Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSE7 Classroom in a book
Excellent tutorial and reference book covering organiser as well as editing. 370 pages of detailed info from first time user quickly to much more advanced editing using layers, colour tints, stitching, removing unwanted parts of a scene (or adding them). I think this book will be my bible for PSE7 for some years to come. Print quality of the book is first rate with many...
Published on 18 April 2009 by Ian Baker

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction
First of all, it's a very well written book with examples that are easy to follow. Just a point I'd like to make that if you're looking for a book to get lots of insight on advanced editing, this is not it. It's a bit shallow in that department, and focuses (for me me too much) on things like getting pictures on your disk, sharing with other people, making a slideshow...
Published on 23 May 2009 by M. Rijnbeek


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSE7 Classroom in a book, 18 April 2009
By 
Ian Baker (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent tutorial and reference book covering organiser as well as editing. 370 pages of detailed info from first time user quickly to much more advanced editing using layers, colour tints, stitching, removing unwanted parts of a scene (or adding them). I think this book will be my bible for PSE7 for some years to come. Print quality of the book is first rate with many many screen shots to show you what the procedures are all about - all in full colour of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Introductory Lessons Only, 30 July 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Burntisland, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you plan to use Elements 7 to primarily upload and organise your photos, and maybe do some very basic editing like making Christmas cards and fixing red-eye, then this is the book for you. Three chapters on organising and tagging, a whole chapter on adding text to photos, a chapter on cards and calendars, etc.

If, however, you have bought Elements 7 with the intention of using it as the powerful digital darkroom tool it is, then this book is definitely not for you. It touches on RAW, histograms and layers but in a clunky and frankly dull manner.

By contrast, I bought a magazine called Photoshop Made Easy (produced by the guys at Digital Photo magazine) in WH Smith for 10 and learnt more in half an hour than in days of working with Classroom In A Book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 23 May 2009
By 
First of all, it's a very well written book with examples that are easy to follow. Just a point I'd like to make that if you're looking for a book to get lots of insight on advanced editing, this is not it. It's a bit shallow in that department, and focuses (for me me too much) on things like getting pictures on your disk, sharing with other people, making a slideshow yadiya.
After reading the book I had the feeling there were still a lot of things about editing pictures left untold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not representative of Photoshop Elements7, 14 Jun 2009
By 
Bought this together with Photoshop Elements7 (the product), started to read to get a feel for the product, it almost made me want to cancel the order!! OVER HALF of the book is painfully devoted to ORGANISING photos into pretty little files...I thought Photoshop was really all about editing your photos?!! OK, I agree the modern way of displaying them is probably to put them on the web in some form, BUT FIRST YOU HAVE TO MAKE THEM AS PRESENTABLE (photographically) AS POSSIBLE! This part of the book is at the end? Followed a few of the tutorials, which were easy(ish) to follow and helpful, but in actual fact there is not enough information contained within the book (nearly 400 pages) about the many tasks Photoshop can perform! Not having read any other books on the subject I'm looking into buying another, but I still don't think I will be changing my mind on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful Elements., 19 Mar 2009
By 
F. McQueen (Earlston, Berwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Classroom in a Book was exceptional value. It is both clear and simple to understand the lessons. If you have Elements 7, I would thoroughly recommend the Classroom to help you use all the features. Amazon delivered within 24 hours of ordering - exceptional!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars photoshop elements 7 class room, 4 May 2009
a must for every with a camera,just what I was looking for, speedy delivery, many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars adobe elements 7 classroom in a book, 6 July 2009
By 
G. N. Farnell (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
haveing purchased the latest elements 7 (upgrade) i had to buy a book to compliment it, i actually bought several as i believe if you want to know a product and wish to use it to its full capacity you will need to do the same, the books are not perticulary expencive so give one or more a try, the first i bought to go alone with the program was adobe elements seven, classroom in a book, its made by adobe and is just the ticket it delivers exactly what you require and more, for the basic needs to get to grips with the program i also bought adobe photoshop elements 7 user guide also made by adobe the former being a little more advanced than the basic but covers most aspects that i requiered then i bought phillip andrews advanced photoshop elements seven for digital photographers and found this to cover more in depth there are plenty more out there too thats worth getting my hands on and will make more purchases soon, but the classroom in a book is very detailed and delivers exactly what it says, a classroom course on the basics and more advanced aspects but not too demanding and as such can bring the power of the program to your finger tips leaving just your imagination to finish the photos as you require, first class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Only half the story!, 29 Jun 2011
By 
D. Arrowsmith "David Arrowsmith" (Coventry UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There is nothing in this book about correcting barrel and/or pincushion distortion and nothing about correcting vignetting either, some of the main things digital photographers need an image manipulation programme for. As other reviewers have pointed out this book is mainly concerned with organising images into albums and stacks and as most people have their images in folders already I really don't see the point. I don't think it is well written and it is certainly not comprehensive as a guide to the programme. "Classroom in a Book"? An elementary class maybe but no more than that. People would be a lot better off with the Scott Kelby book. I can not recommend this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book fo Photoshop 7, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Dugald MacColl (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Learn to fully use your Photoshop 7 with this book. The book is full of easy to follow instructions for each of the tools available with Photoshop 7 software which is bought separately. It will never be far from reach whenever I am organising or editing my photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adobe Photoshop 7 manual, 6 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Recommend you buy an accompanying manual with the "full" software program.
This manual will cover all current user topics even as the software produces new editions regularly which only "tweak" the same platform.
You do not need to buy the latest manual with each new version of Photoshop.
The difference is hardly worth the cost except for the professional studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adobe Photoshop Elements 7 Classroom in a Book
24.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews