Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Descriptive flair
With descriptive flair ("women in dresses shaped like temple bells", for example, and a villain whose head is "like a tangerine balanced on top of a pumpkin-sized rice cake") Lesley Downer mines a rich seam of historical romance in this tale of love lost and found amid the social and military upheaval of late nineteenth-century Japan. The period lends itself to all sort...
Published on 6 April 2010 by Kevin

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very average novel- disappointing for Downer
After reading Lesley Downer's other works, I found the Courtesan and the Samurai rather disappointing. The novel isn't bad- it's clearly been well researched and there are some exciting parts, but to me, the storyline seemed weak and the characters and certain plots weren't as well developed as they could have been. My main criticism is that the novel felt rather rushed...
Published on 7 April 2010 by Ms. L. N. Crane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Really lovely read, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courtesan and the Samurai (Kindle Edition)
Really lovely read. Not hard going good for a holiday read. Slow start but gets good from quarter of the way in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete WOW, 4 May 2010
By 
S. Pell (Newcastle Upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a complete WOW but a very good read that transports you off to a different world very easily. So well researched which shines through in this novel. Very enjoyable and I would recommend (although the ending is predictable).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courtesan and the Samurai (Kindle Edition)
This book is well written, informative and a fast moving, enjoyable read. It has obviously been very well researched by the author. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very average novel- disappointing for Downer, 7 April 2010
By 
After reading Lesley Downer's other works, I found the Courtesan and the Samurai rather disappointing. The novel isn't bad- it's clearly been well researched and there are some exciting parts, but to me, the storyline seemed weak and the characters and certain plots weren't as well developed as they could have been. My main criticism is that the novel felt rather rushed or a bit too sparse- there was a lot of potential there and aspects I would have liked to hear more about. Leads and suggestions in the story were dropped with little or no resolution, and the relationship between Hana and Yozo began unconvincingly quickly, which lessened the emotional impact later in the book. Unfortunately, Downer's fiction does not match the standard of her factual works, but thankfully her knowledge of Japan saves what would otherwise be a rather dire read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The courtesan and the samurai, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courtesan and the Samurai (Kindle Edition)
Well written kept me guessing right to the end. Having read a book set in a similar time this story links the historical aspects brilliantly and I look forward to reading more ny this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant read, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courtesan and the Samurai (Kindle Edition)
I like this genre generally so I thought I would like the book and I did. It was a good page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Courtesan, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrived on time, well packed and presented. Not yet read, but I can at least enjoy the anticipation of getting into
this novel. I have much enjoyed other books by this same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Courtesan and the Samurai (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading,rather like some other titles i have read,but still enjoyed and have recomended it to friend who read similar material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 25 April 2013
This review is from: The Courtesan and the Samurai (Kindle Edition)
Good read as I love Lesley Downer - lots of historical facts entwined with an enchanting fictional story. Slow to begin with but worth reading until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked parts of it!, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not find this book an easy read. There were times I feltthe story was rather turgid at times. I didn't care what happened to the heroine, or hero. It may be based on facts but the story was rather turgid at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Courtesan and the Samurai
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews