Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, up-to-date version of a classic (and not at all US focused)
I don't get all of these reviews about it being US focused. The version I bought recently certainly isn't - it's very UK focused, in fact! We find this to be a superb, up-to-date version of an old classic and highly recommend it.
Published on 26 Mar. 2013 by Basil Brush

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Downsized and Disappointing
Arrived this morning and must say I'm pretty disappointed with this.

Yes there is a ghastly looking timer, which you don't have to use but my main gripe is that there are far fewer questions in this pack then the older packs.

In the old Genus Editions and probably most of the later ones, there were two big long block boxes of question cards, packed...
Published 19 months ago by James Coleman


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Downsized and Disappointing, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
James Coleman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
Arrived this morning and must say I'm pretty disappointed with this.

Yes there is a ghastly looking timer, which you don't have to use but my main gripe is that there are far fewer questions in this pack then the older packs.

In the old Genus Editions and probably most of the later ones, there were two big long block boxes of question cards, packed tightly with questions. The sizes of the question card boxes has been reduced by about a third, and the boxes are not even full! There's about a 20% gap where more cards could be! So this has been well and truly downsized.

I still give this game reasonable ratings overall as it retains the classic elements, and it is still fun, but be aware that if you are a very regular player you might have to invest in some extra questions before too long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 102 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing - many questions are too American for the British market, 16 Nov. 2011
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
This was a great disappointment. It was bought for a weekend away as we enjoy general knowledge quizzes, but a great many of the questions relate to obscure (to a British person at least) American/Canadian politics, light entertainment etc that no-one in the UK would be expected to know. I'm now left wondering whether this edition is in fact intended for the north American market. It was so bad that we gave up before the game was finished. Buyer beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars USA Version, 20 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. M. D. Williams (nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
The questions in this edition are for Americans and is totally inappropriate for Brits. As a big TP fan I was very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


79 of 86 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Six pieces of cheese do not a ripe Camembert make., 22 April 2013
By 
Lutz Svensson (Deptford, London, UK.) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
Having spent the previous 30 years merrily thrashing her at The Original Triv, Mrs Svensson recently insisted that we invest in a more recent edition of our favourite apres-dinner squabblefest.

Alas, The New Triv has been heavily Hasbro'd... the lumps of cheese have all be ergonomically reshaped, the graphics are now more 'Primary School Reception Classroom' than 'Edwardian Drawing Room' and there's a ghastly timer that plays - I believe - 30 seconds of Madonna's 'Papa Don't Preach' (Jellybean Benitez 'Groinbuster' remix) while Mrs Svensson tears her remaining hair out and utterly fails to answer her question.

Worse, however, is that there appear to be FAR fewer questions in this version than the original. Obviously, this will make it easier for me to memorise all the answers (thus bringing the day of my divorce ever closer...), but it's a bit of a swizz, really. On its first outing, with only three (fairly thick, drunk) players, we managed to get through around a sixth of the question cards.

Not a cheap trick to make people invest in more over-priced Hasbro question sets, surely..? Mmmmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, up-to-date version of a classic (and not at all US focused), 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
I don't get all of these reviews about it being US focused. The version I bought recently certainly isn't - it's very UK focused, in fact! We find this to be a superb, up-to-date version of an old classic and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every home should have one, 26 Dec. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
Great game, we wanted the classic format and although some of the questions are quite tough, it's a great version of the original. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 11 Jan. 2013
By 
E. Small (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
Lots of people have complained that the questions were too American but I thought the questions were great, especially when compared to the pre-historic version we had before. I now stand a good chance in a game as most of the people the sports and entertainment questions are about are actually still alive. Now I can thrash my dad instead of the other way around.

Not enough questions is a fair criticism, we went through them in about 4 games.

The board is literally an updated version of the Genus edition, no fancy additions if you liked the old format. The cheeses have easy handle tabs now too so you can actually get them in and out of the container.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family entertainment, 20 Sept. 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
Knowledge and mind stretching fun in a box.back to good old family nights in without an Xbox or tv in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy and full of errors!!, 23 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
2 examples:

Q. What period in history did Blackadder derive its material from?
A. The reign of George III
(Seriously?! There are, of course, 4 seasons of Blackadder set in 4 different time periods.)

Q. Which European City would you be on if arriving at Europe train station?
A. Paris
(No station of the name is to be found in Paris, the right answer should be Lille.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Dec. 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game (Toy)
This game is fantastic! It's really up to date with the questions and has a great range of questions that will challenge most brains!!
We all had a great time on Christmas Day playing this with all the family! (Kids and Grannies included!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trivial Pursuit Master Edition Board Game
£27.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews