Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xena disc lock
this is easy to use and easy to assemble the blast is loud has i have found out a few times when i have been too slow to unlock it in my shed with it been dark only a slight knock set s it off which is just what the lock says it does be warned putting the batterie in you will get a piercing blast until you have completed doing it which is not nice on the ears...
Published on 20 Nov 2010 by Mr. M. Dallinson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good lock but with flaws
I have used this disk lock for a year now.

The good:
- Solid build quality
- Looks and feels the part
- Sufficiently loud alarm
- The alarm can be removed entirely while the disk lock is open (in case you don't always want to use it)

The bad:
- Alarm starts beeping when you insert the key to open the lock and goes off very...
Published 14 months ago by br0ca


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good lock but with flaws, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
I have used this disk lock for a year now.

The good:
- Solid build quality
- Looks and feels the part
- Sufficiently loud alarm
- The alarm can be removed entirely while the disk lock is open (in case you don't always want to use it)

The bad:
- Alarm starts beeping when you insert the key to open the lock and goes off very quickly afterwards, leaving very little time to open the lock
- The key doesn't operate smoothly and it's very fiddly. Combined with the point above this can be really annoying (imagine fiddling with your key while the alarm goes off on a busy street, not great...).
- Greasing the lock doesn't help. I have not had the issue that another reviewer described where the lock becomes inoperable but I can easily see this happening.

On balance, solid lock but with drawbacks. It's OK to use but probably wouldn't buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xena disc lock, 20 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
this is easy to use and easy to assemble the blast is loud has i have found out a few times when i have been too slow to unlock it in my shed with it been dark only a slight knock set s it off which is just what the lock says it does be warned putting the batterie in you will get a piercing blast until you have completed doing it which is not nice on the ears its a must for every biker because it is quality in every way including the shape of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set your mind at ease, 16 Feb 2012
By 
K. McKenzie "kmck10" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
Bought this for my CBR600 which is locked in a hut overnight, not the most secure setting! The alarm works perfectly, the 120db scream it gives off is enough to scare off oportunitstic theifs but lets be honest nothing will stop someone who really wants the bike. I've had it for a month and it functions perfectly, keys turns, no rusting, no jamming. It takes a bit of practise to get off quick enough to avoid the alarm going off (you only get 5 seconds of beeping before it starts screaming) but there is a knack to it that you pick up quick enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars XENA XX14 Disc Lock Alarm in Stainless Steel, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
This is easily the best disc lock I've used. It sets off very easily but is heavy enough not to be disturbed by a billowing bike cover. I'd give it 8 out of 10. The only reason it doesn't get 10 is because removing the key after securing it to the bike is fiddly and if you're not quick - the alarm goes off. Releasing the pin to stop the alarm is also fiddly. Not great when you arrive home late at night and don't want to disturb neighbours. Having said that - I'd recommend it highly (who needs neighbours).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Alarm Too Sensitive, 12 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. G. Oliver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
First impressions are of a high quality product, looks like it would be very difficult to break. Installing the battery and general set up are all very straightforward - various videos on YouTube will assist if you need it.
BUT, my alarm was far too senstive - alarm triggers for absolutely no reason.
I've looked on a number of forum and found many people have experienced the same issue, however, a number on Amazon clearly haven't. Maybe its down to luck?
Returned mine and bought an Abus Detecto 7000 RS1 instead. Doesn't have the sensitivity issues and generally easier to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would highly recommend this lock, 25 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
I would highly recommend this lock. It feels strong in hand. Its actually easy to lock up despite the responses to the otherwise here. There is a twist to it when locking and unlocking but you should have the knack for this after the third time using it. And from then on its easy.

Nice sound out of such a small unit. Very happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars didn't fit my bike., 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
it's robust, and hte blast is loud... however it doesn't fit on either disc of my bandit 600. not going to give it 1 star or anything as i suppose i should have researched more! just be aware peoples.

(have kept it anyway, as i have another disc lock and this fits onto a piece of metal near the chain guard, so i can use it as an alarm anyway.)

could do with putting a bit more info on what it does and doesn't fit on the amazon page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great disk lock, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
Very handy disk lock easy to carry and has loud alarm which is touch sensitive. I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm, 8 Jun 2014
By 
David Morris (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
Great disk lock and easy to use. I would strongly suggest that some users may have had issues due to not reading the instructions correctly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Secures well as promised, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
I used Xena XX14 on my HD sportster for 3 weeks now. Fits well on my disc, quick response to vibrations and movement. Tried it under the blanket (to keep the noise low) with a knife to arm Xena replacing the disc. When I moved the blanket It bleeps for 5 seconds before it goes into full alarm mode (gives you a chance to disarm). Once there is no movement after 15 seconds of very loud noise it arms itself again.

The only reason I gave it 4/5 stars is that it has a fiddly locking system to lock and unlock. I got used to it with practice, otherwise it does the job very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xena XX14 Disk Lock & Alarm
£60.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews