Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than conventional demijohns in every respect
I bought two of these in 2011 and have been using them alongside two traditional glass demijohns.
I have found these plastic ones better in every respect than the glass ones:
They are a bit bigger than a conventional glass demijohn which ensures six full bottles from each one.
They are light, they don't break and they are easier to clean.
The airlock...
Published 20 months ago by Brian H

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My opinion
I thought these demijohns were very expensive especially since I have discovered that I can buy TWO similar containers (containing spring water) in Morrisons for £1;80. They don't of course have temperature strips. So buy the water, tip it out and you have two sterile 5 litre containers
Published 19 months ago by Brian JSpiller


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My opinion, 2 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
I thought these demijohns were very expensive especially since I have discovered that I can buy TWO similar containers (containing spring water) in Morrisons for £1;80. They don't of course have temperature strips. So buy the water, tip it out and you have two sterile 5 litre containers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than conventional demijohns in every respect, 15 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
I bought two of these in 2011 and have been using them alongside two traditional glass demijohns.
I have found these plastic ones better in every respect than the glass ones:
They are a bit bigger than a conventional glass demijohn which ensures six full bottles from each one.
They are light, they don't break and they are easier to clean.
The airlock arrangement is simpler and easier to clean than the conventional bubblers.
The temperature strip on the side is a really useful guide.
In two years of wine production, I can detect no difference in the quality of wine fermented in them compared to the same wine fermented in the glass demijohns.
I am just about to order two more and retire the glass demijohns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light and cheap, 22 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
For the first time in many years, I am making wine. My old demijohns have long gone and I was a little unsure how such a cheap replacement would compare. I like the fact that they are so light to lift and seem to be doing the job very well. I like the temperature indicator. A good buy and I have since bought another pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TO PET OR NOT TO PET, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
MMMM still not sure about these plastic is very thin ?? lids seem to fit tight and the airlock works ok i normally use the other sort?? i dont know if they just sell the cap and airlock?? i did make my own using the big water containers you can get at any supermarket and they would be great if these lids and airlock fit because the plastic is much more thicker?/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Litre PET plastic demijohn, 21 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
I bought these demijohns to make hard apple cider. Great product for the price, my cider turned out GREAT. Already fermenting my second batch of cider. Very easy to clean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
i am makeing wine for the first time in some years and havnt things moved on. its nice to have a product that is light and easy to handle. and more to the piont easy to clean. the pruduct came to me in good condition and in good time. as pointed out by others they are a little bit on the thin side but thats ok you just have to be a little carefull with them. for the price i think that they are good. i dont think they are as good as the glass demijohns that last for years but there again they are at least double the price. it was nice to have the air locks and temp strip come with them. so all said and done a good product that i will be buying again. good luck all you wine makers :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and quiet, 23 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
They're not going to last forever, being made of 'VittelVian' type plastic but do the job, with a short and quiet bubbler. Total height 15.5 inches if you want to put them under a shelf. The thermometer strips needed pulling off and putting on straight. No moulding flaws. They're currently converting some old dates and dessicated coconut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous service, item, price. Just stoked., 7 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
As a novice and making my first wine this year I wanted something that would be simple, also lighter than the glass ones. I found them very simple to use, pop in airlocks, etc., and thoroughly recommend for a beginner like me. Looking forward now to end result. Hic?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it's a bit plasticky and to be honest I would ..., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
it's a bit plasticky and to be honest I would rather go for a glass demijohn because when you pick one of these up the pressure inside the demijohn changes to the point where water goes down the airlock due to its flexibility
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars -, 15 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Wine Making - VinClasse® 5 Litre (1 Gallon) PET Plastic Demijohn With Handy Airlock & LCD Temperature Indicator - Pack Of 2
These are a good cheaper alternative to glass but i expected them to be slightly thicker. They are effectively vegetable oil bottles. One accidental knock in the right place and these will split.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews