Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly funny
Let me start by saying I am not a Russel Brand fan. I was looking forward to the movie in spite of him and I am pleased to say I was pleasently suprised.

The movie is extremely fast paced and does not stop till the end. The songs and gigs are convingly good enough for you to believe Brand is an actual rockstar.

Judd Apatow movies tend to be split in...
Published on 6 Jun 2011 by dave5001

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocking
The money spinning wheel that is Judd Apatow comedies continues with this chaotic outing. Judd regular Jonah Hill reprises his Forgetting Sarah Marshall Role and has to escort Russell Brand's fading, ageing rock star, Aldous Snow to a comeback gig set to reignite his ailing career. Along the way they are embroiled in many misadventures and misdemeanours.

This...
Published 17 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly funny, 6 Jun 2011
Let me start by saying I am not a Russel Brand fan. I was looking forward to the movie in spite of him and I am pleased to say I was pleasently suprised.

The movie is extremely fast paced and does not stop till the end. The songs and gigs are convingly good enough for you to believe Brand is an actual rockstar.

Judd Apatow movies tend to be split in two halfs, the first half usual been insanely funny whilst the second half tends to dip into the drama genre and quiets down, notable examples been funny people and superbad. Get him to the greek does not suffer from this and whilst the film does have a notable second half 'mood' it is still funny and because of the great characters, you do actually care about what happens to them.

Get him to the Greek is a great combination of hilarious comedy, gross out moments, some catchy songs and the debut of a hilarious P.diddy who almost steals the film with his text messaging.

Jonah Hill is perfect for the role whilst Brand has found his 'character' (party rock star) and pulls it off perfectly but i'm still convinced this is the only role he will ever play, like Jack Black will almost always be the overweight roadie character in School of Rock.

One of the only downsides to the movie is that you feel the boundries are always been pushed, like the writers and testing how much weirdness can be delivered and indeed the last attempt at this does cross the line, in my opinion.

A great 'laugh out loud' comedy, a MUST for any Apatow fans and indeed anyone who doesnt mind a bit of 'gross' with their comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocking, 17 April 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Get Him to the Greek - Extended Party Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The money spinning wheel that is Judd Apatow comedies continues with this chaotic outing. Judd regular Jonah Hill reprises his Forgetting Sarah Marshall Role and has to escort Russell Brand's fading, ageing rock star, Aldous Snow to a comeback gig set to reignite his ailing career. Along the way they are embroiled in many misadventures and misdemeanours.

This is typical Russell Brand, so if you are watching this you either a) know and love his comedy anyway, or b) haven't got a clue and this is all new to you.

There is much to like with the film. Jonah Hill is his normal dry self and the genius inclusion of P Diddy, who just seems to let himself go completely, is a joy. The jokes come thick and fast and the situations these mismatched buddies face is generally amusing but does have a whiff of seen it all before about it.

Not everything hits the mark and in fact the first half was a little dull. The second half kicks up a gear and doesn't waste a minute throwing its next ridiculous set up at you.

Russell Brand is Russell Brand. You either love him or hate him and this isn't going to sway you any differently. However he does fit the role well. The soundtrack is great fun and some of the tunes Aldous belts out are inspired.

All in all pretty good fun, but by no means a classic. There are better comedies produced and/or directed by Judd Apatow, but you won't go far wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly... but not quite, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Get Him To The Greek [DVD] (DVD)
This a difficult film to rate. On the one hand it a reluctant road movie, but on the other it is a cautionary tale of rock and roll excess and self fulfillment.

Russell Brand is a washed up rock star who is coaxed into doing a live gig and Jonah Hill must go an get him from London, whilst his own relationship dissolves. Cue drugs and hookers for 90mins.

Brand and Hill phone it in, and their performances are lacklustre and uninteresting.

However, where this film does really well is with the side scenes. Diddy plays Hill's record label boss... and pretty much steals every scene that he's in by parodying his own industry. There is a great scene where Pharrell Williams mocks him for wanting everything to be "gangsta".

Rose Byrne's songs are just hilarious (especially the "ring around the roses"). Lars Ulrich pops up twice and amuses on both occasions, and that is even before we get to appearances by P!nk, Christina Aguilera, and Tom Felton (who should get an award for probably the best single line in the film).

I guess there are two issues here: first of all, I did laugh... but not in the places the writers wanted me to. Secondly, would I ever watch this movie again? No. 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laddish Fun, 1 Dec 2010
For me this was a real Lad's movie with a very punchy modern script. The humour is very black covering sex, alcohol / drugs and lots (& lots) of vomiting. Really liked the soundtrack and Russell Brand plays the part of debauched British rock singer Aldous Snow perfectly and gets very able support from P Diddy and Jonah Hill. My only quibble is that it could have been a lot funnier - some of the scenes seem a bit too ad-lib at times, which sometimes worked and sometimes did not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny movie, 3 Nov 2010
Felt luke warm towards this movie for some time but don't make the same mistake finally got round to watching this and was glad I did, probably one of the funniest movies this year.

Russell Brand did a great job in Forgetting Sarah Marshall and he uses the opportunity well to expand on Aldous Snow's character. Jonah Hill has always impressed but he was outstanding in this movie - wide eyed and hilarious but the real revelation was Sean Combs, brilliant. Loved the character and would love to see a movie based on Sergio.

A genuinely funny and endearing movie.
Would apply the rating firmly on this one though, not one for the kids to sit in on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good., 3 Nov 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I really liked 'Forgetting Sarah Marshall' but was a bit dubious about seeing this, firstly as most spin-off movies are usually pretty bad and secondly I'm not particularly a fan of Russell Brand. I'm pleased I took the chance though, this is a film which is well up to the standard of other Judd Apatow productions like 'Forgetting Sarah Marshall', 'The 40 Year Old Virgin' and 'Knocked Up' with a nice mix of comedy and poignant drama.
There are plenty of laughs, some really sweet and tender moments and the dialogue is well written and snappy. Jonah Hill is great as Aaron Green the put upon record executive whose career is on the line, Sean "P. Diddy" Combs was very funny as Sergio the record company boss and Russell Brand, though essentially playing a version of himself, was charismatic, funny and easily puts to bed any doubts that he can carry a film.
The songs in the film are also a real highlight of the movie, Aldous' songs are memorable catchy britpop/rock numbers packed full of smutty lyrics and Jackie Q's 'Ring Round' was just brilliant, and you have to give credit to the cast for singing their own songs and not miming to someone else's vocal track.
This is easily one of the best comedies of 2010 and is one of those rare films which can be easily watched a number of times and still be funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice surprise!, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Robert Marsh (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was not expecting to like this at all, but I like Russell Brand so I thought I'd have a look. It's hell funny!
The songs are brilliant, strong, well constructed but with really funny lyrics. Russell Brand does an excellent job singing them. For me, he makes the film, he revels in the character and conveys a full range of emotion,not just comedy. I liked this film better than Forgetting Sarah Marshall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, most original comedies I've seen in YEARS, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best, most original comedies I've seen in YEARS. Both actors are spot on...the storyline is simple apparently but often takes side-steps into each character's life. The contrast between them is what makes this story so compelling. from one extreme to the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, 18 May 2014
By 
T. Howard - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A funny film with some suitably cringy bits. Russell Brand is brilliantly cast and P Diddy is amazing. Look out for Pharrell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun film, 14 April 2014
By 
Ms. V. J. Taylor "V Taykir" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its not one of Russell Brands best but its a fun film. It gets a bit boring throughout. Worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Get Him to the Greek - Extended Party Edition [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£6.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews