Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


299 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WHOLE COMPLETE SERIES (Without the Extras)
I think reading these reviews, a lot of people are getting a bit confused with what this DVD contains. The original Complete Series is the one shown in the Green Box which was the first set to be realeased of the complete whole series, containing 21 discs and includes all the added extras. (interviews, making of the series etc)

This particular version of the...
Published on 8 Oct. 2012 by GeoffH

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Problematic Transfers...
After watching the entirety of the Acorn (US) set and episode one of the Network (UK) set it is clear that neither of these box sets are perfect. The Acorn doesn't have the act breaks but it does have subtitles for the hard of hearing and a much better picture. In fact, the Network transfer of the videotaped sections of "On Trial" look, as is the case on so many British...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Ronald G. Helfrich Jnr


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

299 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE WHOLE COMPLETE SERIES (Without the Extras), 8 Oct. 2012
By 
GeoffH "Amazon Customer" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think reading these reviews, a lot of people are getting a bit confused with what this DVD contains. The original Complete Series is the one shown in the Green Box which was the first set to be realeased of the complete whole series, containing 21 discs and includes all the added extras. (interviews, making of the series etc)

This particular version of the Complete Series (second release) is exactly the same as the Green Box (21 disc set) except that it only has 17 discs which still cover all the 68 episodes that were made, just as the Green Box Set does. What you don't get are the extra discs, which have all the extra material on them. (hence only 17 discs instead of 21) The Green Box Set currently costs £70 and this second version of the Complete Series currently costs £39.95. So you are saving £30 on this Complete Series Boxed Set. If you want all the extras as well, then buy the Green Box Set. I have purchased this particular set, because all I want to watch is the whole series from start to finish, without the added extras. Everyone to their own choice. Hope this has clarified what to expect if buying this particular version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Problematic Transfers..., 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After watching the entirety of the Acorn (US) set and episode one of the Network (UK) set it is clear that neither of these box sets are perfect. The Acorn doesn't have the act breaks but it does have subtitles for the hard of hearing and a much better picture. In fact, the Network transfer of the videotaped sections of "On Trial" look, as is the case on so many British DVD transfers from the era, as though they have have been transferred onto film. On the plus side the Network set does have the LWT logos and the act breaks. As I always take picture quality over logos and act breaks I will take the Acorn anyday. Acorn, at least kind of does justice to Upstairs Downstairs, one of the finest English language TV shows ever. Wouldn't it be nice if DVD companies did justice to their customers once in a while?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careful with the volume., 22 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now that we have mastered the art of keeping the volume turned down during the appearance of the London Weekend Television logo at the start of each episode (the sound behind the logo is startlingly loud !), we are thoroughly enjoying watching this DVD.
Unfortunately there are no subtitles for us hard of hearing folks (yes the LWT logo sound is REALLY loud !! ) but then you can't have everything.
All in all an enjoyable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely Enjoyable!, 30 Dec. 2010
I am very much enjoying the new incarnation of 'Upstairs Downstairs.' currently being broadcast on the BBC. I am so glad they chose not to attempt a remake of the original, but instead, to move the new series along in time, to an equally fascinating period in European history, that of the lead-up to WWII. I am sure there will be some interesting developments within the new family, as there were in the original series. This series is beautifully done in true BBC period drama style, with a host of instantaneously believable actors and actresses. The new 'Upstars Downstairs' allows us to explore the ideas and manners of a time gone by, but not to be forgotten. At a time when good TV is getting scarse, and trash TV seems to be the norm, this is a breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Upstairs Downstairs. Five stars for this classic series., 21 Sept. 2012
By 
P. A. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My grandparents were in service and I'm told Upstairs Downstairs is much more realistic than Downtown Abbey which borrowed a lot from this series. And that I can believe. Having seen and enjoyed both now I can see similarities and found myself quitely grumbling at the story and character steals. Downton is streets ahead in terms of looks and production values obviously technology has improved radically but take away the gloss and it doesn't begin to compare..the lower budget more rugged earthy believable feel to Upstairs Downstairs works in its favour and gives the series has real warmth. And the characters have real warmth too..even the ones you shouldn't like. This is much more character driven and the situations are much more believable. Makers of the updated version please note. They haven't allowed the politics and events of the day to become diversions and distractions they enter into and enter out of proceedings without placard waving and preaching. The brilliant characters here have sympathetic traits you can relate to both sides of the house Upstairs and Downstairs without taking sides and the acting is superb. No hammy theatrics or poses for camera and no cold characters here and the pacing of the storylines is perfect. And the series improoves in all departments after the first series. Whoever buys this boxed set is in for a treat it lives up to its rating as one of the greatest TV series of all time. How lucky we are to have the whole set and everythng at hand these days. Including the remote. I concur with the reviewer who warned us of the sound of the intro. I watched this with my father who is hard of hearing and we had the TV up at max volume 100 so he could hear the dialogue and even he was knocked off his chair by the loudness of the fanfare. Minor grumbles but in this day an age with consideration for people with disabilities please put subtitles on all DVD releases. I'd love to have seen some documentarys on this DVD set too. But its great values and the picture quality and packaging is excellent. Full stars for this series I'd knock half a star off the set for the lack of subtitles and lack of extras but I wouln't want to discourage anyone from buying. TV doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Viewing, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To be honest I was only a wee nipper when Upstairs Downstairs was originally on tv, and so I only have a vague memory of it. I didn't know if I would like this, especially as I couldn't stomach the Channel 4 series recently set in a stately home. This was originally an idea by Jean Marsh who discussed it with Eileen Atkins, and from there it all started.

165, Eaton Place is being re-opened with a new family taking over, and they need staff. With Jean Marsh acting as an owner of an employment agency she is approached by the new owners. Set in 1936 this mini-series shows so well what was going on at the time in England as well as the problems also going on in the household. Taking in such things as the Black Shirts, and the abdication of the King, you also have the problems with staff, and the new owners not necessarily knowing all the rules of etiquette.

With inspired writing by Heidi Thomas and great acting, especially from Ellie Kendrick, this is something that will give you pleasure, and one can only hope that there will be another series. My only gripe with this is that it was too short and so the story had to be sped along to a large degree.

Also on this dvd is a thirty five minutes 'behind the scenes' look, taking in the writing and the set, along with comments from some of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars upstairs downstairs complete series 1971, 21 Mar. 2011
Superb TV series but alas NO subtitles for the HOH . The American release for this series on Acorn does have subtitles for all the episodes and has just been released .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly a landmark in TV history!, 2 July 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is season one, which includes the five black and white episodes that are 'interspersed' with the colour ones. This was because filming had been interrupted by the infamous Strike which had resulted in the said episodes not being done in colour. As a consequence, they have become much sought after and rarely seen. They were only ever aired the once by ITV - their original showing, despite any subsequent re-runs of the series there may have been. As Jean Marsh (Rose) once told me; these black and white episodes were among some of the best that were ever done! They will also help to fill in gaps for those who never saw them, and as to what happened during those missing years: 1903 - 1907, and also will reveal the destiny of some of the characters that appeared to 'vanish' for no apparent reason; some of whom later returned, and others who were never seen again...

This first season is what certainly resulted in 'Upstairs, Downstairs' taking off in the way that it did, and becoming such a massive success. It was an immediate 'hit' with the viewers, and the closing episode which left the son of the household involved in a scandalous affair with one of the housemaids, and the daughter, his sister, marrying a homosexual poet, was certainly guaranteed to bring viewers back for the second season!

This set also included two award-winning episodes in: 'I Dies From Love' and 'Why Is Her Door Locked', which involved the suicide of the Irish Kitchen Maid. Ironically, this first set would also include what was to become the 'weakest' and least understood episode: 'The Swedish Tiger'!

Highlights from this Season are marked with an * below. You will see that there is indeed only one that is unmarked, since the quality of this introductory set was so high!

On trial*
The Mistress And The Maids*
Board Wages*
The Path Of Duty*
A Suitable Marriage*
Magic Casements*
A Cry For Help*
I Dies From Love*
Why Is Her Door Locked*
A Voice From The Past*
The Swedish Tiger
The Key Of The Door*
For Love Of Love*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only took me over 40 years to watch this!, 30 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching this in my early teens, but not taking that much notice of it at the time. I was inspired to buy this after watching several repeat episodes over the last few years and realising what great drama this series offered.
I have now watched all 17 discs since acquiring the boxed set several months ago and it was rather bizarre that as I viewed the period covered by World War one in the series, this coincided with the 100th Anniversary of that conflict. Brilliant depictions of the ravages of war played by Simon Williams as David Bellamy and Christopher Beeny as Edward( the footman). In fact every actor-including the late, great Gordon Jackson as Hudson the butler- could not be faulted for their abilities to portray life in London in the early 20th Century. This series gave great depth to a multitude of varying storylines without really detracting from the real backbone of the show which centred on the Bellamys and their servants. What a pity they don't make them like this anymore; certain period dramas are a pale imitation in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly enjoyable., 8 Jan. 2007
By 
Jezza (Sunny Sussex by the Sea) - See all my reviews
I received this box set as a Christmas present - much to my astonishment - I was too young to have watched the early episodes first time round (although I do remember some of the later ones). Having reluctantly decided to watch the first DVD while ironing - to my children's horror - black and white - what's that? I actually watched 2 episodes and thoroughly enjoyed them. My husband commented that he would far prefer to watch Upstairs Downstair than Eastenders et al. I am now a definite fan and will ask my Mum for set 2 for my birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews