Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See this movie
This film is hilarious. If you enjoyed Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby then you will love this film. It's childish, purile and side splittingly funny. The chemistry between Will Ferrell and John C Reilly is obvious and you only have to watch the extras to realise they love working together. Don't even waste your money getting the standard copy, YOU NEED...
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by P. Bucknall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, but cut to shreads!!!!
Hello, i brought this dvd after watching the film on Sky and loved it. however, when watching the dvd version i noticed that alot of the funny parts had been cut out. If i had known this i would not have purchased it at all. The parts that were cut-out were not even crude or sexual in any way.... On a whole this is a very funny movie!!
Published on 7 May 2010 by Mr. J. Semmens


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See this movie, 30 Aug 2009
By 
P. Bucknall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is hilarious. If you enjoyed Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby then you will love this film. It's childish, purile and side splittingly funny. The chemistry between Will Ferrell and John C Reilly is obvious and you only have to watch the extras to realise they love working together. Don't even waste your money getting the standard copy, YOU NEED the extended version. Loads more extras, loads more laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Sticks and stones may break my bones, but I will kick you repeatedly in the balls.", 16 Feb 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Robert and Nancy fall in love, move in together, and get married - it should be the fairytale romance for a couple who are nearing retirement and plan on selling up and living the dream - sailing around the world. Unfortunately though there are a couple of obstacles in the way, their children...

...Brennan and Dale may act like a couple of 11 year old squabbling kids, but they're middle aged men. Much of the comedy in this film comes from seeing two grown ups acting like children and it's not just the childish actions but often the subtle expressions on their faces or the way they get excited about things ("can we turn our beds into bunk beds?!"). Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly are brilliantly cast as the two warring step brothers, their over-the-top performances don't appear over-acted, instead they really do look like adults who failed to grow up!

This film has a very simple plot and could quite easily have just been a series of funny moments held together by a flimsy story, but the characterisations work well and there's a consistency of quality throughout (apart from one or two scenes where a joke gets over-milked, such as the momentum halting sleep walking scenes). The film has a few moments of cringe-worthy comedy and some pretty debased humour - and it works well because the film doesn't rely on it in the same way that movies such as American Pie tend to do so, here they exist within the film rather than define it. Many reviews on here have criticised the bad language in Step Brothers, maybe it's just because the swearing stands out when it's alongside childish behaviour - but for me it wasn't an issue and for a 15 rated film I don't think it's so bad, in fact it wasn't an issue to me at all and in many places it was pretty funny.

This Blu-Ray release isn't going to blow you away visually but it looks good and comes with some good bonus features including the full length `promotional music video' "Boats n Hoes". The team behind this film have a great time creating it and the gag reel enables you to join in some of the fun as the actors corpse or purposefully sabotage another actors lines. This is a film with a lot of improvisation and the `Line-O-Rama' featurette shows many of the lines which didn't make it into the final cut, and just because they weren't used doesn't mean they weren't funny! There are also a couple of daft short films which are worthy of a watch. There are two versions of the film on the disk, the theatrical release and an extended version

In a nutshell: A formulaic and predictable film which in most cases would struggle to even be average - but great performances by all involved ensure that the film gets away with fart jokes by ensuring that those aren't all it offers. Step Brothers is not constructed around a few great scenes with the rest filling time until the end credits, it delivers laughs regularly. If you fancy a daft comedy then you can't go far wrong with this, the overall package is great with some fantastic Blu-Ray extras which extends the comedy beyond the main feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DON'T MISS THIS, 22 April 2011
By 
T. Coulson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THIS HAS GOT TO BE ONE OF THE FUNNIEST FILMS EVER. I LOVE IT MUST HAVE WATCHED IT 6 TIMES. IT STILL MAKES ME LAUGH. A MUST HAVE IN ANY COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite comedy movie - of all time!, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a laugh out loud, comedy slapstick at it's best! I have seen this movie many, many times and i still laugh at nearly every scene! Ferrell and Reilly are exceptionally funny, also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, but cut to shreads!!!!, 7 May 2010
By 
Hello, i brought this dvd after watching the film on Sky and loved it. however, when watching the dvd version i noticed that alot of the funny parts had been cut out. If i had known this i would not have purchased it at all. The parts that were cut-out were not even crude or sexual in any way.... On a whole this is a very funny movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Lose Your Inner Dinosaur, 29 Nov 2009
Good advice from Richard Jenkins as the dad.

This is quite a sweet film really about not growing up too soon and family values and that kind of stuff. But you can ignore all that if you like. Ferrell and Reilly do their thing and do it well. Facial expressions and routines to make you laugh out loud. More a series of sketches loosely connected, but it doesn't matter - all very funny. Adam Scott was good too as Ferrell's real brother. And Mary Steenburgen as the good-hearted mom. The highlight for me - the Billy Joel tribute act who only do his 80's songs. A special award for the writer who came up with that one.

A film to see on TV or buy (cheap) on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Zany buddy slapstick, 18 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great comedy. Will Ferrel and John C Reilly are hilarious as adult step brothers who refuse to grow up! There are some brilliant laugh out loud moments and some cracking scenes. I love the Job interview scenes and when Brennon burys Dale in the garden during an argument, hilarious. If you want a laugh you will find loads here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great. Came quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this movie. Totally addicted. Not my favourite version of the film (missing scenes from other cuts) but still it has all the best bits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my favourite comedies this, quality was average and this should be in everyones bluray collection.

Top marks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Step Brothers [UMD Mini for PSP]
Step Brothers [UMD Mini for PSP] (UMD Mini for PSP - 2010)
Used & New from: 19.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews