Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars indescribably brilliant
Series 1 was pure TV heaven. Pathos, bittersweet, gags, death, cake-dilemmas and consultants up their own jacksies. WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE? You cannot watch this just once - you have to watch it again and again. Series 2 turned out not to disappoint. The relationship between Den and Marion was so funny but so painful to watch, Dr Pippa was true to perfection and Kim, the...
Published on 16 Jun. 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Getting off.
Whilst there are some funny moments, within the two series, with series one being far more humorous than two, I did feel it became very samey and rather tedious. I also feel Ricky Grover is superfluous to requirements and adds little to the overall texture of the shows.

Jo Brand and the rest of the cast are excellent and the characters are extremely amusing,...
Published on 31 Oct. 2012 by Noon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars indescribably brilliant, 16 Jun. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "hamble" (somewhere in west europe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Series 1 was pure TV heaven. Pathos, bittersweet, gags, death, cake-dilemmas and consultants up their own jacksies. WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE? You cannot watch this just once - you have to watch it again and again. Series 2 turned out not to disappoint. The relationship between Den and Marion was so funny but so painful to watch, Dr Pippa was true to perfection and Kim, the donkey, was also absolutely spot on. Other parts, including the patients, the various trainee doctors and student nurse, were all perfectly cast.

Perfect writing/improvisation, direction, editing, even theme music.

We want more, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 28 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Although the subject matter is viewed by many as depressing i e treatment of patients in a NHS hospital, as someone who has worked in this environment, I am impessed by the authenticity of the set as well as the consistently high standard of acting. In addition to providing the occasion for wry amusement, the series serves a useful role in drawing to the attention of the general public issues that are glossed over by mendacious bureaucrats - the rapier of wit as opposed to the bludgeon of scorn - not laugh aloud but insightful and pertinent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting on D.V.D., 10 Feb. 2011
By 
Nichola (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
VERY funny series. For anyone with any experience of hospitals and the internal workings and dynamics of the medical/Nursing fraternity this is a hilarious account. Black humour at its best!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't know if I should laugh or cry, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
If you've ever visited someone in a NHS hospital you will be able to relate. If you've ever had to stay in one as an employee or patient--you can sympathize. At times the show is disturbing but it's darkly comic.

The cast is perfect. You know it's good acting because their characters seem to come so natural and easy for them.
Jo Brand is great and you want cheer her on.

I can't wait to see what happens now that Series 3 is to be broadcast later this year because there's enough subplots going on to provide adequate cliff hangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh 'til you cry!, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
"Getting On" is the funniest show I have ever seen! You just don't see humor like that on TV anymore. It's over the top, yet true to life, especially if you're in the medical field. The writing and the acting is excellent! I truly laughed until I cried. I can't wait for series 3 and I can't say enough about this amazing show! If you are thinking about buying it, don't hesitate........do it now! You won't be sorry! I'd give it ten stars if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Like 15 Storeys High, this completely slipped past me originally, but I was fortunate enough to catch a repeat. Brilliant. Dark, sarcastic, very funny and probably worryingy accurate. Thoroughly worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sums up the NHS, 22 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really great DVD which at times sums up the more ridiculous procedures and antics that our NHS has to offer. The "plop- plop" scene in the very first episode will have you wetting yourself or maybe more. The humour is as dry as the Sahara, but brill. Jo Brand is superb along with the rest of the cast. I reckon I have a Consultant similar to that in the series (The one that I am under at the hospital is also full of his own self importance, doesn't listen to anyone and would eat himself if he were chocolate - Any Nurses reading this have also someone in mid that this description fits). This DVD is well worth the money if you need a good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
What a shame they didn't make anymore. Love Jo Brand's humour so was recomended this by my husband and he was right. It's brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant, 12 April 2011
By 
CH Ryan "crisi" (Adelaide, South Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
How did they get this so right? The writing, the characters, the situations, the actors - all perfect. The tone of this show is amazing and unique. There is nothing to compare. It's just so good.
Now would someone please release Posh Nosh on DVD?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and sick - Laughed till Cried, 4 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
So real and apparently absurd its almost not funny! Bot oh my god this is hilarious, second only (and not by much) to In The Thick of It. For someone who works in the public service in Health and Disability services this is alarmingly accurate and hair raisingly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Getting On - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD]
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews