Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EOS 550D Battery (LP-E8)
An excellent replacement to the manufacturers supplied unit being under half the price and the only apparent difference being the writing on the battery.

It takes just over 2 hours to fully charge with the charger supplied by Canon.

It works well in the camera. At a folk festival I was able to take well over 600 pictures on one charge (without using...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by Trevor Steed

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure!
This did not work at all in my Canon 550D. Now I am certainly not going to assume that it is not the product that is advertised; especially seeing as there are many other reviews on here that describe it as working great in their cameras. The battery I received, though, was either not what it is meant to be, or it was simply faulty. When I put it in the Canon charger that...
Published 21 months ago by Tom, SILAS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EOS 550D Battery (LP-E8), 27 Oct 2010
By 
Trevor Steed (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
An excellent replacement to the manufacturers supplied unit being under half the price and the only apparent difference being the writing on the battery.

It takes just over 2 hours to fully charge with the charger supplied by Canon.

It works well in the camera. At a folk festival I was able to take well over 600 pictures on one charge (without using flash).

Overall the build quality of the battery appears to be as good as the official battery and is accepted by the camera, having once had the experience of a Sony pattern battery causing my Sony camera to say 'This is not a Sony battery' and shut down.

It's cheap enough to be able to have one or even 2 spare batteries to take with you, saving the need to carry the charger with you on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No problems !, 16 May 2011
By 
J. Yates "jaywhy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
Bought this battery as back-up for the one supplied with the camera and haven't been disappointed. The charge lasts the same, if not longer than the canon battery supplied, so I am happy with the purchase. Longevity may be an issue, but even "branded" batteries are never faultless, so time will tell.

Update 20th Feb 2014 - Battery still performing as well as the original one. No issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EOS 550D Battery, 4 Oct 2010
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
This battery is a economical replacement to the manufacturer supplied unit.

Charging time is good taking around 2 hours to fully charge using the charger supplied with the camera.

Discharge time is also good and compares well with the manufacture supplied battery, using all the features of the camera I was able to take around 200 pictures and around 10 minutes of video on one charge.

Overall the quality of the battery appears to be as good as the official battery, only time will tell if the full lifetime is comparable to the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good substitute., 7 Dec 2011
By 
Miles (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
I have one other third-party battery that is terrible. This battery, on the other hand, lasts a similar length to the official Canon battery. If you're not going to buy the Canon product then this battery is a worthy substitute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Substitute, 9 Jan 2012
By 
S. Stanier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
I bought this for my new 550D and I have to say, I am very impressed. The battery appears to be basically the same thing as the Canon version, but without the Canon logo. The battery life is as good as the Canon battery, if not better, and at the price it really isn't worth buying the official product. I'd be worried about the product had I seen it in a shop, purely because it claimed to guarantee safty [sic] but once the packaging is gone and the battery is in your camera, you will wonder why you ever considered paying double for the genuine article. Unless spelling errors cause you to explode or you want to keep this as a collectible in it's packaging, buy this battery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good spare, 23 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
Bought this as a spare for my EOS 550D, does exactly as stated on the tin, would order more of these in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not sure!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
This did not work at all in my Canon 550D. Now I am certainly not going to assume that it is not the product that is advertised; especially seeing as there are many other reviews on here that describe it as working great in their cameras. The battery I received, though, was either not what it is meant to be, or it was simply faulty. When I put it in the Canon charger that came with my camera, the charging light lit up orange immediately, but turned green after about 3 seconds or so (indicating a full charge). This happened a number of times; I tried more than once. When I put it in the camera and switched it on, nothing happened at all- it was as though there was no battery. Confusing! Perhaps the battery was just blown out and would not hold charge... In any case, I sent it back and it was promptly refunded including the original shipping cost, so no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Works a treat., 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
Ordered 2 of these bad boys, promptly delivered and are fantastic. So far far they've been holding the charge just as well as the Canon one I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
I would reccomend this product because it does everything it says it does. It works fine. The battery works in my camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No qualms, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battery for Canon EOS 550D & Rebel T2i (Part LP-E8) 1120mAh (Electronics)
A lot of people reviewed this product as not living up to advertising standards and that the battery life runs out very quickly. Admittedly, it did on the first charge, but after gaining a little more faith and a second charge, it worked a dream. I now use it on every photography job I work on as it's that reliable! A great addition to your kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews