Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars52
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2016
Quite a good read though could have done without the history of the bible and before interesting to compare this account with that big work of fiction the movie 'Kingdom of Heaven' Ridley Scotts politically correct version of events or should i say non events.
Although this book does contain some too,i don/t think Balian of thingie was at the Battle of Hattin and over 350 pages and not one word about Richard the Lionheart hello?
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
This book is informative and written in an accessible style. While some history books are a bit dry this is easy to read and delivers everything you might want to know about Templar history. It also puts into perspective Christian, Jewish and Islamic history since the days of Solomon and how it relates to the Templars and the Crusades. Very entertaining and difficult to put down. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2012
I found this to be an absorbing read: based on what looks to be extensive research. Haag brings a sceptical look at the Templars. He gives no quarter in dealing with religious pretensions but, nonetheless, treats us to a very readable journey through the (comparatively) short history of the Templars. He wanders off into helpful explanations of key individuals or movements throughout the narrative and leads to ... well, what came after the Templars. His destruction of the various sects, groups, books and claims of conspiracy theorists (all claiming some connection or significance from the Templars) is captivating in its destructiveness.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
This book is wonderfully full of information for those wanting to learn more about the Knights Templar. Moving away from "alternative history" inspired by conspiracy theorists and novelists, this book points the way to the evidence that throws the Templars into a whole new light. The book does not force any particular religious or political view point, but remains objective in how it deals with the information, and only descends into subjectivity when debunking the swelling mass of conspiracy theories, highlighting the author's dislike of bad history. My one criticism of the book is that the proofreaders have failed to notice some basic grammatical mistakes and spelling errors, but other than that I found that I couldn't stop reading this fascinating book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
I thoroughly recommend this book if you're interested in this subject. I found it very informative, and also very interesting such a great subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Using this as a reference book, most excellent. Very pleased I bought this book in paperback and not Kindle this time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
A good read. Things that you remember from the past suddenly make sense. Recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2010
This was the first book I've read on this subject and it was was probably a good place to start as it gives a clear overview of the political and social situation of the times.

The book goes into good detail about the key players in the crusades and shows the evolution of the order. The books strength, as you can perhaps pick up from the title, is its seperation of the facts and myths (of which there seem to be many). The book's weakness, in my opinion, was that it needed more illustrations of territory and and who was in control of what. As Jerusalem, and the surrounding area as a whole, changed hands several times and some maps would have been useful to keep track.

Overall though, an informative read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
I have not much idea about the Templars, and I was curious to know more. I was going on holiday and thought that it would be an ideal chance to read something which might provide something beyond the glamorised images that we glean from TV.
What a fascinating book! I was staggered to find the truth even more amazing than the fiction.
I can only recommend this book to others who like me are ignorant of the facts behind the myths.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Package came exactly as expected. Item is in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)