Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
Andrew Marr has proved himself to be an excellent writer of popular history, and he succeeds here in making the somewhat esoteric subject of the development of British journalism very lively and accessible to the general reader. He uses his own personal experiences well to illustrate various points, and his overall assessment of the current state of his profession is forthright and interesting.

Andrew Marr has set himself a very high standard with his two previous books on modern British history, and this one doesn't quite hit those heights, so only a four. For anyone else, I'd have probably given five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
I like Andrew Marr but I didn't find this book terribly interesting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Although very interesting, at times fascinating, in itself, this book was ruined for me by the regular, although not all-pervasive, use of the colloquial style that Marr uses to such marvellous effect on TV, but which did not, for me, lend itself at all to a medium using only the written word. Without the visual and auditory cues (facial gestures, grimaces, hand and body movements, accents etc...) that Marr uses for emphasis, mood-setting, emotional import and so on on TV, the frequent use of a heavily clipped, abbreviated, colloquial delivery often fails to make written sense: I found myself having to read many sentences/passages repeatedly, each incident creating greater irritation.

Further, the absence of decent grammar and punctuation in the style was compounded by typos and plain bad English of a more regular kind. In all, I have rarely read such a poorly edited book (relative to author and subject matter). I finally gave up two-thirds of the way through.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
This book sets up a scene of where journalism has come from and where it is going. From one of the BBC greats whose humility comes across from the beginning, this book is perfect journalistic bedtime reading. You won't read a newspaper the same way again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2011
With my trade, Marr has created a book that sheds light on all the secrets of the trade that journalists ply. He also recommends several other books (from which he takes examples)and will leave you feeling like you are in for a lifetime of reading. I've already ordered a copy of the book which deals with an editor-in-chief's sacking at the hands of Rupert Murdoch. Marr is not only an expert on his own profession, but also the most well read in the subject.

He is also brutally honest, and can leave you feeling a little cold when he describes the ultimate aim of most journalists. The book at times is also very funny - from being sacked to being hired to being sacked again, but what amazes most is how Marr has condensed his experiences into such a tightly written little book that will keep you up to the early hours.

Fantastic stuff.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
I recently brought a book for university, the book My Trade: by Andrew Marr, was in really good condition, all pages intactc couldnt be better and I have found it really useful for my university course. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2011
Although scholarly in approach, research and historical accuracy, it is not scholarly in tone; it is an enjoyable, relatively undemanding read but full of fascinating insights into history and journalism by someone who is very familiar with both.
He manages to maintain that journalistic objectivity so many strive for but fail to attain, particularly in these days of tabloid, sensationalist journalism. He learned his trade well from established, well-known and respected journalists at a time when it was considered a profession and he continues the tradition.
Well worth the time.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
A very interesting narrative, told in Marr's irreverent and inimitable style, that gives a potted history of how journalism came about, and his own personal career in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Wizard stuff comprehensive and profound investigation into modern journalism and its origins a must for those entering the profession or those who seek to understand it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Andrew Marr's book gives an good view of current British journalism especially related to current British politics. Very much enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)