Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euro Heaven
This popped through the letterbox on Monday and has been on repeat ever since. What I really like about this series is that it reflects tracks I actually used to hear in clubs in the late 70's and 80's. A great mix of the well known and obscure. Disc 1 concentrates on the 70's. Hearing "From East To West" by Voyage again was almost a religious experience for me. And to...
Published on 26 May 2010 by DJ

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Europe 70's Disco
"European Connection" by Disco Discharge is a two cd set of ten songs on the first cd and 11 songs on the second set. Many of the songs do in fact live up to the title name of this collection. The only reason why I rated it three stars was due to the fact that I enjoy most of the songs on cd two (music by Funny Twins, Hot Cold, Taffy, Hypnosis etc.) as compared to cd...
Published 16 months ago by Stella Carrier


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Euro Heaven, 26 May 2010
This review is from: Disco Discharge - European Connection (Audio CD)
This popped through the letterbox on Monday and has been on repeat ever since. What I really like about this series is that it reflects tracks I actually used to hear in clubs in the late 70's and 80's. A great mix of the well known and obscure. Disc 1 concentrates on the 70's. Hearing "From East To West" by Voyage again was almost a religious experience for me. And to have the full length version of Tantra's "The Hills Of Katmandu" on CD is worth the price of the album alone. "Sandstorm" by La Bionda, "Carry On Turn Me On" by Space & "Ooh! What A Life" by the Gibson Brothers also stand out on disc 1. The second disc is chock full of Italo Disco from the 80's and as per disc 1 it's a great listening experience. Stand out tracks include Special Agent Man" by Gaz Nevada, "Droid" by Hypnosis, "Walking In The Neon" by Peter Richard & "You And Me" by Funny Twins but prehaps my favourite track on disc 2 is the US Remix of "I Love My Radio" by Taffy. This was a huge hit in the UK and I've never seen it on a compilation. All tracks are either the 12" or long album versions and would set you back a fortune if you were to buy the vinyl.

This series is obviously put together with a lot of love and it shows. From the track listings to the sleeve notes and packaging this is a series of albums I will play over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for your money, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: Disco Discharge - European Connection (Audio CD)
This is really a great collection of rare disco music. You can tell there has been really an effort in collecting great and rare songs. The music quality is overall very good, however i am in doubt if the original masters where available for all of the tracks. Some tracks are really to heavily mastered so the music sounds sometimes teared. Great to find Americano by Vivien Vee on this compilationa and some other great Italo icons like Hot & Cold and Funny Twins. Very much information about the tracks and atrists are collected in the nice booklet included in this cd box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crate Diggers Delight, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Ross Allatt "slackdad 38" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge - European Connection (Audio CD)
This is a sensational compilation and is strongly recommended for anyone with even a passing interest in the music and period. Its been played regularly since I bought it, and still is as fresh as the first time. You know that you're in really good hands with Alan Jones, whose pedigree is second-to-none. Can't believe that there's so many tracks here I've never heard before. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disco Discharge? So bad, its good., 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge - European Connection (Audio CD)
With some great obscure tracks, over-flowing with 'POW-POW' drum machine beats to add some decidedly cheesy Disco moments.

In fact, guilty pleasures all round, from the very first to the very last track - I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great selection., 11 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge - European Connection (Audio CD)
This is one of the best releases from the "Disco Discharge" serie. Excellent selection, rare gems and hits! On the second CD GINO SOCCIO with "Remember" (original album/12" version) but (fortunately) no ROZALLA track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Europe 70's Disco, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disco Discharge - European Connection (Audio CD)
"European Connection" by Disco Discharge is a two cd set of ten songs on the first cd and 11 songs on the second set. Many of the songs do in fact live up to the title name of this collection. The only reason why I rated it three stars was due to the fact that I enjoy most of the songs on cd two (music by Funny Twins, Hot Cold, Taffy, Hypnosis etc.) as compared to cd one. Additionally, I admit that I happen to be new to the 70's era of European disco music and would recommend this cd more for those who are already familiar with 70's era disco.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disco Discharge - European Connection
Disco Discharge - European Connection by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews