Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Enlightening.
How sad that this very fine war film has been so neglected. To such an extent that it was one of only a handful of films that MGM did not even bother to renew their original copyright, allowing it to fall into the public domain, where there have been many inferior DVDs produced that the unwary buyer should beware of. The film tells the very worthy story of the 442nd...
Published on 8 Aug 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unwatchable
Dreadful. I didn't even get to the end. Note the disclaimer on the cover that the photo may bear no resemblance whatsoever so the actual film.
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Biscuit D


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and Enlightening., 8 Aug 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
How sad that this very fine war film has been so neglected. To such an extent that it was one of only a handful of films that MGM did not even bother to renew their original copyright, allowing it to fall into the public domain, where there have been many inferior DVDs produced that the unwary buyer should beware of. The film tells the very worthy story of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team, which was made up of "Nisei", being second generation Americans of Japanese descent. This unit fought bravely in Italy and France during the Second World War. The unit incredibly became the most decorated for its size and length of service in the US Army. In picking up these honours, they also suffered one of the highest casualty rates of any unit. Now this is a story worth telling! These are facts that should be much better known, and full credit to writer/Director Robert Pirosh who tells this story in an unsentimental and factual way, even using many of the unit veterans as actors in the film.

In the film Van Johnson plays a bigoted newly commisioned Texan Officer assigned to the 442nd. We follow the unit through training where Johnson makes himself unpopular with the men with his racist attitude and condascending manner. But when the unit are posted to Italy and front line action, he begins to revise his opinion. Eventually he even gets into a fistfight over racist remarks made by another officer toward his men. The unit also begins to revise their opinions of their officer. The final action culminates in a very realistic reenactment of the units rescue of the 36th, Lost Battalion, at Epenal, near Bruyeres in France, where many of the 442nd who didn't make it back are buried.

My first impressions of this film after watching it was just how remarkably convincing it was. The racism and bigotry directed against these soldiers was not avoided. The soldiers banter seemed real. Although I do not pretend to be an expert, the equipment and tactics seemed accurate. It was also good to see such attention to detail as highlighting the distinction between Nisei from Hawaii, and those from the mainland who were culturally different. I was also very pleased to see the actual archive footage of General Mark Clark and President Truman presenting the Unit citation in Washington. This is a remarkable story that deserved telling. These men often fought knowing that their families were interned at home. Now that was a tough cross to carry, but one that they carried with distinction. The movie not only entertained me, but it also enlightened me. Okay they did not have the benefit of the special effects that modern films like "Saving Private Ryan" have at their disposal, but then that film could not boast having the actual veterans of that conflict on board, as did the admirable "Go For Broke". Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most decorated unit in World War II, 6 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is about the U.S. 442nd Regimental Combat Team during World War II. We follow the unit from its formation in 1943, through boot camp and finally to the battlefields of Italy and France.

It is a good war film typical of those filmed of the time. The one difference is, this unit was formed of Japanese-Americans. The soldiers were volunteers, and many had their family placed into internment camps by the U.S. Govt. The movie does not only a good job of depicting their heroism in war and the face discrimination in their own country. But also how the individual soldiers dealt with their families being interred. They fought not just for America and the liberation of Europe, but for family honor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars go for broke, 26 Sep 2011
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
a really good action film.well worth watching with a good story line.one of VAN JOHNSONS better movies.light hearted plenty of action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film to be brilliant, just awesome, plenty of action and less talking recommend it to anyone just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars typical war fiolm of it's day, 11 May 2013
By 
Russell Fisher "Russ. Fisher" (Nuneaton England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
I remember Van Johnson (with all his freckels) he was in a time I grew up.
It's a good war film I enjoyed, several toimes over the years.
If you want a night in & watch a film, just sit back & enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
Great enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD review., 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
Good war film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
EXCELLENT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars go for broke, 18 Aug 2010
By 
Pietro M. Fugaccia "anzio1944" (glasgow,scotland,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
excellent war film,based on actual facts quite enjoyable well worth a night in for ww2 enthusiasts well written, van johnston gives a good performance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unwatchable, 27 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Go For Broke [DVD] (DVD)
Dreadful. I didn't even get to the end. Note the disclaimer on the cover that the photo may bear no resemblance whatsoever so the actual film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Go For Broke [DVD]
Go For Broke [DVD] by Van Johnson (DVD - 2007)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews