Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable...., 22 May 2009
By 
D. L. Young "young Danny" (York, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Welcome to the Cruise (Audio CD)
This is an album of wonder and the brilliance of the musicianship on offer here combines beautifully with Judie Tzuke's remarkable vocals. I can think of no other album that makes such an indelible and immediate impression within seconds of hearing the opening title track. Sublime guitar work gradually combine with beautiful orchestral work that creates the sense of drama comparable with a plane leaving a runway with Judie's vocals providing lift off. There is probably no great secret to the greatness of this album; Judie just happens to be a great singer and on this particular album all of the added ingredients of great playing and songwriting are evident. She could in fact probably sing a Kaiser Chiefs song and make it sound beautiful.

Very much of it's time and a very 'english' sounding album each song remains lodged in the memory once this album has received due attention from its listener. It's a diverse collection of songs each featuring a range of styles and influences from the wonderful sherbet fountain synthesisers on 'Sukarita'to the latin rythmns of 'Southern Smiles'. But above all try listening to 'Stay With Me Till Dawn' with the lights down low and a beautiful view out of the window, this being an incredibly soothing experience; a kind of musical reiki. Probably difficult to obtain these days this album is for the music lover the equivalent of an obscure warbler for the ornithological twitcher; all the more rewarding for it's elusiveness.
Young Danny, York, Uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost Gem, 3 May 2010
This review is from: Welcome To The Cruise (Audio CD)
Memorable songs, lovely voice - a gem of an album which has been hard to find legally for a long time. Well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Discovery, 25 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Back in the late seventies, two songs caught my ear, "For You" and "Stay With Me Till Dawn". Both are included on this re issued album. Judie Tzuke is not a name that will come straigth to the front of your mind when you think back to the era that brought us disco, new wave and punk, but for those who have a deep appreciation of their music this is one album you will want in your collection. I must admit, when I first heard it, all those years ago, it took a time for me to get into it. But now, some 30 years on, it is still as enticing as ever. Her unusual voice is the first thing you notice when listening to this album. The complexity of some of the songs is another thing. "For You", sung without any musical accompaniment just shows the sheer brilliance of her voice. Then there is the emotion and evokotive power of 2Stay With Me Till Dawn". All in all, this is one of those albums that deserves to be heard by a new audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much To Listen To, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: Welcome to the Cruise (Audio CD)
A truly remarkable debut album that even now, 30+ years on, still sounds fresh, warm and inviting. A lot of tracks have been mentioned in reviews already, namely the famous tracks like Stay With Me Till Dawn and For You, plus the brilliantly arranged and performed title track, but for me the two stand out tracks are Ladies Night and Bring the Rains. Any modern day ballad singer would be proud of these, and cover versions released would storm the charts. And yet here they dwell, in the uncharted backwaters of a near forgotten masterpiece of an album from 1979. Let the whole album just wash over you. I had the pleasure of working with Judie in 1990 on a show, and she was just a delightful person, shy, retiring, awkward in company almost, and yet on stage or on record she comes alive, with that soaring beautiful voice. Ah, memories...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 18-? not out, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. A. G. Bungay "Bossa Lopsida" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Judie, now a granny I believe, was on BBC Radio 4 a few months ago. She is as you'd expect from this material pretty phlegmatic about being the soundtrack to countless early relationships. Fondly remembered sentiment aside, the blend she makes between her voice and Paul Buckmaster's fine arrangements (Ray Warleigh also features on sax and woodwinds, Mike Paxman on understated guitar leads) make this musically a bit special. It's also beautifully engineered.'Stay With Me Till dawn' is the deservedly iconic track, but ther string quartet on'For You' is lovely , as is everything else. JT is still writing I'm pleased to discover, and its quite instructive to compare the tlc of this production with some of todays' divas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the UKs most under rated and undersold artists: A hidden Gem., 14 April 2012
This review is from: Welcome To The Cruise (Audio CD)
When I bought this album it was more or less an impulse buy, based on the hope that having heard "Stay With Me 'Till Dawn" on an oldies station a while back (unbelievably, Judie's only song ever to chart), that if the album had even one other song of the same serene beauty then it would be worth owning. Sometimes you just have to go with your hunches, and in this case I can happily say it paid off, many times over.

This album, her debut from 1979, is a recording of consistent excellence and loveliness. Judie's voice is a pure, sweet and melodious wonder, and the song writing is almost entirely brilliant. Stay With Me Till Dawn may be her bast known track but it's by no means all this album has to offer.
The album kicks off with a belter of a track, "Welcome To The Cruise" - a mid tempo soft rock ballad layered thick with rich vocal harmonies, sweeping strings and a brilliant air guitar solo in the bridge that really lifts you up in spirits.
Next up is "Sukarita", a little more upbeat and electronica influenced, full of screaming synth and heavily compressed piano. Very lively and very catchy.
Track 3 is a step into anther, more ethereal world: "For You" is a largely a capella track but with 5 track harmonised vocal layers singing 3 different verses in time with each other with a short violin bridge in the middle. On paper that sounds like it should clash horribly, but the result is exquisite. One thing becomes clear after just the first few tracks: Judie isn't just a great voice. She is an innovative, competent and talented musician and song writer too. She is a master of vocal harmony and really understands melody and how to musically arrange things for the best sound.
Track 4, "These Are The Laws" is another musically interesting piece. Starting off as a rock-pop track with a strolling rhythm and strumming bass line, which transforms its self into a Sister Sledge-esque late 70's disco track.
Track 5 "Bring the Rain" is a slow, deep, elegant piano and sweeping strings based ballad in which Judie laments "seems what ever I do, I do to the extreme. I wish I could do something right, and fit in, in between." It contrasts beautifully with the proceeding track and the following "Southern Smiles" which is light pop entertainment with a "club tropicana" sound to it.
"Ladies Night" is another corker. A deep heartfelt ballad about Judie's pain at being repeatedly stood up by a supposed lover and the shame of the ensuing emotional breakdown which she tries to hide from her friends.
"Fools, they thought I was alright. They couldn't see that I was dying inside. Fools, please don't turn on the light, I can't bare to see their faces, when they see me fall to pieces" she wails softly over a chiming piano and quiet guitars.
In honesty there isn't a bad song on the album, but some do touch deeper than others depending on what your tastes are, and what mood you're in.
It's tricky to catagorise her because her sound is very much her own. But think Kate Bush's innovation mixed with a bit of Elton John's arrangement and writing excellence and a dash of Dusty Springfield's warm, soft, velvety voice and you'd be on the right track.
I now place this album firmly in my top 10 of all time favorites.
In fact by listening to this album just a few times over I had only one question: How did this manage to avoid being a huge hit and turning Judie Tzuke a household name?
Maybe the promotion was bad, or the timing of the release...I have no idea. But based purely on talent, both vocal, written and technical she should have been huge.
However, happily, although mainstream success may have continued to avoid her (or her to have chosen to avoid it) she didn't stop recording, and this piece is only the first in a fine discography of over a dozen albums.
She is still recording and touring on a small scale and while her vocal tone and musical direction have changed with time, she most certainly still has it!
So go on, introduce yourself to Judie Tzuke, one of the UK's best kept secrets in music. You will be so glad you did, I just know it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting mixture of rock and pop with orchestral arrangements, 3 May 2009
By 
Miss J. M. Austin (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had forgotten what a brilliant album this was until I discovered it in my collection gathering dust and put it on the even dustier turntable. The album is an interesting mixture of rock and pop music with beautiful orchestral arrangements and Tzuke's falsetto voice. It is difficult to pick favourites, as each song is different and has its own merits, but if I had to choose one I would say "For You", which is beautiful in its simplicity - not many modern artists would be able to sing with just a string section.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cd, really enjoy all the tracks, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Cruise (Audio CD)
Only purchased this for the track that I knew, but there are several that I remember now I have played it and all the tracks are good, I haven't taken it out of the machine yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Album, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Welcome To The Cruise (Audio CD)
I bought this album on vinyl back in 1979 and loved it then. When I moved over to CDs in the early 90's this album was not available on CD and slipped off my radar as it was not released until 2002. Recently I heard "Stay with me til Dawn" on the radio and decided to look for the CD on Amazon. This is a great CD with a fantastic range of songs from "For you" (which is a multi tracked A cappella by JT with partial accompaniment by string quartet) to straight pop but with great lyrics. Since listening to this again I cannot get the tunes out of my head. My only regret is that I did not buy this ages ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CRUISE, 28 Oct 2014
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Welcome To The Cruise (Audio CD)
I never rated the cover to this album, but I have always loved the music!

What makes this shine is the high quality of the production and the fabulous session musicians, including bassist Mo Foster. Judie's vocals simply soar over the musical accompaniment!

When you listen to this next to 'Sportscar' or Phoenix', you realise just how accomplished the music is.

Lovely album - beautiful songs and of course that one hit (why only one we will never know!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Welcome To The Cruise
Welcome To The Cruise by Judie Tzuke (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews