Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars He's no Vandross . . .
Seeing as new series this starred Idris Elba (Stringer Bell from The Wire) I thought I'd give this a try and I'm glad I did.

Centering on John Luther (Elba), damaged cop and loose cannon par excellence it was one hell of a ride - violent, provocative, often funny and very clever. We first encounter him pursuing a child molester who he accidentally let fall to a...
Published on 14 Jun. 2010 by tallpete33

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOOFAH
I was drawn to this 6 hour, 6 episode series from the BBC by being familiar with Idris Elba from The Wire and seeing favourable comparisons to other recent surly cop show Justified (Give that a look while you're at it). Those expecting anything in the same vein as The Wire should kibosh that sentiment right now, because if it's realism you're after you're not going to...
Published on 18 Sept. 2010 by P. J. Potter


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LOOFAH, 18 Sept. 2010
By 
P. J. Potter "Phil" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was drawn to this 6 hour, 6 episode series from the BBC by being familiar with Idris Elba from The Wire and seeing favourable comparisons to other recent surly cop show Justified (Give that a look while you're at it). Those expecting anything in the same vein as The Wire should kibosh that sentiment right now, because if it's realism you're after you're not going to find it here. He's playing a cop from the East End who plays by his own rules, doesn't bow to authority and delivers his lines in capital letters. Often finding himself dealing with the extraordinary, verging on the supernatural, near-genius kind of criminals you don't find on Police, Camera, Action and a pervy taxi driver, Luther himself has his own Special Move. He instantly knows who's guilty. "LOOK AT THAT, SHE YORNED, SHE'S NO EMPAFEE. SHE DID IT.", he'll growl instead of finding evidence, then suspects, then guilty parties. Every little helps when you need to fit things into a 60 minute show.

But what of his personal issues you ask? Divorce. His wife's leaving him because he was too into his work. He was so into the dead he was dead himself. Dead to her. Emotionally dead. One of those, perhaps all. But they're still on speaking terms even after Luther smashes up her living room door once she's found someone else. Mild, mannered white boy Mark North. Luther would deal with it himself but then he'd have to get `Loose Cannon' tattooed on his abs and give the game away.

After the pilot Luther finds himself linked with Alice Morgan, the pilot's antagonist who smoked her dog, and her family. We can tell she's pure evil because she's got fine set of pointy eyebrows and she admits to enjoying sex, the big skank. She proves a help and a hinderance for Luther, whispering bad ideas into his ear like a devil on his shoulder to help he catch some London based Dexter knock offs (Episode #3) or people guilty of embarrassing and completely out of place American accents (#5), all whilst tormenting him with sexual advances and meddling in his affairs with his ex-wife.

Similar set-up for the first 5 out of the 6 episodes, Police procedurals - Luther style, so it's a cop show first and foremost, rather than a deep character study. Even with a second season surely on the horizon I doubt they'll be showing Luther's day off and what he does down in Brighton for the day. The final isn't really a break from the norm, just a moving of the goal posts as Luther finds the tables turned on him with the fuzz on his tail because they found this little thing known as EVIDENCE.

Dark in tone yet slick on the visuals, bad guys don't always get blown to pieces, some don't even get justice and the innocents might get it in the neck. It's Luther World. It happens.

Not always sure of itself, and taking some silly missteps a few times, but that's par for the course on a shows first season. However, it is distinctive and stands out from the ever increasing crowd of Crime fiction of TV and celluloid. Worth a watch.

Episodes #1,#2, #4 were the best if you feel like a trial download.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly intense, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Gripping from start to finish. Complex and engaging characters, great plot and even like the title music. Very atmospheric tv which left me wanting more so I am just about to order series 2. Glad I waited for the dvd as watching them back to back heightened the intensity. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and gripping., 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Like many of the other reviews, I love Luther and all characters in this detective series. Very highly recommended ! ( No commercial breaks- what bliss ) ! I have just ordered the second Luther series. Very prompt delivery service from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Excellent, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
M. Wusche "NicWoosh" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellently written, directed and acted series. Idris is brilliant as the lead in this crime thriller. Would have loved more series so fingers crossed for the future. Probably not for the faint hearted as very gritty. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Amazon customer (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Highly recommend this show. Very gritty and dark at times, still surprises me that it came from the BBC. Idris Elba nails the role. Will be the kind of show that you will get through a whole series in a day/weekend, very compulsive viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Luther series 1, 8 Aug. 2013
By 
David (LEESBURG, VIRGINIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The acting is really top notch and I just really enjoy UK crime series, so for me I would recommend this series. But it's only my biased opinion, but I don't think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther not Dross, 6 Nov. 2013
By 
Alan Ross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Watched series 3 first on telly and thought it was a new series. Found out we had missed two and ordered them. Bit violent but good strong characters and storyline. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars actors, 31 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Seen it on tv when it was on tv while ago now,im just filing now,bare,or is it bear with me and you can read my brill review in time.OK... great show...great price dvd....win win
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Luther, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant series. Look forward to next . Difficult not to enjoy episode after episode with box set facility. Not sure reserving family enjoyed me taking over the tv !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Luther - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I could go on about the great acting and brilliant dialogue and storyline and characters, but I'd much rather you just trusted me and bought it.

Seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Luther - Series 1 [DVD]
Luther - Series 1 [DVD] by Brian Kirk (DVD - 2010)
£3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews