Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Sheer beautiful work. The whole album leads from one delicate string and piano piece to another, creating a greatly intricate and powerful story. The percussion element works wonderfully to bring together the whole ensemble. The build up in Gleypa Okkur is stunning, the subtle vocals are a great accompaniment towards the fading strings, this song sets down a great build...
Published on 5 Jun 2010 by J. Harker

versus
10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold as a glacier
I have read this CD to be pop influenced classical. Music that bridges the no man's land between the two. Better to say: music that hovers above the two, because it touches neither. And that is exactly where it goes wrong; it is too static for both, lacking soul and therefore conviction. A spun out piano line here, quivering violins there, yes, of course it sounds...
Published on 9 Sep 2011 by MusicMyLife


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Jun 2010
By 
J. Harker (England, Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
Sheer beautiful work. The whole album leads from one delicate string and piano piece to another, creating a greatly intricate and powerful story. The percussion element works wonderfully to bring together the whole ensemble. The build up in Gleypa Okkur is stunning, the subtle vocals are a great accompaniment towards the fading strings, this song sets down a great build up for Hægt, Kemur Ljósið with its hard hitting layers of strings sailing up scales and reaching a highly anticipated downfall. I recommend this album to anyone. Even if you are not a fan of classical, listen to this now. I love it and cannot stop listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreakingly beautiful, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
I came upon this album by chance and I had never heard of the artist/composer before. I am so glad I found it. It is beautiful. It is somber but at the same time peaceful & uplifting. I now want to go on and buy other albums by Olafur Arnalds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
This was my first journey into Olaf Arnaulds music and what a pleasure it was. If you want 'in your face' stuff this is not for you. It's beautiful, melodic, dark, sombre, emotional!!!!! I could listen to this day after day and never get bored! I've bought several Olaf albums which are really good but none so far exceed the level of sheer beauty, emotion and.....lost for words, of this album. Modern prog rock at it's best but so much more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man is a genius, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
I listen to this, and other Olafur stuff, pretty incessantly, without getting bored. I love it. It is relaxing, yet lifting somehow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cold as a glacier, 9 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
I have read this CD to be pop influenced classical. Music that bridges the no man's land between the two. Better to say: music that hovers above the two, because it touches neither. And that is exactly where it goes wrong; it is too static for both, lacking soul and therefore conviction. A spun out piano line here, quivering violins there, yes, of course it sounds beautiful and, yes, it is soothing. But don't be fooled, is music about that? Only about trying to please? I think it needs to touch the heart. Good music should force one to stop what he is doing and make him or her listen, be it a shepherd playing flute, a punker maltreating his guitar or an orchestra performing a Mahler symphony.
The melodies are based on thin ideas and slow in developing, if there is such a thing as development at all: it is more the repeating of a single idea that leads nowhere, it just fades. Above all: the musicians have never met! Olafur played his piano parts in a workshop in Germany, Tony Levin added bass lines at his U.K. kitchen, and the violinists were recorded in an Icelandic studio - all that music is not about. It should be about emotions, interaction and not be a colouring by numbers. Too many pretensions here, the title and artwork being other ones. And Arnalds' recent efforts to perform this music live in established concert halls is as bad an idea as Enya performing at a death metal festival.
Surely there is a market for this; as said, on first hearing it sounds attractive, thus making it excellent, non-obtrusive background music for in waiting rooms, etc. But not for posterity: the more one listens the more boring it gets. Admittedly another function might be that this music may offer a gateway for some to listen to real classical music - those better try the Kronos Quartet. For those who want to explore the real wasteland between pop and classical I recommend Rachel's and the sublime Max Richter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
The CD was easy to search for and delivery was well within expectations and packaged securely. Difficult to say much more as it is a Christmas present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this cd, 21 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Olafur Arnalds...And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness (Audio CD)
I have a few of Olafur's albums and love them all but think this one may be my favourite so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews