Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technology Nazis
Two sons are born to a magical enchantress and fairy queen. One good, Avatar, and one not so good, Blackwolf.
As they grow up to be wizards in their own right, their personalities inevitably clash, and on hearing of the death of their mother, they end up fighting for supremacy of the fertile homelands, with the outcome being that Blackwolf gets his tail kicked and is...
Published 13 months ago by Arch Stanton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than magical
Ralph Bakshi's boho fantasy Wizards, like Richard Williams' doomed Thief and the Cobbler, is a reaction against Disney animated features and shares many of its flaws, as well as coming up with many of its own. For all his talk about wanting to show Disney how to tell a real story with real passion, there's a real lack of story and worse, a real lack of feeling that the...
Published on 15 Oct 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technology Nazis, 16 Nov 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wizards [DVD] (DVD)
Two sons are born to a magical enchantress and fairy queen. One good, Avatar, and one not so good, Blackwolf.
As they grow up to be wizards in their own right, their personalities inevitably clash, and on hearing of the death of their mother, they end up fighting for supremacy of the fertile homelands, with the outcome being that Blackwolf gets his tail kicked and is banished into the cursed wastelands for ever..
3000 years have passed however and the vengeance driven Blackwolf has been amassing an army of evil fiends, so that he might destroy Avatar and conquer the happy places (filled with democracy, hippyness, love and other sickly sweet cuteness!) for himself, but every time he attempts a military coup, his feeble minded, wretched armies are beaten back by the heroic wholesome armies at Avatar's disposal.
That is until one day, when Blackwolf finds some ancient technology, in the form of Nazi war machines and Nuremberg rally, Third Reich ideology footage, which he uses to kill everything good that stands in his way, with devastating effect...

I have a certain amount of history with this particular animated/live action, Bakshi fantasy effort and am therefore unashamedly biased as to how utterly great I think it is.
Some of the animation is lousy, the jokes and humour are poorly timed and it's 'Lord Of The Rings' borrowed storyline, with added themes of Nazism, technology versus nature and kinky symbolism is questionable for any 'family film' to say the least, but with that said, that is what makes it so enjoyable. The sum of it's imperfections and the total of it's inappropriateness.
Any kids movie that features heaving bosomed fairies, in see through clothes, fighting evil Nazi mutants, elf prostitution, drug references, psychedelic visuals, wigged~out music, Tyrell's husky voiced narration, and a hippy luddite sentimentality, is definitely okay in my book!
Meaning that when I watched this again the other week with a few friends, for my birthday (I hadn't seen it since I picked up the pre~cert VHS in the early/mid 90s ~ some of the others there had never seen it), we just sat back, mostly in amazement! Admittedly we were trashed, but mostly amazed nontheless.

Now don't get me wrong, I really don't have time for Disney or Manga, or any of that modern day cartoon stuff, for the most part, but like 'Little Nezha Fights Great Dragon Kings', this I will always have time for, because it's simply just ace!
The film was given an airing on Sky tele in the mid nineties, but was cut.
Bakshi's interview on the Eureka dvd was a bore and went off after about 30seconds (better viewed when I'm more together methinks!), but the guy excelled himself when he made this..

Don't get me wrong, it's trashy, with much done badly, but with the addition of mutant swastika brainwashed sunrises, raunchy love fairies and head spinning psychedelia for 70s kids, means you can't go wrong if of the right age, or leanings!

5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than magical, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ralph Bakshi's boho fantasy Wizards, like Richard Williams' doomed Thief and the Cobbler, is a reaction against Disney animated features and shares many of its flaws, as well as coming up with many of its own. For all his talk about wanting to show Disney how to tell a real story with real passion, there's a real lack of story and worse, a real lack of feeling that the dull characters and disinterested vocal performances only draw attention to. But perhaps most fatal of all is the largely uninteresting animation that often seems pitched somewhere between Filmation and underground comics, with the more interesting (and potentially expensive) sequences played purely as two-tone still concept images with Susan Tyrell's flat narration giving the film an uncompleted work-in-progress look. The use of crudely rotoscoped footage from El Cid, Alexander Nevsky and Zulu for the choppy battle scenes is also rather too awkward to work, especially since it is never properly integrated with the genuinely animated characters. At its heart there's a vaguely interesting notion (it's certainly not developed enough to be called an idea) about the war between technology and magic - embodied by two brother wizards at each others throats for thousands of years - coming to a head when the bad one discovers the motivating power of Nazi propaganda, but too often it's simply clumsily reacting against the Disney formula rather than telling a story and you can see all too clearly the early signs of just how badly Bakshi would mess up The Lord of the Rings here.

Still, Fox's Region 1 NTSC DVD boasts a nice widescreen transfer and a good selection of extras - an audio commentary by Bakshi and a 35-minute documentary on him and the film, various stills galleries, TV spot and two trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An effective Ralph Bakshi film true to the original release prints on Blu-Ray, 15 Aug 2010
By 
Gary Vidmar (Colorado Springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizards [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Enjoyment of this hip, cartoon concoction from animator Ralph Bakshi is definitely linked to a nostalgia factor for those who may have originally seen it in theaters in 1977. The "groovy" conflict between elves and Nazi's is alternately stupid and funny, depending on one's sense of humor and tolerance for fantasy fare. The animation comes across as limited, due mostly to ambitions surpassing budget, but the backgrounds are wonderful, even if the characters are rather unimaginative. Still, the cranky old wizard versus the skeleton fascist is all very cute.
The blu-ray is very faithful to the original prints, and manipulation is minimal if not totally absent, so the high-definition transfer is first-rate. The original monaural magoptical soundtrack is presented in DTS-HD 2.0 (minus the alternate stereo boost present on the previous Fox dvd) and comes across cleanly and appropriately for the material. Bakshi provides a commentary track. Fans should really appreciate this EUREKA blu-ray release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird, horrible, funny, enthralling, 17 Nov 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In this 1977 classic, Ralph Bakshi takes us on to an Earth millions of years after a nuclear holocaust. In this new world, humans are reduced to strange mutants, while elves and fairies have returned to claim the better parts of the world. And now, the elf queen has given birth to two sons - Avatar who grows up to be a good wizard, and Blackwolf who grows up to be an evil wizard indeed. But, when Blackwolf begins collecting the old, outlawed technology to lead the mutants in an attack on the lands of the elves, Avatar, along with several allies, sets out to stop him.
OK, I hardly know where to begin with this one. On the positive side, Ralph Bakshi used a number of animation techniques together, which produced some striking effects. There is a lot of emotion in this movie, plus a lot of action and humor. On the negative side, the real weakness of the movie is a lack of plot. Scenes tumble out, often without linking to each other, or to the overall story. Plus, the raw violence, coupled with the suggestively drawn female characters makes it unsuitable for younger viewers.
But, that said, I did enjoy this movie. If you want to see a weird, horrible, funny, enthralling cartoon movie, then this is the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, and most imaginative animated features of all time, 11 July 2013
By 
Mr. J. Bell "Ideas man" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizards [DVD] (DVD)
Far and away one the best, most iconic and most imaginative animated features of all time. Peter Jackson should have a go at bringing it to the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bakshi fantasy classic, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizards [DVD] (DVD)
Its wrong to say Ralph Bakshi was ahead of his time, everyone else was behind!!!
Beautiful post apocalyptic fantasy, a must for fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazon, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wizards [DVD] (DVD)
i chosed this rating cause it was interesting,there was nothing i disliked about this dvd and i would recommend to my friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars New Digital Transfer?, 23 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. M. P. Mclester (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wizards [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is fine, but I bought this because it said 'breathtaking new digital transfer' which is misleading at best. You'd have to look very closely indeed to detect any difference between this transfer and the one on the 2004 NTSC release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wizard!, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Wizards [DVD] (DVD)
Ralph Bakshi's old-school animation is definitely an acquired taste - I stumbled across the frankly bizarre sword and sorcery epic Fire And Ice [DVD] [1983] some months ago, and actually quite enjoyed it; in a nostalgic kind of way. However, Wizards is considerably inferior, both in terms of story (there isn't one), characters, and background. Bakshi always seemed to favour including at least one (extremely) skimpily-clad virgin in each of his movies, and this is no exception - dodgy in terms of taste but something I would have loved as a randy schoolboy!
Anyway, the whole thing is perfectly fine to while away an hour or so on a cold Winter night but I wouldn't really rate it as a piece of classic cinema or even art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2006
By 
This is an amazing animation. With memorable scenes and characters. Beautifully animated. A bizarre journey through a post apocolyptic world. Ralph Bakshi at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wizards [DVD]
Wizards [DVD] by Ralph Bakshi (DVD - 2010)
£5.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews