Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Album
I have been a fan of Tracey's wonderful voice since a band I played in shared a bill with Marine Girls (her first band, I think she was still at school then!)many,many years ago.

This album is sparse and haunting in tone, allowing her wonderful voice to shine through, rather like the earlier EBTG (I was never a fan of the 90's electro-dance stuff)albums, but...
Published on 17 May 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the old sound.
Nice,pleasant,very competant but the voice has changed and isn't as attractive as it was when "Deserts" was produced. The whole c.d is like,watered down, and if possible Tracey should return to her old "voice"
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by Bamba


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Album, 17 May 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "Aviation Historian" (Bognor Regis, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Tracey's wonderful voice since a band I played in shared a bill with Marine Girls (her first band, I think she was still at school then!)many,many years ago.

This album is sparse and haunting in tone, allowing her wonderful voice to shine through, rather like the earlier EBTG (I was never a fan of the 90's electro-dance stuff)albums, but with a more mature depth nowadays. I have played it through about five times now, each time it gets a little better, after three listens, I would have said four stars.....but now, 'I'll give it five!'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reflective and honest, 16 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
I had been a little worried that - after the electronic 'bedsit disco' brilliance of last album 'Out of the Woods' - the promised return to Tracey's acoustic roots might prove something of a letdown.

In reality, these tracks (concerned with growing older, reflecting on relationships) are delicate and touching. There have been a few sniffy reviews in the press which seem unable to believe that an adult woman should be writing about what it's like to be a mother, to see friend's relationships break up or to worry about their own future. Yet it's this specificity that makes the album so affecting; the details of other people's lives that say something about our own.

I particularly enjoyed 'Late in the afternoon', which contemplates the passing of time and wonders whether it's possible to keep a long term relationship fresh when there's little new to discover about each other. Alongside 'Long White Dress' and first single 'Oh! The Divorces' this is Tracey at her best: direct lyrics, haunting vocals and a sensitive acoustic production.

There are some faster and more production heavy tracks - 'Hormones' is a handclappy, amusing look at a mother/child realtionship whilst 'Singles Bar' is a brutally honest look at dating again after the end of a relationship. 'Swimming' is a brilliant track that builds and builds.

If you've loved Tracey Thorn's voice in the past, then you should enjoy this album immensely. I do miss the electronica but there's no doubt that these starker backdrops allow the lyrics to really stand out and also enable the vocals to sit right in front of the mix. It's a beautiful album that moved me in its honesty but also made me smile at its sharp observations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and honest, 17 May 2010
By 
E. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
I heard about this album through the guardian website. Tracey Thorn's voice just captured me. Stunningly beautiful as ever and her songs are very honest and open drawing on experiences of life and relationships. I cant stop listening and loving this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtle arrangements and thoughtful lyrics, 24 Jun 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Tracey Thorn's third solo album "Love And Its Opposite" is quite a beautiful follow-up to the superb "Out Of The Woods" which was undoubtedly more rhythmic. Where this album may lack in tempo, it certainly componsates on lyrical meaning. Tracey's vocals are as strong as ever with their wonderful story telling qualities and soft tones.

The album opens with two heartfelt ballads, both different in styles but equally meaningful. The beautiful piano and string led "Oh, The Divorces!" tells the story of the torment that couples go through when they split up and how this ruptured relationship affects all of those around them. The gentle and soothing "Long White Dress" talks about the propect of marriage and the turmoil of indecision that this may bring. The tempo elevates with the infectious "Hormones", an uptempo yet suave pop song, which discusses moods swings caused by the chemical imbalances we all suffer at different points in our life. The other songs on this release are just as poignant and true to life. "Kentish Town" is a dreamy ballad which focuses on Tracey's childhood memories. "Why Does The Wind?" is another upbeat track with a strong 80's feel to it and a catchy rhythm. "You Are A Lover" is another magical and subtle Folk influenced ballad. "Singles Bar" has an addictive Blues inspired melody and "Come On Home To Me" has very plaintive and dark vocal harmonies and arrangements. "Late In The Afternoon" is a melodic mid-tempo track with a very nice choice in rhythym and guitar chords. "Swimming" ends the album on an atmospheric note with dreamy vocals and arrangements.

"Love And Its Opposite" is a very well crafted third album with some very inspiring lyrics and interesting choices in musical arrangements. This album is her most subtle to date, but the softer nature of her music does not compromise on its quality and draws on her abilities as an experienced and talented songwriter to create another beautiful collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a grower, 25 Feb 2011
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
I have followed Tracey forever and thought everything she touched turned to gold, I was desperate to hear this album as soon as it was mentioned in the pipeline. When I eventually did I thought oh no. I just didn't "get it". I left it and walked away for a few months then went back. Now I understand it. A complete new direction from some older stuff but that's what happens, people grow up and change. I guess I expected more of the usual but that's not a reason to dislike something just because it's different. Good one Tracey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Ear Fodder, 19 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
There are few singers in pop with such a beautiful voice. This is a pared down album, and the simplicity and melodies are spine-tingling. Shut out the world, and envelop yourself with this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous and Reflective, 5 Dec 2010
By 
DJQ (Ludlow, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love & Its Opposite (Audio CD)
A lovely album of thoughtful and reflective songs. I always loved Tracey's work with EBTG and although her voice retains it's distinctive qualities, the simplicity of the arrangements and the backing allows her to shine. The subject matter may be depressing to some but so many of the songs cover topics that will resonate with people of a certain age. The whole thing is done beautifully and very sympathetically. Gorgeous, intelligent pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Voice better than everr, 16 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
I've enjoyed the music of EBTG since Eden. This is a lovely album. The first two tracks are just beautiful - the lyrics, melody and Tracey Thorn's voice. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lyrics, if a little sensitive, 5 July 2010
By 
indiana (mississippi) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Be careful when buying this for your partner... or husband. Beautiful songs about a sensitive subject of breaking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A songwriter who grows with you, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Another classic album from Tracey Thorn capturing common life experiences at certain life stages as well as contemporary musical genres. Have given it as a gift to a number of friends, feeling the themes to have resonance...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love & Its Opposite
Love & Its Opposite by Tracey Thorn (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews