Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Length, Thick, Durable & Excellent Quality Cable!
Just some information for those who do not know; HDMI cables with Ethernet are also known as HDMI 1.4, this version is needed for anyone wanting to play 3D films on their blu-ray player connected to their HDTV, also the cable allows people to view 4k resolution movies and allows upto 100Mbps Ethernet connection between two HDMI connected devices. So lets say you have a TV...
Published on 25 Nov. 2010 by MyKeyReviews

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality HDMI, very 'twisty'
From a HDMI point of view the quality of the image and sound is excellent...I also have couple of very cheepo ebay HDMI's and they sometimes drop the sound for a second but this one hasn't done that yet. So I'm very impressed.

The cable itself has the texture of an iron lead (fuzzy & materiel like rather than plastic). It's also quite thick. I have found it...
Published on 24 Nov. 2010 by Mad Saint Uden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Length, Thick, Durable & Excellent Quality Cable!, 25 Nov. 2010
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just some information for those who do not know; HDMI cables with Ethernet are also known as HDMI 1.4, this version is needed for anyone wanting to play 3D films on their blu-ray player connected to their HDTV, also the cable allows people to view 4k resolution movies and allows upto 100Mbps Ethernet connection between two HDMI connected devices. So lets say you have a TV that can be connected to the internet but at the same time you want a blu-ray player to be connected also, instead of having the hassle of linking the router/modem to all your devices, you can connect it too your TV and use this HDMI cable to transfer internet from your TV to your device connected on the other end... who would of ever thought that one day all this could be in one cable, I surely didn't even think about it!

TV's and devices that can support the Ethernet connection should have by the HDMI port labelled as "HEC", however not all of them do so if your unsure, check the manual to see if it supports this extra connection, if it doesn't no worries as this HDMI cable will still work for those devices and TV's that can't support the Ethernet, you just wont be able to use it to connect them to the internet.

For me I was rather disappointed that my HDTV does not support the extra features of 1.4 whereas my other device does, so I cannot comment of the speed of the internet connection, however I can comment about the quality of the cable; It's the perfect length, it's pretty darn solid and thick (I can't imagine this cable getting tangled up) and the Audio/Picture quality is just what you expect from an HDMI cable.

So once again full stars for a truly great quality Amazon Basics item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job as well as the expensive versions, 23 Nov. 2010
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Thick cable, the braiding makes it feel a much more expensive item, though the cable is flexible enough not to put a strain on sockets. Good solid connectors at both ends mean you're going to get a solid lock between your TV & hi-def device of your choice. You want a top quality cable without having to pay the earth, don't you? Get this then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A high quality, excellent value HDMI cable, 22 Dec. 2011
By 
Ian Thomas "Swarley" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
FYI - I've reviewed an AmazonBasics HDMI cable before, so to save repeating myself please see my review of AmazonBasics 2M Dual-Shielded High Speed HDMI Cable for my general comments on how to avoid over-priced high street HDMI cables!

This is another fine example of a supposedly "basic" HDMI cable which represents excellent value for money and offers a decent quality alternative to over-priced big brand options (that are pushed by most salesmen when you buy a new tv!). The cable is robust and surrounded by a thick protective braid covering to prevent any accidental damage. The cable is still quite flexible, but you may have trouble fitting it through a very narrow gap or bending it round a tight corner.

The plugs are gold-plated for optimal signal strength and to prevent corrosion. The cable has built-in shielding to minimise interference from other electrical equipment in close proximity. It should support the latest HDMI devices, including 3D televisions and blu-ray players. It also supports sharing ethernet network connections with other compatible devices.

I would not hesitate to recommend this excellent cable, even if it was selling at a higher price point, as it offers excellent features and quality. Top marks for Amazon and their full range of "Basics" cables - I haven't yet found a bad example in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent quality HDMI, very 'twisty', 24 Nov. 2010
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
From a HDMI point of view the quality of the image and sound is excellent...I also have couple of very cheepo ebay HDMI's and they sometimes drop the sound for a second but this one hasn't done that yet. So I'm very impressed.

The cable itself has the texture of an iron lead (fuzzy & materiel like rather than plastic). It's also quite thick. I have found it likes it rolled up in the box shape and is a bit tricky to get both plugs in the sockets without curliness.

My own fault but 2m with the curl isn't quite long enough to reach from tv to laptop if the laptop is on my sofa but it's fine for sitting the laptop under the telly.

I'm unable to test the ethernet part as I didn't realise that you need 'special' hardware to plug in, but I'm sure as technology develops I'll be needing that functionality.

Next time I think I'll get one with the swivel ends...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why THIS cable?, 28 Nov. 2010
By 
Alien937 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
**WHY ETHERNET?**
This cable conforms to HDMI version 1.4 which, amongst other things, adds an 100Mbps ethernet channel to the preexisting audio/video data channels. Chances are you won't have any devices capable of utilising this ethernet channel yet, but if you're into "future-proofing" then 1.4 is the way to go. (I can't think of many situations where you would need/use ethernet via HDMI - apart from internet-enabled TVs - but this'll change with HDMI ports finding their way onto more and more devices.)

**WHY BRAIDING?**
The braiding consists of tightly interwoven fibres coating the cable's exterior. It makes the cable thicker, stronger (this thing could double as a tightrope), better insulated and aids retention of bends in the cable after a little bit of force has been applied. Even with the braiding's shape-retention, the thickness and heaviness of the cable mean you might need something like an AmazonBasics HDMI Male to Female Swivel Adapter for HDMI ports in awkward places.

**WHY BUY?**
Every AmazonBasics item I've tried so far has been good quality at a good price, and this item is no exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, but awkward, 20 Dec. 2010
By 
The Evil Doctor (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not much to say about this really... Its an awesome quality, braided, ethernet-enabled cable. The build quality is second to none resulting in a superb quality picture. Ethernet ensures that its future-proofed, although you probably won't need ethernet for the forseeable future. The only downside is that because of it's braided thickness, its awkward to bend, so *might* look untidy (and will definitely be a tough job) if you've got to position it into a place where there's limited space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon 2m HDMI, 22 Jan. 2011
By 
Sanjay (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this to replace a very cheap HDMI lead that was leading to picture quality problems. I can say that this lead appeared very well made; nice thick cable with plenty of shielding. The connectors are only plastic but seem sturdy enough.

In fact the cable is so sturdy that it tends not to bend that easily but this is a very minor gripe.

I think 2m is enough for most applications, certainly exactly what I needed to reach from the back of by plasma telly, which has an offset HDMI input, into the innards of my AV unit.

I cannot comment on it's v1.4 capabilities, it works fine on my PS3 (v1.3b?)& that's all I know about.

Certainly, there's no need to spend any more on a 2m HDMI lead (don't listen to all that marketing blurb from cable companies that tell you that you need a £100 cable for FULL 1080p). I think that this is a reasonble price for a good quality cable, you can get leads for less but you risk signal drop-outs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super build quality, 27 Nov. 2010
By 
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If quality is what you want in a cable, this has oozes of it. The connectors are solid and not wobbly like some of the cheaper plastic and silver plated alternatives from certain £ stores. Plus the braided cable covering is extra strong. It's flexible enough to bend, but strong enough to totally tense up when trying to bend about 10cm of it's selected length. I've never come across such as well built HDMI cable, and whilst they all essentially do the same thing, I am seriously tempted to purchase future braided HDMI cables, simply because they are easy to differentiate from the other AV cables in the spaghetti junction behind the tv, but also because they are strong enough to survive frequent moving. Some thing that cannot be attributed to cheaper cables where sometimes they loosen over time, or the connector housing breaks apart..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cable, looks the business, 7 Dec. 2010
By 
Klingsor (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I just bought 3D telly and had to pay twice as much for the branded hi speed HDMI cable to connect the 3D blu-ray player. Amazon own brand cable performs just as well for half the price and it is even better build and much sturdier. This cable is a thick chunk, a bit tricky to manipulate, but that doesn't bother me as long as audio and video quality are excellent. I got the swivel adapter with this as well, so the combination of the two works like a dream.
I have quite a few amazon made accessories, and this cable didn't disappoint either. Full up to date functionality, sturdy build and decent length. Great to see that Amazon is offering their own brand accessories that perform to highest standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HDMI + Ethernet, 12 Dec. 2010
By 
D Deacon "pixist" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: AmazonBasics High-Speed HDMI Cable with Ethernet Braided 6.5 Feet / 2 m (Electronics)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Very good HDMI cable which arrived quickly and was well plackaged. It is a HDMI version 1.4 cable with Ethernet and other improvements for 3D Bluray, etc. There aren't many products presently with Ethernet via HDMI but that will change, in any case it works well with HDMI 1.3 etc. It is a stiffish 2m braided cable feeling and looking very solid.

Best thing about this high-speed cable is the improvement you get in picture quality. I used it on my Humax Freeview HD box, Philips bluray player and my Xbox Slim and there is a noticeable difference as there is with other cable sin theis Amazon range.

Good cables are a basic to getting the best out of one's equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews