Customer Reviews


332 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


60 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to his usual high standards
Peter James continues his fine Roy Grace series with another quite superb tale. Every story is rooted in Brighton, and this one is no exception, and the inventive and original plotlines and the characterisation of the main players lift these above ordinary detective fiction. Having dealt with fraud, Internet porn, identity theft, and a host of other topics in previous...
Published on 21 Aug 2009 by Andy Edwards

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why so long?
Don't get me wrong, I love Peter James. I snap up his novels as soon as they're available, and enjoy them all - even if they can be a bit 'same-y'. At least you know what you're getting.
But this one is much, much longer than all of the others. Great, I thought; more time for plot expansion and enjoyment of the character development. But oh dear, here's the rub - the...
Published on 2 April 2010 by Geoff Richardson


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The least exciting so far in this series, 23 Jan 2010
By 
JM (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Having read and loved the other Roy Grace novels, I was looking forward to this one but found myself a little disappointed with it. The story itself is average but not particularly thrilling till later on in the book; in fact for the first half I was not impressed at all, I only kept going because I know his previous books have been so good, in the second half it did pick up and became quite interesting, but I think it could have done with some serious editing. At 659 pages it was too long. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing I like better than a big thick book if it's exciting, but not if it's just padded out for the sake of it. Far too many descriptions of incident rooms, doctor's surgeries, offices etc, I don't care over much what they look like, I just wanted to get on with the story.
Interesting subject matter, and very sad too, just too slow paced for the first half of the book. I liked Lynn's character and felt so sorry for her, she was in such a desperate situation, who can blame her for doing what she did? And I'm intrigued by the ongoing mystery surrounding Sandy and hope we find out what happened to her soon; we have caught glimpses in the last two books now.
Not a bad read, just not as exciting as the others in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romania comes to Brighton, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Jane Baker "jan-bookcase" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Another gripping story by PJ covering so many topics. I would not normally choose a novel about people-trafficking but this gives plenty of food for thought. If PJ is to be believed in this story it is big business. This is what I admire about this author - his fearlessness in tackling difficult issues and his ability to set both sides through his characters. This book is heart-rending in so many areas - the street children of Romania and the awfulness of their plight; Caitlin who needs a liver transplant and the despair of her mother crossing all boundaries to achieve this at any price. There is some softness here too to counter-balance the horror - Grace is happier than in any novel so far, trying to cast his past demons aside. James is adept in keeping the reader updated on case details when, at briefings, Grace calls upon his team to give a resumee. This is perfect for the reader in picking up details which may have been lost. He pens a brilliant style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ERROR but 5 stars anyway, 7 July 2013
By 
Kindlelover (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Tomorrow (Roy Grace Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
A tremendous read and a very scary story. How far will people go when there is a desperate medical need to save a loved one? How low can some people stoop in order to get rich on other people's distress? This story is an eye opener. Apparently there are people in the world who are so evil that they see fit to murder other people whom they feel are worthless in order to sell organs for transplant. I don't want to give away any more of the story. It is well worth reading this shocking and emotive book I recommend it.

However I must bring up something I feel is an error. Location 1222-34 in the Kindle version we hear about someone who has been seriously injured in an accident. He is taken to hospital where he has all the usual tests to see if he is brain injured. It turns out in the story line that the accident victim scores badly in the tests.

The problem I have is with this part of the story which I quote:-

"he(the accident victim) was already in the CT unit, having a brain scan. If it had shown a blood clot he would have been transferred to the neurological unit at Hurstwood Park for surgery. But the scan had shown there was a massive internal haemorrhaging, which meant there is nothing surgical that could be done. It was a wait and see situation."

Something similar happened to my husband. A scan at the Eastbourne DGH showed massive haemorrhaging in his brain. Immediate arrangements were made to transfer him to Hurstwood Park (the same neurological unit mentioned in the story) where he was admitted to the surgical ward. Here further tests showed that he had stabilized and after constant monitoring over the next few days it was decided that surgery was not required even though he was still seriously ill however they were ready to operate if his condition worsened. A young man in the next bed was the victim of a severe assault and he also suffered severe internal haemorrhaging, in his case it was decided that surgery was necessary to relieve the pressure on the brain. Thankfully both my husband and the young man survived and went home. The point I am making is that the sentence "there was massive internal haemorrhaging which meant that nothing surgical could be done" in my experience is not true. Over the next few weeks I met some remarkable people who had come through the most horrific brain trauma where surgery had relieved the build up of pressure. For these people "a wait and see situation" was not the answer, surgery was.

At a follow up appointment the surgeon showed me my husband's scan and I was shocked but deeply thankful that he had come through something so dreadful. I guess that this is a matter close to my heart which is why I felt it worth mentioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 4 Oct 2011
By 
P. Stephens - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've really liked all the Roy Grace novels up to now, but am really disappointed with this one. It's rambling, repetitive and just not up to Peter James' normal standard. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good plot, jarring style, 8 July 2009
This review is from: Dead Tomorrow (Hardcover)
First the good news - the plot is gripping and it doesn't end as some might expect it to, thank goodness. I don't find the Sandy stuff tedious and look forward to her throwing spanners in the works of Grace's projected domestic bliss with Cleo, in future books. I found the characters passably convincing, if a little cliched at times - the Romanian heavy with the gold bracelets, the beefy East European nurse (perlease!) and so on. But what I wasn't expecting, having read all the other Grace books, was the appallingly plodding style of this one. Far too many exclamation marks, un-naturalistic dialogue, too much exposition at moments that should be racy - whatever happened to PJ's editor? Get a new one before the next book, and one who has an ear that isn't solid tin! I do hope this is a temporary blip, because the stylistic shortcomings did detract from my enjoyment. Hence only 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet...., 7 Mar 2010
By 
Ms. J. Demain (Suffolk England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read all of the Roy Grace series and this is the best yet ! A real page turner, extremely well researched and very realistic. I love the main characters and especailly the saga of Roy's missing wife Sandy. This book had me holding my breath in places........... can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dead beat after staying up late reading it., 18 Feb 2010
By 
Another cracking read by Peter James. Superbly researched, with lots of moral issues raised that make you have a think about life's values. Another unputdownable book, that doesn't so much as keep you guessing but keeps making you read the next chapter..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best, 21 Sep 2009
By 
Md Simons "M Simons" (Leicestershire, Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dead Tomorrow (Hardcover)
Peter James has again written a very good book but it isn't his best. The better book was his first but then that can be said for alot of authors with it being difficult to keep up the quality. This book was quite predictive but still the content of the book made sure that you wanted to read all the book. You need to read the book to keep up with the current status of Roy Grace's life and times. Hopefully the next installment will be better and up to the five star quality of Peter James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Peter James books and know the area well so ..., 23 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Tomorrow (Roy Grace Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I love Peter James books and know the area well so know how realistic the descriptions are. I recommend his books. As an aside: I was a little disappointed by the first stage dramatisation I went to recently - becasue it was not close enough to the book. I will be going to the next stage dramatisation of the next book when it comes close to see if it improves.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super read. Typical Peter James.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 334 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Tomorrow (Roy Grace Book 5)
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews