Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent machine!!!!
Had a M15X for 8 months, you will not be dissapointed, plays any games on the market, works well as a work computer, maybe not as light as the Dell xps which gives you simular performance, but tends to get rather hot on game play, the MX15X has 2 fans to keep the machine cool so game play is not affected by forced shutdowns through overheat.
My machine, not very...
Published on 29 Oct. 2010 by richard edwards

versus
97 of 104 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of Production
The Alienware M15x is out of production. To reiterate, Alienware no longer produce these laptops. The CPU, an Intel core i7 740 has been replaced in Intels product line and the graphics chipset is at least couple of generations old. For the price of this laptop you could buy a new and vastly superior Alienware M17x from the Dell / Alienware site using commonly found...
Published on 11 April 2012 by S. Delaney


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 104 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Out of Production, 11 April 2012
By 
S. Delaney (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
The Alienware M15x is out of production. To reiterate, Alienware no longer produce these laptops. The CPU, an Intel core i7 740 has been replaced in Intels product line and the graphics chipset is at least couple of generations old. For the price of this laptop you could buy a new and vastly superior Alienware M17x from the Dell / Alienware site using commonly found disocunt codes. As has been mentioned by others DO NOT BUY THIS LAPTOP. It's old stock of a now obsolete model and a waste of your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rip off, 24 Dec. 2011
By 
G. Wilson "DEXIE" (EDINBURGH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
I never write reviews but had to when I seen the technical specs of said laptop.I know Alienware laptops are usually more expensive than other makes but thats a different debate for another day.It was when I seen the graphics card in the laptop I felt compelled to warn people that they would be very unhappy with there purchase.Alienware are expensive but come with the fastest most modern mobile GPUs.Like the reviewer above I can't understand how that laptop comes with a modern CPU but such a dated GPU.I also think someone has removed the original GPU and put in an older model to con people out of money.Without going into details my laptop has the same CPU and a faster more modern GPU and cost 750 pounds new six month ago.On the Alienware website its not possible to pair an i7 CPU with that dated GPU as advertised above. Im not sure whats going on but it seems very fishy. For the same price you can get a top of the line GPU with the same CPU on Dell's website.So you were warned if you buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Look very closely at the details..., 16 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
Look at the specifications of this computer, or if you are buying this for someone else and don't know much about the technical stuff, get someone with experiance to compare it to one from the dell website... Long story short there is a 512mb GeForce nVidia 240M graphics card which even the xps line don't come with anymore..... It appears someone has bought the laptop from dell and ripped out the good graphics card and replaced with this inexpensive one, and is now trying to resell the laptop for almost full original asking price. I would recommend going to dell to buy this laptop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not worth it, 25 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
Overpriced and honestly not worth that high amount of money, for frankly alot less money there are much better laptops, like the lenovo y510p is an amazing laptop for only £800 and is alot better then this alienware, my friend has this alienware and i wouldnt pay any more then £400 for this quality laptop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Spec, 24 July 2013
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
I'm in total agreement with the others, this spec is rubbish! I would go as far as to say that the one 5 star review is probably someone linked with the seller.

KEEP AWAY, BUY ONE FROM DELL'S WEBSITE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Joke, 14 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
Feel Sorry for anyone who has been taken in by this, I Know computing, if You are willing to spend this type of money on a gaming Laptop, do Yourself a favor and get a custom build, for Example, around the same money You can get

1. MSI MS1762 Gaming Notebook 17.3" FHD LED-Backlit 1920x1080 16:9 Display w/ Built-in 720p HD Webcam, HDMI Port, Li-Ion Battery, & Universal AC Adapter
2. Intel® Core(tm) i7-3740QM Mobile Processor 2.70 GHz 6M Smart Cache, Max Turbo Freq. 3.70 GHz
3. Intel HM77 Chipset Mainboard
4. 16GB (8GBx2) DDR3-1600 SODIMM Memory (Corsair Vengeance)
5. NVIDIA GTX 675M 2GB PCIe Video
6. 500GB 5400RPM SATA300 Hard Drive
7. 120GB Kingston HyperX 3K SATA III Gaming MLC Solid State Disk
8. 8X DVD±R/RW/4X + DL Super-Multi Drive (MS1762)
9. Built in Intel N2230 WLAN802.11 b/g/n+Bluetooth 4.0
10.Support9 cells Smart Lithium-Ion battery pack, 48.84WH
11.STANDARD WARRANTY: 1 Year Labour, 1 Year Parts, 1 Month Collect and Return plus Life-Time Technical

So their is my comparison for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a Rip off, 29 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
When I checked out the details I couldn't belive it. This laptop doesn't even worth £500 at max. For the price asked you can but the following alienware:
Mx17
Intel i7-3720QM 3.6
16GB RAM
500GB + 32SD
GTX 660M 2GB GDDR5

and other addons such as killer Wireless card.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T buy, 2 April 2013
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
THIS IS A WASTE OF MONEY CAN GET A FAR BETTER PRODUCT FOR LESS I WOULD RECOMMEND THE RAZER GAMING LAPTOP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 0 Stars, 10 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
I was looking through clearance and i have not bought this laptop. This is a ridiculously priced laptop for the spec. Do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy This!, 23 Sept. 2014
By 
Paul Nicholls (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop (Electronics)
BEWARE! As others say, this is a rip off, this machine is 4 years out of date and a much better version can be had for less direct from Dell/Alienware.
Amazon should not be allowing this kind of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dell Alienware M14x Core I7 Gaming laptop
£1,985.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews