Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome fun
This game is brilliant and it's a suprise that so few have actually played it. I turned to this after being bored to tears by Gears, MoH, CoD etc. This is colourful, fast, clever, stylish, and rock hard - even on 'normal'. It's a game where you are expected to die a thousand deaths before figuring out how to get around any particular boss. That said, no matter how hard it...
Published on 9 Feb. 2011 by Colin Gillman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Complete and forget
Not bad game, good graphics and controls, big bosses and hectic battles, but honestly I completed it about 4-5 months ago and can barely remember anything bout it. Good time waster but no real life in the game.
Published on 25 Jun. 2013 by A. Wenham


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome fun, 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Colin Gillman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is brilliant and it's a suprise that so few have actually played it. I turned to this after being bored to tears by Gears, MoH, CoD etc. This is colourful, fast, clever, stylish, and rock hard - even on 'normal'. It's a game where you are expected to die a thousand deaths before figuring out how to get around any particular boss. That said, no matter how hard it is it remains highly addictive and great fun throughout. This is a game that should feature in anybody's top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent shooter., 6 Feb. 2011
By 
P. Dua-Brown "patchdb7" (Harrow, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've really enjoyed this game and have to defend it against the negative review from a senior (40+) gamer. I'm one of them too and have played pretty much every shooter going prior to this, starting with Space Invaders. Yes this game is derivative but when you take the best bits from a bunch of great games and blend them together with style, you end up with something special. Elements of Halo, Gears, Lost Planet, Killzone and older shooters like Area 51, Project Snowblind, Red Faction, Max Payne and Mace Griffin are all mixed together with a large splash of Japanese style squeezed from old Capcom classics. The balancing of the action is superb. Just when you've wiped out a couple of super sized bosses and giant robots, you get a reminder of your fraility when you take on half a dozen robot grunts - four go with head shots, a fifth is kicked acrobatically, only for the last to take you out with a well place blow to the reactor on the back of your suit. I also love the weapons. As you pick up ammo, fill any weapon and the next ammo collected for that weapon type rewards with a stats boost. Certain weapons fare better on certain enemies. It took me a while to realise the benefits of weapons like the disc launcher. The old favourite, the sniper rifle if very effective with a great zoom but ammo limitations to stop things getting boring. Face off against the big boss and hear him say "aim carefully" when you pull up the scope. Rocket launchers can do some serious damage but the collision detection is fantastic. You'll see in super slo-mo your rockets getting dodged and deflected last second just as much as you will shoot enemy rockets out of the air. The sliding on your knees gimmick works so well, it becomes fundamental to your gameplay and totally justifies its presence. There's also plenty of variety to enemy types. Just when you think you've seen all the game has to offer up pops something reminiscent of the Silver Surfer, or my personal fave, The Unknown, who magnetically pulls together robot debris to make a super enemy but when worn down, reveals himself to be a little bit like the tiny evil Transformer that wanted to do the dirty to Megan Fox's leg. Slow-mo, sniping, acrobatic hand-to-hand, fully automatic mayhem, grenades galore, cannons to commandeer, EMP action, robot walkers to master, space ships to crash land, space stations to save, fags to smoke and a gal with a great voice to meet up with at the final cut scene - what's not to like?

Multiplayer? Hmm. Nearly perfect then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 30 Oct. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is like an old school 2D shooter brought into the 3D world. The action just doesn't stop and really gets the pulse racing. Admittedly it is a short one player game but the replay value is great; especially when you get more confident with the moves and start sliding under bosses instead of shooting at them from a distance! Good weapon system, loads and loads of action and some of the most hilarious cheesy dialogue in years (deliberate I hope). Games like this don't come along often and its a shame.

Fast, frenetic and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best game no-one played 2011, 20 Jun. 2011
By 
Jim McM (Kent and elsewhere...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game won the 2010 gamespot "best game no-one played". Directed by Shinji Mikami, it's a chaotic re-imaginined splicing of Resi 4 and Halo: combat evolved. Fights consist generally of swarms of smaller robots which each have a fairly good chance of taking you down one-on one up close, and massive bullet-hell bosses which in some cases can launch an insta-kill attack right you when you wipe out their health! It's a good job you have a reserve of time-slowing and slide-running tricks at your disposal to even the score. The game's very linear but this suits its combat and style-focus very well, borrowing a points system from the likes of Devil May Cry and Bayonetta. I personally loved the light sci-fi story, which is kind of an enjambment of metal gear solid and halo (lone DARPA operative sent to link up with troops and repel an invasion of russian robots on a ring-shaped planetoid). Some people have complained that it's not so hot in this department, but I thought that the characters of sam and ivanova were great (okay, I wanted to be sam and I'd definately at least try it on with ivanova). Finally, it's fairly short too - but if you're looking for a few evenings of great gameplay ideas, what-the-hell moments and excellent third-person shooting, you can't do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST GAME EVER!, 3 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a big fan of Halo Reach and other first person shooter games, so I was not so sure about buying this third person shooter game. But it is amazing! The story is so good it should be a film and the gameplay is more fun and addictive than any other game I have played! The graphics in the cutscenes are incredibly life-like (like a film, hint), and the graphics in the game itself are great aswell! The rating 15, in my opinion, is slightly high. I think a twelve probably would have been fine: There are one or two swear words in the opening cutsene and there is a little bit of blood in the final cutscene, but that is it. You do not even fight people, you fight robots. Overall: my new favourite game. Shame there is no online, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giving this game the attention it deserves, 24 Mar. 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a gamer in my early 30s. I've been playing games since the early 80s and needless to say things have changed a lot since then. I find myself frequently disillusioned with modern games. I have a huge collection of games I've barely touched regardless of critical acclaim. It's easy to think I've grown out of them, then a game like Vanquish comes along.

I picked it up one drunken night when I went on an Amazon spending spree of discounted Xbox games. It had decent reviews so seemed worth a squirt. It's worth a lot of squirts.

In many ways it's an old school shooter brought into the modern age. The graphics are pretty poor to be honest but possess a certain charm, especially the scale with which the game is set despite being completely on rails. The weapon upgrade system is highly rewarding as are the frequent boss battles. Even better for someone like me I can finish the game without needing to quit my day job. It takes a matter of hours (ignoring the obvious replay-ability). It's just relentless fun with plenty of checkpoints so you never have to really rage after dying (and you will).

So to cut it short, this game deserves a purchase for just a few quid. Worthy of a few hours of anyone's time and certainly worth giving the developers some royalties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth It, But Only Just Worth It,, 1 Mar. 2011
By 
C. P. Bray - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Immediately when beginning this game, you will be blown away by the fast pace, action packed game play which is complemented by the stunning detail presented by the graphics and encapsulating plot. The game presents a large range of weapons and enemy characters for you to battle, with an interesting team based gameplay and cover system much like gears of war.
I spent almost £[] upon this game and personally don't believe it was worth it. The game is great don't get me wrong, and contains highly addictive game play but it lacks any online multiplayer which is a real let down due to its relitively short campaign.
I would say that this game is worth £20 at the most, as you do have the ability to unlock challenges throughout story mode which can be played and allows you to post your best time online, as well as having a campaign that is good enough to play through multiple times without becoming dull.
I would recommend this game if you enjoy fast paced 3rd person shooter game, this is pretty much the equivalent to gears of war on acid. So if you enjoy gears of war you should buy this game, but for no more than £[].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun shooter; think Japanese arcade-style GoW - but much more frenetic!, 1 Dec. 2010
By 
K. Grant (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As other reviewers have mentioned, this is similar in style to Gears of War. However, with a definite Japanese (Sega) twist on the genre peppered with a couple of genres to boot. By this I mean fast, thrilling and frenetic arcade-style action with some seriously large boss fights.

I've been playing for around 6 hours so far (not completed as of yet) and have been having terrific fun. There is a story but I couldn't really tell you anything about it. Why? Because I've not been taking much notice! I've been having too much fun... Futuristic soldier; big guns, robotic baddie enemies - shoot 'em! 'Nuff said! Having said that, the interaction between your character and the commander/sarge bloke (who has a robotic arm which holds a mini-gun and shield which you can't help but wish you had at times!) is quite fun (in a typically badly voiced - but not as bad as most - kind of way!).

This game mixes a few genres: the arcade style frenetic action of the 'old skool' 2-D shoot-em-ups with a large order of GoW cover, shoot and roll, and a little dash of Max Payne 'bullet-time' thrown in for a good measure. You can flip forward, back and sidewards as in GoW with the added bonus of being able to go into slow mo whilst doing so. The reason you can do this is because you are kitted up in a DARPA robotic suit which allows you to do all kinds of cool things such as sliding along the floors at speed (as another reviewer mentioned - great for taking out the big bosses!) and making guns appear from your arm like magic.

Guns, guns, guns: The guns are a mixed bag for me so far. You get sniper rifles, lock-on laser, rocket launchers, assault rifles, heavy machine guns etc. All of these are nice to use but not quite 'beefy' enough for me. They don't quite 'feel' or sound like they're going to do much damage (the sniper rifle being a prime example). This is more the 'arcadey' element kicking into play (think back to the 2D shooters with those kinds of sound effects and you're pretty much there). This doesn't distract from the fun however, as this game is all about good old fashioned manic arcade style fun and it delivers in buckets (with no hint of a drop in FPS at any time, I might add; which is most impressive!). A nice touch is that you can pick up weapons all over the place and, if your ammo is already maxed out for that gun, it upgrades that gun instead.

Graphics: no Gears of War this one but still very good nonetheless. What's most impressive is that there is always an awful lot going on. In fact, when I first tried the demo I wasn't sure there wasn't TOO much going on; I don't always like the games when they are too frantic, but, thankfully, I had nothing to worry about as you soon get used to it, and it really does add to that 'fox-hole feeling' when you're hiding behind cover with huge enemies spraying all kinds of fire upon you.

Speaking of enemies: the Japanses style of gameplay kicks in with the baddies. They love their big 'end of level' baddies! And they don't get much bigger than this. Think Lost Planet, with no slow down, and 100% more fun! :) Sure, they follow the old tried and tested method of highlighting obvious parts of the robots anatomy to shoot (such as arms and leg joints etc.) upon which they collapse to the floor exposing their Achilles' heel for you to blast until they eventually die in a huge (and i do mean huge!) explosion but - you know what? - I love that! A good old fashioned arcade game which requires no puzzle solving skills - just good reactions, dextrous fingers, skill and a lot of ammo! It makes a change from some games where you die more times than Kenny in South Park, before you figure out the exact obscure way some game developer decided was the best way to kill a boss.

The aforementioned suit needs to 'cool down' when it's been overworked. So you can slide around on the floor at speed (good for going under huge robot bosses' legs to shoot them from behind!) and melee a robot with huge power only so long/so many times before you're reduced to having to rely on cover and guns again until your suit cools down again.

As well as being able to manually activate 'bullet-time' (they don't call it that - but it's what we're all thinking! :) when you flip, the suit will automatically put you into slow-mo mode when you take too many hits and a few hair's width away from dying; this gives you a chance to either kill the offending enemy or simply take cover etc. This is a great way to off-set the fast paced manic nature of the game and avoid frustration.

As mentioned before, I haven't played the game to completion yet but I've seen enough variation (shoot outs on high moving 'trains', different sub/bosses, a fair arsenal of guns etc.) in the game to strongly recommend a purchase. And for [...] now you simply cannot go wrong! Even if it's less than 10 hours play - it's more than the Call of Duty games! (Multi-player aside.)

Buy and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game is so much fun and so styleish you feel like a badass playing this game the boss fights are perfect the graphics are insane the story is very generic with russia attacking america........ AGAIN but this dose nothing to your exsperiance with the game the gamplay is so much fun your not gonna care for the price you are getting this for is a must play dont let this game pass you by you will regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game for the money, 13 Sept. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game is an excellent shooter with stunning graphics,perfect controls.I opted to play straight on the hardest setting and my thumbs are now regretting it(90% complete at time of writing).Single player only but worth buying at the price.I've played a lot of games since Space Invaders first came out and I rate this game up there with the best of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanquish (Xbox 360)
Vanquish (Xbox 360) by Sega (Xbox 360)
£14.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews