Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but can get repetitive
I really enjoy the main gameplay, lots of web slinging and fighting moves, and I particularly enjoy the Spiderman Noir universe which is really atmospheric and well thought out.

However, the end-of-level bosses are repetitive and dull. Every time it's a case of play the boss through once, probably die, restart the boss bit, work out their weakness, repeat that...
Published on 22 Feb 2011 by S. Lake

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spider-man, Spider-man. Doesn't always do what a spider can...
Spider-man Shattered Diamentions took me a little bit by surprise gameplay-wise. After nearly ten years of video-games with open world environments, Activision and Treyarch decided to make this game very liniar and level based. Although this is no big issue it just doesn't quite make you feel like you are Spider-man when you play the game. It's also very short (15 levels...
Published on 26 April 2012 by D. Climo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars My Quality Game Senses are Tingling, 12 April 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Superheroes and computer games have never been easy bedfellows; for every `Batman: Arkham Asylum' there are ten `Superman 64'. The problem is that your average superhero can pretty much beat up everyone, except for your average super villain. Therefore, an army of normal enemies is not going to do much, the secret is to pack your game with bosses - this is exactly what `Spiderman: Splintered Dimensions' does. You play as four versions of Spiderman who each look and play slightly differently. The core gameplay is consistent, webbing around and taking out enemies, but whilst some are more action orientated others are more stealth based.

With 4 different realms the game never gets too stale, if you are bored of playing the Amazing Spiderman you can go ahead and play Spiderman Noir for some entirely different gameplay. Each of the 4 modes are fun in their own right, but for me Noir was the best as it was the most different; all the other three felt similar, but with different graphics. What I enjoyed about the game was as much about the characters and story, as the gameplay. Each level revolves around tracking down and defeating one of Spiderman's most famous enemies. The script is really well written and Spiderman is at his best when he is firing off sarcastic comments alongside his webs.

With diverse gameplay and a good script `Spiderman: Shattered Dimensions' is one of the best Spidey games to date, although I did enjoy `Web of Shadows' as well. The swinging around and fighting is not particularly original, but it is well programmed. Also Beenox did a good job in creating a camera that was able to follow Spiderman around as he darts across the screen. Overall, a good game that does become a little repetitive towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good spider man game, but small story mode, 11 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I actually loved this spider man game! I have both, spider man web of shadows, and this one. I can't really tell which is the best but they both have their own good things. Spider man shattered dimensions has an awsome combat system and four different gameplays and that makes the game more interesting and not boring once you finish it!!! It's not like SM WOS, where the combat system was just a button mushing!!!The swinging on SM SD isn't as good as the SM WOS but I think it works better with a game with levels and not free roam.SM SD also gives you a lot of costumes, which is really fun!!! The only thing that isn't good about this game, is that it's pretty short, but it's still one of the best Spidey games! But that's just my opinion!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something to get Your Spider-Sense tingling?, 11 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a really enjoyable Spiderman game for the Xbox 360, and one with plenty of really enjoyable action to keep Marvel fans very happy.
Graphically, it looks like a cel-shaded set up, but it is the best looking game that uses this system by quite a long way. The cut scenes are excellent too - very stylish and in keeping with the comics. The opening sequence with Mysterio is stunning.
The voice overs are better than some of the more recent Spiderman outings too. Spiderman sounds like he should, and is as smart-mouthed as the comics. The highlight is the opening intro, narrated by the legend that is Stan Lee. How that man keeps his enthusiasm up after all his years in comics is amazing.
The action is not open world though. If you loved Spiderman 2 then beware, this is nothing like that game. You are working through the levels with a combination of puzzling (which aren't particularly challenging - pull 5 levers to access the next area being a typical puzzle) and combat. The combat is generally very good. You start off with some cool moves, and a clever system of defence that employs Spideys spider-sense which is quite stylish. Another nice feature is the way the game puts you into a first person perspective in certain key battles. That is a nice way to make the boss battles have a little more variety. You can unlock lots of new moves too by completing side missions within the main levels, and this is a good way to keep you interested in the game.This is called the Web of Destiny. These side missions can benefit you greatly as you unlock many more powerful moves and become more necessary as you play through the game.
If you are a Spiderman comic book fan then you will be pleased by the roster of characters in this game. Mysterio, Kraven, Juggernaut, Sandman, Electro, Deadpool, Carnage and Hobgoblin all appear along with Scorpion, Dock Ock, Vulture and Hammerhead.
There was a lot made of the 4 different dimensions and their relevant Spideys. There is our Spidey, the black suited Spidey, the Noir Spiderman and a Spiderman from the future. All the styles are different. The noir Spiderman missions are based around stealth rather than the acrobatic attacks of the Spiderman from our world.
Spiderman himself plays pretty well. It isn't quite perfect though, and i found that movement doesn't flow perfectly and come naturally. The swinging doesn't feel quite right to me. It's hard to describe what i mean. It almost feels like you have to think about what you are pressing rather than doing it subconsciously.
The only real flaw i have come across is the camera/targetting system. When you are fighting one on one it is good, but when you suddenly have to fight up to ten bad guys it becomes a real pain to focus on the bad guy you want to take out. You can't really get your strategy working if Spidey starts fighting another guy to the one you want to fight. The camera plays its part in this, and just doesn't quite work in the heat of the action. This doesn't make a huge difference to how much i like this game, but it can irritate you in the middle of a battle.
The other flaw is the fact that this game isn't an open world. It seems strange to limit where Spiderman can go in a level, when the whole point of Spiderman is that he can go where others can't - he has complete freedom of movement. The levels themselves are big enough to allow a little exploration, but there should be more in my opinion.
So, how to rate this game? Well i would rate it as a four star game - IF you are a Spiderman fan because of all the in-jokes, and characters from the Marvel universe. If you aren't a fan, then it would probably be a 3.5 star rating. For me, it was great fun and much more polished than i thought it would be from looking at all the build up and hype for the game. It is also great fun to play too, but ultimately doesn't do anything new or mind blowing. It is not in the same league as Batman: Arkham Asylum (Xbox 360) but then, that is a game that broke the mould in terms of comic book adaptations. This is way better than Spider-man: Friend or Foe (Xbox 360) or Spider-Man 3 (Xbox 360) - though i can't say how it compares to Spider-Man: Web of Shadows (Xbox 360)(though it is in my collection, waiting to be played!).
This is a game that i would recommend though. It isn't perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but what it does, it does very well. It isn't the most original game you will ever play, but it has limited itself to getting a few things to a high standard. And for the most part it succeeds. If nothing else, it is entertaining and really good fun to play!
See what you think!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Paul McNamee "Rambleast Reviews" (North Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
So here it is: the first major superhero videogame released after Arkham Asylum rewrote the rulebook (and then violently descended upon the rules therein one by one `til the coast was clear). I, myself, me personally that is, was prepared to go into this ignoring the successes of Rocksteady's surprise hit last year, on the grounds that it would be as unfair as, well, as unfair as comparing other games to Arkham Asylum is as appropriate as that analogy gets. I've also enjoyed Spider-games from the past, and knew what to expect, and that what I expected was still to be expected, post-AA. It is therefore something of a caveat that I acknowledge Arkham's large influence on this game, while also beaming with joy that it's actually a very good Spider-Man game as well.

The central conceit of Shattered Dimensions, as you've surely gathered, is the four separate Spider-Men the game requires you to play as: your standard guy that everyone knows, a younger counterpart from Brian Bendis' Ultimate Spider-Man comics, the 1990s' very own Spider-Man 2099 and the latest alternative, Spider-Man: Noir from 2008. There's enough variation in three of these four to merit the decision to make the game like this at all, but honestly the regular (officially `Amazing') and Ultimate sections of the game feel and play very similarly. The new tricks that separate Shattered Dimensions from past titles mostly reside in the Noir and 2099 levels, which boast stealth-oriented and aerial-combat challenges respectively. These sections of the game deviate visually from the other two cel-shaded portions as well, further making the separate-dimensions thing seem like a worthwhile idea.

Gameplay-wise, you've probably seen most of it before. Swing around, fight large amounts of enemies, occasionally rescue civilians and collect tokens of varying worth. While Shattered Dimensions is strictly more linear than previous Spider-games, you'll feel more than at home with its approach to gameplay. The stealth-heavy Noir levels (and the presence of perch points in the others, too) is the game's most obvious theft from Arkham Asylum, not least mentioning the very design of those stages (from the general darkness to the behaviour of the enemies). There are other touches too, but I'm not churlish enough to list them all and frankly I really don't think they take away from the gameplay. I can't fault Beenox for modelling themselves after the greatest comics game in history so soon after its release. I can, however, fault them for a fun if shamelessly-stolen-from-Uncharted first level. Just one instance of the magpie stealing more than he's allowed, I think. Difficulty works on a solid curve so it provides a good challenge by the time you finish it.

Music is unmemorable but level-specific, so the 2099 levels are more hectic and electronic than the slow jazz of the Noir levels. The voice performance is thankfully superb on nearly all counts, from the return of Chris Daniel Barnes as one of the four Spider-Men (each voiced by someone who's played the character before) to the casting of the villains (Jim Cummings was born to play Kraven, and Tom F. Wilson as Electro: fuhgeddabouddit). Perhaps the only weak links are the generically British Madame Web and Dan Gilvezan as 2099 Spidey. This is purely opinion, of course, but I never imagined that series' Spidey (Miguel O'Hara) to be any more than 24, and he's certainly not the joker Gilvezan plays him as. In fact, he sounds just like Stan Lee (who also turns up periodically to narrate, and couldn't be any more welcome).

Now, Shattered Dimensions isn't perfect, not by a long shot, but what it is is a genuinely worthwhile Spider-Man game, something we've not had since Ultimate Spider-Man in 2005. One of its many victories is in taking that game's cel-shaded, living-comic-book approach and making it work through the power of current-gen machines. Another is in the successful variation of four (OK, three) `dimensions', making it seem less like a gimmick and more like an integral gameplay structure. Most of all, though, its greatest victory comes in the successful rejuvenation of a franchise filled with potential that has seen no fewer than three total duds since its last hit.

No mistake folks: Shattered Dimensions is the best Spider-Man game yet. It's better than Spider-Man 2 (2002), and that's saying something. As ever, there are a couple problems involving camera and controls, and the story isn't particularly memorable, but it's sure as heck fun to play. It may not rewrite the rulebook, but it's great to have Spider-Man (s) back on our consoles in a title actually worth paying for. If you enjoyed Web Of Shadows, Spider-Man 3 or Friend Or Foe, you'll lap this up. But if you've spent five years waiting for a worthy follow-up to Ultimate Spider-Man, buddy, your patience has been rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Four games in one! Wait, no it isn't - one game in one!, 13 April 2011
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Much fanfare was made of the fact that you can play as four different Spider-Mans with their own gameplay, but the reality is far, far removed from the fantasy. This is a stale, boring button-mashing combat-oriented game.

You play as Spider-Man, but you might not actually realise that until you get pretty far into the game because there's no real webslinging (except for one level where it really works) and you can play pretty much the whole game without even realising you can wallclimb.

The game is split into four categories, where you play as Amazing Spider-Man, Ultimate Spider-Man, Spider-Man 2099 and Spider-Man Noir, explained by the fact that some artifact gets shattered and something or other about alternate dimensions and recollecting them. Amazing, Ultimate and 2099 are all very nearly completely identical in terms of gameplay in as much as they're all button mashing combat games. The biggest difference between the three is that Spider-Man wears different clothes.

In the Ultimate version, Spidey's wearing the Venom costume, so in addition to looking all sleek and black and cool, he has a RAGE meter. Because the kids today are angry and you've got to cater to that, right? So as you fight, this rage meter fills up and when it's full, you can start kicking some serious behind. In the 2099 version, you get basically the same thing but it's slow motion instead. The 2099 version also has this little minigame where you skydive, which plays kind of like a racing game except rather than steering around corners you are steering around obstacles in a straight line course.

The Amazing universe has nothing unique about it.

The Noir universe is the one that really stands out. It's a cooler, grittier (yes, I used THAT word) version of Spider-Man, that sort of has a `what if Spider-Man was Batman?' vibe to it, with everything being dark and black and white, and Spidey using fear and terror as tools (in the books I mean - there's no gameplay related to that), preying on his enemies, while his villains are mostly horrible freaks in the vein of Killer Croc. Vulture is particularly cool, being a hideous, freaky cannibal birdman.

So it stands to reason that this universe would play as a stealther, and that's more or less true. While you do need to stick to the shadows and take enemies down stealthily (something done easily thanks to being able to do it at range with your webs), not to mention your Spider agility means you can escape danger effortlessly, there are still more than a few occasions where you're forced into combat sequences with groups of enemies, which doesn't make much sense as these are the same enemies you were forced to flee from moments ago. Overall it's decent stealth, but the star of this universe is the universe itself.

In all versions, Spider-Man's Spider-Man-ness has been neutered because you're playing in small, linear environments. This is a world away from the Treyarch games of the PS2 era. You can web swing, and by targeting certain objects (by looking at them), you can web-zip onto them, but this is definitely not a game that is about webswinging, in any of the universes.

This is a game about combat.

The combat is super simple button mashing, and even though there's a HUGE selection of moves/combos available to you (as unlocks, you earn XP), the standard attacks are more than good enough to get you through the entire game. After the amazing rhythm-game style combat in Arkham Asylum, it's a little mindboggling that they didn't copy that, and obviously adapt it to better suit Spidey. Rather than relying on Spider-Man's speed and agility to dance between enemies and perform all kinds of acrobatic awesomeness (like, perhaps, Sands of Time), this is just button mashing with all the finesse of a Hulk smash.

And what really hurts the game is that that IS the game. Fight after fight after fight after fight, without even proper webswinging or missions or a city to explore or anything. It's just a straight line to the bosses. The one notable exception is a level set on an oil rig, which is a full blown open world level, albeit a small one. Here you can make proper use of the swinging around, which is cool and fun, and your objectives in that level are mostly not combat oriented which is great, though the combat is always forced on you sooner or later.

The bosses themselves are really quite awful, almost down to a man each consisting of dodging his or her attacks (simply by jumping out of the way most of the time), then countering. Then repeating. Again and again. And again and again and again. To be fair, some of the bosses are really cool as characters (Deadpool is laugh-out-loud funny), but that just plays in to the reality of this game: it exists just to introduce us to as many characters as possible, to sell as much merchandise as possible.

And that's fine by me, I'm too aware of it to be influenced by it and hopefully you are too, but it's just a pity this game itself is merchandise, no better than a lunchbox or poster. They could've done something really special with this game. If they'd really played up the four games in one idea, rather than go for the four different versions of one game in one idea, it could have been special.

I think the Amazing universe should've been oriented entirely to webswinging, the Ultimate universe should've been devoted entirely to combat (which needs improving), Noir is fine as is, but it should've had the combat removed entirely, while 2099 should've been dedicated entirely to a vastly expanded and improved version of the skydiving. If they had actually offered four games in one, so that getting to the next level actually offers something new, even if that new thing is not actually great, that would still have been a big improvement over the stale, endless button-mashing.

The only highlight here is the Noir universe, and while the gameplay is a far cry from great, or even good, frankly, it works well through its uniqueness, and had the whole game reflected that, this'd be a contender for a 4 star game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Spidey game, 10 Oct 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
While the stages all follow the same formula and the game has some minor problems with the camera, Shattered Dimensions is still a fun and great looking game that you'll specially enjoy if you are a fan of the wallcrawler.

Maybe it's not a masterpiece, but it's still a great game that'll give you good fun for a long while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for a weekend play through but lacks replay value and variation., 21 July 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Spiderman Shattered Dimensions is the sort of game that you spend a weekend completing and then never play again. However, the first play through is incredibly addictive and due to the structure of the game the gameplay seems varied. However, it does get repetitive and the graphics are poor. Having said that for 10 the game is worth buying and it's great for fans of Spiderman and for people who love boss battles, as the game is pretty much just 13 long boss battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My son has fun, 16 Mar 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Purchased as a Christmas present and my son has had hours of fun with it.
We played the previous title "Web of Shadows" and we all had hours of fun, but this title for me is not as fluid as the previous title.
The area in which you can explore is extremely limited to set levels and tasks you have to complete.
This is fine for most people, just having played the previous title I was expecting more.

That is an adult's opinion, but my son seems to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spidey X4 Woooooooo, 21 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
OMG This is better then i expected, This game is one of the best i have ever played. Here is my review of each playable spidey which includes The AMAZING SPIDERMAN, The ULTIMATE SPIDERMAN, 2099 SPIDERMAN and NOIR SPIDERMAN.This is in no particular order:

-Amazing Spidey - This surprisingly was great play the combat is great but some of the levels are to simular like the setting but still a great play faveourite level being sandman.10/10

-Ultimate Spidey - This is my faveourite spidey great combat variety and the levels are amazin my faveourite level is probs deadpool for ultimate spidey.10/10

-2099 Spidey - This guy is amazing this is as good as the ultimate spidey with the levels providing the variety and combat best level being the green goblin.10/10

-Noir Spidey - I was pleasently surprised with this spidey my first opinion was boring then it felt good sneaking around but this is tedius at times with levels but best level is goblin again.10/10

overall 10/10 game this is up there with batman arkham asylum if not in my eyes a little less 11/10 for batman game anyways i recommend u buy this game best spidey game ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad. It's just not great either, 20 Sep 2010
By 
The Reviewer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay. Let's get straight to the point here. Shattered Dimensions is a game that has an equal number of good points as it does bad points.

On the plus side, the story is classic comic book stuff and good fun (multiple dimensions, multiple spidey's and a plethora of villains - all good so far). The voice acting is great and the dialogue is genuinely funny - all good again. The idea of four different level designs is a good one, with the Noir universe standing proudly above the rest - we're still doing good yeah? And finally, it can be fun to play, especially (again) in the Noir universe where the emphasis is on stealth takedowns and not traditional combat.

On the minus side, with the exception of the (surprise, surprise) Noir universe, the levels can get somewhat repetitive - despite Spidey having a massive move-set things inevitably boil down to having him smash his way through hordes of enemies in the most expedient (and generic) manner possible (tapping the 'Heavy Attack' button repeatedly). This is especially true on 'Hard' mode. Additionally, on 'Hard' mode there are times when Spidey is ridiculously underpowered. It takes several strikes with your most powerful attack to take out a generic thug whilst they can squash Spidey in seconds with two well placed thwaps to the back of the head with a club. Also (and this one is kinda important to the Spiderman vibe as a whole) it does more harm than good to web-swing or wall-crawl. Web-swinging is slow and largely pointless due to the games level-based design, and wall-crawling offers terrible camera angles to work with making it hardly worth the trouble. I spent most of the game web-zipping from lock-on point to lock-on point - or just plain ol' running.

Ultimately, Shattered Dimensions is perfectly run-of-the-mill. Fantastically OK. Brilliantly middle-of-the-road. If you rent the game or buy it cheaper you probably won't be disappointed. But buy it at full price and you may feel that the overall experience was just a bit, well...average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: 14.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews