Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome fun
This game is brilliant and it's a suprise that so few have actually played it. I turned to this after being bored to tears by Gears, MoH, CoD etc. This is colourful, fast, clever, stylish, and rock hard - even on 'normal'. It's a game where you are expected to die a thousand deaths before figuring out how to get around any particular boss. That said, no matter how hard it...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by Colin Gillman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good combat
Good combat, but there's about 7 cutscenes the whole game, practically no story and the "Twist" at the end was terrible. Also the minigame as the credits are playing, i found quite disturbing.....
Published 14 months ago by Joe


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome fun, 9 Feb 2011
By 
Colin Gillman (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is brilliant and it's a suprise that so few have actually played it. I turned to this after being bored to tears by Gears, MoH, CoD etc. This is colourful, fast, clever, stylish, and rock hard - even on 'normal'. It's a game where you are expected to die a thousand deaths before figuring out how to get around any particular boss. That said, no matter how hard it is it remains highly addictive and great fun throughout. This is a game that should feature in anybody's top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 30 Oct 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is like an old school 2D shooter brought into the 3D world. The action just doesn't stop and really gets the pulse racing. Admittedly it is a short one player game but the replay value is great; especially when you get more confident with the moves and start sliding under bosses instead of shooting at them from a distance! Good weapon system, loads and loads of action and some of the most hilarious cheesy dialogue in years (deliberate I hope). Games like this don't come along often and its a shame.

Fast, frenetic and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent shooter., 6 Feb 2011
By 
P. Dua-Brown "patchdb7" (Harrow, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I've really enjoyed this game and have to defend it against the negative review from a senior (40+) gamer. I'm one of them too and have played pretty much every shooter going prior to this, starting with Space Invaders. Yes this game is derivative but when you take the best bits from a bunch of great games and blend them together with style, you end up with something special. Elements of Halo, Gears, Lost Planet, Killzone and older shooters like Area 51, Project Snowblind, Red Faction, Max Payne and Mace Griffin are all mixed together with a large splash of Japanese style squeezed from old Capcom classics. The balancing of the action is superb. Just when you've wiped out a couple of super sized bosses and giant robots, you get a reminder of your fraility when you take on half a dozen robot grunts - four go with head shots, a fifth is kicked acrobatically, only for the last to take you out with a well place blow to the reactor on the back of your suit. I also love the weapons. As you pick up ammo, fill any weapon and the next ammo collected for that weapon type rewards with a stats boost. Certain weapons fare better on certain enemies. It took me a while to realise the benefits of weapons like the disc launcher. The old favourite, the sniper rifle if very effective with a great zoom but ammo limitations to stop things getting boring. Face off against the big boss and hear him say "aim carefully" when you pull up the scope. Rocket launchers can do some serious damage but the collision detection is fantastic. You'll see in super slo-mo your rockets getting dodged and deflected last second just as much as you will shoot enemy rockets out of the air. The sliding on your knees gimmick works so well, it becomes fundamental to your gameplay and totally justifies its presence. There's also plenty of variety to enemy types. Just when you think you've seen all the game has to offer up pops something reminiscent of the Silver Surfer, or my personal fave, The Unknown, who magnetically pulls together robot debris to make a super enemy but when worn down, reveals himself to be a little bit like the tiny evil Transformer that wanted to do the dirty to Megan Fox's leg. Slow-mo, sniping, acrobatic hand-to-hand, fully automatic mayhem, grenades galore, cannons to commandeer, EMP action, robot walkers to master, space ships to crash land, space stations to save, fags to smoke and a gal with a great voice to meet up with at the final cut scene - what's not to like?

Multiplayer? Hmm. Nearly perfect then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best game no-one played 2011, 20 Jun 2011
By 
Jim McM (Kent and elsewhere...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game won the 2010 gamespot "best game no-one played". Directed by Shinji Mikami, it's a chaotic re-imaginined splicing of Resi 4 and Halo: combat evolved. Fights consist generally of swarms of smaller robots which each have a fairly good chance of taking you down one-on one up close, and massive bullet-hell bosses which in some cases can launch an insta-kill attack right you when you wipe out their health! It's a good job you have a reserve of time-slowing and slide-running tricks at your disposal to even the score. The game's very linear but this suits its combat and style-focus very well, borrowing a points system from the likes of Devil May Cry and Bayonetta. I personally loved the light sci-fi story, which is kind of an enjambment of metal gear solid and halo (lone DARPA operative sent to link up with troops and repel an invasion of russian robots on a ring-shaped planetoid). Some people have complained that it's not so hot in this department, but I thought that the characters of sam and ivanova were great (okay, I wanted to be sam and I'd definately at least try it on with ivanova). Finally, it's fairly short too - but if you're looking for a few evenings of great gameplay ideas, what-the-hell moments and excellent third-person shooting, you can't do better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST GAME EVER!, 3 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I am a big fan of Halo Reach and other first person shooter games, so I was not so sure about buying this third person shooter game. But it is amazing! The story is so good it should be a film and the gameplay is more fun and addictive than any other game I have played! The graphics in the cutscenes are incredibly life-like (like a film, hint), and the graphics in the game itself are great aswell! The rating 15, in my opinion, is slightly high. I think a twelve probably would have been fine: There are one or two swear words in the opening cutsene and there is a little bit of blood in the final cutscene, but that is it. You do not even fight people, you fight robots. Overall: my new favourite game. Shame there is no online, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this was a preowned game but was surprised when i received it as it looked like new and with no scratches on the disc
so surely recommend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
this game is so much fun and so styleish you feel like a badass playing this game the boss fights are perfect the graphics are insane the story is very generic with russia attacking america........ AGAIN but this dose nothing to your exsperiance with the game the gamplay is so much fun your not gonna care for the price you are getting this for is a must play dont let this game pass you by you will regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xbox, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
un buen juego para xbox 360 dificil pero entretenido, disparos en primera persona aunque espacial. totalmente en español voces y letras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giving this game the attention it deserves, 24 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I'm a gamer in my early 30s. I've been playing games since the early 80s and needless to say things have changed a lot since then. I find myself frequently disillusioned with modern games. I have a huge collection of games I've barely touched regardless of critical acclaim. It's easy to think I've grown out of them, then a game like Vanquish comes along.

I picked it up one drunken night when I went on an Amazon spending spree of discounted Xbox games. It had decent reviews so seemed worth a squirt. It's worth a lot of squirts.

In many ways it's an old school shooter brought into the modern age. The graphics are pretty poor to be honest but possess a certain charm, especially the scale with which the game is set despite being completely on rails. The weapon upgrade system is highly rewarding as are the frequent boss battles. Even better for someone like me I can finish the game without needing to quit my day job. It takes a matter of hours (ignoring the obvious replay-ability). It's just relentless fun with plenty of checkpoints so you never have to really rage after dying (and you will).

So to cut it short, this game deserves a purchase for just a few quid. Worthy of a few hours of anyone's time and certainly worth giving the developers some royalties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vanquish, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vanquish (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Very fun game to play, when playing you discover new tricks you can perform to make play that much more smooth. The challenge modes are excellent to play through when you unlock them upon completion of the main game, although like the main story mode you can expect to die a few times but that just drives you on more to beat the crap out of enemies.

The only things i would complain about are some minor things which could have been added to the game, which would be the ability to jump and the ability to hop over ledges to get down to a lower platform, although like i say these are just minor things and the game is fine without them.

Overall great game give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vanquish (Xbox 360)
Vanquish (Xbox 360) by Sega (Xbox 360)
£9.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews