Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY ENTERTAINING
Sophie is attending a New Years Gala, at Lady Carstairs house when her husband suddenly makes his entrance, the same husband she has not laid eyes on since their wedding day six years ago, he makes his way to her across the room with his friend George Carstairs. It appears he does not recognise her, she is much altered from the skinny young girl he married six years...
Published on 15 Aug. 2011 by Reader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good read
It surprises me anyone thought this should have a higher rating, the language alone was hard to get through and overall, it did not draw me in and I really pushed myself to finish this book. Just not my cup of tea!
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY ENTERTAINING, 15 Aug. 2011
By 
Reader (The south) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
Sophie is attending a New Years Gala, at Lady Carstairs house when her husband suddenly makes his entrance, the same husband she has not laid eyes on since their wedding day six years ago, he makes his way to her across the room with his friend George Carstairs. It appears he does not recognise her, she is much altered from the skinny young girl he married six years before. Once he is told of her identity he is furious that he has been made a fool of, and for the second time he blames her. Six years ago he was attending a house party given by her Guardian Harry, when drunk and naked he came into her room and got into bed with her, having compromised her he was forced to marry her, for which he blames her and has never forgiven her, now it appears it is also her fault that he did not recognise her he really is a toad. Lucas Deverill has returned home from the peninsular wars to take up his title as his brother Charles has died. Unfortunately, the Estate is broke and creditors are demanding payment. But there is a solution his wife Sophie has been left a large inheritance by her guardian Harry who died. So problem solved he has his wife's money. Unfortunately he does not. As Harry's bequest to Sophie has been left solely to her and in her control out of reach of her husband. Lucas is furious, but has decided to take Sophie back and seduce her that should do it.
This was a most entertaining read, Lucas really was a toad, he was pompous, arrogant and totally insensitive. I wondered how the author was going to redeem him. Sophie on he other hand was smart kind and thoughtful, and although she had always loved Lucas ever since she had first laid eyes on him, that did not make her blind to his faults, or knowing what he was up to. I thought the characters were totally believable, their actions and reactions to each other were also very realistic. There was much humour as well. I also enjoyed the sub plot between Sophie's friend Minerva and George. This is a thoroughly well written and thought out story, one which I happily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Princess and the Toad, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished this book and I can honestly say I have really enjoyed it. I found the story fascinating, enjoyable and most of all heartwarmingly lovely. Sophie's marriage to Lucas Deverall was not how marriage should be, with her past terror and ordeals as a child and his pompous, arrogant rejection of her. The author never let you want to skip or put down the book as you waited to see what was going to turn out in the story. The skating scene near the end was most beautifully written and you felt as though you was part of what was going in their thoughts and heart. Once again a most enjoyable book, well done Delle Jacobs--Irene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forced Marriage - Six Years Apart - Sophie Has Grown Up Into A Beautiful Woman - Now Her Husband Wants Her, Too Little, Too Late, 20 Sept. 2014
By 
Judge Tabor "(JMM)" (California) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
I've enjoyed this book enough to read it twice during the past couple of years. Although it has a harsh beginning, in that the author casts the "hero" in the role of a "villain" - in time, the book actually turns sweet and one can't help but fall in love with Lucas, our "Main Guy." Sophie, an adolescent orphan, is the ward of her irresponsible Uncle Harry. At one of Harry's debauched house parties, things happen that will forever change the lives of Lucas and Sophie. Although she has been somewhat protected by her older friend, Miranda, whose brute of a husband is attending the house party, Sophie sees enough to become fascinated with Lucas Deverall, one the attendees at the party. Lucas is drinking nonstop and partying it up with the lightskirts in attendance at the party - one last fling before he leaves to join the Coldstream Guards in England's fight against Napoleon.

When drunken Lucas finds himself preparing to get in bed with who he believes to be one of the partying girls, he finds a screaming Sophie instead. Uncle Harry demands Lucas marry Sophie, Lucas angrily complies, believing he was set up by Sophie, then immediately leaves for his military assignment and little Sophie doesn't hear from Lucas for six long years - not a letter, not a visit - nada, nil, nothing.

Lucas eventually returns home and finds Sophie has grown into a beautiful young woman who has inherited personal wealth from family members, including Uncle Harry's estate - Harry having passed prematurely. Lucas, on the other hand, has inherited the title of Viscount Deverall - his older brother having passed, leaving him with a mountain of debts. Lucas' little adolescent wife is all grown up and is gorgeous. He's fascinated with Sophie, even though he still believes she set him up so she could snag a husband. Lucas needs Sophie's money. Sophie has had six years to become 100% disillusioned with the El Jerko Lucas. After meeting with his solicitor, Lucas gives Sophie a week to become his wife in actuality. Sophie is a hard case and I was personally rooting for her to Make. The. Toad. Pay. In fact, Sophie referred to Lucas as "Toad" throughout a good portion of the book. Based on his past, he deserved the name.

As the story progresses, it's obvious the orphaned Sophie has some deep seated issues from circumstances surrounding the death of her parents which has the effect of compounding her trust issues with Lucas. For Lucas' part, he truly attempts to woo Sophie and falls hard for her. Sophie continues to resist, Lucas is in trouble financially, he's in trouble physically due to a wounded leg and to make matters more difficult, he is losing his heart to Sophie really quickly even as she refuses to give him the time of day. This reader still wanted him to have to grovel. Sophie cooperates with this reader and makes him grovel. Good. Girl. Make. The. Toad. Pay.

Finally, even this cold-hearted, unforgiving reader decides enough is enough, Sophie. By this time, we've learned some stuff about Lucas and we've become more inclined towards sympathy and just want them to have their HEA. I was of the opinion the end was more complex than it needed to be and in fact, for me - the spark that I felt building was doused very effectively by other factors entering in just as things began to move toward a happy ending. The author tried to bring the spark back, but it never quite worked for me. In fact, there seemed to be "too much" and "too many" toward the end which unfortunately culminated in the reader getting "too little."

On plus factor: There was a back-story threaded throughout the book. It was a romance between Minerva, now a young widow and George Carstairs, Lucas' best friend and also one of the attendees at the questionable house party. It would have been great had Ms. Jacobs given Minerva and George their own story. It seemed to me, there was certainly enough substance with Minerva's background being what it was and George being a hunk who had played a substantive role in Minerva's life when she was married to her former cruel husband. I felt as though I was missing their full story and wondered if there was a different book dedicated to their romance. If so, I haven't been able to find it amongst Ms. Jacobs' other books. All in all, I'm giving this book 4 stars. It held my interest and when I had to leave the book for a few minutes, I found myself wanting to get back to it as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Enjoyable and Oh So Sweet!, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
This book was a wonderful read from the first page, so be prepared to stay up until the wee hours of the morning to finish it!

Sophie is under the care of her guardian and Uncle Harry! But Harry has not really thought about is ways and continues his lifestyle in the presence of his ward. He invites his mates (meaning some of the most notorious rakes) over for a party. Of course they are all well within their cups! Sophie wakes to find Deverall (by the way he is naked!) in her bed and without thinking starts to scream, upon finding them Harry forces Deverall to do the right thing by his ward and marry her. Deverall is to leave to fight in the war in 3 days times, during this time he weds Sophie but stays well within his drunken haze so he doesn't have to think about the betrayal and they do not consummate their wedding!

Six year later Deverall's brother has dies and he returns to England to claim his title, estate, and wife. He arrives at Carstair's ball only to find the most beautiful woman he has ever seen... He approaches her and is shocked to find it is Sophie his wife, who has literally blossomed into a beauty! Sophie has foolishly always loved Deverall and is hurt that he will not believe her when she says it was never her intention to trap him into marriage it was his fault for coming into her chamber! She is not going to make it easy for Deverall as the tables have changed the estate he has been left is in ruin with a heap of financial debt and she has been left wealthy and inheritance from Harry! She does not want to be in a marriage where only her money is desired not her heart!

Will they be able to move on from the past and find forgiveness and love?

The characters in this story were well developed and the romance between Deverall and Sophie was wonderful! You also get the added bonus of Minerva and Carstairs which is just as enchanting!

Will look for more from this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a good read, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
It surprises me anyone thought this should have a higher rating, the language alone was hard to get through and overall, it did not draw me in and I really pushed myself to finish this book. Just not my cup of tea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Frog Worth Kissing, 29 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
What a pleasant surprise this book was, when I read the review I thought I'd read it years ago but I hadn't and must admit, I found it extremely hard to put down. Very good storyline all the way through and a few times was sitting on the edge of my chair. Lovely characters all very realistic and easy to love, even down to the servants. Highly recommend this book to others
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prince of toads., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
The characters come to life as you read. You find your sympathies are with SOphie but understanding dawns, and you so want to sit it out. A very good read without to much mush. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
Characters interesting and storyline good. A full length novel which has many funny moments. This book is free and I would definitely recommend and read more books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read!, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
I've read this twice now! Enjoyed it just as much the second time! Sympathetic characterisations and lots of romance. Cracking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His Majesty, the Prince of Toads Book, 24 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: His Majesty, the Prince of Toads (Kindle Edition)
Very good Reading. I purchased other books by this author because of this. Very interesting and keeps you wanting to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

His Majesty, the Prince of Toads
£2.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews