Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eight Legged Treat
Superheroes and computer games have never been easy bedfellows; for every `Batman: Arkham Asylum' there are ten `Superman 64'. The problem is that your average superhero can pretty much beat up everyone, except for your average super villain. Therefore, an army of normal enemies is not going to do much, the secret is to pack your game with bosses - this is exactly what...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Sam Tyler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shattered game
There was a point in my life when Marvel could do no wrong but as of late that time is just a fond and distant memory mainly due to the fact that they are taking the quantity over quality approach to increasing their brand. Now granted all the blame for sub par products cannot be put at the door of Marvel but when you look at the likes of this game you wonder if Marvel...
Published 6 months ago by Jeff Franklin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eight Legged Treat, 12 April 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
Superheroes and computer games have never been easy bedfellows; for every `Batman: Arkham Asylum' there are ten `Superman 64'. The problem is that your average superhero can pretty much beat up everyone, except for your average super villain. Therefore, an army of normal enemies is not going to do much, the secret is to pack your game with bosses - this is exactly what `Spiderman: Splintered Dimensions' does. You play as four versions of Spiderman who each look and play slightly differently. The core gameplay is consistent, webbing around and taking out enemies, but whilst some are more action orientated others are more stealth based.

With 4 different realms the game never gets too stale, if you are bored of playing the Amazing Spiderman you can go ahead and play Spiderman Noir for some entirely different gameplay. Each of the 4 modes are fun in their own right, but for me Noir was the best as it was the most different; all the other three felt similar, but with different graphics. What I enjoyed about the game was as much about the characters and story, as the gameplay. Each level revolves around tracking down and defeating one of Spiderman's most famous enemies. The script is really well written and Spiderman is at his best when he is firing off sarcastic comments alongside his webs.

With diverse gameplay and a good script `Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions' is one of the best Spidey games to date, although I did enjoy `Web of Shadows' as well. The swinging around and fighting is not particularly original, but it is well programmed. Also Beenox did a good job in creating a camera that was able to follow Spiderman around as he darts across the screen. Overall, a good game that does become a little repetitive towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shattered game, 3 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
There was a point in my life when Marvel could do no wrong but as of late that time is just a fond and distant memory mainly due to the fact that they are taking the quantity over quality approach to increasing their brand. Now granted all the blame for sub par products cannot be put at the door of Marvel but when you look at the likes of this game you wonder if Marvel have any control over the products that are distributed to consumers.

To be blunt I am not a fan of this game and it is probably one of the worse attempts at a spider-man game I have ever come across. I would even go as far as saying that the Prototype games are better examples of spider-man games than this poor effort.

Graphically the cell shaded style works for me as I have a bit of a soft spot for this graphical technique and they do manage to deliver the odd spidey quip which will make you chuckle but unfortunately that is all they get right.
For a start when you think of spider-man the first thing you think of is web swinging and wall climbing. Why is it then that this game handles these core functions so badly to the point that I would say that it is actually broken! Even Web of Shadows managed to get this right and that game wasn’t a classic by any stretch of the imagination!

What you are left with are four game types and I use that number loosely as it is actually more like two as three of the game styles are exactly the same! This is how the game plays for pretty much every single mind numbingly boring level swing to point b while fighting the broken camera and swing mechanic while being careful not to try and climb some walls because spidey can’t attach himself to certain materials like walls, then beat up a few grunts before facing the boss of the level and engage in a sort of pre fight before taking on some more grunts before facing said boss again!
You do this for every single boss battle in the game which shows a startling lack of imagination from the developers!

Add to the mix some of the most annoying level structure I have seen in a game, including sky diving which has to be seen to be believed and you are left with a game that should have stayed in my pile of shame never to be touched.
If you want to play a spider-man game unfortunately there are not a lot of options in terms of great titles and this one is simply another bad apple in a depressing bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vastly under rated game, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
I am stunned that this game is not more popular. I had to look really hard to find this game and eventually paid over the odds for it, but was really excityed in doing the Spidey thing on my PS3. The game involves you playing through the 4 spideys; Amazing, Noir, 2099 and Ultimate to assemple pieces of a mythical tablet that Mysterio wants for himself to become a real sorceror. You taverse through the different prallel dimensions to do this.

One of the cool things about this game is that not every Spiderman is good/bad at the same things and you have to learn how to get him to fight the bad guys, whilst playing to his own strengths. Noir Spidey for example is rubbish at taking on villains head on and he needs stealth to surprise his enemies, 2099 Spiderman is great at leaping and flying so alot of his challenges invlove flying and web traversing.

It seems that the makers of this programme have picked the best things from Arkham Assylum and have unashamedly used these to enhance this game. A good example is the similar way that Noir Spidey dispatches his enemies by dropping down and hauling them up to dangle, rather than getting shot to pieces.

Most levels take around 50 mins to complete, but could easily take more depending on the difficulty chosen and the degree to which you are interested in finding the hidden items. So there is easily 10-12 hours worth of game and plenty of challenges and trophies to capture. This has been my first game bought since the summer drought of games and was bought on the spur of the moment, but well worth the money spent! (and I am not even a Spiderman fan)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Spidey Game, 3 Oct. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
Spiderman Shattered Dimensions is probably the best spiderman game i have ever played. I am personally a big fan of marvel and all of it's characters and this game really does justice to the fanchise.

This game allows you to play four very different spidermen as they search for the pieces of a tablet that shatter into different dimensions and timezones when Mysterio tries to steal it. Thus begins the race to get the fragments before the varies super-villians of each spiderman dimension does.

One of the reasons i feel that the game excels is due to how different the four spidermen are, obviously you have the spiderman that everybody knows and loves

Second Spiderman 2099 is a futuristic version and the only one of the four who is not called Peter Parker. Instead this character is called Miguel O'Hara who, after a lab accident, gains similiar abilities and then models himself around the original Spiderman which is now part of history known as the Heroic Age

The third Spiderman, Spiderman Noir, is from the America's gangster past. These levels revolve around you sneaking around in the shadows and using silent takedowns to eliminate your foes. They are very similiar to any batman game and the character seems to be modelled around the basic concept of Batman/Bruce Wayne.

Finally you have the Ultimate Spiderman. In this alternate dimension Peter did not get rid of the Symbiote suit that turned him in the Black Spiderman but the character the same as the Amazing Spiderman.

All of the them are great fun to play and adds a great amount of diversity to the game. The voice acting is goog and the game has a great script, a bit cheesy with spidey's wisecracks, but great none the less. Also the narrator, Stan Lee, is fantastic as he is able to create such a great atmosphere for the game.

The gameplay is really fun as well and made ever better by the graphics which, although they are nothing truely amazing or groundbreaking, do make the the game visually appealling. One thing that is unusually is the fact that the levels are linear and only allow for limited exploration to find the few spiderman emblems in the levels. However in this game it does work and adds a certain amount of focus to game as instead of free roam tasks, you have varies tasks to complete during each level which tend to relate to either use a certain move a certain number of times is defeat enemies or performing tasks in a time limit. These are obviously optional but need to be done if you want to fully complete the game and get some of the more expensive upgrades.

This is about the best spiderman game i have ever played and would recommend that anyone who is considering buying it to do so as it is just a genuinely fun game and definitely provided, at least me, with several evenings of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Web-Slinging superhero!! ^_^, 3 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
Awesome, kick-ass game for Spider-man fans! I am not normally the type to go for this type of platform game but this had me hooked from when I first started playing it. Each level is different and you can swing through them taking turns playing four different versions of Spider-man each with their own unique spidey-skills which you can unlock during game-play by collecting tokens and upgrading your web-slinging skills to deliver maximum punch to baddies! You can also buy costume upgrades and other bonus stuff depending on your level of skill. With lots of familiar faces, there are bad guys a plenty in each of the different levels for Spidey to fight with! Now, as a game player the only niggle I had was with the camera angles during game-play which sometimes had to be a certain way due to the way the game was or sometimes when progressing through the level the camera angles would go all over the place and I would end up getting hit a few times whilst I was trying to adjust it. That said however, I would seriously recommend this game to Spider-man fans, well worth the money I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loves it!!, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this for my 12 year old son as a late bday prezzie.

He loved it!! Ripped open the packaging and just stared at the disk cover for a bit. It was Hilarious.
Arrived within a few days and came in good quality packaging. Was really happy with the price as well.
My only complaint is my son won't stop playing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Four games in one! Wait, no it isn't - one game in one!, 13 April 2011
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
Much fanfare was made of the fact that you can play as four different Spider-Mans with their own gameplay, but the reality is far, far removed from the fantasy. This is a stale, boring button-mashing combat-oriented game.

You play as Spider-Man, but you might not actually realise that until you get pretty far into the game because there's no real webslinging (except for one level where it really works) and you can play pretty much the whole game without even realising you can wallclimb.

The game is split into four categories, where you play as Amazing Spider-Man, Ultimate Spider-Man, Spider-Man 2099 and Spider-Man Noir, explained by the fact that some artifact gets shattered and something or other about alternate dimensions and recollecting them. Amazing, Ultimate and 2099 are all very nearly completely identical in terms of gameplay in as much as they're all button mashing combat games. The biggest difference between the three is that Spider-Man wears different clothes.

In the Ultimate version, Spidey's wearing the Venom costume, so in addition to looking all sleek and black and cool, he has a RAGE meter. Because the kids today are angry and you've got to cater to that, right? So as you fight, this rage meter fills up and when it's full, you can start kicking some serious behind. In the 2099 version, you get basically the same thing but it's slow motion instead. The 2099 version also has this little minigame where you skydive, which plays kind of like a racing game except rather than steering around corners you are steering around obstacles in a straight line course.

The Amazing universe has nothing unique about it.

The Noir universe is the one that really stands out. It's a cooler, grittier (yes, I used THAT word) version of Spider-Man, that sort of has a `what if Spider-Man was Batman?' vibe to it, with everything being dark and black and white, and Spidey using fear and terror as tools (in the books I mean - there's no gameplay related to that), preying on his enemies, while his villains are mostly horrible freaks in the vein of Killer Croc. Vulture is particularly cool, being a hideous, freaky cannibal birdman.

So it stands to reason that this universe would play as a stealther, and that's more or less true. While you do need to stick to the shadows and take enemies down stealthily (something done easily thanks to being able to do it at range with your webs), not to mention your Spider agility means you can escape danger effortlessly, there are still more than a few occasions where you're forced into combat sequences with groups of enemies, which doesn't make much sense as these are the same enemies you were forced to flee from moments ago. Overall it's decent stealth, but the star of this universe is the universe itself.

In all versions, Spider-Man's Spider-Man-ness has been neutered because you're playing in small, linear environments. This is a world away from the Treyarch games of the PS2 era. You can web swing, and by targeting certain objects (by looking at them), you can web-zip onto them, but this is definitely not a game that is about webswinging, in any of the universes.

This is a game about combat.

The combat is super simple button mashing, and even though there's a HUGE selection of moves/combos available to you (as unlocks, you earn XP), the standard attacks are more than good enough to get you through the entire game. After the amazing rhythm-game style combat in Arkham Asylum, it's a little mindboggling that they didn't copy that, and obviously adapt it to better suit Spidey. Rather than relying on Spider-Man's speed and agility to dance between enemies and perform all kinds of acrobatic awesomeness (like, perhaps, Sands of Time), this is just button mashing with all the finesse of a Hulk smash.

And what really hurts the game is that that IS the game. Fight after fight after fight after fight, without even proper webswinging or missions or a city to explore or anything. It's just a straight line to the bosses. The one notable exception is a level set on an oil rig, which is a full blown open world level, albeit a small one. Here you can make proper use of the swinging around, which is cool and fun, and your objectives in that level are mostly not combat oriented which is great, though the combat is always forced on you sooner or later.

The bosses themselves are really quite awful, almost down to a man each consisting of dodging his or her attacks (simply by jumping out of the way most of the time), then countering. Then repeating. Again and again. And again and again and again. To be fair, some of the bosses are really cool as characters (Deadpool is laugh-out-loud funny), but that just plays in to the reality of this game: it exists just to introduce us to as many characters as possible, to sell as much merchandise as possible.

And that's fine by me, I'm too aware of it to be influenced by it and hopefully you are too, but it's just a pity this game itself is merchandise, no better than a lunchbox or poster. They could've done something really special with this game. If they'd really played up the four games in one idea, rather than go for the four different versions of one game in one idea, it could have been special.

I think the Amazing universe should've been oriented entirely to webswinging, the Ultimate universe should've been devoted entirely to combat (which needs improving), Noir is fine as is, but it should've had the combat removed entirely, while 2099 should've been dedicated entirely to a vastly expanded and improved version of the skydiving. If they had actually offered four games in one, so that getting to the next level actually offers something new, even if that new thing is not actually great, that would still have been a big improvement over the stale, endless button-mashing.

The only highlight here is the Noir universe, and while the gameplay is a far cry from great, or even good, frankly, it works well through its uniqueness, and had the whole game reflected that, this'd be a contender for a 4 star game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
Michael A. Craig "Celtic Mike" (Kincardineshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
Great game and some excellent graphics - kept us all occupied for hours after Christmas! Really enjoyed fighting against all the enemies of Spidey in some fantastic locations/back-drops - overall, this is a super game if you're looking for an ideal, alternative to all the usual "Shooters". Give it a try...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game - Had the right cocky funny spidy comments throughout, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
Good game play,and a good varying gaming styles between the different styles of spiderman. I found that switching between stealth, brute force and agility was fun. The Visual effect for each suit was also different and worked very well.

Good cameos from characters like juggernaut too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Let Down!, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Mr. Jp Richards "JR" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this game after reading a number of positive reviews and was expecting an exciting game with a gripping and varied gameplay. This is sadly not what I found. The gameplay is so linear and samey that I can't see much point in completing this game. The controls are ok but it is really just a load of button bashing bordom!
Previous Spiderman games weren't great but they at least let you explore the environment and swing through the city scape but this game allows none of this. You end up just going from point A to point B to point C etc... and it's just one boss fight after another without much imagination.
The graphics are good if you like the comic cartoon style but they're nothing special.
Storyline - poor at best and the characters make awful wisecracks all the way through that will end up getting on your nerves.
Longevity - none really, I can't see why anyone would want to play this game more than once.

Overall: I was expecting so much more from this game but it came up short by some distance. Save your money - buy Batman Arkham Asylum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3)
Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (PS3) by Activision (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: £23.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews