Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Gem
I found series 1 of Beautiful People on BBC2 purely by accident and absolutely fell in love with it. Then I heard a second series was being made and did wonder whether it really would be as good as the first - well it is one of those rare things where the follow up is far superior than the original. Of the two lead characters it is Kylie who has developed and evolved far...
Published on 19 Dec 2009 by A. S. Lodge

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camp, fun, yes, but still...
After the first season/serie, the surprise is over. And what we got is a fun retooling of serie 1. Very camp and filled with reminiscences of the 90's, it's over the top on a regular basis, but it's mostly hits and misses. Definitely not as funny as the first serie - but was it intended to be?
Dana International is a hoot!
But the most depressing is this Blu Ray...
Published on 14 Jun 2011 by Francis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hidden Gem, 19 Dec 2009
By 
A. S. Lodge "simon" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I found series 1 of Beautiful People on BBC2 purely by accident and absolutely fell in love with it. Then I heard a second series was being made and did wonder whether it really would be as good as the first - well it is one of those rare things where the follow up is far superior than the original. Of the two lead characters it is Kylie who has developed and evolved far more than Simon. He deals with homophobic and domestic abuse with a determination that shows just what a strong character he is whereas in Simon World life is far more self centred. That said, both characters are totally believable and ones which I can certainly relate to when I was their age.

In series 2 the writing is sharper, wittier with totally tremendous campery and elements of pathos - the original make you laugh and make you cry syndrome all rolled in to one. More is made of the supporting roles in series 2 and that just adds to the variety. The acting is again totally superb.

This is a real gem for BBC2 and I'm surprised it wasn't aired on BBC3. Watch it, love it, enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Body Pop - 'til you drop....Don't stop!", 14 Jun 2010
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The second series continues in much the same format as the first. We see a present day Simon Doonan reminiscing about an object in his possession, and then we flash back to the mid-nineties where we get to see the teenage Simon and the story surrounding its acquisition.

There is a distinct change to the series though, it's not as laugh-out-loud funny as the first series - it has more serious moments and is sometimes quite dark. It certainly doesn't suffer for this though, it makes the characters even more believable and you empathise with them throughout each and every episode. Despite the more austere parts, The Beautiful People crams in zany scenes and plenty of abstract irreverence, it's also important to note that the series is *still* hilarious and delivers more laughs per episode than many full series!

Simon is now a little older and a little wiser. He isn't quite as nave as he was in the last series and it's clear that he's beginning to understand his sexuality. His best friend and neighbour Kylie is gloriously camp and there are moments of glamour when the set bursts into song a-la stage musical, there's even an appearance by Elaine Paige. The two journey through school and the bullying which was briefly touched on in the first series is now more prevalent in Simon's life and the subject is dealt with using sensitivity and humour. The same can be said for the history behind Kylie and mum's move to Reading which involves a gritty tale of domestic violence.

The present day Simon gets more screentime in the second series and instead of merely narrating events, he gets his own distinct plotline which spans all six episodes and sees him eventually find the Beautiful People he always wanted to live with. He doesn't have to travel far to find them.

Throughout the episodes we are treated to some excellent comedy, and the final episode is absolutely brilliant. It resolves issues raised in the series and I actually felt quite emotional as certain plotlines reach a natural conclusion. All the performances are solid but Olivia Coleman is especially fantastic as Simon's mother - the role allows her to flex her acting muscles and show us how great an actress she really is. The final episode really does feel final, I don't think they'll make another series of this which is a shame as it was such a great show - but on the other hand, loose ends are tied up neatly and because of the way the show works we know how Simon turns out in the end.

In a nutshell: The creators of the series should be rightly proud of The Beautiful People - they've produced a show which manages to show some of the most camp and outlandish situations on television and still make it feel as though it could be happening in the house next door. The series' strength lies in its ability bring both the real and the surreal to the screen with affection and humour, it's evident that the writers have a great fondness for the characters they are dealing with - and that's something I shared with them whilst watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful People is CAMP-TASTIC!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
J. Hayes "Joe Joe" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first heard about Beautiful People whilst watching a chat show where they were interviewing Meera Syal, who was talking abount an upcoming episode (How I Got My Water Feature), and they showed a clip of it. I instantly fell in love with it. It is so funny. The acting is superb, and the story lines are amazing!
I have only seen series two at the moment, but from what I've heard, it's great.

It is definately one of the BBC's best comedies for years. This DVD contains all episodes from series two, and there are some good ones on here. The last episode is really touching, and I really related to it.

Role on series three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Camp, fun, yes, but still..., 14 Jun 2011
By 
Francis (Brosville, Normandie) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beautiful People - Series 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
After the first season/serie, the surprise is over. And what we got is a fun retooling of serie 1. Very camp and filled with reminiscences of the 90's, it's over the top on a regular basis, but it's mostly hits and misses. Definitely not as funny as the first serie - but was it intended to be?
Dana International is a hoot!
But the most depressing is this Blu Ray edition. No extras, a peculiar 2.0 soundtrack - doesn't enjoy all this format has to offer . At least a 5.1 DTS HD MA lossless soundtrack would have been a blast regarding all the songs and music we hear along the 6 episodes. I was kinda disappointed by this edition and should have bought the dvd instead. The video quality is above average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUMMIT CAMP, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Joyous return of one of television's most witty, inventive, outrageous delights.

Dumped by his boyfriend, Simon is no longer a window-dresser in New York but back in Reading with his family - they appreciated more now than when he was fourteen. Prized possessions again prompt memories of that teenage angst - for viewers almost nonstop laughter guaranteed.

Best friend remains Kylie, they to practise dance routines in the playground - Simon labelled "freak" not because of that but because, unique in the school, his parents are married. Actually they are not - they pushing their luck a bit when the wedding photograph produced as "proof" has their faces superimposed over those of Charles and Diana. (Flash to Simon plaintively clutching the banister bars and singing "Where is love?" from "Oliver!".)

This is just the start. Prepare for a rich succession of hilarious surreal moments (not to mention a very dark sequence featuring Kylie and his brutal father). Song and dance routines abound (guest stars include Elaine Paige and Dannii Minogue), sometimes the whole family involved - mum, dad, heavily pregnant sixteen year old sister Ashlene, blind Aunty Hayley.

Throughout, there is much to savour - not least, Simon and Kylie's secret Saturday job in a boutique. This abruptly comes to an end when Aunt Hayley not only enters to be measured for a bra but also mistakes the shop window for a dressing room. With so many jokes, several are bound to be missed first time round (title of the song played by the musical toilet seat; name of the church - "Our Lady's By The Zebra Crossing", etc.). Somehow interwoven are the European Song Contest and the Turner Prize (Simon witheringly informing the family it is NOT named after Tina but Anthea).

Sadly there are only five episodes (the running time quoted on the cover is inaccurate) and no extras. Five stars are still justified. The show is in a class of its own - totally uplifting with a talented cast, vivid imagination and wonderful script.

Thank you, Amazon reviewers, for alerting me - I one of the many who would otherwise have missed a very real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful People 2 is truly fabulous, 7 Feb 2010
By 
D. S. Thomson (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Series 2 of "Beautiful People" takes the viewer on another glorious romp with the outrageous residents of Melody Crescent, Reading, in the late 1990s.

It is a wonderful and crazy successor to Series 1 and is jam-packed with an array of characters who push Simon and Kylie's lives to new heights of fabulosity.

Tight direction, the sharpest of scripts and amazing performances from the regular cast, as well as glittering cameos from Elaine Paige, Dana International and Dannii Monogue, make for billiant entertainment.

Aside from being hysterically funny, "Beautiful People" carries an affirming message for all the "artistic" boys in the world - and their families. It really is a beautiful show and I just hope there will be a Series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Close to Home for Some?, 19 Dec 2009
By 
K. Allen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having Series 2 as well as No 1 will be a New Year's treat.
Is there anyone else on here who empathises with Simon? Amongst all the zany romping about, the final episode of Series 2 tugged the heartstrings as he meets a gay boy at school and comes to terms with himself. The show has been more than a camp-fest, for me at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB!!! (period), 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great show! absolutely MUST WATCH! price is incredibly low and delivery was so fast!!! the only bad thing about this show is that it doesn't have enough episodes... get on with it make some mooooore!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 28 Jun 2010
By 
G. Price "London Lad" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the funniest comedy I've seen in years! Loved both series, wish they would make a third series but the boys are probably too grown up now! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still beautiful, 19 Feb 2010
By 
Series 2 is more slapstick than the first series. There are also some dark scenes. These aspects don't harm the series. They just make it different. As in the first series, the episodes are rather uneven. Having said all that, it is still a very enjoyable show. It was interesting to see the young boys a year later (in real life). The whole cast is wonderfully talented. If they can maintain the quality of the show, I'd really look forward to a 3rd Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beautiful People - Series 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Beautiful People - Series 2 [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Samuel Barnett (Blu-ray - 2010)
11.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews