Customer Reviews


973 Reviews
5 star:
 (859)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


341 of 350 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly good
Why on earth did they cancel this? It's terrific!
The basic story is familiar to all those who enjoy sci-fi. A group of people on a ship trying to avoid/escape a totalitarian authority and not always getting along with each other - we've seen it in, amongst others, Star Wars, Blake's 7 and, perhaps most gloriously, on Farscape. This is not a bad thing. The reason...
Published on 3 May 2004

versus
35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 for the show, 1 for the transfer
This is an excellent show with great acting, a wonderful score, amazing characters that evolve so much as the series progresses. By the end of the series you'll love all the characters and the bucket of bolts firefly they fly around in. It's a good ol' all round space western.

The only problem is that the blu ray is literally the worst transfer of anything I've...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Denton


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

341 of 350 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly good, 3 May 2004
By A Customer
Why on earth did they cancel this? It's terrific!
The basic story is familiar to all those who enjoy sci-fi. A group of people on a ship trying to avoid/escape a totalitarian authority and not always getting along with each other - we've seen it in, amongst others, Star Wars, Blake's 7 and, perhaps most gloriously, on Farscape. This is not a bad thing. The reason it is a sci-fi staple is because it works.
As with Farscape, the 9 main characters on the ship are completely 3 dimensional. They have complicated and evolving relationships with each other and changing loyalties. The cast are excellent, moving from light comedy to drama seamlessly. Anyone used to Joss Whedon and co's approach to storytelling on Buffy and Angel will be pleased to find the same clever dialogue and humour here, as well as the focus on human drama albeit in an unfamiliar world.
And what a world!
It sounds as though it should be awful and/or cheesy, but the cowboys in space thing really works. We're 500 years into the future and the last two superpowers, US and China, formed a totalitarian govt called the Alliance and we have a world where there is a strange blending of East and West. We don't see any bumpy headed aliens just humans on different planets trying to make a living. Our crew move from place to place taking jobs ranging from smuggling to petty theft to survive and come across some funny/strange/nasty types in the process, however, it is when they pick up a doctor and his mysterious, barking mad sister that they really fall foul of the authorities and their lives get more complicated than they'd like. The Firefly 'verse is fascinating and you will be left with a profound sadness that the series finished without exploring it fully (a film will not be enought to do it justice).
The DVD set contains all 14 episodes, in the right order (I understand that the TV networks messed that up). There are 7 commentaries from actors/writers/directors which are, for the most part, both amusing and informative. There are 3 documentaries (including a making of), a blooper reel and some deleted scenes.
Although this is clearly written by the same team that gave us Buffy it is aimed at a slightly older audience - perhaps going for the Angel demographic. It is a brilliant idea, well executed. I hope you give it a try - if nothing else it'll show you how to swear outrageously in Mandarin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shiny!, 6 July 2004
I've been reading excellent reviews for Firefly since it first aired, so I was desperate to get the DVD and check it out for myself. The reviews did it justice; this is an excellent series and I'm really quite annoyed that it was cancelled so quickly!
There is so much to enjoy about this show: it is like the wild west in space with lots of cowboy-like stuff such as six shooters, there are interesting planets visited, (but you wont see an alien anywhere if your worried about it), there are spectacular visual effects of spaceships etc, and very good shoot-outs and brawls. There are several groups of baddies who are all interesting, oh, and you can learn chinese swear words, should you feel the need.
By far and away the most interesting thing about this show though is the characters, nine well rounded and interesting people, as you would expect from Joss Whedon. We have the captain of Serenity, Mal Reynolds, and his second officer Zoe, who survived a war together; her husband Wash pilots the ship, and is the resident joker. Kaylee is the brilliant engineer who says that machines talk to her, and that's how she can fix stuff. The final member of the crew is Jayne, a very large and intimidating mercenary with a habit of naming all his weapons. There are three passengers who come aboard in the pilot episode and gradually become part of the crew; Book, a preacher, and Dr Simon Tam and his sister River, who are now both fugitives after he rescued her from a government project. The last character is Inara, a Companion (high class prostitute) with good connections in high places. A very odd mixture of people, but it works brilliantly!
I strongly recommend this excellent series to everyone, and am itching to see Serenity, the movie follow on which is out in early 2005.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Take The Sky From Me!, 29 July 2005
By A Customer
I have to be completely honest here. Purchasing this Firefly boxset is probably the best buy I've ever made.
Although I'm a fan of Whedon's other works, I was at first very reluctant to watch this show. I'm not a fan of your typical sci-fi show, nor am I a fan of Westerns, and so a show that had been advertised to me as a 'western in space' didn't hold much appeal. It wasn't until after meeting with a large group of existing Firefly fans, all of whom raved about it like there was no tomorrow, that I caved in and ordered myself a set.
I can only wish that I'd done so sooner. All the time I had wasted worrying about the concept disappeared from my thoughts the moment the first episode began. Never before have I seen a show that's so captivating. The characters are all realistic and loveable in their own unique ways, the situations are strangely believable and extremely engaging, and after just a few episodes, you become so engrossed in the storyline that there is nothing you want to do more than watch 'just one more' to see what happens next.
I've yet to find somebody who hasn't fallen in love with this show. The set is well worth the money, as not only will you find yourself rewatching it many times, but you'll be getting friends and family to watch it as well. With the feature film Serenity, the next installment in this tale, coming out in September, there has never been a better time to watch this.
Do yourself a favour, and buy Firefly today. Trust me - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


119 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here's how it was... One of the greatest series of all time, 18 July 2007
I've been a somewhat cautious fan of science fiction for a while, and passed this over at first assuming it's early cancellation to have signaled poor quality. The fact that it was made by Joss Whedon didn't help it since I'd not seen the appeal in Buffy or Angel. But a friend lent me the first disk of this box set, and I realized my mistake. This is genius, every single episode. I bought it right away.
Early cancellation turns out to have been a symptom of ruthless and blind money making on the part of fox, the more I found out how fox screwed this series over the more I'm amazed.
So; self-indulgence over, review beginning. This is a blend of two seemingly incompatible genres - sci-fi and western. It does this stunningly well, basically the whole thing's set in a future where everyone flies round in spaceships but all the most remote planets on the edge of civilization are basically the old American west, they don't have enough food or medicine or much else for that matter. Just like the old west there are all kinds of lawless activities out here and the show follows the crew of one ship who's main way to survive is to smuggle, steal, kill and do whatever else they need to in order to just keep flying. They aren't bad guys, but they're not quite good guys either. By the end of the series you really feel like you know all the characters in the crew, and what's so brilliant is they feel like characters not stereotypes, and the complex relationships between them are completely believable.
The whole series really sucks you into its world, it's a world that makes sense (everyone's English/Mandarin bilingual) and's a million miles from the squeaky-clean world of shows like star trek. The music is equally instrumental in this, blending Chinese, American, eastern European, and many other completely different styles into a believable blend that feels very improvised and very much like the music these people would be playing, nothing orchestral or operatic, just some guys with an old guitar or two sitting round playing the blues.
From a visual standpoint the series is equally impressive. The CGI is stunning, on par with the best Hollywood can throw at us, and utilizing unusual CGI techniques like zooms and rapid unfocused turns of the camera to give it a style similar to documentary, news or reality programming where the cameraman doesn't quite catch everything perfectly. The same technique of calculated roughness is applied to the live-action camera-work so that the characters aren't always perfectly in shot and walk in from odd angles. It feels like this is all happening, you just happen to be watching it.
The writing is absolutely brilliant. The plots are vary between really good, great, and jaw-dropingly awesome. The dialog is cool, quick, funny and reminds me of Elmore Leonard in it's easy but always-snappy flow.
Basically this is genius. It's a strangely believable story of ordinary people on the frontiers of civilization just trying to make a living and get by, and in the end that's the the most involving story of all - one that makes us feel.
Here's to serenity, hoping she'll fly again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 16 Nov 2006
Watching firefly, you can see all the plot lines that could have been. You can see the years of enjoyment you could have had. And all you get are these 14 episodes - not even a full season because the network saw fit to cancel it.

However, the pain is worth it. All the Whedon characteristics are there. Breathtaking episodes, genius characterisation and an absorbing, brilliant plot.

The characters are reminiscent of the wonderful central characters of Buffy. Mal (Nathan Fillion) and Inara are excellent, Jayne is very funny and Zoe and Wash's relationship is absorbing. Additionally the women in it are, unusually for TV but not for Joss Whedon, refreshingly well drawn and complex. This is character based drama so the setting and plot are often incidental, this is not serious sci-fi. It is funny and accessable, the characters and the dilemas are real. There are no aliens (so fewer monsters than in Buffy) and the future is recognisable. Even so, the world of the characters is well realised and the ship, Serenity, is a perfect central set.

So had it had a chance to go further, this could have been a TV masterpiece. But, forgetting the cancellation, what is here is brilliant and important - well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i'm a BIG cynic, not a Buffy fan, but i have to agree..., 20 May 2005
By 
...this really is as good as everybody's saying. it's considerably better than the vast majority of tv shows in existence - and it's leaps and bounds ahead of pretty much all other sci-fi (which imo is often two-dimensional and silly).
why is it better? for many reasons, including plots, writing, acting, cinematography, effects etc., etc., but for me the biggest thing about Firefly is that, as a result of all these elements, i found myself actually CARING what happened to these characters. i found myself emotionally involved with a group of fictional characters - something i almost never experience - and owing to the obvious love that every member of the cast and crew have put into the production (see the DVD extras, as well as the evidence of the finished episodes themselves), there is NO weak link, no irritating defect or mistake detracting from my involvement and immersion in their lives. coming from a cynic like me, there's no higher praise i can give it.
this is a show that has a huge heart without overdoing the sentimentality - the very finest tv has to offer, imho. i think this is why it has attracted such praise from so many people. i can't recommend it enough. do yourself a favour and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cancelled after 1 season? Madness!, 25 Sep 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Firefly is a wonderful Sci-Fi Opera from Joss Whedon (Buffy, Angel). Whedon seems to be especially interested in characterisation here and the interaction between the wonderful cast. This is not Sci-Fi like Star Trek with lumpy headed aliens etc. The closest thing to aliens are Reavers, humans who have become psychotic and beastial.

The non-human cast member is Serenity, a insect/bird-like spaceship (Firefly class, hence the series name).

The characters are wonderfully written, funny and intriquing. Mal (Malcom) Reynolds, a former brown-coat seargent who faught against the Alliance with Zoe (his second in command), just wants to be free. The Alliance won the war and he just wants to fly below the radar and live as best he can, which mainly entails taking on criminal jobs.

I'm not going to write a synopsis here as there's one above, and I don't want to spoil anything.

The series has lots of intrigue about various characters pasts and what they are about. Most of them are never really resolved as the series only got studio backing for one series and then they canned it. Idiots! But fear not Sci-Fi fans because Serenity, the movie comes out at the end of September. Hopefully the series will then be brought back.

Firefly has everything: Drama, humour, pathos, irony, excitement, great special effects and superb writing and a fabulous cast. And possibly the most beautiful woman I've ever seen: Morena Baccarin. I think she could play any of the great beauties from history, Helen of Troy, Cleopatra, Sheba etc.

I can't recommend this wonderful series enough. You'll love it! And look at the price...

N.B. I do have one slight criticism: Why is the sound on the episodes so quiet, when the DVD titles are so loud? I have to raise the volume about 5 points on my home cinema. Quite annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best TV shows of the last ten years, 14 Feb 2004
While some people might classify Joss Whedon's other shows as cult, or out there, this show had mass appeal, and stands part from everything else as a brilliant piece of television. The stories were interesting, the characters had depth, the plots were unexpected and twisting, it was full of great humour and some very dark moments that give you the creeps even after watching them over again. The music on a tv show is normally something not often mentioned on a DVD, but with this show is warrants a mention, as it is outstanding music that adds so much to the show, to scenes of great trauma and great happiness. This is an excellent show that was sadly cut short in its prime, but this DVD is a find and something that should not be overlooked. Usually with a show there is some kind of weak link, such as a badly cast actor, or a bad episode, this show has none of it. Every guest star and face in the crowd looks like they belong. This may have burned for only a short time, but it has definately burned very brightly and will stay in the imagination of the fans for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Sci-fi/fantasy I've ever seen, 5 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has to be the best bargain of the Year.
No wonder there is over 150 reviews.
I have just finished watching the fourteen episodes and I am completely mystified why Fox decided to Cancel it as this could have ran and ran for Years.
Although it was sad to reach the end its a box set I will watch again.
The characters are portrayed with humour blended in with a very sharp script and it has to be the best Sci-fi/fantasy I've ever seen.
Once you start to play it your best to take time off your work and make certain you have fed the pets beforehand and disconnect the phone.
Firefly is superb and really deserves a new Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hands up who hates Fox?, 23 Sep 2007
By 
M. Mortel "Mat Mortel" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, it's true the 5 star rating would be higher if I could. This is actually one of the most brilliant demonstrations of what TV should really be; Original, funny, individual, smart, and above all amazingly well written. As everyone else says it is such a shame that this was cancelled without it even getting a chance, and I think by doing just a little bit of research it is evident Fox was at fault.

I got to the end of this DVD and couldn't even contemplate how good it could have gotten had it been given a chance, it seemed doomed before it even began, this series had shown real depth of character, intrigue with character stories, and so much more.

The only reason I could think of that you shouldn't watch this is the immense sense of loss you get at the end of the last episode... just at the point where you want to know what happens next.

Don't forget to watch Serenity once you've finished this, and keep your fingers crossed that Fox turn half human and release the rights for Firefly to fly another day with a new network.

... not meaning to rant (hehe).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 298 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firefly - The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [2002]
Firefly - The Complete Series [Blu-ray] [2002] by Nathan Fillion (Blu-ray - 2011)
£11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews