Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one-off brilliance
A real jewel from the 60's, this album has a real haunting quality. Along with the first Black Sabbath Album, this pretty much kicks off the whole grunge/black metal thing, though it's got a heavy psychedelic feel.

The great thing about this album is that it's so original - for a start there's no drums, other than Sam G playing the tabla all the way though,...
Published on 6 July 2006 by Martyn

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting early curio from Lemmy
Although not a fan of Motorhead, I am a huge fan of Lemmy's output with Hawkwind and I was intrigued when I read a review of this album.

Sam Gopal were a fairly unique band in that, instead of a regular drummer, they had a tabla-percussionist in Sam Gopal whom the band is named after.

Fuzz-psych is the flavour throughout and the mood is essentially...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Philly Blunt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one-off brilliance, 6 July 2006
By 
Martyn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
A real jewel from the 60's, this album has a real haunting quality. Along with the first Black Sabbath Album, this pretty much kicks off the whole grunge/black metal thing, though it's got a heavy psychedelic feel.

The great thing about this album is that it's so original - for a start there's no drums, other than Sam G playing the tabla all the way though, which along with the heavy bass gives the whole album a rolling-groove which is like being hit continously with a feather duster.

The guitar is excellent, improvising over the solid backing track and underneath Lemmy's brooding vocals.

You don't have to like motorhead or hawkwind to like this - if you're into shoegazer and/or '60s psych this is a definite for the collection, along with that other great one-off, the Electric Prunes 'Mass in F Minor'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars undiscovered psychedelic masterpiece, 6 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
The fact that Motorhead's Lemmy plays all the guitars and is the vocalist made me pick this up and it was worth it! Screaming fuzzed guitars over drawled vocals make this an undiscoverd psychedelic masterpiece. For anyone into the 13th Floor Elevators or The Electric Prunes, check out tracks like "Cold Embrace, The Dark Lord or Escalator". Never one to throw away a good idea,"You're Alone Now" would later be used by both Hawkwind and Motorhead,but now called "The Watcher" The inclusion of some sappy accoustic songs stop this from being a 5 star album but apart from that......buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hypnotic and dark underground!, 29 July 2012
By 
Ivan rubini? (Island Hvar,Croatia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
Escalator,zanimljiv album poznat po tome sto je snimljen bez bubnjeva osim na jednu skladbu!Takodje ovo je prvi album na kojem je Ian Willis poznatiji nasiroko kao Lemmy!Tako da fanovi Motorheada imaju u vidu za nabavu ovog albuma na kojem on debitira vokalom i gitarom.Kasnije je presao na bas.Glazba je mracnog ugodjaja u kombinaciji istocnjacke ritmike i heavy bluza!U biti da se ovaj album preradi bio bi pravi heavy album!Mislim da niko prije nije ovakav komad glazbe napravio s indijskom tablom pa se moze reci da je pionirski!Na cdeu je par obrada Season of the witch od Donovana i Back door man od Dixona.Ostatak su potpisali Willis i Group(valjda pseudonim za Gopala,nisam siguran jer mi je poznato vec).Snimljen krajem 1968 u studenom u Morgan/De-Lane studijima i izdan za Stable SLE 8001(Ovo je valjda prvi album za tu labelu).CD je od Breathless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic classic, 27 Jan 2012
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
This album is a psychedelic classic from 1968/9. Lemmy sings lead vocals on each track ,most of which feature raucous guitar alongside Sam Gopal playing Tabla .The stand out tracks are the title track Escalator ,Dark lord & Season of the Witch (the Donovan song ).
Each track features some sound effects on the intro (Fire,rain etc )and this adds to the overall feel .This edition has been expanded to include both sides of their single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cornerstone of psychedelia, 20 July 2010
By 
Golovanov Alexey (Limassol, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
Sam Gopal, Malaysia-born composer, musician (tabla), scholar and philosopher is an almost iconoclastic cult personality in the history of music (and culture), who keeps somehow in the shade, and is highly respected by true connoisseurs.
This first album (recorded in 1968) was brought back out of obscurity by the fact that it features as guitarist and singer Ian Fraser Kilmister (b.1945) - the famous "Lemmy" of Motorhead.
Two other stars are closely co-operating with Sam Gopal during these early years - Mick Huntchinson, guitar, and Andy Clark, keyboards - of the future Clark Hutchinson (Free To Be Stoned-The Complete Decca Recordings Anthology, A=mh2...) - also a cult name and innovative musicians.
Sam Gopal (as a band) was managed by Robert Stigwood, and later (as "Cosmosis") - by Peter Grant, when Gopal recorded several tracks for Led Zeppelin label (circa 1971).

Is this a blend of psychedelia, underground,progressive and avant-garde oriental inspired music, is difficult to say, and it's absolutely irrelevant - that is top-quality innovative approach, which inspired and influenced many interesting musicians.The only faulty track is monotonous rendition of "Back Door Man".

Sam Gopal was (is) always ready to broaden the horizons of his composing and to co-operate with other musicians: 1976 (with excellent French musicians Didier Malherbe on sax and Patrice Lemoine on piano); 1988 - "Sangit" (performed live in Berlin Philarmonie- und Kammernmusiksaal and recorded the soundtrack for Channel 4); 1990 & 1991 - "Soap Opera" and "Not For Sale" (featuring again Andy Clark)
Sam Gopal had spent almost 7 years in Nepal where he continued his studies of the theory of traditional music and brought even further up to perfectionism his mastering of tablas, which are used with incredibly rich assortment of over-tones (12 tone tabla) - on his next solo album of 1999 for the first time the blues was played on tablas ("Solid Water Blues"). I am really grateful to Esoteric Recordings for re-issuing this excellent album - hopefully other works of Sam Gopal will be available on CDs also
By the way, try Ananda Shankar - more towards commercial, but still interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one-off classic, 6 July 2006
By 
Martyn - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
the great thing about this album is that it's so original - for a start there's no drums, other than Sam G playing the bongos all the way though, which along with Lemmy's bass gives the whole album a rolling-groove which is like being hit continously with a feather duster

the guitar is excellent and the songs have a brooding psychedelic feel

you don't have to like motorhead or hawkwind to like this - if you're into shoegazer and/or '60s psych this is a definite for the collection, along with that other great one-off, the Electric Prunes 'Mass in F Minor'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early Lemmy - quite an album., 29 May 2006
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
Boosted sales of this album will be created by the inclusion of two of these tracks on the Lemmy 'Damage Case' anthology. You can see the man himself to the left in the band photo on the front cover, and but for Lemmy's part in it, the album has never gone away. With this release, though, there are two not-on-the-original-album-tracks with 'Horse' and 'Back Door Man,' so this is Sam Gopal's complete recorded output on one CD. And Motorhead fans will enjoy going back to the roots of their main-man, as they will also do by following the trails left by the Rocking Vickers, also on the 'Damage Case' compilation. Yes, the man has been around for a very long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's LEMMY!, 17 Mar 2006
By 
M. H. Oliff "markoliff2" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
Wow a blast from the past and a blast from before Lemmy and Hawkwind. I recently bought the LEMMY anthology Damage Case. There are two tracks from Escalator on this anthology (Escalator and The Dark Lord). On the strength of these two tracks I am buying the Sam Gopal CD. I am putting my money where my mouth is. On Escalator Lemmy sings so you have "the" voice of "the" man. If you want comparisons The Dark Lord = The Watcher! Excellent stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting early curio from Lemmy, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Philly Blunt (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
Although not a fan of Motorhead, I am a huge fan of Lemmy's output with Hawkwind and I was intrigued when I read a review of this album.

Sam Gopal were a fairly unique band in that, instead of a regular drummer, they had a tabla-percussionist in Sam Gopal whom the band is named after.

Fuzz-psych is the flavour throughout and the mood is essentially one of a stoned apocalyptical feel, no surprise considering Lemmy claims to have written his contribution to the album in one night whilst on mega-downer Methedrine. Nothing much changes! It is interesting to note that Lemmy plays guitar as opposed to the bass which he would later become known for.

Whilst I wouldn't class this as essential, there are some great moments on here such as 'The Sky Is Burning', 'Grass' and 'Escalator'. Definitely recommended for fans of Lemmy's non-metal output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lemmy entertains you !, 15 July 2010
By 
S. Dinsdale (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escalator (Audio CD)
Yes, many folks will be under the impression that Lemmy's legendary career began in the early '70's with Hawkwind, but here is archeological evidence to the contrary. Here, in this brand new restoration by Esoteric, he appears as vocalist/guitarist accompanying tabla guru Sam Gopal and his merry men in a serious slice of Ladbroke Grove raga-rock. Lemmy is quoted as saying that "I wrote every song on that album in one night on methedrine" although a `night' in Lemmy-land probably lasted anything up to 4 or 5 earth nights.

This is a relatively under-produced and mellow album, and although the instruments are electric the only percussive presence is Gopal himself on tabla. Lemmy himself sings pretty well, and there are many points here that are a precursor of his spot on Hawkwind's `DoReMi' album, `The Watcher', in particular, "You're Alone Now". In fact, there are many hints of Hawkwind to come, although minus the swooping electronics and sax craziness. The tunes are short and sketch like, but are a highly entertaining collection which reflect the hazy days of the London Underground in full bloom.

Apparently Sam Gopal continues to study Tabla to this day, and as for Lemmy...well we all know he ain't stopping any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3d4c144)

This product

Escalator
Escalator by Sam Gopal (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews