game ever but you'd do well to remember that theres alot going on... its not grand theft auto or 100 levels of mario world.
Also increasing...
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Mr. Paul D. Osborn

versus
28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in places ... but disappointingly short
I'm a Star Wars fan and I enjoyed the first game. I was looking forward to getting this one, but was sadly disappointed.

What I liked:
- I felt the graphics were better than the first game.
- The targeting in the first one was pretty bad, but they've definitely improved it in this game.
- I couldn't get on with the Force Grip from the first game,...
Published on 3 Nov 2010 by Emma Jane


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blink and you'll miss it., 14 Jan 2013
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great pity. This game looks wonderful. If you liked the graphics in the original, this one will blow you away. Sadly, that's where the love for this game has to end. I played this game from start to finish in one session of about 4 hours, that's how small a game it is. HAving said that, the story is a great bridge between the films, filling in some missing details, but the frustration of bosses that don't take dammage (except for in pre-cut moments) can be really annoying, and worst of all, the game turns into a Mario-Style leaping from platform to platform in the final level.

If your a Star Wars fan, this is a great distraction, if you're wanting a game marathon, well... this isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Brilliant game, good game play, good story, you will need the first game though otherwise story makes no sense, case and game like new, would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Hack and Slash with Star Wars Credentials., 10 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'll be honest, After watching 'Revenge Of The Sith' and completing Sw:Battlefront 2 a few years back, i kinda left Star Wars behind. I'd always heard about Force Unleashed but never went out and bought it, well recently i have purchased both games and i think they are fantastic. The Original is brilliant because of its classic gaming feel, as you scour planets in search of Jedi, killing and collecting as you go. However, i believe the second to be the stronger output in this story-line. The graphics and visuals are stunning, not to mention the completely destructible environment. The combat is alot more simplified which compliments the flow of the fighting system. The plot isn't as good as the first, showing weakness in several areas but thats always the case 8 out of 10 times with sequels. You will end up ranking up the difficulty and playing through again, if your into 'Achievements' Then a good amount of gamer-score is coming your way. The challenge mode is a great fun add on, really testing your knowledge of the force. Another great thing is the costumes and attention to detail within every character, it has the feel of a movie and you generally cannot wait for the next cutscene. Also the DLC is quite cheap in comparison too the originals 800-400 points per pack. With this one its more like 80 points per pack.

All in all i think its a great game, not to be taken too seriously and i would definitely recommend the two titles too any Star Wars Fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present for my grandson, 9 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
very reasonable price and very fast delivery, cant tell you any thing about the game all over my head sorry not my generation. i am assured by my other grandson it is a awsome game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Force Unfulfilled., 29 Jun 2011
By 
Jimbob (Scottish Highlands) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Original game is one of my favourites of the last few years, and certainly one of the best Star Wars video games ever. So was very eager to play the second instalment. Initial impressions were good, as the quality of the intro movie was of the same outstanding quality as the First game. It wasn't long though, before a few doubts began to creep in. The levels, though beautifully detailed, are repetitive. it almost feels as if someone told the developers that the levels should be longer, so they did a bit of cut and pasting with the level design. the rooms, and corridors all start to look the same, and it's not just occasional levels, it's almost every single one. The enemies too, are a disappointment. Lots of generic robots, and unimaginative button press sequences to finish off some fairly irritating larger enemies.
The Jedi boss battles from the first game, are decidedly absent in this game, which is a pity, in fact boss battles in general are either dull and half hearted, or in a couple of cases, too big for their own good. Especially the battle against a colossal beast in an arena. It never really felt to me like I had the control I needed to efficiently perform each step of the battle. I stumbled through it, and was basically sick of the battle by the time it's 5 or 6 different stages FINALLY ended. The final battle is a similar affair, except without the difficulty. Just a laborious trek up a tower, to do the same thing about 8 times. Lame.
It's such a shame they didn't follow up the original game with a slightly more polished product. The Story was genuinely interesting, if a little ham fisted. The voice acting seemed a little less impressive than the last game, but was still more than adequate. Essentially all the pieces were there, it just never had the same rush of gameplay that it's predecessor had. IF you love the original, and can get this cheap, it's worth a play, just for the story. but if you weren't a huge fan, then it's probably best avoided. Such a Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Frustation Unleashed, 22 Jun 2011
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Never in my life have I met a game that so frustrated and bored me as "The Force Unleashed II." On so many levels it fails as both a piece of the Star Wars story and as a game and sequel.

For starters, the story is ridiculously one note and undoes all the good work done by the nicely tied-up story of its predecessor in which Starkiller nobly sacrificed himself for the good of the rebellion. Force Unleashed II begins with Starkiller having been cloned by Vader to provide a more controllable apprentice. Needless to say this doesn't work out.

I'm going to begin here by saying that cloning Starkiller is one of the laziest ways to resurrect a character there is, especially when it just desecrates all the good work done in the first game. Yes, cloning is part of the Star Wars universe, but it shouldn't be abused as a way of bringing people back from the dead (that was already done to death with the Emperor in the Dark Empire series of comics.) And if we assume that Rahm Kota is correct and Starkiller isn't a clone, that's perhaps worse because it's even lazier writing.

So the story blows, perhaps it's still a fun game I hear you say, well you'd be wrong, so very very wrong. The gameplay is a carbon copy of the first game but now you wield two lightsabers. That's it. They also seem to have completely ruined the hit detection as often you will jump to slash a walker's cockpit only to flail ineffectually because you jump higher than it's head/ are a few inches too far away. The worst part is in doing so you won't even avoid the leg attacks of the walkers by jumping, somehow hitting their knee will send you to the floor even though it was moving away from you.

This is perhaps my biggest complaint with TFUII: ALL the enemies seem designed with frustration in mind, despite being easy to dispatch. You have enemies immune to lightsabers, enemies immune to force, often the two are unleashed on you at the same time. THEN you get cloaked, teleporting enemies who are immune to everything but lightning and then enemies which are only affected by the grapple technique (which has exactly the same animation for all but one of the enemy types). Oh. and THEN there are the droids... the terror droids with their latch on, wiggle the analogue stick to break free attack who would be relatively ok if they weren't generally paired with the aforementioned cloakers. Then there's the carbonite droid which freezes you in place and often once you've broken free, you are immediately frozen again. The bosses only up the frustration in even more ways which I haven't the energy to go into.

On top of all this there are only 9 levels of which there are 4 locations visited, of which one is just for a Yoda cutscene cameo and has zero enemies and another of which was so samey I didn't even realise it as a separate level. Each level seems like they only had enough resources to build half a level and so just repeated it to fill in the gaps, it's so relentlessly dull I couldn't wait to stop playing for some rather pretty cutscenes. That is perhaps the one good think about the game, the visuals, but even that is marred by frequent slowdown. This occurs most frequently when using force repulse, which you need to spam to get rid of the damn terror droids.

The Force Unleashed II is a vicious cycle of rage, frustration and boredom. It's only legacy is to ruin the good done by what came before and add another lightsaber to your repertoire. Do yourself a favour and buy Jedi Academy instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Barely gets warmed up, 4 Mar 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Starkiller, Darth Vader's secret apprentice is told by Vader he is a clone of the original Starkiller from the first game. Clone Starkiller escapes from captivity on Kamino. and embarks on a quest to understand his identity, find his love interest from the first game, stage a rebellion and confront Lord Vader......

Playing through the first level, things were looking quite promising. Production values were high, the graphics were wonderful, music was suitably stirring, and the developers seemed to have gone some way to fixing the targeting system that hampered the good-but-flawed prequel. It had Vader being all.... Dark Lordy, it had double lightsabers, it had a character who was already powerful in the ways of the Force, and escaping from Vader in the free-falling section was cool. Things were looking good. Then it went on a bit.... things got samey.... then just as it was getting interesting it ended and the storyline hadn't really gone anywhere.

The cutscenes and the in-game graphics were beautiful. Having said that, some of the levels felt like the same grey anonymous corridors were just cut-and-pasted over and over to make the game longer. There are around 6 levels, but within that, you only actually visit four locations (and one of those locations is basically an extended cut-scene). I would have preferred shorter levels, but more of them and in different locations. Speaking of length, the game was ridiculously short. Maybe 5 or 6 hours tops to finish a game which already feels like it's been falsely extended with the cut-and-paste corridors really is a joke. The story was barely okay, but there wasn't much of one, and it all feels like it's been put together to set the franchise up for another sequel. The game also suffered from Devil May Cry 4-syndrome where you have to fight the same enemies over and over and over again until tedium sets in. Tedium setting in on a game that is 6 hours long is not a good sign.

On the plus side, as with the first game, lightsabers and force powers are great fun, and it tossing stormtroopers around or mind-tricking them into committing suicide never gets boring. The targetting system was improved but still wasn't perfect, and actually selecting the correct target was still very hit-and-miss. Another plus point compared to the prequel was that there were fewer instances of getting knocked over and not being able to get up without getting set-upon by every enemy in the vicinity.

If you're inclined there is some replay value - to fully upgrade your Jedi powers, search for the Holocrons and find all the lightsaber collectibles, but herein lies the crux that seems to sum up the whole of The Force Unleashed 2: it all seems rather pointless. In the first game you upgraded your Force powers as you progressed through the story. As a result, you really saw the difference in them as you upgraded, and it helped to give you the feeling you were becoming a Jedi Master. In TFU2, you're already powerful, and although upgrading powers allows you to electrify more enemies or Force Grip more people for example, it just doesn't give you that sense of achievement or progression that was in the prequel. Lightsaber crystals are intended to give more depth to the gameplay - some allow you the chance to set enemies on fire, some allow you to regain more health when you down enemies etc. Because you have two lightsabers you can assign a different crystal to each saber. I experimented with various different loadouts but never really felt much benefit from any of them. In the end, I searched out the collectibles for the hell of it, but never bothered to change the crystals I had assigned.

In conclusion, there were some good points to this game. The highlights were fighting the Gorog, some of the free fall sections, and the beautifully rendered Kamino levels, but they weren't enough to outweigh the lack of variety in the levels, the tedious finale or the feeling that they could have done so much more with The Force Unleashed 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short. Dissapointing. Repetitive. First one was better. But it looked nice (sometimes), 7 Nov 2010
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I liked the first game, I gave it four stars and loved the lightsaber battles. This one however, is awful. After playing the demo I thought it seemed a bit off, but I thought that was because it was the opening level. But I now realize that level was one of the best on the whole game! In the first game you travel to 7 different worlds and in this one you go to 3 worlds. They make half an hour gameplay three levels, they make a cutscene a level, they make their longest level the most repetitive and boring level ever creative- rebel ship. the big thing in the game was Yoda, he turned up for twenty seconds and then you never saw him again- dissapointing! The gameplay in my opinion has got worse- two lightsabers look cool but the combos arent as good and versitile. The new force power mind trick is boring after a while, and the grapple attacks all look the same. looks wise, it is the same as the first one during game, the in game cutscenes are bad and the cutscenes are nice. (A GOOD POINT :O) But about four hours of gameplay is not worth £40.00. The first game had lightsaber battles which was epic, this one has big bosses for you to face which are cool to begin with but they last for a long time and get repetitive and boring. And the story isn't even there! First game- what a story! This game, had none really. Just pointless roaming around.
Gameplay: 6/10 (first game i gave a 7)
Graphics: 7/10 (first game i gave a 7)
Lifespan: 3/10 (first got a 5)
innovation: 5/10 (first got a 7)
Story: 3/10 (first got a 9)

overall: 24/50 :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very very short!!, 4 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This Game i rushed to get after the first amazing game. This was as fun to play as the first but then it suddenly ended! It was so short i was gob-smacked! It also did not answer any of the questions from the first game and if anything just made me ask even more!!! I dont now how they plan to finish this saga and they must be running out of time in the timeline. the double ending was a good idea like the first but it made it very confusing, and opened a can of worms so to speak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WOW, this is fun...oh, it's finished?, 1 Nov 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I had so many high hopes for this game. Force Unleashed 1 was amazing, a little glitchy, but still fun, with loads of amazing DLC.
Force Unleashed 2 starts off so well, it basically plays like the original, just with improved graphics, and fewer glitches. The level designs are amazing. The developers have done a great job recreating Kamino, and imagining a rebel frigate and Cato Nemoidia.

But why the hell is it so short???????

It took 5 hours to finish this game on my first play through. That's just not good enough. It is a fun game, but this is just such a let down to finish it so quickly. And there will no doubt be extra DLC, but quite frankly, it feels as though they have made a 12 hour game, and thought, right, let's remove the second half from the disc and make people pay extra for it.

In conclusion, if you want an amazing star wars game to take up your time, but the force unleashed 1, and wait for this to cost £20, then it will be worth it, that way when you buy the inevitable £20 worth of DLC, you'll be buying a full game for £40.

Dont let yourself be ripped off the same way i was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II (Xbox 360)
£13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews