Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STAND UP FOR THE MIGHTY JOEY JOHNS, 5 May 2008
By 
Absolutely brilliant! The love of the greatest game in the world and the passion for rugby league flows through this book along with the sadness and heartbreak. I loved watching Johns play and cannot believe what he has been through in order to give us, the fans, such fantastic memories. I'e always admired him but after reading this I think the guy is on another level. He has made many mistakes, but owns up to them and this book is written with such intensity I could not bear to put it down. Definitely the best sports biography I have ever read, this is why I have written this review. If you buy one book this decade, make it this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight up the best rugby book on sale now., 25 April 2008
By 
S. Crabtree - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wow, where to start? You think that in watching Joey Johns play rugby (footy) for all these years that you know the bloke. You get the feeling he is a happy go lucky chap with his life bouncing along without a care in the world, until you read his book. Its narrative is superb, fast flowing and most of all emotional. It will leave you open mouthed as you read Andrews story of perhaps the greatest rugby player of all time. And the heartache that accompanied it every step of the way. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 28 Feb 2008
By 
A must read for all rugby league fans and sports fans alike. He has lead an extraordinary life, and this book allows you to learn so much about him, and what life is like for a world class sportsman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly recommend this book to any follower of Rugby League, 21 April 2010
By 
J. Quayle (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a gift for a friend's 90th birthday and this is his review after reading it.
"When a Rugby League player is stretchered off the field the spectators realise that he has sustained a serious injury and he receives a sympathetic round of applause as he is carried off. In his autobiography Andrew Johns suffered some horrific injuries in the course of his career necessitating hospitalisation and the hard grind to get back to physical fitness. Not only had he to contend with this but also an undiagnosed Bipolar disease which both puzzled and embarrassed those close to him at his erratic behaviour. By being such an outstanding player he was continually under the spotlight of the media. It speaks volumes for the man showing sheer courage and determination to become a living legend in Rugby League football, the toughest bodily contact sport, under such enormous pressure. It is a great pity we did not, apart from a brief appearance at Warrington, see much of him in England. I thoroughly recommend this book to any follower of Rugby League."
Maurice Newey, Merseyside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars greatest player and the best rugby league book you will read, 22 July 2009
By 
Mr. M. J. Hughes (Lancashire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Joey Johns possibly the greatest modern day player reveals all.Poignant and heartfelt insight into the real person and the demons he has had to deal with.Having read this i have even more admiration for the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Andrew Johns The Two Of Me, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I should have read this when it first came out. The title is apt. It's full of successes and failures both on the field and off. Freakishly talented, giving great insights into how the game was played, the characters, the off field antics but above all the love of his family and in particular his son Samuel and brother Matthew. Very honest. Rivetting read for me from start to finish - especially the time at Warrington.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Andrew johns the two of me, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Andrew Johns: The Two of Me (Kindle Edition)
A truthfully Frank insight into the lifetime of a legend ! Well worth the read ! A bit of a nutter tho !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just buy it!, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Johns: The Two of Me (Kindle Edition)
real life stories don't come much better than this! very truthful and personal, this book willl hold your attention even if you are not interested in sport never mind rugby league. this book will also help other people come to terms with bipolar, whether they have it or know someone who does. a great book that everyone should read for inspiration and education, do yourself a favour, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's really, really good, 3 Mar 2011
By 
James A. Campbell (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Andrew Johns: The Two of Me (Kindle Edition)
I must confess I was surprised how much I enjoyed this.
Some fascinating chapters on playing for the Knights, State of Origin, rugby tactics, life as a high profile player, his flirtation with union and rehab from injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Andrew Johns: The Two of Me (Kindle Edition)
arguably the greatest RL player ever writing an unbelievable inspiring life story. i suspect this book will help others live a better life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Andrew Johns: The Two of Me
£7.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews