Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best British Crime Drama around
This new Midsomer Murders collection features, arguably, the best episodes from the series i.e. the earlier ones.
MM manages to be both a modern day version of classics such as marple or poirot but also provides a certain nostagia of old england - the picturesque countryside, the chocolate box villages where everybody knows their neighbours and where there are more...
Published on 14 May 2010 by J. D. White

versus
0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great show shame about the postal system
I love this show, but unfortunately the box set I ordered has never turned up. This is unusual as everything else I have ordered from Amazon has arrived safely but is frustrating as it was alot of money to throw away.
Published on 29 Oct 2010 by Catshillpete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best British Crime Drama around, 14 May 2010
By 
J. D. White "Jdawg" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
This new Midsomer Murders collection features, arguably, the best episodes from the series i.e. the earlier ones.
MM manages to be both a modern day version of classics such as marple or poirot but also provides a certain nostagia of old england - the picturesque countryside, the chocolate box villages where everybody knows their neighbours and where there are more more pubs than homes, and the stereotypical but humourous take on posh countryside folk. Each episode follows a similar plot - murder followed by murder followed by numerous suspects followed by suspects getting murdered. Each episode will have you guessing 'Who is the murderer?' and 'Which suspect is getting murdered next?' But its all very light hearted for the most part and is a welcome change to the modern day forensic-based american crime dramas that dominate the tv schedules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
Caught one episode and was hooked. This collection worked out cheaper than buying the separate series. In my opinion great stories, well played characters and wonderful scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure, 22 Feb 2011
By 
Jens Christian Boeg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
Marvellous entertainment. Great crime mysteries a la Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot with a touch of friendly English pastoralism. Exciting, thrilling, fun, enchanting - the best way of spending a tired evening on the couch. Box includes all episodes from the first six series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles missing, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable murder mysteries. Although I miss English subtitles that helps hearing when the environment is not all quiet. Good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Nipper "Glynis Johns Loony" (Maceira, Torres Vedras Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
This bargain box set is brilliant. The series, is always top notch, with equally top notch actors in the supporting roles. Although it taxes the imagination somewhat with all the gruesome murders happening in such a small and beautiful area, they are written in such a believable way, that you suspend disbelief, and just sit back and enjoy the individual stories. This set includes every episode featuring Daniel Casey as Troy along side the great John Nettles's Barnaby. It's all totally unbelievable tosh really, but so beautifully done and acted that it is worth every penny spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Product, 17 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
I bought these dvds for my wife as she loves Midsomer Murders. She was very happy. One thing I could only ask for is the addition of subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be missed out!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
This television detective drama is build like a theatre play. It will seem to you to be seating in a Theatre. Very good acting. Intriguing plots spotted with the relaxing tranquillity of the British countryside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
I like how tom barnabys wife helps him out the cast take a great part in this series it I also like how the daughter helps out to and the location is superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal Gift for those who remember the TV series, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it as a present for my friend who loved the series years ago when it was first televised. It is still a great series today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Buy, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Boustrophedon (West Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] (DVD)
This combined set covering the first seven series was an affordable way to purchase them.

Troy with his gaffes and foibles was far more memorable than any of his successors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD]
Midsomer Murders - Troy's Casebook [DVD] by David Tucker (DVD - 2010)
£79.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews