Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars12
3.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2013
Very entertaining and worth seeing, The story is fabulous and the future doesn't look to good for the next generation, It's different to all the shows that I have seen over the last few years. Story about a bully and a town that are afraid of him, plus you have got to have the girl he is after, well that was the in thing with all movies when this was made and its a marvelous classic. Yes plenty of action with a few secrets with the hero but that is for you to find out, I not going to tell you all and spoil it, If you liked Mad Max you'll like this as well but you be the judge. So sit with feet up and relax to a wonderful night of entertainment and enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
I have several of these Roger Corman Cult Classics dvds. This was one of the ones I looked forward to as it has one of my favourites on, Deathsport. Now as on the director's commentary co-director Allan Arkush says this is one of the worst films ever made according to critics and he pretty much agrees with them!

I'm a big David Carradine fan as I grew up watching Kung Fu on it's original tv run, so I pretty much enjoy all his films including this one. I agree it makes no sense and the motorbike scenes go on forever. It's plus points include Claudia Jennings naked (on several occasions), Richard Lynch on big baddie form as always and David Carradine (who apparently was on something for the entire shoot)out acting the other actors. Sword fights, laser battles and nude ladies whats not to like.

The other film in the double bill is Battletruck, which kind of underwhelms, it is 4:3 where as Deathsport is in widescreen. It is a pretty poor quality print and a rather muted colour throughout (Deathsport has some print damage but the colour is great.) I've never liked this much and found it a chore to watch. The Commentary is a hoot with Harley Cockliss name dropping continuously and Jonathon Rigby (who sounds like Roger Moore) using the phrase 'tits up'at one point.

So to sum up, worth getting if you like Carradine and Deathsport.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Not the best Flicks ever made,especially Death Sport which is Frankly Awful but Each comes with A Directors Commentary which is far more entertaining than the Films they cover.Worth it for those alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Warlords of the 21st century is awesome and with this pack you get Death Sport as well. It's win win.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Worth a watch ~ But will never win any prizes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Fantastic post apocalyptic death matches taking place in gladiatorial arenas but with laser motorbikes and clear plastic sword. Also ping pong ball eyed mutants and naked lady's tortured with fairy lights . Oh and loads of explosions get it now it will make you 85% more epic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Weird and wacky
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2006
A couple of Xen-style desert guides take on the evil city overlord and his death machines, in a post apocalypse world.
The heroic rangers fight(just hold actually) with swords of see through plastic against loads of incompetent men on the ultimate weapon - the "death machine".
The death-machines are 25cc motorbikes with a top speed of 4mph mounted with twin pieces of drainpipe. The pipes occasional make a "wi" sound, someone develops a pink aura and vanishes.
The pipe weapon, is also available in a more practical hair-dryer form.
You'd be far better of watching Dr Who or Power Rangers or paint dry.
Definitely the least interesting film I've ever come across.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
Some films are so bad they're good, this film is so bad it's abysmal! If the acting was any more wooden my DVD player would need treated for dry rot. David Carradine looks like a poor mans Chuck Norris, or rather a poor mans poor Chuck Norris, the motorcycles have the power (and sound) of a wet fart, and as for the not so special effects, if the film had been made 10 years earlier they'd still look dated. I've heard of low budget films, but this seems to have been made with the loose change Roger Corman found down the back of his sofa.

I liked Cormans Death Race 2000, it has a quirky appeal which makes repeat viewing quite enjoyable, but this rubbish was a struggle to get through even once. Along with the likes of Stan Helsing and She'll Be Wearing Pink Pyjamas 'Deathsport' should carry a government health warning, even shoplifters should ask for a refund.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2006
I read the book long before I ever saw the film and for what it is worth the book is very good. Sadly with the film it is a case of the book it was based upon being far superior to what was produced. Although the main theme remains the same the acting lets it down badly, that and the special effects which had no hope of replicating the descriptions offered by the book. In short the film was too watered down and lacking in raport with the main characters who were portrayed as being far too two dimensional. Read the book for it is far better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.